Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!
NothinUnusual
Sep 15 2013, 04:10 PM

Hi guys,
I applied the Public Bank Credit Card Gold along when I did my car monthly payment. The thing is I am very new about these kind of things.
I want to ask if is there any yearly or monthly payment? From what I heard is that the yearly payment is waived as long as my car payment is still going on (which is 9 years) (Is it because they expect me to pay for the car using the card?). Also, let's say I bought RM 2000 stuffs. I paid RM 200-300 per month. Then how much interest r they going to charge me?
1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM35K 2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must 3. Card required for: Mostly going to be Petrol purchases (swipe twice a month, or so), but can also be used for emergency or online purchases, and emergency swipes while travelling/holidaying (in Malaysia and overseas) 4. Existing credit cards if any: Debit card mostly 5. Looking at CC from: Citi Bank Clear card as I saw there's 1-1 free ticket for cinema and Coffee bean as well
This post has been edited by NothinUnusual: Sep 15 2013, 04:23 PM
Human Nature
Sep 15 2013, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(NothinUnusual @ Sep 15 2013, 04:10 PM) Hi guys,
I applied the Public Bank Credit Card Gold along when I did my car monthly payment. The thing is I am very new about these kind of things.
I want to ask if is there any yearly or monthly payment? From what I heard is that the yearly payment is waived as long as my car payment is still going on (which is 9 years) (Is it because they expect me to pay for the car using the card?). Also, let's say I bought RM 2000 stuffs. I paid RM 200-300 per month. Then how much interest r they going to charge me? You cannot use credit card to pay off car loans. Rule of the thumb, pay statement balance in full or at least make sure you know how to calculate the interest. Also, look at other card's benefits and decide which is best for you.
NothinUnusual
Sep 15 2013, 06:52 PM

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 15 2013, 05:29 PM) You cannot use credit card to pay off car loans. Rule of the thumb, pay statement balance in full or at least make sure you know how to calculate the interest. Also, look at other card's benefits and decide which is best for you. Ahh...I see. I've read up a lot. All of them feels like there's a trap behind it haha  For now I am thinking of applying Citibank Choice ( no annual feel for both principal and supplementary holder and it has 50 rewards points for petrol if u pump 50 bucks in 1 go) and then Citibank Clear for the 1-1 Coffee bean and cinema deal. The first year annual fees is waived for my public bank gold visa card. I think I'm gonna cancelled it once it reaches 1 year Wat do u guys think? EDIT: Hmm based on this calculator here for Citibank: http://www.citibank.com.my/english/docs/us...-calculator.htmLet's say I purchased RM 2000 and I am paying RM 500 per month.. the interest will be RM 65 only per month or until everything is paid off? @@ This post has been edited by NothinUnusual: Sep 15 2013, 07:03 PM
fly126
Sep 15 2013, 09:44 PM
QUOTE(NothinUnusual @ Sep 15 2013, 06:52 PM) Ahh...I see. I've read up a lot. All of them feels like there's a trap behind it haha  For now I am thinking of applying Citibank Choice ( no annual feel for both principal and supplementary holder and it has 50 rewards points for petrol if u pump 50 bucks in 1 go)..... FYI, You X Get Any Reward Points on Petrol With Citibank Reward Point System Credit Card Except with Rewards Platinum Cardthe T&Cs of Annual Fee Waiver (Free for Life) Citibank Choice Card will Need minimum 2x Swipes/ Month or they will Charge You RM5 a month
Duckies
Sep 15 2013, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(fly126 @ Sep 15 2013, 09:44 PM) FYI, You X Get Any Reward Points on Petrol With Citibank Reward Point System Credit Card Except with Rewards Platinum Cardthe T&Cs of Annual Fee Waiver (Free for Life) Citibank Choice Card will Need minimum 2x Swipes/ Month or they will Charge You RM5 a month Oh god! That means it's not free for life unless I swipe twice a month or 12 times a year? If that is the case other cards is almost the same  EDIT: But in here it says NIL: http://www.citibank.com.my/english/common/...rges-credit.htmChoice VISA & MasterCard - Monthly Principal Card Membership Nil - Annual Supplement Card Membership Nil This post has been edited by Duckies: Sep 15 2013, 09:52 PM
azrin_kiko
Sep 17 2013, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(NothinUnusual @ Sep 15 2013, 06:52 PM) Ahh...I see. I've read up a lot. All of them feels like there's a trap behind it haha  For now I am thinking of applying Citibank Choice ( no annual feel for both principal and supplementary holder and it has 50 rewards points for petrol if u pump 50 bucks in 1 go) and then Citibank Clear for the 1-1 Coffee bean and cinema deal. The first year annual fees is waived for my public bank gold visa card. I think I'm gonna cancelled it once it reaches 1 year Wat do u guys think? EDIT: Hmm based on this calculator here for Citibank: http://www.citibank.com.my/english/docs/us...-calculator.htmLet's say I purchased RM 2000 and I am paying RM 500 per month.. the interest will be RM 65 only per month or until everything is paid off? @@The RM65 is the total interest incurred to the balance of RM2000 depending on how many months you pay. This post has been edited by azrin_kiko: Sep 17 2013, 09:24 AM
paul5263
Sep 17 2013, 12:09 PM

CIMB Cash Rebate Platinum MasterCard VS OCBC Titanium MasterCard, which is better?
fly126
Sep 17 2013, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(paul5263 @ Sep 17 2013, 12:09 PM) CIMB Cash Rebate Platinum MasterCard VS OCBC Titanium MasterCard, which is better? OCBC Titanium....
chuken123
Sep 18 2013, 07:04 AM

Can I add fd interest income and rental income to apply credit card ?
edwardccg
Sep 20 2013, 09:24 PM
My father have one citibank basic mastercard, is it possible to request to upgrade to other citibank card (cashback platinium)?
If not, then need to new apply the cashback platinium and then cancel the basic mastercard?
is it will be easier to approve?
fly126
Sep 20 2013, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(edwardccg @ Sep 20 2013, 09:24 PM) My father have one citibank basic mastercard, is it possible to request to upgrade to other citibank card (cashback platinium)? If not, then need to new apply the cashback platinium and then cancel the basic mastercard? is it will be easier to approve? Yes, Your Dad can Request for It but will Need to Submit His Latest Income Proof Documentation ie, Salary Slips Which shown his Current Salary Income... Unless You get Auto-Upgrade (Offer) New Card by the Bank ... If Not, THEY want to have a Look at Your Salary 1st before they can Upgrade your Card...  Pls, Refer to: http://www.citibank.com.my/english/existin...ode=MYECMWAB3LM on How to Upgrade Your Citibank Credit Card This post has been edited by fly126: Sep 21 2013, 03:17 AM
WhoIsKenneth
Sep 23 2013, 11:10 AM

My credit card payment due date was on the 3th of the month while my salary is paid on the 5th. I was charged late payment for few month already.
Anyone here can give me some advice how to deal with this?
namh
Sep 23 2013, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(WhoIsKenneth @ Sep 23 2013, 11:10 AM) My credit card payment due date was on the 3th of the month while my salary is paid on the 5th. I was charged late payment for few month already. Anyone here can give me some advice how to deal with this? 1. you can try call your bank and ask them to waive the late payment, since only 2 days late 2. call your bank too and ask them change your statement date to another 1 week so you can pay after getting your salary
razifrahman
Sep 23 2013, 06:51 PM
Recently, I applied for a credit Card from PB using my car loan as a backup. In my application form I ticked 2 boxes that visa gold or mastercard gold because t thought is either one. All i need is one card, so will they approve both or just give me one card or reject my application. I need to hear the opinions of the sifus here.
Human Nature
Sep 23 2013, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(razifrahman @ Sep 23 2013, 06:51 PM) Recently, I applied for a credit Card from PB using my car loan as a backup. In my application form I ticked 2 boxes that visa gold or mastercard gold because t thought is either one. All i need is one card, so will they approve both or just give me one card or reject my application. I need to hear the opinions of the sifus here. You ticked 2 boxes but visa OR mastercard? If you mean, you ticked 2 boxes, for Visa and Mastercard each, then they will process 2 cards. If you only want 1, call them now to correct the situation This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 23 2013, 06:56 PM
razifrahman
Sep 23 2013, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 23 2013, 06:56 PM) You ticked 2 boxes but visa OR mastercard? If you mean, you ticked 2 boxes, for Visa and Mastercard each, then they will process 2 cards. If you only want 1, call them now to correct the situation I tick for visa and mastercard. Ok, thanks.. i will inform them but what the difference will they share a single credit limit.
Human Nature
Sep 23 2013, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(razifrahman @ Sep 23 2013, 10:29 PM) I tick for visa and mastercard. Ok, thanks.. i will inform them but what the difference will they share a single credit limit. Yes, very likely.
fly126
Sep 23 2013, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(razifrahman @ Sep 23 2013, 10:29 PM) I tick for visa and mastercard. Ok, thanks.. i will inform them but what the difference will they share a single credit limit. Yes... Maybe they have Share a Single CL... but, You have to Pay($50x2) GST for Both of the 2 Cards...
timeofchaos1
Sep 26 2013, 02:18 AM
Hi, anyone can advice or comment on public bank credit card? As i dont see any specific thread for it.
fly126
Sep 26 2013, 03:15 AM
QUOTE(timeofchaos1 @ Sep 26 2013, 02:18 AM) Hi, anyone can advice or comment on public bank credit card? As i dont see any specific thread for it. FYI, the Benefits of Public Bank Credit Card Actually NOT Quite Good to Attract ppl Apply... if Compare with Others Bank Credit Card Few ppl have It Only... Sebab Itu Tak Laku The Reason Why there was No Public Bank Credit Card Thread, Here... But Anyway, You can Refer to: https://ringgitplus.com/en/credit-card/Public-Bank/ for more Details on Public Bank Credit Card This post has been edited by fly126: Oct 3 2013, 02:58 AM