Ipad 2 can play any .mkv file?, 720p & 1080p

chienx
post May 5 2012, 11:19 AM

205 posts

If we watch movie online from all the player, does it take up our iPad memory space?
.tK
post May 5 2012, 05:38 PM

19 posts

I use vlc player. Manage to download it before apple retract it from apps store. You can play various type of video w/o to convert it to mp4
sioe
post May 5 2012, 08:57 PM

~Brainnnnnnnnzzz~
619 posts

Based on online review and user's feedback, even AV Playerdoesnt support 1080p playback. Anyone can truly verify that it does?
SUScarbike
post May 6 2012, 01:13 PM

330 posts

I'm using XBMC, can play 1080p mkv without any lag..........
cstkl1
post May 6 2012, 01:59 PM

6,799 posts

Well some misinfo here avplayer on ipad 2 has np playing 1080p. Its the bitrate limitation. Alot of h.264 mkv bd rip are at 8-12mbps. So far it has no issue with 3.5mbps bitrate. Some of the audio also are at 1-1.5mbps. Recommended on vid audio is 160kbps.
So since its a coding issue is y i always end up transcoding it back to mp4
This is based on my own testing
Also most streams on atv is 3.5

I take it that ure planning to output to ure tv??
For large tv recommend min 5-8mbps. Difference can be seen

This post has been edited by cstkl1: May 6 2012, 02:12 PM
KUROsaki23
post May 7 2012, 01:06 PM

328 posts

for me av player hd is the best
TShackwire
post May 7 2012, 02:42 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 6 2012, 01:59 PM)
Well some misinfo here avplayer on ipad 2 has np playing 1080p. Its the bitrate limitation. Alot of h.264 mkv bd rip are at 8-12mbps.  So far it has no issue with 3.5mbps bitrate. Some of the audio also are at 1-1.5mbps. Recommended on vid audio is 160kbps.
So since its a coding issue is y i always end up transcoding it back to mp4
This is based on my own testing
Also most streams on atv is 3.5

I take it that ure planning to output to ure tv??
For large tv recommend min 5-8mbps. Difference can be seen
thanks for the head up. 1080p is a no no not even for GoodPlayer , Azul and AV Player. I have all these and the latest is AV Player. i hate to do the conversion to MP4 because it takes a few minutes to do so. according to the guys in AV Player, 720 p is not a problem for MKV . Im still doing the testing now. Good Player really have problem with even 720p MKV format. I decided to change to AV Player after tweaking with their setting, i gave up after followed their instruction.
kevyeoh
post May 7 2012, 03:06 PM

4,526 posts

i already tested MKV file with AV Player HD, confirm can play and watch the movie...

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 28 2012, 12:02 AM)
i heard a lot of this player as well but im worried about the false review i got from the Appstore. I bought Azul and Good Player for viewing high def video but both also can't play it smoothly. Good Player also won some awards and Azul have so many good reviewers but didn't live up to what i expected. So before i embark on AV player HD , i hope this time i can get it right .thanks.
TShackwire
post May 7 2012, 03:08 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ May 7 2012, 03:06 PM)
i already tested MKV file with AV Player HD, confirm can play and watch the movie...
yes it's confirm but not 1080p high res . it's still pixelated.
Sentinova
post May 7 2012, 07:18 PM

Hi, I have tested many video players and retain only AVPlayerHD, EC Player, Awesome Player, ACE Player, and Gplayer. AVPlayerHD failed in all my 1080p MKV files. Only EC Player managed to play those files at reasonable smoothness. Largest file tested is a 13GB 1080p MKV file ripped and re-encoded from Bluray. Even then, with the buffer set to ON, there's still a slpit second freeze frame every 10-15 mins but gets smoother after 30 mins or so as the player fills up its buffer with increasing efficiency, a fact acknowledged by its developer. Panning however, is extremely smooth. I've not seen other apps, except EC Player, that claim specifically to be able to play 1080p MKV files on the Ipad 2. Incidentally, AVPlayerHD doesn't play RMVB smoothly either.

To be fair, for 480p and 720p MKV files, AVPlayerHD has the best image quality (with respect to color, contrast, sharpness, digital tear and block artifacts), though not always the smoothest in motion. ACE Player has silky smooth motion in this regards, and even plays 720p AVI as smooth as Plasma and old CRT TVs, but suffers in image quality comparatively. Strangely, on my new Ipad 3, AVPlayerHD plays rather poorly (pixelated) for the same 480p video files compared to playing on my trusty Ipad 2, though the Retina display compatibility switch already is set to ON.

If you primarily watch MKV files in 480p and 720p, the AVPlayer has the best image quality. The up-scaling of 480p to 720p is a sight to behold. But if 1080p MKV is a must to you, then EC Player is recommended, with the limitation mentioned above. Ironically, although 1080p has more video content, it has to be down-scaled to fit Ipad 2's 720p maximum resolution anyway.
azomic
post May 7 2012, 08:46 PM

138 posts

the same for ipad 3? i want to put mkv file into ipad, but itunes wont let me..sad.gif

must jailbreak the ipad first?
cstkl1
post May 7 2012, 09:31 PM

6,799 posts

Question is everybody here using their ipads to play externally on tv for dts?.
Or just lazy to transcode to mp4.

For me basically thats the difference. On abr/vbr video quality on same bitrate both are comparable. Except mp4 has better smoothening filters to reduce size while mkv has better multi channel support. Second u get itunes to organize and use homesharing.

Btw u can with external player app. No need to jb. However with itunes only support mp4 for tv shows and movies.
quintesson
post May 8 2012, 07:11 PM

559 posts

guys for ipad2 with such a small screen are we going to notice the picture quality when playing 720p & 1080P video?
what is the best ipad video converter where it will automatically convert & adjust it to fullscreen?
redhatlinux
post May 9 2012, 11:58 AM

72 posts

any best software to convert video?
=oren=
post May 9 2012, 01:20 PM

Me use ReplayerHD to ply movie nice player. Got a ad but when u click it the apple store will open. Close the app store and the ad will disepear and u can watch movie without ad. If u have subtitle need off the subttile 1st to click the ad if not cannot click the ad. smile.gif
SUSedwardstevens
post May 10 2012, 11:59 AM

366 posts

i use oplayerhd

so far ok

usually i stream my movies from my media server
TShackwire
post May 10 2012, 12:52 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(azomic @ May 7 2012, 08:46 PM)
the same for ipad 3? i want to put mkv file into ipad, but itunes wont let me..sad.gif

must jailbreak the ipad first?
u need to install AVplayer player first lah. doh.gif

Added on May 10, 2012, 12:53 pm
QUOTE(edwardstevens @ May 10 2012, 11:59 AM)
i use oplayerhd

so far ok

usually i stream my movies from my media server
1080p ?

Added on May 10, 2012, 12:54 pm
QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 29 2012, 10:51 AM)
I m using AVplayerHD. Yes, it can play .mkv 1080 or 720 and whatever you dumb in. No pixelete or lag. The best player so far I see.
1080p cannot lah.

This post has been edited by hackwire: May 10 2012, 12:54 PM
grownbetterwe
post Apr 18 2017, 04:21 PM

I use iDealshare VideoGo to convert MKV, FLV, AVI, WMV, MPG to play on iPad
Here is the easy guide: https://www.idealshare.net/ipad-ipod-iphone...kv-to-ipad.html
firdausbhari
post Apr 20 2017, 12:44 PM

2,194 posts

QUOTE(grownbetterwe @ Apr 18 2017, 04:21 PM)
I use iDealshare VideoGo to convert MKV, FLV, AVI, WMV, MPG to play on iPad
Here is the easy guide: https://www.idealshare.net/ipad-ipod-iphone...kv-to-ipad.html
no need to convert lah. just use VLC or Infuse Pro.
can even stream from your router at home. just plug to the usb port.
cry4freedom
post Apr 22 2017, 03:09 AM

The Only Exception
938 posts

I use nPlayer Pro. It's good enough to stream 720p or 1080p from your home NAS. Just make sure your wireless network is not congested with devices/users.

0.0183sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:19 AM