WoW for hardcore players only?, :(

TSGoblinsk8er
post Nov 30 2005, 11:33 AM, updated 20y ago

306 posts

Just wondering, how can a casual player get all epic equipments when he doesn't really participate in any raids >.<
I'm a university student (studying pharmacy) and i couldn't play as much as most people do. Maybe 2-3 hours max per day...
I have a lvl 60 Tauren Shaman in Zuljin with only 300+g and currently only equipped with mostly blue stuff from AH or farmed and only 1 epic gloves only >.<
Sad but true, i have only been to Stratholme 3 times only..>.<

knumskul
post Nov 30 2005, 11:58 AM

783 posts

if you want to attend MC/ZG/BWL you have to put more time into it as they take longer hours, especially if your guild is still quite new to it.
TSGoblinsk8er
post Nov 30 2005, 01:11 PM

306 posts

But i don't think my shaman will do much role in MC tongue.gif
Heal+fire resist totems+can't tank >.<
Our heals ain't that great also....shaman=mana hogs.

By the way, is it true that MC takes around 8 hours to complete?
knumskul
post Nov 30 2005, 02:46 PM

783 posts

your role doesn't make much of a difference.

the time varies for guilds. more experienced ones complete them faster. all depends on guilds. my guild on Kil'Jaeden can do it in 5 hours, including Rag
Eduardo
post Nov 30 2005, 03:08 PM

Normally university students have the most time to play WoW. Try getting a fulltime job and you'll know why cry.gif
mengdez
post Nov 30 2005, 09:16 PM

No title
766 posts

QUOTE(Eduardo @ Nov 30 2005, 03:08 PM)
Normally university students have the most time to play WoW. Try getting a fulltime job and you'll know why cry.gif
I know you pain, lol, i play Wow for almost 1 year now and look at my character, i think only 1 epic and i even have green stuff on my Shaman. What a shame!

It is hard for us to raid anyway becoz of the time different, i can't enter MC and BWL too often and no loot for me. doh.gif

Even there is Malaysian guild out there on other server, no time to level a toon to lv60 again. *sigh*
knumskul
post Nov 30 2005, 10:02 PM

783 posts

casual gamers suffer this. and Blizzard was saying WoW caters to both hardcore and casual gamers.
i guess the part meant for casual gamers are the RP servers. or just to run around & make friends online. most, if not all, of the end-game content require lots of time. lots of time=quite hardcore, especially those guilds that demand it.

you guys can always try and arrange with your guild when you can play. etc. since you'll be on for only 3hours a day ask them whether it is possible for you to attend their raids for 3 hours only & leave after that. most guilds i know require their members to stay for the whole raid & be on time or they will be penalised.
azxel
post Dec 1 2005, 10:37 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

Actually WoW (and most mmorpgs) is meant for both casual and hardcore gamers. Its the attitude of the hardcore gamers that causes casual gamers these feelings.

It's that feeling of being left behind while everyone around you grinds and grinds. I saw that when I played WoW. I told myself that I'm not going to grind my arse off (after grinding in the ever so demanding Lineage2) in some other mmorpg for sometime.

Speaking of RP servers... you'd still be a bit left out too if you join in late. Everyone, even though role playing will still be off to quest and raids which you can even qualify for.
Riuken
post Dec 1 2005, 05:27 PM

84 posts

Try play other MMORPG like EQ, FF XI and u will know WOW is for casual as well. Basically, those games require u to b hardcore if you want to reach max lvl. Yes, most ppl dont get to reach max lvl playing those games.

That what makes WOW different from them... Full set of epics is for hardcore ppl and it is safe to say only half the ppl get to achieve that smile.gif.

This post has been edited by Riuken: Dec 1 2005, 05:29 PM
TSGoblinsk8er
post Dec 2 2005, 11:16 AM

306 posts

Lol, depends what course u take la...
If you take medicine or chemical engineering, im sure that you can't play long too.

Btw, i just don't like to get too serious into the game...having guild leaders mocking on you..wrong timing for heal>kena scold, wrong totem>kena scold, weak offtanking>kena scold....

Sigh, better off go twink all my alts now...

This post has been edited by Goblinsk8er: Dec 2 2005, 11:20 AM
alxa3021
post Dec 2 2005, 12:57 PM

276 posts

Beh... whats a hordy doing in PvE? GO PVP damnit.. LOL!
TSGoblinsk8er
post Dec 3 2005, 08:25 PM

306 posts

=.=" Are you there to flame me, alxa3021? Saying im a wuss?
Ok, maybe im one but im sure i don't like ganking some low lvl hordy like some ppl do in STV.
That was my 1st character in Wow, so i joined PVE since i dunno anything back then.
By the way, theres always Battlegrounds for me to pvp.
Ok, im maybe im a noob and not as hardcore as you.
So,any problems with joining PVE or joining the horde?

Its my choice, damnit. Now, go back and play ur dwarf hunter and spam ur aimed shots on low lvl hordy in ur server..=.="

This post has been edited by Goblinsk8er: Dec 3 2005, 08:55 PM
alxa3021
post Dec 4 2005, 01:37 AM

276 posts

Lol.. i was not calling u a wuss.. Cenarius is a PvE server too.. tongue.gif just saying go PvP and reach rank 14... then u'll get ur epics tongue.gif

sorry if u misunderstood...

and i dont like to gank low lvl hordies...

This post has been edited by alxa3021: Dec 4 2005, 01:38 AM
TSGoblinsk8er
post Dec 4 2005, 03:01 AM

306 posts

Ooops...sry.

By the way, anyone recommend which instance is the easiest for a lvl 60 to get good stuff (no need to be epic, as long as got nice stuff for AH and to disenchant)

Chinoz
post Dec 4 2005, 03:46 PM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

Well 40man raids should normally be scheduled on weekends? It does mean you take time off studies, but you can try to make up for it on weekdays?

Currently mc takes 6-10 hours for me, depending on how far we go up to (we're still in learning and wiping stage). But if you join an experienced guild, it'll take alot less time.
Kayne
post Dec 4 2005, 04:04 PM

Dota GODLIKE
1,606 posts

Nowaday big raid is like working to me...Im a student but this is really killing me

Sunday morning 7 AM- xpm-----ZG run
Monday Morning 5 AM -xpm-----MC run
Thursday Morning 8:30 AM---xpm----MC run 2
Friday Morning/saturday morning----gonna schedule for Ahn Qiraj new instance,20/40 mans

Seriously thinking of stopping these kind of run liao
tkseng
post Dec 10 2005, 08:05 AM

Working also can play wow fun.

We currently doing MC on 8pm friday, 3pm saturday, mostly of us working and married, age doesnt matter in wow smile.gif
Bladesinger
post Dec 10 2005, 11:31 AM

496 posts

yes if u are attached to a BWL guild which is mostly americonon be prepared to raid early in the morning from 5am to the afternoon.
BoardWarrior
post Dec 10 2005, 03:18 PM

Btw, i just don't like to get too serious into the game...having guild leaders mocking on you..wrong timing for heal>kena scold, wrong totem>kena scold, weak offtanking>kena scold....

Why does the "don't like to get too serious into the game" excuse always get used when you suck at the game? People like you take longer than others to reach level 60 due to your play time, just because you can't play your shaman decently doesn't mean you have to use the "serious gamer" excuse.

In this game what you get reflects the amount of time you spent on it, if you're whining about shiny purples when your guild leaders don't like your play then why bother being vain about items? sad.gif
TSGoblinsk8er
post Dec 11 2005, 11:18 PM

306 posts

Lol,Boardwarrior seems to be so harsh on me tongue.gif
Wah save some face for me ok ^^

Im not that n00b la... at least i can pvp pretty well and have decent pvp gears.
Just that im just a freshie in MC..(so far went 4 times)

My guild is a little bit new and my guild leader was so called ex- Transcendence member in Zuljin..so he has more experienced than the rest and a lil harsh on us.
At first, we don't like him mocking around..well, after 1month. i think its ok already.
We all learn our mistakes by experience. If nobody scold you, you ain't gonna improve ^^
By the way, im not being vain about purple items.
My point is its just that there is nothing else i can do after lvl 60 besides raid and pvp.

0.0160sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:36 PM