24 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 >Bottom

PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V20, Saga FLX SE 1.6 Manual -> New God car??

TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 08:45 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 28 2012, 07:58 AM)
out of topic a while..

this morning saw my colleague Exora Bold @ car park.

i saw her close the door but the engine still running, the fan was so loud...

Wanna ask Exora Bold got engine delay off function to cool down engine one ah? Since its Turbo....
You mean turbo timer? nope, at least not stock.

Just a really loud fan tongue.gif
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 09:14 AM

834 posts

Speaking of loud, the other day I left the engine running while I went down to buy some stuffs, as my family was waiting in the car. My car was double parked behind some cars, in front of the shop.

As I was paying at the counter (still inside the shop), I hear a rather loud humming engine sound, I thought it was one of the cars parked in front of the shop, so I hurriedly ran back to my car just in case I was blocking someone who's ready to gostan out of their parking.

Once I reach my car, wa lan eh, it turns out the loud engine noise came from my car when the compressor kicked in doh.gif
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 10:21 AM

834 posts

Straight from the horse's mouth.
Mr. Kristof Verpoorten of Punch Powertrain, his title is Resident Manager, Customer Care Malaysia.

Sorry for the late reply.

I will check out this forum as well.

Using SAT is software based. It’s just another shifting stategy, mechanical nothing happens so you can always use this whenever you want without additional wear.

Regards

Sent: vrijdag 23 maart 2012 9:04
To: Kristof Verpoorten
Subject: CVT SAT mode

Hi Kristof,

First off all, I would like to congratulate your fine job at interacting with users of Punch's CVT at the Autoworld's forum. I would also like to invite you to join us at the lowyat.net The Fast & The Furious subforums, where there is an active community of Proton Saga FLX and Proton Exora Bold users, which as you know, both models uses your company's CVT gearbox.

I personally drives the 1.6 variant of the Saga FLX, and was discussing about the following with my fellow FLX owners:

I discovered that switching to SAT mode at high speed (>110 km/h), and pressing the throttle to induce a "stepped downshift", allows me to reach a higher RPM faster than in normal CVT mode (something like downshifting from 5th gear to 4th gear, the RPM will immediately jump up). This is useful when I need to reach 4K RPM faster, where the max torque is. I tried this as >110km/h will be too fast to use L.

My question is, will frequent switching back and forth the SAT mode during high speed drive damage the CVT or cause excessive wear and tear? Is this practice advisable?

Thanks in advance for your reply!
When he says "mechanically nothing happens" I assume mechanically it is operating normally, no different than in switching between D and L mode, except for it's software controlled shifting.

This post has been edited by dares: Mar 28 2012, 10:29 AM
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 10:32 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 28 2012, 10:26 AM)
You means the fan will keep on when switch on engine?
What is the source? Using battery power?

I saw her close the door with remote and walk to office leh...
Yep, battery power. Many cars are like that, the fan continues to run after you have switched off everything, not just campro. Campro more so because it runs hotter than other engines, especially after a hard drive. And since Bold comes with a turbo, the fan acts to cool down the turbo as well.

QUOTE(riezzien @ Mar 28 2012, 10:27 AM)
Its good to know these manufacturers actually spend time interacting with users for feedback n such. At least this shows that they're not only care about $$ but also product quality assurance. good job there
Yep, now if only Proton will follow suit hmm.gif At least I know P2 will always try to contact you after you complain at their website.

This post has been edited by dares: Mar 28 2012, 10:34 AM
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 11:01 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(uncleben @ Mar 28 2012, 10:54 AM)
isnt SAT mode only for gear D?
i read at the manual saying that cnnt use SAT in L gear wan..

p/s.. whats the max speed L gear can go?
Yes. I'm saying that switching to SAT mid-drive is no different that switching to L mid-drive. Except you have to watch your speed when switching to L.

Ask V12k about the max speed for L.
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 11:05 AM

834 posts

LYN BLM/BLMclub weekend getaway convoy

Schedule choices
28-30 April (requires one day leave on Monday, but Tuesday, 1 May, is labor day)
5-6 May
12-13 May

Destination choices:
Cameron Highlands - 4-5 hours drive, so need to stay at least 3 day 2 nites.
Activities - sighseeing, jungle tracking, touge, steamboat, barbeque etc.

Ipoh - 2 hours drive
Activites - caves and Ipoh food etc.

Port Dickson - 1 - 1.5 hours drive
Activities - Whatever you wanna do on a beach, BBQ etc.

Melaka - 1.5 - 2 hours drive
Activites - Lawat sambil belajar sejarah, shopping, Jonker street etc.

PLS VOTE FOR YOUR CHOICE OF SCHEDULE AND DESTINATION.

I am eschewing Genting Highlands as a destination because some of us simply go up there too frequent and it is very near to KL, can go up and down in one day, so no point.

Regular convoy rules apply, no overtaking, speed on highway will be maintained at 120 km/h, we'll flesh out the rest later.

I'm not necessarily looking for a large convoy, I'm good to go even if there are only 6 cars minimum, but of course the more the merrier. This is a family event, feel free to bring your gf/bf/husband/wife/kids/friends along.

I have no experience whatsoever in organizing trips like this, please feel free to give your suggestions.

This event will be canceled if we cannot reach a consensus or there are not enough ppl to join by 18th April 2012.

This post has been edited by dares: Mar 28 2012, 11:11 AM
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 11:50 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Mar 28 2012, 11:17 AM)
you sure the engine still running? Not the fan running only?

hmm.gif
quite interesting if there is such feature to further protect the driveterain.
The Exora uses water to cool the oil inside the turbocharger once the engine has stopped, so there is no need for a turbo timer to cycle the oil out of the turbocharger to prevent the oil cooking.

QUOTE(popopi @ Mar 28 2012, 11:47 AM)
Good Afternoon everyone...

Just get the FLX yesterday... now doing 1st 100km drive is good.. tapi hor..

I think the CVT belt is whistling... quite loud.. audible inside the car..
especially when engage R ..... lagi more loud..

so is this a problem ka?

Please advice. happy.gif
Normal, no thanks to the Saga's lack of soundproofing.

This post has been edited by dares: Mar 28 2012, 11:52 AM
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 11:55 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Mar 28 2012, 11:53 AM)
further solidify my point of "SAT IS A TOTAL RUBBISH"

XD
Says the fella who used it so much he broke the SAT button dry.gif

icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 12:02 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Mar 28 2012, 11:59 AM)
BTW, horn left side not working again

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Come, COE 8am, tomorrow morning.
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 12:33 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Mar 28 2012, 12:15 PM)
dares.. does me require to go coe to update my cvt thinggy?

anybody knows cut off for flx se? i go till 170 .. and scared already.. haha feel melayang.. even tho my weight is like hippotamus...
Not neccesary COE, any SC should be able to help you. AFAIK, there is no speed cut, only rev cut. The FLX CVT rev cut is 6k RPM.

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 28 2012, 12:26 PM)
Our Saga is 1s only, the Exora Bold is few minutes leh...can imagine the battery will die alot faster...
There are also Saga and Persona users who report the fan running for several minutes after switching off the engine, so it's definitely not limited just to Exora. Even my old Saga use to have the fan running for 1 minute or so after switching off. The Exora may run longer because it needs to cool the turbo as well.

EDIT: Here's a quick reference from wiki answers.

This post has been edited by dares: Mar 28 2012, 12:37 PM
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 02:26 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 28 2012, 02:23 PM)
1st time i hear this...
I tak tipu u la unsure.gif
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 03:42 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 28 2012, 02:24 PM)
Pity Saga users, all ask for sound proof recently...imagine how damn bad for that...

Depends on what material you want to use,

Serious soundproof can cost you few thousand.
I have decided, the best way to drive my FLX 1.6 is to blast the music and enjoy the CVT shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

Added on March 28, 2012, 3:55 pm
QUOTE(wasserfest @ Mar 28 2012, 02:28 PM)
Hi guys,

My car is nearing 1st service. if i go COE, how many hours usually it takes to finish? (don't want to take leave. if two or three hours i can cabut frm office quick2) Can they rectify the rattling coming frm the back seat as well?
If regular service, just send to outside SC. You'll probably have to wait if you send to COE.

This post has been edited by dares: Mar 28 2012, 03:55 PM
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 05:13 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(r3apers @ Mar 28 2012, 04:51 PM)
juz back from COE, darn make me wait so long even appointment are made at 9am  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
What did they fix?
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 05:22 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(r3apers @ Mar 28 2012, 05:14 PM)
fix my rear wheel bearing and the oil leaking is from the sensor as it didnt fit correctly, they refit and put sealant on it...
Almost stalk u today. I made a stop at the coe car park to adjust my gps on my way to kota kemuning around 2pm tongue.gif tongue.gif
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 05:38 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(r3apers @ Mar 28 2012, 05:24 PM)
omg..lucky u didnt come stalk me...haha^^ i thought V12K coming coz always heard loud exhaust sound.... sweat.gif
My car very quiet ph34r.gif ph34r.gif ph34r.gif ph34r.gif

Added on March 28, 2012, 5:44 pmNo responds at all dry.gif
The event died before it began..... unsure.gif unsure.gif

QUOTE(dares @ Mar 28 2012, 11:05 AM)
LYN BLM/BLMclub weekend getaway convoy

Schedule choices
28-30 April (requires one day leave on Monday, but Tuesday, 1 May, is labor day)
5-6 May
12-13 May

Destination choices:
Cameron Highlands - 4-5 hours drive, so need to stay at least 3 day 2 nites.
Activities - sighseeing, jungle tracking, touge, steamboat, barbeque etc.

Ipoh - 2 hours drive
Activites - caves and Ipoh food etc.

Port Dickson - 1 - 1.5 hours drive
Activities - Whatever you wanna do on a beach, BBQ etc.

Melaka - 1.5 - 2 hours drive
Activites - Lawat sambil belajar sejarah, shopping, Jonker street etc.

PLS VOTE FOR YOUR CHOICE OF SCHEDULE AND DESTINATION.

I am eschewing Genting Highlands as a destination because some of us simply go up there too frequent and it is very near to KL, can go up and down in one day, so no point.

Regular convoy rules apply, no overtaking, speed on highway will be maintained at 120 km/h, we'll flesh out the rest later.

I'm not necessarily looking for a large convoy, I'm good to go even if there are only 6 cars minimum, but of course the more the merrier. This is a family event, feel free to bring your gf/bf/husband/wife/kids/friends along.

I have no experience whatsoever in organizing trips like this, please feel free to give your suggestions.

This event will be canceled if we cannot reach a consensus or there are not enough ppl to join by 18th April 2012.
This post has been edited by dares: Mar 28 2012, 05:44 PM
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 10:03 PM

834 posts

Forget the convoy for the moment.

TT this Friday at Sri Petaling, that mamak at the same row as Calories, 8.30 pm

Attendees:

1. dares
2. V12kompressor
3. Davidke20
4. Noodleface07
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 10:10 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Mar 28 2012, 10:06 PM)
Issit the same mamak that don't have 100 Plus one? lolz
Yea, support Revive.

Also same mamak who ignore your order after you lansi the fella brows.gif brows.gif
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 10:21 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Mar 28 2012, 10:06 PM)

TS = thread starter lah

Iswara = 1.5 Mitsu 4G1 engine, BLM = Proton Campro 1.3, nuff said brows.gif

Campro's max torque comes at 4k RPM on paper, if you havent already know. Also, the Iswara's fuel tank is 5 liters larger, and I doubt the fuel gauge is an accurate measurement until you refuel next.

I don't mind you posting your experiment here, but I can already tell you the results. You shall conclude that you were right, the campro guzzles fuel sweat.gif .

BTW, fixed your youtube.

Added on March 28, 2012, 10:24 pm
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Mar 28 2012, 10:17 PM)
stupid bangla. go back bangla oni la. bangla betul lah.
We had such sweet memories there wub.gif wub.gif

Where's kenjilew and number92???

This post has been edited by dares: Mar 28 2012, 10:24 PM
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 11:39 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 28 2012, 10:51 PM)
i take cheap and cheerful ok? ph34r.gif
Come la tew. I already sms you.
TSdares
post Mar 28 2012, 11:44 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 28 2012, 11:22 PM)
Cut the long story short. I've started quite a few threads, and have grown to be sick and tired of the constant FC discussions. Its not like the car can't achieve goof FC figures, it can, just that you must know how to.

Besides, I did make one thread SPECIFICALLY for FC, so that discussions for FC can be kept to a bare minimum. If you want to check your car, first thing is to reset your ECU etc etc etc. Too damn lazy to type all out, but since you seem to have extensive knowledge in the said field, I'm pretty sure you know where to look at. And ask yourself, why did the previous owner sell their car?
I allow FC talk here as long as it's not chronic la, members still talk about other topics, not just FC FC FC and FC. The trending topic now seems to be soundproofing so takkan later I ban that also meh.

And after a few PM with david, he seems to know what he's talking about specifically about Proton cars, so I think it can be beneficial to saga members, especially new ones. Rest assured, I do keep watch and moderate if needed smile.gif

24 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 >Top

0.2244sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:38 AM