![]() |
Apr 23 2012, 10:16 PM
10,912 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 23 2012, 05:34 PM) this and those CRC degreaser is very expensive... RP7 is around RM12 at CF, if you get the one with 25% extra then the better... WD is more around your range... mind i ask what is CF ? CRC has both a industrial degreaser and a engine degreaser... i had the engine degreaser before (leftover from car stuff) and that worked wonders... problem being too expensive... RP7 is this one right? |
Apr 23 2012, 10:40 PM
593 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Highland, Texas |
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Apr 23 2012, 09:55 PM) Another product question if i am not wrong... force (there is no 2012 yet as far as i know, still the old model) is placed at around RM3.2k price range.. Rival is RM2.6k... complete group without chain if i am correct..![]() zero loss is actually a feature jus to take up cable slack so that when you press on the shift lever, it moves the derailleur immediately rather than taking pu the cable slack first.. on force and lower range... zero loss is only on rear side of the shifter... only Red has zero loss on both front and rear... you can choose to take blackbox BB and see how much it costs... that or take the older set of Red.. i think they should be chopping the price of old red now since the newer group is coming in... QUOTE(vin_ann @ Apr 23 2012, 10:16 PM) yes that is right.. although the packaging here is different...![]() CF is carrefour hypermart... This post has been edited by butthead: Apr 23 2012, 10:43 PM |
Apr 23 2012, 11:11 PM
59 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 23 2012, 10:40 PM) if i am not wrong... force (there is no 2012 yet as far as i know, still the old model) is placed at around RM3.2k price range.. Rival is RM2.6k... complete group without chain if i am correct.. sounds interesting lah that zero loss..but sadly only for rear shifter for force and below zero loss is actually a feature jus to take up cable slack so that when you press on the shift lever, it moves the derailleur immediately rather than taking pu the cable slack first.. on force and lower range... zero loss is only on rear side of the shifter... only Red has zero loss on both front and rear... you can choose to take blackbox BB and see how much it costs... that or take the older set of Red.. i think they should be chopping the price of old red now since the newer group is coming in... yes that is right.. although the packaging here is different... I dont think my 105 have those things Well those are things that I can live with my 105, but it sure irks me everytime it happened This post has been edited by mrjgx: Apr 23 2012, 11:12 PM |
Apr 23 2012, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Apr 23 2012, 11:11 PM) sounds interesting lah that zero loss..but sadly only for rear shifter for force and below I'm a happy user of 105... I dont think my 105 have those things Well those are things that I can live with my 105, but it sure irks me everytime it happened how come can shift two gears at one go? 105 is not campy... While for my experience, when im tired and wanted to upshift the gear, i apply to light, the gear not moving, have to apply more swing then only gear going up... lucky i got 105, if i were to get Tiaga, i'm should be cursing myself since i'm quite heavy and long distance user... 105 serve me well to-date...! |
Apr 24 2012, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(mrjgx @ Apr 23 2012, 11:11 PM) sounds interesting lah that zero loss..but sadly only for rear shifter for force and below reach adjustment is available on the 105 too... you don't get the adjustment shims because your 105 is OEM based.. if you bought 105 in retail form, you get 2 plasticky or rubbery tabs to shim your lever closer to your drops... SRAM on the other hand requires only a tool to rotate the small cam to adjust the shift pedal and a hex key to adjust the brake lever.. both are individually adjusted...I dont think my 105 have those things Well those are things that I can live with my 105, but it sure irks me everytime it happened like so... SRAM TECH UPDATE – setting reach adjust on Rival, Force and RED as for shifting feel.. i personally think that the SRAM lever throw is even smaller than Shimano ones, i am not sure how you can actually mis-shift 2 cogs at one go as that is very hard to mistakenly do it as the lever throw is larger when downshifting... upshift, it is possible since the shifts are relatively quick and easy to hit... 15 degree for upshift and 30 degree for downshift 1 cog... lever force on the SRAM i deduce it to the fact that it requires very good and smooth cables... lousy cables will let you feel a very rough or stiff shifter pedal (maybe due to 1:1 ratio)... which is why i am still experimenting to see which set of cables is best and lasts the longest... i am now using the SRAM Professional sealed cable set made by gore... smooth action initially but also degraded after a while... next one would be interested to try aligator mini i-link to see how it goes... as for the front end shifting, i think a lot of people will tell you SRAM front mech is shit... but i have no problems so far as long as i mate the front FD with SRAM cranks... maybe it is the shifting ramps and pins on the chain ring or maybe it is just something else... i have no problems so far... i was previously on SRAM FD mated to FSA and also Token compact cranks before... those shifts did hesitate a bit and sometimes there is unsucessful pickups going to the big ring and it drops and rubs against the big ring for a bit before it moves up.... there is no perfect group set and i think there is nothing that says SRAM has the stuff to beat Shimano in the drivetrain race... it is all down to personal preferences and for me, i chose SRAM due to the hood shape which i liked, and double tap for introducing a brake lever that never swings... yes, campy also has a brake lever that does not swing but i dislike the hood shape and the elephant ear shift levers which is very annoying sometimes... best to try it to make sure that you like it... i know some people are forced onto SRAM as Shimano replacement parts are sometimes hard to come by.... QUOTE(vin_ann @ Apr 23 2012, 11:43 PM) I'm a happy user of 105... i believe it is a case of adjustment on your FD... get your bike shop to give it a quick tune up and it should do fine... remember to take it out for a ride check before you close case as what works well on the stand might not work well on the road... they'd know what to do... just trust them...how come can shift two gears at one go? 105 is not campy... While for my experience, when im tired and wanted to upshift the gear, i apply to light, the gear not moving, have to apply more swing then only gear going up... lucky i got 105, if i were to get Tiaga, i'm should be cursing myself since i'm quite heavy and long distance user... 105 serve me well to-date...! as of now... tiagra is not much difference to 105.. they've reduced much of the gap.. other than aesthetics and feel of the components... the differences are negligible.... previously tiagra was on 9 speed and upgrades to tiagra was a futile step as you obviously need to chuck it out of the window again if you decide to go 10s... 105 is the workhorse groupset of Shimano... you get the best value for money on 105, that is no mistake. |
Apr 24 2012, 02:47 PM
4,390 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Cheras, Malaysia |
On chain lube maintenance
1) Use degreaser / WD40 to clean 2) wait it to dry 3) Relube it? How much it cost for the chain lubricant ? I also think that my gear shifter is a little too far, difficult to use it during drop bar position.. Well bike fitting.. i wonder if I shud go for a paid bike fitting service (RM150) but somehow kinda defeat the point that I have no clip shoe... This post has been edited by Sky.Live: Apr 24 2012, 03:39 PM |
Apr 24 2012, 02:59 PM
2,096 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 24 2012, 02:47 PM) On chain lube maintenance how to chain the lubricant ar?1) Use degreaser / WD40 to clean 2) wait it to dry 3) Relube it? How much it cost for chain the lubricant? I also think that my gear shifter is a little too far, difficult to use it during drop bar position.. Well bike fitting.. i wonder if I shud go for a paid bike fitting service (RM150) but somehow kinda defeat the point that I have no clip shoe... |
Apr 24 2012, 03:40 PM
Apr 24 2012, 04:00 PM
587 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
chain lube RM50 only..... can use for a long time. unless u buy the dry type, can't control when it flows out from the bottle. cepat habis la
Apr 24 2012, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 24 2012, 02:47 PM) On chain lube maintenance depending on what brand you buy... motorex is under RM30 for a fairly big bottle, don't know how much it contains...finish line ranges from RM25 to RM50 for 2oz and 4oz bottles... morgan blue, kinda expensive and cant really remember... muc-off, also around RM50...pedros ice wax around RM30 but no longer found....1) Use degreaser / WD40 to clean 2) wait it to dry 3) Relube it? How much it cost for the chain lubricant ? I also think that my gear shifter is a little too far, difficult to use it during drop bar position.. Well bike fitting.. i wonder if I shud go for a paid bike fitting service (RM150) but somehow kinda defeat the point that I have no clip shoe... you have to find out if it is bike fitting that is targeting in finding you the correct frame or the type that is to find a better position for you... BG Fit sessions are the later and most cheaper bike fitting is of the former... trying to find a suitable frame size or adapting you to the current frame size... BG Fit or other biomechanic fit sessions covers a lot more things like trying to track your limb movements to make sure you do not cause yourself hurt and injury... either way... expect to spend more than RM150 because they will start recommending you to change a bit of the stuff like stem length and who knows wat... if you are not ready to spend, then i think you should stay off it... my friend spend some RM200++ jus getting those specialized insoles when he did the BG Fit session... on top of changing a stem and i think another something i can't really remember... QUOTE(malleus @ Apr 24 2012, 02:59 PM) english detective... QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 24 2012, 04:00 PM) chain lube RM50 only..... can use for a long time. unless u buy the dry type, can't control when it flows out from the bottle. cepat habis la ada different meh? i think the control is your hand la... stop doing "you know wat" and you would not be spraying lube all over the place and wasting it...in other words... just be patient la... drip it drop by drop and you will save lots... |
Apr 24 2012, 04:36 PM
the dry type like white lightning very difficult to control la
Apr 24 2012, 05:09 PM
Do you thinks is it "okay" to post the prices here on every item we brought from bike shop example on lubricant?
different bike shop is selling different prices given the same bloody lubricant... 1 in Bangsar is no discount, whatever shown in price tag is the final price. 1 in Batu Caves price tag is just for indicative price as required by law, but in fact, it's sell cheaper. 1 in Tmn Melawati just want to get rid of the old stock which was the among cheapest... haha.. that's my experience on the Finish Line lubricant. |
Apr 24 2012, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Apr 24 2012, 05:09 PM) Do you thinks is it "okay" to post the prices here on every item we brought from bike shop example on lubricant? I think posting price is ok.. we are not associating with any bike shop tho.. that's the fact of when everything goes online, ever peer's review count. Imagine you get butt hurt by a shop and you tell everyone online.. In fact last Sunday I went to that bike shop which butt hurt me long ago.. but this time I went there with my friend which is a regular customer there.. looks like their attitude totally changed.. different bike shop is selling different prices given the same bloody lubricant... 1 in Bangsar is no discount, whatever shown in price tag is the final price. 1 in Batu Caves price tag is just for indicative price as required by law, but in fact, it's sell cheaper. 1 in Tmn Melawati just want to get rid of the old stock which was the among cheapest... haha.. that's my experience on the Finish Line lubricant. I |
Apr 24 2012, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 24 2012, 04:36 PM) wah... white lightning is super ancient... where to find? last time MTB days got use... but i remember it is superly thick goo... so it should be very easy dripping out from the bottle... nowadays all of those lubes just squirt out like a couple month old baby uncontrollable piss...QUOTE(vin_ann @ Apr 24 2012, 05:09 PM) Do you thinks is it "okay" to post the prices here on every item we brought from bike shop example on lubricant? who cares on small items... if you post their cost price maybe offending then la... not like you intentionally post to hurt them or post fake prices to challenge them.. different bike shop is selling different prices given the same bloody lubricant... 1 in Bangsar is no discount, whatever shown in price tag is the final price. 1 in Batu Caves price tag is just for indicative price as required by law, but in fact, it's sell cheaper. 1 in Tmn Melawati just want to get rid of the old stock which was the among cheapest... haha.. that's my experience on the Finish Line lubricant. where in melawati?? my dry teflon finishing soon... nathan? batu caves is sammy? must tarpau all the dry teflon i see since finish line is getting more rare and rare nowadays... orbea and rodalink is getting pricey for finish line... QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 24 2012, 05:17 PM) I think posting price is ok.. we are not associating with any bike shop tho.. that's the fact of when everything goes online, ever peer's review count. Imagine you get butt hurt by a shop and you tell everyone online.. In fact last Sunday I went to that bike shop which butt hurt me long ago.. but this time I went there with my friend which is a regular customer there.. looks like their attitude totally changed.. connections is important in bike shop... that's why i always stress the relationship with your bike shop is important... give and take a bit and it is beneficial for you in the long run... try hopping all over the place to get the best deal and save a couple of bucks.. and you will know what i mean when your bike lands in trouble... This post has been edited by butthead: Apr 24 2012, 06:28 PM |
Apr 24 2012, 06:40 PM
QUOTE(butthead @ Apr 24 2012, 06:26 PM) wah... white lightning is super ancient... where to find? last time MTB days got use... but i remember it is superly thick goo... so it should be very easy dripping out from the bottle... nowadays all of those lubes just squirt out like a couple month old baby uncontrollable piss... white lightning bikepro got lah. i have the clean ride. flows out like piss. but ur chain stays dry and clean.connections is important in bike shop... that's why i always stress the relationship with your bike shop is important... give and take a bit and it is beneficial for you in the long run... try hopping all over the place to get the best deal and save a couple of bucks.. and you will know what i mean when your bike lands in trouble... http://www.whitelightningco.com/products/index.htm agree with you on building a relationship with bikeshops. |
Apr 24 2012, 10:16 PM
huuaaaahhh.... self cleaning...white lightning must have came a long way sine many years back..
rock n roll lube also claims they are self cleaning... as in you don't even need to clean the chain during bike wash... jus apply and back pedal... can give this a consideration and see... long time no see unker boon foo also... |
Apr 24 2012, 11:51 PM
43 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Hi riders. Wanna ask u guys. I plan to ride to work. Do we have any bike storage facility within KLCC area that we could securely park our bike? Reason being my office building mgmt provided lousy unsecure bike park and doesnt allow me to park my bike in my office
This post has been edited by kimikewl: Apr 24 2012, 11:54 PM |
Apr 25 2012, 01:24 AM
Oh ya.. I wanna know if there's spacer in between your crank / pedal?
Another bike shop actually asked why the shop i buy my bike from did not put spacer for the crank / pedal in between them... |
Apr 25 2012, 02:23 AM
1,836 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
| Change to: | 0.0287sec