10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Cycling V2, General talks on bicycles

Sky.Live
post May 26 2012, 10:53 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Today went Genting sempah have a look after malakoff duathlon (with bike still in car).. then drive until janda baik.. go down.. then go up again.. usually u all start at hospital?

i cant cycle fast up la.. average speed down + up hill less than 20k..
http://www.trainingpeaks.com/sw/BBHPXHCV72ASZHWVHREHATS4BE
Sky.Live
post May 27 2012, 08:56 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(SYAMiLLiON @ May 27 2012, 02:37 AM)
i join MUDS also...what a blazing speed for the winner...lucky i'm just being a pacemaker for my female colleague....how about ur performance??
not too well la, my mental weak lol.. give in after the last run leg.. so many walkings..
Run 16:01, T1 1:59, Bike 30:56, T2 1:08, Run 20:07 - total 1:10:11.

do you have any idea how far is the run?
for the bike i recoreded 16k..

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: May 27 2012, 08:57 AM
Sky.Live
post May 28 2012, 09:42 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(SYAMiLLiON @ May 27 2012, 03:20 PM)
we clock around 1hr 17 min overall...she managed to get 5th place for woman uni category...i only clock the first run, around 16 min ++...for bike course, my cateye commuter clock 14.5km, quite differ from u...probably we cheat few coners maybe tongue.gif i donno the true distance for the run course, they claim 3km, but i suspect with my pace yesterday it should be around 3.5k...
check back my data memang 16k.. i use 2 sensor, on my garmin sensor and cateye seems to have the same distance.. takkan i done extra laps..

weird, after that i went genting sempah to cycle seems accurate
Sky.Live
post May 28 2012, 10:14 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

http://www.bikeradar.com/fitness/article/b...-cycles--11037/

seems good to cycle with your kid
Sky.Live
post May 28 2012, 12:29 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ May 28 2012, 09:48 AM)
i dunno if you are signalling us to taruh you poison or wat?

a pair of zipp 202's or easton EC90SL would be helping you drop a bit more time brows.gif
you must be another wendy wong... just that you went the other way round and did 1 more lap rather than 1 less lap... haha
who is wendy wong?
that's my mum's name haha..

wonder when only i can roll over 30k/h ..
Sky.Live
post May 28 2012, 01:57 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ May 28 2012, 01:02 PM)
your mom is not a triathlete rite? if not, i would be stepping on a landmine...

wendy wong is one of the triathletes who many called cheated at the ATM triathlon last year... some people recalled having seen her doing 1 less lap on the bike assuming that they really counted everyone's lap or she has been cheating all this while that someone is there to watch over her...

looking at her swim and run times.. it looks that she is consistently faster than the 2nd and 3rd placing as well..

anyways, it's their words against her words.. and without looking at the lap times.. we won't know the full picture..

http://www.sports.my/threads/7373-Wendy-Wo...athlon-Malaysia

here is her times and she is more than 20mins faster on the bike than her closest peers
http://www.sports.my/result.php?event=191-...2011&category=5

i am not sure if it is her mistake or the organizers mistake for not recognizing it early enough... but, certainly created some needless news to begin with...

it'll be a huge pressure for you if you had her as your mom...get walked all over in any events you both go together.. hahaha...
haha my mum only runs, she dare not cycle and swim... now u mentioned i know about it, it's heavily commented in the tri- community..

anyone want to train my cycling haha? getting frustrating with cycling..
Sky.Live
post May 28 2012, 02:52 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ May 28 2012, 02:23 PM)
downhills above 55kph is achieveable...

Guess where i saw that EPS that installed to the LOOK... n LOOK Tri bike...

by now you should be able to catch it right... where else have all these other than that shop!

I'm know nothing about electronic switfter. Guess everyone is comparing Di2 vs EPS. Since Di2 is more popular, people might find it hard to accept any differences from Di2.

Added on May 28, 2012, 2:30 pmnot sure whether you all have heard of Wendy Wong on Borneo marathon (BIM) story.

somewhere last year or the year before, Andrew (the organizer of BIM) spoke to Wendy, as a friend on promoting his BIM event.

whose know on the day before race, Wendy called Andrew asking where's the people for airport pickup, where's she going to stay in KK, where's my BIM bib... etc etc... 

she as if she a superstar being personally invited to join BIM. Andrew himself being pressed by all those questions, and he cant handled it, so he passed the phone to his wife, let his wife handle Wendy...

his wife says: u want to run or not? want run, pays. haha...

there's another story on Kenyir Tri!
next time yumcha please share haha

Added on May 28, 2012, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(butthead @ May 28 2012, 02:14 PM)
hahaha... she is a hot topic at one point last year...

i think i actually met her at sempah before... not very sure if it is her...

i can train your cycling... but i sked u cannot tahan... and scream  icon_question.gif

i'll be on the scooter operating the robot whipper tied to your jersey whipping your ass all the way...

like this one...
i'll make you climb 20,000 feet per day with a VAM of no less than 1700m/h and ride a TT at lactate threshold for 1
need to see sifu demo one time first.

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: May 28 2012, 03:07 PM
Sky.Live
post May 28 2012, 04:00 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ May 28 2012, 03:45 PM)
the story on Kenyir Tri...

oh yeah... on the common outstation races, where everyone need to book their own accomodation, so same goes to Kenyir resort.

Wendy would mark someone to be her victim, asking around anyone is staying alone in room and ask to share room... so as usual, she found one to share room with...

she went to reception and want to cancel her room, other resorts she managed to cancel prior to check in, but not Kenyir, she still have to pay for her room! Kantoi... haha...

continue on cheating story: before the race, i thinks she know who is her closest competitor, and she will just simply go to some1 who strong in cycling and says: "Let me draft behind you!"

On the race day, my friend came out 1st, she have no 1 to draft with and cycled for 30KM alone before her husband catching up with her. Her husband did not notice / aware that Wendy was behind him, and drafting for the whole 30KM...

so when the husband gives signal to his wife to draft behind him, and Wendy never lead draft, when come to her turn to lead, she just pretend and slowdown falls to back as if she dropped. Then suddenly she appeared and breakaway, no one have extra energy to chase as they want to reserve some power for the last hill...

No doubt Wendy is a strong rider, but without good sporting spirits.

at the end, the wife came in become 3rd.... she very very bo song Wendy!

That's all for what i listened personally from Wendy's victim...
well at least that's not cheating.. just drama girl with super kiasu kiasi and no sport"wo"manship

Sky.Live
post May 28 2012, 04:03 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ May 28 2012, 04:01 PM)
wah... that is some inside news... there is a certain level of kiamsiap'ness... but this room thing is a whole new level with her is a whole new level... the curious part is... share got share costs or not?

i know drafting is legal in some tri events.. but.. asking if they could draft someone is totally uncool... what's the point of competing if you are not ready to go all out... going against the clock is always a solo effort, if not you will see people sending in guys just to pace their best guy to the finishing line...

good god we don't have such people to call friends... next time maybe she will be asking to borrow your disc and tri spoke wheels  shocking.gif
In malaysia's race esp uncle chan, we draft like no body business, win / loss usually only decided on the run leg haha
Sky.Live
post May 28 2012, 04:53 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ May 28 2012, 04:44 PM)
i dont know. my cyclingmates gave me this impression.
Coz break is further when you cruise?

Uncle chan race as I know so far it's all draft legal, draft by all means.. I don't like drafting behind or being drafted, so if someone stick very near to me i will fall back. I'm lone rider most of the time.

Don't worry if you can do 40~45k/h u can even finish with the leading grp also, providing your swimmer must come up around 20~23mins.

In non legal draft race, it's really complicated.. I only know Malakoff Powerman as the non legal draft race in Malaysia, tho I heard stories some ppl ignore it.
You sort of have certain time frame, eg: 15sec to overtake the guy infront of you, failing to overtake in that time frame (he might exert power or what) you have to fall back, if you successfully he have to back off. I think so, never race in a non draft legal race before.
Sky.Live
post May 28 2012, 05:37 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ May 28 2012, 05:28 PM)
for my MTB 2.1 x 26 is fast with 30Kph

But downhill at Frim with bumping offroad can go 49Kph.
yeah, don't yawn behind me cry.gif
when my friend training for ironman, his sifu actually ride behind and keep making the yawning sound to make them go faster haha..

30k flat ok la.. not up hill..
Sky.Live
post May 29 2012, 09:47 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ May 28 2012, 05:55 PM)
Tonite wanna ride? School holiday no need tutor for my son.....

Climb from Bukit Anggerik to Bukit Cheras, Down to Alam damai then climb to Petronas down hill to Bkt Madarina, make U-turn climb back then go home.

short ride... maybe 10km only shiok on the steep climb fun with the down hill.
i run there today already lol..
http://www.trainingpeaks.com/sw/6DWX6VWZMX6VRZDULPKU5NJXZA

tmr maybe ok, my itb injured during the run, cant run much now.. maybe can cycle lol..

btw.. my bikes wobbles during genting sempah last descend towards the R&R Janda Baik.. freak the hell of me..

This post has been edited by Sky.Live: May 29 2012, 09:52 PM
Sky.Live
post May 30 2012, 08:39 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(nlik @ May 30 2012, 12:03 AM)
I guess PD tri can do drafting. I don't see any clause in the rules & regulations stating otherwise. 
Watched a few foreign tri videos and i see the guys are in wetsuits during the swim, which they strip off to reveal their cycling attire inside.  So is this the same for the Malaysian events? even if it is just the sprint? 

Will everyone be using those clipless pedals? or is the old school simple pedal acceptable, if not embarrassing? haha sweat.gif
No wetsuit in Malaysian water, cause first it's so hot in M'sia why would you need one, second, it's illegal to use wetsuit in warm water.

you can wear anything la, i wear only a tri-shorts (cause difficult to change), bare top, and a vibram fivefingers to cycle during tri event.
Sky.Live
post May 30 2012, 09:28 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(joonming @ May 30 2012, 09:19 AM)
Cause wear VFF is not embarrassing mah
I ride up genting sempah in slippers.. RM12.90 bought from Giant..
Sky.Live
post May 30 2012, 02:12 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ May 30 2012, 02:08 PM)
ya wo! 11s is using completely new set of wheel and every components are not able to upgrade from existing 10s... it's good for those buying new complete bike who have deep pocket...

oh yeah! DA'13 is 11s, now i remember the coversation about sex!  1 of my group mechanic says "he cinta pandang pertama kali" to DA'12 11 speed when he went to test ride DA 11s... he already spreading the sex news around the group...

Soon, expect there's will be lot of second hand DA flooding the market... time to upgrade? haha... again, like butthead says itchy for sex but yet $$$ problem. Dragon ball card is so poison which i put it at home.. never bring out...

I WILL STICK TO MY 105 !!!
same here, 105 godding.. haha
Sky.Live
post May 30 2012, 03:00 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

getting a power meter seems better for training purposes.. but where is mani.........
Sky.Live
post May 30 2012, 07:55 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ May 30 2012, 03:37 PM)
i think power meters are overkill unless you know how to look at the plethora of data presented to you by the device...

most things revolve around heart rate anyways which a standard more advanced device would have provided.. a power meter would let you delve into more details if you know how to dissect and understand it in the first place...

next time when you do your data logging... try to remember segments of your ride where you go flat out as those areas are where you want to concentrate on for competition.. it's like dyno tuning a car.. it's done on wide open throttle and rarely partial throttle as everyone puts the pedal to the metal when it comes to racing...

from there on... you analyze and monitor if you can give a 100% for longer periods as you train further or whether you can push harder efforts...

for me.. i think the aim of a triathlete is to know the limit of their maximum efforts... from there... find a target heart rate that they can consistently maintain for the longest period of time... they can't go out blasting and then find themselves spend halfway through a leg... so, it is essential to know how to stagger your efforts during an event and then formulate strategies based on the course layouts and your abilities to close gaps to opposing rivals...
I'm not really into long distance triathlon, so for a 40k riding would be different strategy. Most people would between 35~45km/h

I am not sure why cycling I cannot pour in more effort, as that I wouldn't be able to push hard even if I want.. Example in running, if I push hard, my HR would be something like 170ish. In cycling it's often not that case, eg: my max HR in genting sempah would be 159 during the first uphill from the R&R. The rest it's like 140ish, averaging 138 for the day. After cycling usually no pain no sore, unlike running. During the uphill I wouldn't be able to go any faster than 15k/h.. I would use the largest chain ratio available and spin all the way uphill slowly

Or I should compare them like that?
Sky.Live
post May 31 2012, 02:07 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

then maybe next week follow richard tang to PD.. haha
Sky.Live
post May 31 2012, 08:33 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(lkoky @ May 31 2012, 06:49 AM)
Guys,

Can recommend good Headlight and taillight? not cycling off-road in the night. but for normal tar road in residential area. But sometime certain section of the road is unlit. so need strong light.
I went hiking with a bunch of people, one of them use magicshine lamps, it can also be mountain to a headband as headlamps.. It's freaking bright, I think it's really good but it cost RM200+
Sky.Live
post May 31 2012, 01:54 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

anyone here rides a 54~56 size bike? i wanna try and see if it feels more comfortable on me

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0597sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:05 PM