Credit Cards Credit Card v17, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

fruitie
post Apr 28 2013, 01:18 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(loyalkkk @ Apr 28 2013, 01:13 AM)
RM48k annual income also reject? Did they state any reason? If I walk-in the bank to apply, do u think the chance to be approve is higher?

For your 2nd application, how long does it take to approve your application?
I just went through UOB One Card. I apply cc mainly for bill payment (i.e telco, astro, utilities, etc) UOB One card only give 2% but OCBC give 5%. However, UOB One card no minimum monthly cash rebate.. This is the winning point.

Do you know is there any promotion due date for UOB One Card?

For now, I will try my best to apply OCBC Ti 1st. If cannot, UOB One card is my 2nd choice  biggrin.gif
No, they will not share the reason. smile.gif I didn't apply for second time, I straight appealed after the rejection.
Quite fast after I voiced out my dissatisfaction for the rejection. laugh.gif I got my card within 1 month plus all the waiting time, first round rejection and bla bla. laugh.gif

You can try Maybankard2Card as well. smile.gif
We have the thread in this section. It is the best card to couple with OCBC Ti and I have both. tongue.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2641365

This post has been edited by fruitie: Apr 28 2013, 01:19 AM
fruitie
post Apr 28 2013, 01:29 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Apr 28 2013, 01:20 AM)
Btw, for the OCBC Tit. Card Appealing... How long U will know Your Appealing Status...???
I'm in Card Appealing Now... the Agent said need a month to know the Result.... hmm.gif
My agent can't guarantee as well during that point of time.
Guess what after 2 weeks of appealing and still heard no results, I called OCBC hotline myself and spoken to one of the CSs. I told him I'm very disappointed with their service and rejected their potential customers' application despite fulfilling all the requirements.
He checked my record and noted that indeed my income requirement was sufficient and my record is clean.

In the end, he said he will escalate it to the higher management. That was on Friday's evening and on Monday my card was approved without my knowledge. Tuesday's morning, one of the OCBC guys called me and told me my card was already approved and already sent out to my house. laugh.gif

Coincidence or the CS guy did manage to escalate? I don't know. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Apr 28 2013, 01:44 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(prole @ Apr 28 2013, 01:37 AM)
My annual income >50k still got rejected although having good CCs usage track record. I decided not to appeal.
Last time I aggressively participate in their fixed deposit promo but now I just keep away from having any financial relationship with them since I'm not valuable to the bank. Don't want to get insulted anymore rclxm9.gif
Yeah, to be honest I was a bit insulted actually. I got my CIMB DA during my 2nd month of employment with no question asked and Maybank called to give me their Maybankard2Card but for OCBC Ti I have to appeal. doh.gif
Thank God it was successful after my appeal, else I can say goodbye to this card as well.
fruitie
post Apr 28 2013, 01:51 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(loyalkkk @ Apr 28 2013, 01:45 AM)
Congraz~ if i apply now and get reject, then i appeal again, all in all the application process after the promotion date  (30 June 2013), do you think I can get the card if it approve after 30 June 2013?

I also interested in Maybankard2Card. But i found that it is so complicated. Since there are 2 cards, which card should I swipe/make online bill payment? How to maximise cash rebate?

You mentioned OCBC Ti couple with Maybankard2Card. Can share how do you use both of the cc to get maximum benefits?
I'm not sure as I told you OCBC Ti is very strict in their selection criteria. God knows if they have any hidden criteria that not made known to the public. laugh.gif
If no credit history is also another issue, like your case. Unless you have house loan or/and car loan in hand as well. smile.gif

Basically, Maybank gives 2 cards but my VISA card is always kept in wallet. We only concern about AmEx. laugh.gif 5xTreat Points 24/7/365 and 5% rebate for any transactions that fall during weekends. The only drawback is AmEx is not so preferred among the merchants compared to VISA or MasterCard. However, most of the big merchants now accept AmEx. You can refer to this thread: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2035710

For weekends, no doubt if the shops accept AmEx, I will use AmEx. smile.gif
For weekdays, I will use my OCBC Ti. For my telco bills, I will use my OCBC Ti as well. smile.gif
fruitie
post May 15 2013, 05:31 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(pasarmalam @ May 15 2013, 05:04 PM)
But will they add the 2.4k to the total credit sum?

lets say I owe bank now 4k limit is 10k so will it still add 2.4k to the total sum or just charge my card 200 every month?

Tq
Add. So it is RM 4k + RM 2.4k and it will be reduced RM 200 every month. smile.gif
So, in a way it actually reduces your credit limit, and your credit limit will be increased RM 200 every month until the total RM 2.4k is cleared.
fruitie
post May 26 2013, 09:57 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(joshuatly @ May 26 2013, 08:42 PM)
Anyone know places to pay PTPTN loan using credit card? AMEX? hehe
You can't pay a loan with a credit card. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: May 26 2013, 11:20 PM
fruitie
post Jun 6 2013, 09:04 AM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Denis @ Jun 6 2013, 08:36 AM)
Hi, I need some advise here:

I have applied for the housing loan from the Public Bank (PBB) and was successfully taken the loan from them. However, Public Bank has given me a credit card based on that. I don't like that card as it is not beneficial. The PBB cs said that I need to use at least 3 times within two months with a min spending of RM80 each in order to get the rebate of RM 50 to cover the GST payment.

My question is if I don't activate the card, will PBB still  charge me GST RM 50?

Thanks for the advice.
Yes, GST is charged once the card is approved and not necessarily activated or not.
fruitie
post Jun 26 2013, 01:49 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 26 2013, 01:36 PM)
Anyone got unauthorised transactions in your credit card?

I kena today which I believe was leaking by Paypal. Because the card, I only used it with Paypal.

The merchant is KARMALOOP INC
Few forummers also got fraud case and the charges were charged to KARMALOOP INC.
Please call your bank and block the card.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Jun 26 2013, 01:50 PM
fruitie
post Jun 26 2013, 06:48 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 26 2013, 05:39 PM)
already done.

my friend got it first 2 weeks ago and both of us are using maybank amex too which were added to paypal.
Ya, I'm also using it for PayPal and also other transactions.
Just too many fraud cases reported for Maybank AmEx, need to be careful.
fruitie
post Aug 19 2013, 12:17 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

Sigh. Got a car loan with AmBank and just received a SMS from them that my credit card is approved. I didn't even apply for it. doh.gif mad.gif Have to call and cancel before GST is charged to me.

Is this a norm for banks to do this if someone applies loan from their banks?
fruitie
post Aug 19 2013, 12:31 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 19 2013, 12:26 PM)
Some will do this. You can actually lodge a complaint as BNM has prohibited the offering unsolicited pre-approved credit cards.
I have to call to AmBank to understand the real situation before making a report to BNM if I'm not too lazy. sweat.gif
fruitie
post Aug 19 2013, 02:08 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Aug 19 2013, 01:36 PM)
ya, same situation to me as I have housing loan with PBB, and they have provided me the credit card as well, after that the GST has charge to that card.

But in the end, they have extra charge me about the late payment as I have totally forgot the GST fee need to be pay.

Call to offset the extra charge, paid the RM50 and straight away cancel it.  sweat.gif
doh.gif Now they want me to write in. doh.gif
It is so inconvenient when I'm not supposed to be penalized for something which I didn't ask for. sad.gif
fruitie
post Aug 19 2013, 04:33 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Aug 19 2013, 03:35 PM)
since u need to write, just cc bnm
i assumed they din mentioned cc when u took the hire purchase
In the end, someone from CS called me and just cancelled for me over the phone.
She also acknowledged that this is a pre-approved credit card and I didn't ask for it.
I didn't hear them mentioning about credit card, if they do, I will definitely reject it.
Anyway, the whole process of taking up loan, I didn't meet up with any bank officer. The dealer dealt directly with them and bank just called for verification. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Aug 19 2013, 04:53 PM
fruitie
post Aug 19 2013, 05:43 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 19 2013, 05:37 PM)
That is good. They probably got worried that you might write in to BNM  laugh.gif
Yeah, I actually mentioned that to the CS via their online chat. I told her I wasn't happy that this came to me unexpectedly and I will write to BNM. laugh.gif
I must admit their online chat is really useful to get quick reference. nod.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Aug 19 2013, 05:44 PM
fruitie
post Aug 19 2013, 08:21 PM

Rise and Shine
72,808 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Aug 19 2013, 07:01 PM)
glad that it has been sorted out
sometimes those agents/banks need to be taught before they'll learn  rolleyes.gif
Exactly. The card is not interesting at all, if it is a better one, I could have considered.
Again, they shouldn't do this without their clients' consensus and permission.
I'm definitely not willing to pay RM 50 for nothing.

QUOTE(tweer @ Aug 19 2013, 08:13 PM)
hi,

i want swipe my ccard for 5k(car downpayment)

problem is car dealer do not have swipe machine.

how to solve this?

if cash advance it will charge 5% thus will minus from 5k or it will go into card statement?

thx
I think on the statement but it is kinda scary for cash advance because the interest is on daily basis.
So, please make a wise decision before going for cash advance. sweat.gif

0.0408sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:32 PM