Nokia 808 The New King of Cameraphone!, Available now!!

miloy2k
post Mar 3 2012, 07:22 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Mar 3 2012, 07:18 AM)
Looks like your list does not include any iOS devices. laugh.gif
Symbian will be gone soon unless Nokia change their mind. PureView 808 is probably their final greatest product, so they can make it a legend. laugh.gif And also to test out their PureView Pro tech. It's good that they release PureView but at the end of the day, Symbian will be gone following the current path. doh.gif

Added on March 3, 2012, 7:19 am
Yeah, hope for that too. laugh.gif
or kena take over by other company lol
miloy2k
post Mar 7 2012, 12:32 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 7 2012, 12:30 PM)
I have no choice to install, cause I want to transfer photo. Unless I upload to SkyDrive, which I tried, it's very troublesome, seems cannot select multiple files, have to select one by one, then maximum 5 files at a time, sometimes I also confuse/lost track which photo already uploaded. Not nice to use.

Zune? You need at least Windows XP SP3 or newer.
After install, you need to have internet connection as it needs to update. Even this process can fail, if you google, you can find "stuck at 99%" problem. Annoying.
Cut short, after everything set up, Zune is very basic. iTunes is way better.

So, a big no-no PureView on WP.
Don't just want it because it's a newer OS.
Except got Live Tiles and the best yet, People Hub, which is basically available in Maemo/MeeGo.
dun tell me becoz of the OS, the latest phone from Nokia might fail (due to not much buyer) aka boost Nokia market share?
miloy2k
post Mar 7 2012, 07:25 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(AlOnE89 @ Mar 7 2012, 03:46 PM)
How I wish Nokia allow other OS to co-exist with WP, Maemo and Symbian shouldn't be totally killed, what a waste
+1 more business sense imo
miloy2k
post Mar 8 2012, 08:36 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Mar 8 2012, 12:31 AM)
at least we are unique... the rest of the ppl all looks the same.. smile.gif
late time they are the same, now its the other way around lol

Added on March 8, 2012, 8:40 am
QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Mar 8 2012, 12:52 AM)
i love only the camera module and the camera ui.
remind me during SE (W800-K810i) time, during that time their camera is awesome while nokia on the hand quite have their n95, n86 (if not mistaken) with apps XD

This post has been edited by miloy2k: Mar 8 2012, 08:40 AM
miloy2k
post Mar 16 2012, 01:33 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 16 2012, 11:50 AM)
Haha nice 1 why ask why? If u make your own phone u can do anything u want.

Added on March 16, 2012, 11:51 am

Sifu can rest no point explain it never ends. I also wanna ask why iOS and android no 41 megapixels? Why why why why? U said meego those ppl will say dead OS so conclusion better let them design their own phone.
IMO for ios or android one, wait and see first, knowing their trend, they will counter with other style like more apps, free stuff and etc.

Their (android and ios) main target is towards number of buyer/market share which mean more $$$$$$, In this case is more into NORMAL/GENERAL user. For camera part, most of them just point and shoot w.o the needs of adjust this and that. Luckily my wife N8 for now manage to do that, else doh.gif

The best example, we should see how Samsung doing currently, they come out with so many model+diff os which similar what Nokia do last time excluding the OS part. Test the market...

Simple example:
http://www.geeksailor.com/iphone-market-share-china/
http://www.pcworld.com/article/243861/sams...hare_grows.html

afaik, Samsung phone is a meh b4 they using Android as their main OS.

miloy2k
post Mar 17 2012, 10:39 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

so est price how much?
miloy2k
post Apr 12 2012, 07:49 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(ne0cz @ Apr 11 2012, 07:26 PM)
At above RM2000 it is placing it in flagship territory and I think it's gonna get beaten really bad by the SGSIII and iPhone4S. Yea the camera is way ahead of the competition but I don't think it actually leads in any other way. Competition will be tough unless you are talking about someone who places great importance on image quality.
Most people interested in photography will have a proper camera so it doesn't really have a market that way too. Only way is to sell cheap and market it's huge camera.

But most people no longer have faith in Symbian. So...fail phone?
Not a fail productlah, only on the sales part? Based on n8 sales. Wait n see first.
www.zahipoint.com/2010/10/27/why-nokia-n8-will-be-failed/
onlygizmos.com/editorial-the-market-responds-nokia-n8-already-selling-at-rs-22000/2010/10/
n8geeks.com/nokia-n8-sales-plummet-does-this-spell-the-end/
miloy2k
post Apr 16 2012, 10:09 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 15 2012, 06:04 PM)
Yea I agree that with sifu Andy until now my Nokia n900 I still keep.

U can easily overclock your device. Mine was oc to 950mhz some dare even to push to 1ghz and this was even before android was popular. Can play Facebook game, can load any website with flash and the best part it's smooth. If Nokia have push maemo back then meego today this OS will conquer the market sadly it was left to died. Adobe didn't release update for flash 10 on Nokia n900. This one of the reason we don't worship android because we seen better
wrong step for Nokia imo.

As for Android, the main reason why it quite famous becoz of the apps+games >_< + Google backing of coz, plus both are in one way comes from the same family (Linux).

miloy2k
post Apr 17 2012, 07:15 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(ne0cz @ Apr 16 2012, 05:57 PM)
Android is famous because of the great support by google and the phone manufacturers and also the promised continuous improvements. Not like Nokia before even officially selling Nokia N9 with MeeGo already announce no support for MeeGo. Do you think anyone would want to buy something that is no longer supported? I don't for sure  shakehead.gif

If Nokia actually pushed Maemo and MeeGo we won't need to rely on Android to give us proper smartphones. The N900 is legendary in terms of smartphones. I don't know about any other smartphone that can quad-boot.  hmm.gif
+1 thats what I mean by "backing by google earlier" or ur term support. Plus do note that Google is getting bigger and bigger each day..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google

as for the phone manufacturer, they want a piece of the pie as well brows.gif
miloy2k
post Apr 22 2012, 11:50 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Apr 22 2012, 03:13 AM)
back in the old days people have Nokia phone is something ordinary smile.gif
nowaday if people have Nokia phone it is WEIRD sad.gif
Last time, people kepo2 about nokia having a lot of apps when compare with se,samsung, motorola n etc brand. Now its the other way around lol. If nokia dun want 2 adapt, 808 might be last high end phone b4 kena merge or buy over.
miloy2k
post Apr 23 2012, 12:32 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Apr 22 2012, 01:02 PM)
Not really. Some people just cant be bothered with apps on their phones. Like my parents, most of my Perak and Penang relatives etc.

They just want phone that works, and extra features such as camera, gps are welcomed too.
but majority of people nowadays does sweat.gif see the market share for apple/google in the pass 5 years and see nokia ones.

do note unlike nokia, they also do PC/apps and etc.. (built them-self or via buy over)..

Added on April 23, 2012, 12:33 amhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smartphone#Market_share

This post has been edited by miloy2k: Apr 23 2012, 12:33 AM
miloy2k
post Apr 23 2012, 12:11 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 23 2012, 09:40 AM)
The problem is, Nokia could've easily make a come back IF they listen to their customers.

Look at what happen to Samseng and HTC? Look at these 2 company last time.

Look at Nokia, when it was struggling to make a come back, people been asking for an Android Nokia phone; there're many potential customer for Nokia here.
Instead of grabbing these market, they decided to go for, well, you know what... which at the same time, make their reputation worst.
Wait... so what IF they decide to go for WP? They can still go for Android? Even Samseng and HTC did the same, they have both WP and Android.

Imagine if Nokia have Android phone as well. Today, it will one of the major competitor in the market, they want to adopt Windows Phone also no problem, they can grab more customer. Which means, they can have different customers. Now? They're loosing Customer everyday and hopping to gain back their Customer by hoping these Customer will switch to Windows Phone. Can it work? I'm no business man, but I think this is exactly like what Apple wish to do.

I can only say, usually for business strategy, people do this open 2 tap water strategty, see which one flows more before deciding; but Nokia-Microsoft or Elop, I don't get their strategy, perhaps it's a new kind of business strategy, or there's something behind it.
MeeGo was declared dead before it was even born, and all the work just go into rubbish bin.
Symbian was declared to be executed soon before Windows Phone was even available, not to mention, can it sell?
So, it's like killing your own product FIRST, while waiting for your new upcoming product to be available... which also means, they will start loosing customers already even before the new product is available.
Is this some sort of new business strategy?
Dun want to listen=bad move for a business.

IMO if last time nokia N8 or etc model come-out with android (fact is the NUMBERS of Android user are growing each days), they might "Strike back" like Nokia: Empire Strike Back!!

Regardless yada2 some part yada2 android got bug/etc/power hunger, but do note also the there are custom rom/add on to counter thoose stuff. aka flexibility.. they main pirority is to get back the customer.
miloy2k
post Apr 23 2012, 12:32 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 23 2012, 12:31 PM)
Yup, they should do multi-platform.

They will have Symbian customers, Android customers, Windows Phone customers, MeeGo customers.
And they will be the only manufacturer with so many platforms? If they decide to reduce the platform, that time they can decide which platform is not doing well, then slowly switch, and the customer can still maintain since they got other platforms available.
Many people may still want a Nokia phone, but there's no Android, so what happen? Nokia just lost these customers.

Now the market all taken by Samseng and HTC.

My understanding is very simple:
If you open a restaurant that sells Porridge. Will you sell ONLY porridge? Or will you sell variety of foods?
If you only sell porridge, and if got let's say 3 friends want to have lunch, IF one of them don't want to eat porridge how? You lost not 1 customer but ALL 3.
Samsung and sony already doing it, seems working so far tongue.gif

Added on April 23, 2012, 12:37 pm
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 23 2012, 12:28 PM)
Its nothing to do with android. Why everyone keep make it seems android is the only OS. Nokia already shown everyone how powerful is meego. Android is unstable and requires high core to be smooth. Meego even single core can pawn android the mistake was they never push and focus on the OS.

I take android as a sample since meego is dead, while IOS is only for Apple and android - any phone manufacturer can use (maybe they need to pay google?)

btw my csl mi300 run smoothly using custom rom, if using stock one mmg doh.gif

This post has been edited by miloy2k: Apr 23 2012, 12:38 PM
miloy2k
post Apr 23 2012, 12:55 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 23 2012, 12:51 PM)
if everyone take the same piece of cake they will eat less after awhile ppl will be bored of cakes.
Like iOS their cake is all theirs so = profit all theirs
But if your cake is one of a kind in the world when ppl talk about your cake you have your own standards and rewards all yours.
Noted. But what if meego is revived? Huhu will b instresting..
miloy2k
post Apr 24 2012, 10:28 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Apr 24 2012, 10:26 AM)
Actually, majority does not. Its just you are in a community of smartphone savvy people.

I work in a bank, and only around 50% of the people in the IT department actually use smartphones with apps and such. And much less amount of people cares about that in other departments. I would say only 10% in non-IT departments.
they follow the trend?
miloy2k
post Apr 24 2012, 10:45 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Apr 24 2012, 10:33 AM)
The market share you shows follows the global trend, which is heavily after people of the west. Most people in Asia and Malaysia still uses Nokia.

http://humanwebsite.com.my/blog/malaysian-...-july-2011.html
most old folk (my mom and dad) and myself still use old skool nokia lol
miloy2k
post Apr 30 2012, 09:34 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Apr 27 2012, 08:33 AM)
I don't see how Android can work in the long run. These bugs, incompatibility issues are just way too crazy.
Looking at future Windows Phone but Nokia people criticising Elop's decision to go full out on WP...

as long google (big company with a lot of allies) still supporting it, should be ok in the long run.

dun forget, got custom rom to resolved the related issue lol
miloy2k
post May 3 2012, 09:15 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ May 2 2012, 12:40 AM)
I prefer not to go with custom rom route...with latest ics custom roms..not all roms are perfect.. sweat.gif
prefer stock out of box anytime anyday smile.gif
the best thing its free and have a lot of support from Google/developer.
miloy2k
post May 9 2012, 07:22 PM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(billygoh @ May 7 2012, 06:30 PM)
rm2299 is ridiculous  sweat.gif
dun worry, nokia might do price cut lol
miloy2k
post May 15 2012, 08:27 AM

[[[[[IMPERIAL ARMY]]]]]
15,773 posts

QUOTE(apecx92 @ May 14 2012, 09:08 PM)
sad nokia doesnt update its flash support although the phone already powerup. we need full experience on browsing. =.=''
they slow as usual,

0.0515sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:09 AM