Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V28, A smart phone, a smart user.
Mar 3 2012, 12:35 AM
2,123 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: where am I suppose to be? |
Hi sifus.. going to buy 2nd hand S2, so what do i need to check on the phone? Thanks in advance
Mar 3 2012, 12:46 AM
Why is it so? Read few bout this G and non-G thingy, but does it make big differences for moderate user (not really interested in those rooting thingy and whatsoever including gaming)?
Mar 3 2012, 12:54 AM
Whoa, sounds really serious there. Can you summarize the drawback of G-version? I mean, not from CPU/GPU aspects etc...
Mar 3 2012, 02:39 PM
Wow looks like my previous 2 posts has sparked a 'war' between both sides. Sorry guys, not my intention but just wanna gain some knowledge bout my oncoming phone as i never used any android nor samsung nor touchscreen before
From all those posts, only few things that might be a real problem for me later if i'm going to buy a G version. Those who faced problem with music player, after how long the problem will arise? I mean after how songs will the problem will start? I'm not hardcore music kakis, will listen to mp3s for at most 1 hours plus only. |
Mar 7 2012, 05:37 PM
Finaly managed to get myself a used non-g s2. wanna ask, how to check whether this phone has been rooted or not? sorry, this is the first android phone i'd ever used
Mar 7 2012, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 7 2012, 05:42 PM) Does it have superuser installed? Kernel version got written something like 2.6.35.7-I9100XWKF1 bla3 but at the end got stated root@dell06#2. what does that means?If not, probably not rooted. Rooting is fairly simple, you can just flash CF-root using ODIN. So whether its rooted now or not is a moot point. Unless you can identify the kernel/rom in the phone and post it here. QUOTE(liquidvamp @ Mar 7 2012, 05:45 PM) Lol.. didn't realised reach 2k already.. haha |
Mar 7 2012, 10:51 PM
I see.. thanks for all replies. One more thing, same like nic88 above, i think the battery ran out too fast. Charged 100% at 7am this morning, and use it just to surf (total +- 2 hours on 3G) and watching videos for around 30mins. Ended up with battery left 28% only at 6pm.. is this normal?
Mar 7 2012, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(soulseeker6187 @ Mar 7 2012, 10:58 PM) surfing with 3G eats alot of battery. i see.. quite surprised because before this with my nokia, surfing for 3-4 hours still 20% battery left.its normal. the most i get when surf non stop with 3G is 2 hours++ anyway guys, is it safe actually to use silicon/soft case with this phone? asked that cause found out that the back area especially around camera lens are quite hot when surfing with 3G connection. scared the heat trapped would damage the phone later on |
Mar 8 2012, 09:51 PM
Any good video player to recommend me guys? Seems the stock video player can't play .mpg videos, take time to convert them to mp4/flv
Mar 8 2012, 10:16 PM
3 posts with 3 different answers
thanks anyway guys, gonna try all of them how bout compressed (ZIP/RAR) file? tested AndroZIP but it didn't have the function to open the ZIP file straight away, need to extract first. |
Mar 8 2012, 10:56 PM
haha.. okay, tried mx and it looks awesome
Mar 8 2012, 11:48 PM
currently online on my lappy by using wifi tethering on my S2. i noticed that the battery runs out slower compared when i surf using the phone.. why is it so? less processing power needed?
Mar 12 2012, 12:02 AM
guys, could you please check the output voltage of your chargers? mine is standard travel adapters with 0.7A (700mA) output, it took ages to completely charged up the standard 1650mAh battery
Mar 12 2012, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(ndragon @ Mar 12 2012, 12:33 AM) i think how big ur output is also.. the input is still controlled by ur kernel.. n i think its normally capped at 0.65A for ours.. correct me if i m wrong.. like that meh? thanks for the info, never knew it before. but it reallyyyy took times to charge the phone fully. it's like 1% gain every 1-2 minutes |
Mar 12 2012, 03:22 PM
since using this phone, i always had the habit of charging the phone even the battery still left 50% since i didn't have much time to charge up the phone, plus full charging took ages
Mar 12 2012, 03:34 PM
Mar 12 2012, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(nabielz @ Mar 12 2012, 03:41 PM) luckily bought mine 2nd hand. if bought new sure butthurt to see the price drop drastically QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 12 2012, 03:41 PM) This ia very good site to learn more about LiIon battery LOL at the site's name. university summore http://batteryuniversity.com/ Basically it is safe to charge it any time, any level, any number of times you want and as often as you like thanks btw |
Mar 12 2012, 03:54 PM
Mar 12 2012, 04:03 PM
| Change to: | 0.0219sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:55 AM |