127 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Nokia 808 The New King of Cameraphone!, Available now!!

Andy214
post Mar 2 2012, 10:29 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Mar 2 2012, 10:06 AM)
Well explained, i think those Nokia basher should took some time to read this instead of making jealous argument. nod.gif
Thanks. To be fair, every manufacturer has their own strength and weakness. I believe we still admit Nokia is not doing well in hardware specs department and also their OS.

Imaging is one of Nokia's strength and this 808 PureView, they spend over 5 years. Damian Dining is also an amazing person, with the N8 and the N9, he created the new generation sensor which utilizes best of both world (16:9 format and 4:3 format), which is now also applied to 808.
sklchan
post Mar 2 2012, 10:34 AM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 2 2012, 09:57 AM)
Basically to understand:

As comparison with normal or phone camera, 808 can take maximum:
38MP (4:3 format)
34MP (16:9 format)

808 have this "PureView" mode, what it does is... oversample (something similar like Photoshop downsampling) the full resolution into lower resolution.  E.g. 38MP --> 5MP
NOTE: You can read below my post to Agito for more information.

So, as a normal camera, it's still taking 38MP or 34MP, just like N8 taking 12MP.
With PureView, it's enhancing the photo by oversampling to lower resolution (e.g. 5MP) using Nokia's algorithm.

Now, how come the 3X zoom is lossess?
Basically Nokia want to do optical zoom 5 years back, but it will be bulky, costly, etc. you name it.
Thus, they found this solution.
In 5MP mode, with no zoom, it's at highest oversampling mode.
As you zoom, the oversampling reduces because imagine the sensor is 41MP, as you zoom, it actually utilizes the sensor area (0X zoom, you using the full area of the sensor, as you zoom, it uses less area of the sensor which is like cropping from the original full resolution).
When you're at max zoom, it will be using the 5MP area of the sensor, thus it's lossless. The quality will be like a normal 5MP WITHOUT oversampling.
If you camera with oversampled 5MP with 3X zoom 5MP (with no oversampled), you will may see some loss in quality, but it's still original 5MP.

The above, has another benefit, with conventional camera optional zoom, the aperture changes when you zoom (e.g. 3X zoom at f/5.6), BUT with above technology, the aperture didn't change at all, still at f/2.4, thus allowing in more light.
I think many people are jumping to conclusions before understanding the technology or what it is, and never tried the camera or properly review. One will sound stupid if they just simply make assumptions by just looking at the surface/cover.  They should do like GSMArena, go and try and talk to the man himself, understand the technolgy and what it actually do.

http://www.gsmarena.com/d_dinning_intervie...-review-728.php

Basically, if you take a full resolution, the image quality is very normal; Their specialty is the "PureView" method, which is oversampling the full resolution into lower resolution (E.g. 38MP --> 5MP), and they're not doing pixel binning method. At least GSMArena did a very thorough interview and get a lot of information from them.

The reason they do this is to overcome the issue of introducing optical zoom into smartphones. Optical zoom will make the phone bulky, and the cost involved for the lens will be high and it's also less durable, etc.
They come up with this where you have a 41MP sensor, oversampled to 5MP, hence, you can zoom up till the max zoom which still utilizing the 5MP part of the sensor; This means, it's something like optical zoom, the only thing is, as you zoom, the oversampling reduces, when you're in max zoom, the 5MP will be like a normal 5MP quality.
Another benefit here is, the aperture is maintained compared to a conventional camera which have variable aperture optical zoom.
Now, the D800, there is option to shoot at lower resolution (e.g. 8MP), but I don't think there's any oversampling or similar applied? If there is no, imagine applying this technology which will greatly enhance the quality, image noise, etc. I think this is a NICE TO HAVE option, you can choose to have normal 8MP or oversampled 8MP.
Canon have this lossess zoom thing I think, not sure if the technology is something similar.

It's also said oversampling eliminates the Bayer Pattern problem; Below taken from White Paper:
For example, conventional 8MPix sensors include only 4Mpix green, 2Mpix red and 2Mpix blue pixels, which are interpolated to 8Mpix R, G, B image. With pixel oversampling, all pixels become true R, G, and B pixels. What’s more, based on Nyqvist theorem, youactually need oversampling for good performance. For example, audio needs to be sampled at 44 kHz to get good 22 kHz quality.

Anyway, I think this is a good and nice technology; We shouldn't look at it negatively, it would be to if it will be available as additional options in the camera, and the guy behind it is amazing too, he developed a new generation of sensor for the N9, which utilizes best of both world from 16:9 and 4:3 format.

Some Q&A from taken from GSMArena Interview:

GSMArena: If we only needed a 2MP image, for instance, we would traditionally take a full resolution shot, and then downsample it with Photoshop. Does PureView provide downsampling algorithms superior to those of Photoshop or other image editing software, effectively eliminating this step?
D. Dinning: We haven't really made that comparison. What I can say is, depending on the interpolation and downsampling you use in Photoshop, it may be possible that you'll get similar performance. But you're then handling the JPG file that was saved, so you're probably better off doing it at point of capture. I think you'll find that we probably have a different balance to what you achieve with Photoshop. How we optimize the algorithms is to retain as much of the detail as possible that we think is represented in the object, but also filter as much of the noise as possible. In Photoshop, you typically might get a sharpness that looks higher, but you might get more noise, for example. We struck a slightly different balance when we use our algorithms.
GSMArena: Let's talk about the optics. Carl Zeiss, right?
D. Dinning: Carl Zeiss, yes. The [manufacturing] precision is ten times greater than with SLR [lenses]. There are five lenses, quite small at the top, and then get progressively larger as they approach the sensor. There's also a mechanical ND filter which can be controlled in Creative mode, similar to the N8.
bro Andy comment really technical... sweat.gif
emino
post Mar 2 2012, 10:35 AM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Mar 2 2012, 10:34 AM)
bro Andy comment really technical...  sweat.gif
Actually, his comment is more business-analyst like rather than pure technical, since I'm not very tech yet still understand him clearly. smile.gif
Agito666
post Mar 2 2012, 10:38 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(AlanSiew @ Mar 2 2012, 10:20 AM)
u want learn tat china boy who sell his kidney for iPad 2 & iPhone meh?  laugh.gif
go buy pig kidney from non-halal stall and claim that is my kidney whistling.gif brows.gif

anyway see got data plan for this phone or not...hopefully got some nice apps...i actually quite outdated with symbian 3 app market.
freakenstein
post Mar 2 2012, 11:47 AM

2,239 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Mar 2 2012, 02:34 AM)
Lol the lens itself is protected with gorilla glass. Even the n8 doesnt have it, no scratches on my n8 lens tho.
sklchan
post Mar 2 2012, 12:08 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Mar 2 2012, 11:47 AM)
Lol the lens itself is protected with gorilla glass. Even the n8 doesnt have it,  no scratches on my n8 lens tho.
wuuu... the 808 got kingkong protecter for it's cam module... thumbup.gif
WhitE LighteR
post Mar 2 2012, 12:17 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

one thing i wish i since N8 was a remote camera trigger. even the expensive camera this days dont have that. but they used to last time...
aspire2oo6
post Mar 2 2012, 12:21 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(freakenstein @ Mar 2 2012, 11:47 AM)
Lol the lens itself is protected with gorilla glass. Even the n8 doesnt have it,  no scratches on my n8 lens tho.
U Should see mine how bad it is haha. Until now Damien have not answer the belle camera quality maybe he don't bother due to pureview 808
tonberry_ax
post Mar 2 2012, 12:22 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Mar 2 2012, 12:17 PM)
one thing i wish i since N8 was a remote camera trigger. even the expensive camera this days dont have that. but they used to last time...
N900 has it, using infrared. Lets see when is the Bluetooth version is implement...
WhitE LighteR
post Mar 2 2012, 01:06 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Mar 2 2012, 12:22 PM)
N900 has it, using infrared. Lets see when is the Bluetooth version is implement...
i would love to have a bluetooth version. thumbup.gif
Andy214
post Mar 2 2012, 02:11 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Mar 2 2012, 10:35 AM)
Actually, his comment is more business-analyst like rather than pure technical, since I'm not very tech yet still understand him clearly. smile.gif
Thanks! Glad to hear it's still understandable.
aspire2oo6
post Mar 2 2012, 02:16 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

The technology it's so new and complex till many do not understand
sklchan
post Mar 2 2012, 02:36 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 2 2012, 02:16 PM)
The technology it's so new and complex till many do not understand
they disbelieve the capability of the nokia hw... at first I'm also not sure how they do it, but later found out the camera module actually come with it's own image processing capability which never use the "default" gpu to do the oversampling... and FYI the camera sensor is from Toshiba... smile.gif

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/in...p?topic=63041.0

This post has been edited by sklchan: Mar 2 2012, 02:39 PM
Agito666
post Mar 2 2012, 02:52 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Mar 2 2012, 02:36 PM)
they disbelieve the capability of the nokia hw... at first I'm also not sure how they do it, but later found out the camera module actually come with it's own image processing capability which never use the "default" gpu to do the oversampling... and FYI the camera sensor is from Toshiba...  smile.gif

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/in...p?topic=63041.0
everything is connected...even nikon sensor actually is from sony...heard this from lecture in MMU 4-6 years ago...and sifu calvin also la... whistling.gif
haley0918
post Mar 2 2012, 03:26 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Mar 2 2012, 02:31 AM)
Apparently Damian Dinning isn't too ease of this matter :

from Damian and 808 PureView team

but seriously if there's any problem just shoot it at Damian
they're still working on it before the final launch
otherwise would probably in later updates just like n8 continuous autofocus for video
sklchan
post Mar 2 2012, 03:30 PM

~~Life Goes On~~
6,357 posts

Job --- ifag idol
Damian --- nokian idol?? whistling.gif
haley0918
post Mar 2 2012, 03:33 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Mar 2 2012, 04:30 PM)
Job --- ifag idol
Damian --- nokian idol?? whistling.gif
at least Damian is taking feedback and input seriously
nicholasbeh
post Mar 2 2012, 03:34 PM

4,518 posts

Prefer lens cover.looks pro
haley0918
post Mar 2 2012, 03:35 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Mar 2 2012, 04:34 PM)
Prefer lens cover.looks pro
just like n82 thumbup.gif
nicholasbeh
post Mar 2 2012, 03:42 PM

4,518 posts

Like n82 or satio.actually xenon n led combination available in Sony long time ago.in satio.can snap video in extremely low light condition

127 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:08 PM