Painting Tile, Anyone experince before

TSjustheone_2
post Feb 27 2012, 02:37 PM, updated 14y ago

268 posts

I try not to change my old tiles but just want to repaint it.
Anyone have experince how long can it last?
What paint to use if it for external tiles?
please share.
coconutzz
post Feb 27 2012, 05:04 PM

1,109 posts

u referring to roof tiles?
TSjustheone_2
post Feb 27 2012, 06:45 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Feb 27 2012, 05:04 PM)
u referring to roof tiles?
Normal floor tile. My mainly outdoor tiles.

weikee
post Feb 27 2012, 06:51 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(justheone_2 @ Feb 27 2012, 06:45 PM)
Normal floor tile. My mainly outdoor tiles.
Tiles won't be able to paint and the paint wont stick especially where tiles are in walking area, paint will chip off and very ugly.
coconutzz
post Feb 27 2012, 07:51 PM

1,109 posts

Agree with Wei kee...
mav_850
post Feb 27 2012, 09:15 PM

287 posts

yeah.. i never see people painting tiles.. hehehe..
but
roof tiles yes... i've painted many house roof... LoL biggrin.gif
ozak
post Feb 27 2012, 11:36 PM

17,021 posts

I see before painting tiles but wall tiles. General look ok, but if see closely many brush line.

Ou can get the tiles paint from ACE. Not cheap and limited color. The paint is semigloss.
kelvyn
post Feb 28 2012, 05:27 PM

3,173 posts

for wall tiles, if spray paint, will look ok...
tehtmc
post Feb 28 2012, 05:29 PM

Validating
1,333 posts

Floor paint on cement surface does not last, what more you apply it on tile surface?

Easier to just clean the tile surface with acid.
shanlyn
post Feb 28 2012, 05:31 PM

Please dont you will regret, my father paint the flooring in the carpark green, looks so weird man...
craftsnknots
post Feb 29 2012, 02:12 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 27 2012, 07:51 PM)
Tiles won't be able to paint and the paint wont stick especially where tiles are in walking area, paint will chip off and very ugly.
QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 28 2012, 12:36 AM)
I see before painting tiles but wall tiles. General look ok, but if see closely many brush line.

Ou can get the tiles paint from ACE. Not cheap and limited color. The paint is semigloss.
Got...I used to watch Debbie's Painted house on TV last time, I remember that she painted tiles for kitchen. See these....but I think have to be ceramic tiles maybe

http://blog.craftzine.com/archive/2011/06/...erboard_ti.html

http://www.curbly.com/users/modhomeecteach...tile-floor#jump

Added on February 29, 2012, 2:15 pmeh? Got ppl paint bathroom also..saw this on youtube..dunno can last or not
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wptjSPQ2HFg&feature=related

This post has been edited by craftsnknots: Feb 29 2012, 02:15 PM
weikee
post Feb 29 2012, 02:24 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ Feb 29 2012, 02:12 PM)
Got...I used to watch Debbie's Painted house on TV last time, I remember that she painted tiles for kitchen. See these....but I think have to be ceramic tiles maybe

Added on February 29, 2012, 2:15 pmeh? Got ppl paint bathroom also..saw this on youtube..dunno can last or not
You try, let us know biggrin.gif
craftsnknots
post Feb 29 2012, 02:48 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Feb 29 2012, 03:24 PM)
You try, let us know biggrin.gif
Blek! tongue.gif I scared....
Mist.elf
post Mar 1 2012, 08:49 AM

19 posts

got ppl paint ceramic tiles, but on d wall..my painting man said he did paint for wall tiles before, using nippon series, there is a special paint for that, costs quite expensive, but look nice afterall. I'm planning to do it myself since only 2 walls in kitchen need to b painted, old tiles, no more budget to change all..
Flawless1
post Nov 7 2014, 07:38 PM

115 posts

Hi. So finally did anyone paint their tiles?
jyrenotech
post Nov 7 2014, 11:06 PM

epoxy paint might be alright
habitat
post Nov 8 2014, 01:52 AM

Painted some tiles in my toilet with this paint a year ago.

This post has been edited by habitat: Nov 8 2014, 02:05 AM

JunJun04035
post Nov 8 2014, 03:35 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ Feb 29 2012, 02:12 PM)

THAT IS EPOXY.
Written on the paint can
Flawless1
post Nov 9 2014, 05:46 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(habitat @ Nov 8 2014, 02:52 AM)
Painted some tiles in my toilet with this paint a year ago.
can show the results? thinking ofdoing the same. hpw much is a bucket of paint?

chinyen
post Nov 10 2014, 08:13 AM

754 posts

i paint my house outdoor 2cmx2cm wall tile. with weatherbond epoxy paint, clean tile and dry well, best on a sunny day, touch up on any holes with cement or plaster, apply more paint over the grout so that the paint wont chip off easily, 3 layers of paint . i skipped the sealer, though. i repaint every 3 or 4 years.

as for bigger size tile, i think you would have to remove the gloss surface by roughening it with rough sandpaper or hand sanding machine so that the paint would stick well

This post has been edited by chinyen: Nov 10 2014, 08:14 AM

0.0260sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:14 AM