Remove walls of a room, to make space bigger, Permit needed ??
TSid3d
Feb 29 2012, 09:54 AM, updated 14y ago
Hello all,
I have a property in Shah Alam, landed 2-storey link house.
I am now thinking to remove one or two walls of a room on the ground floor in the house, to make the house even more spacious.
Still thinking whether to remove it fully, or left some of it, like to the waist height.
Do I need to get the permit from the local council (MBSA). It doesn't involve extension on the external, or external structure changes. Just simply remove and rebuilt some walls / partition.
And if I need the permit, where can I get the plan for approval ? I need to hire a draughtsman to draw it ?
Anyone have similar experience to share?
Thank you very much.
This post has been edited by id3d: Feb 29 2012, 09:56 AM
weikee
Feb 29 2012, 09:59 AM
For interior, is easier to get away. As long you do it during normal weekday hours, and tell your neighbor about it. But if you have a big dustbin in front, it sure will invite authority.
This is the risk you have to take.
tehtmc
Feb 29 2012, 10:01 AM
No, removal of internal wall is not required.
But if you ask the MBSA, they will tell you to submit la.
weikee
Feb 29 2012, 10:09 AM
If you don't have permit, make sure not big dustbin outside.
tehtmc
Feb 29 2012, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 29 2012, 10:09 AM) If you don't have permit, make sure not big dustbin outside. It's usually the neighbours who are the culprits to report to council. Make sure you are on good terms.
weikee
Feb 29 2012, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Feb 29 2012, 10:16 AM) It's usually the neighbours who are the culprits to report to council. Make sure you are on good terms. That is the why I say tell neighbor first. But for demolishing a wall, is fast. Think i can do it in 1 day with my rotary hammer. But the other consider is, does it have pillars? does it have cabling, does it have pipes?
TSid3d
Feb 29 2012, 10:23 AM
Thanks for all comments.
I think should not have pipes & cable, need to double confirm.
If I am going to submit the application, i need to draw the plan right ? can I just draw it myself ? or need some certified professional to draw it ?
Sorry for so much question, this is the first time I am thinking to do major renovation.
tehtmc
Feb 29 2012, 10:29 AM
If you want to submit, get a registered building draughtsman to do it. I wouldn't bother if I were you. It's very minor, not a 'big renovation'.
xecton
Feb 29 2012, 10:29 AM
You definately cannot draw it yourself, unless you are an architect  Remember to take care of any supporting pillars.
zeese
Feb 29 2012, 10:36 AM
getting the permit for demolishing the wall is as expensive as getting the permit for doing major renovation. Probably, just cheaper a bit on the architcture drawing, because not much changes involved. I believe the rest of the fees are same.
tehtmc
Feb 29 2012, 10:41 AM
[Not really, the submissiion fee is only RM60. You may need to pay a reno deposit.
WaCKy-Angel
Feb 29 2012, 10:45 AM
Landed property, interior = no need license of any kind. Just dont put big dustbin outside or put sand on the road.
tehtmc
Feb 29 2012, 11:10 AM
QUOTE Landed property, interior = no need license of any kind. According to? UBBL? The question is whether plans need to be submitted. This post has been edited by tehtmc: Feb 29 2012, 11:12 AM
stevie8
Feb 29 2012, 11:21 AM
Just do it. Get a contractor, contractor can advise if there are pillar cable or pipe and reroute the cabling and pipe. Beam, no problem. Demolising can be done in a day and the contractor can clear it in a day. repatching can take time to do it. If so unfortunate the authority come, no harm, it is not a major reno need no permit. If you submit plan it takes 6 mths!!! By then you have already change your mind or original plan!
weikee
Feb 29 2012, 07:30 PM
Legally it need permit. Hey here in this country how many people do things legal?
tehtmc
Feb 29 2012, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 29 2012, 07:30 PM) Legally it need permit. Hey here in this country how many people do things legal? The other thing is, what is allowed by one authority is not allowed by another authority. The law is up to them to interpret. The enforcement would take advantage of the situation to cari makan.
phoenix69
Feb 29 2012, 10:06 PM
If can complete the hacking (loudest part) whithin the day, get your contractor to drive a lorry and cart off the debris on the spot. The balance job should be quieter and less noticible from the outside, so you can take your sweet time. No noise, no big tong OK lah, can escape getting permit, neighbour should be forgiving also as you do not kacau them too much.
Jo_da48
Mar 1 2012, 09:51 AM
Do it fast and not rubbish / sand in front of your house. Everything mush be within the house area... As I asked the Sepang offier if I need to repair my roof (renovation permit expired) due to leaking, he recommedede me the above step, else permit need again as those sand / rubbish are around
idoblu
Mar 1 2012, 11:07 AM
tumpang ask.
is it possible to remove a small wall section with just slight damage to the surrounding areas like floors? maybe waste a few tiles its ok but not damage the whole floor.
Drian
Mar 1 2012, 12:28 PM
if internal uusally no need..
stevie8
Mar 2 2012, 03:22 PM
A malaysian story.
my immediate neighbor doing major reno tong tong ding dong without applying permit. Half way the local authority came issue saman. The house owner paid the fine and some other expenses totaling rm1,500 and submit plan. The contractor continued tong tong ding dong till finished without waiting for the approval.
Another neighbor already completed major reno. Submit plan pay fine. Everything was fine.
My tenant moved out and I stop renting the house I used to collect rm750 a month. Submit plan, the officer warn me not to start reno as they were already been alerted by my submission. so no choice have to wait for the approval. waited for 6 months after going there few trips to ask for status, got the approval start reno. Stupid isn't it? If i did like my neighbor I wold have saved more money. Rental 6 month x 750 = rm4,500 - fine and some expenses rm1500, I still save rm3000!
tehtmc
Mar 2 2012, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(stevie8 @ Mar 2 2012, 03:22 PM) A malaysian story. my immediate neighbor doing major reno tong tong ding dong without applying permit. Half way the local authority came issue saman. The house owner paid the fine and some other expenses totaling rm1,500 and submit plan. The contractor continued tong tong ding dong till finished without waiting for the approval. Another neighbor already completed major reno. Submit plan pay fine. Everything was fine. My tenant moved out and I stop renting the house I used to collect rm750 a month. Submit plan, the officer warn me not to start reno as they were already been alerted by my submission. so no choice have to wait for the approval. waited for 6 months after going there few trips to ask for status, got the approval start reno. Stupid isn't it? If i did like my neighbor I wold have saved more money. Rental 6 month x 750 = rm4,500 - fine and some expenses rm1500, I still save rm3000! Moral of the story : it don't always pay to do things by the book.