5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V28, A smart phone, a smart user.

MYstombox
post Mar 9 2012, 01:51 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

I would wait for a flashable ODIN file package instead of using KIES.

Kies has a problem where you need to leave it plugged in while the update downloads and installs.

If your connection is slow, you may have to leave it stuck to the computer for several hours.
MYstombox
post Mar 12 2012, 11:18 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

It would be as follows for memory:

Internal SD card : 1 size only
Total 16GB no partitioning

External SD card: As is and not included in internal partition, mount/remount separate.
MYstombox
post Mar 12 2012, 12:43 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Mar 12 2012, 11:21 AM)
wow, this is great!
dont have to use move to sd card anymore

how you know this? you using a leak ics rom on s2 now?
it's because google said so.

MYstombox
post Mar 12 2012, 12:49 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Depends on how you look at it, some will find a particular method better.

I personally think having separate partitions are better, for obvious reasons that a wipe won't clear your data on that partition.

There is a way to extend the 2GB partition, although risky.

Added on March 12, 2012, 12:58 pm
QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Mar 12 2012, 12:44 PM)
Seems like on samsung ICS its still 2 partitions, apps and storage  sad.gif
Need to wait till the official stuff is out then only we'd know.

They are probably holding back trying to figure out how to initiate a unified storage without screwing up everyone's data.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Mar 12 2012, 12:58 PM
MYstombox
post Mar 12 2012, 02:55 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Can, make the external SD card SD-EXT3

Then you can make it so the external SD card cannot be removed.
lol tongue.gif
MYstombox
post Mar 12 2012, 03:12 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Mar 12 2012, 03:00 PM)
What do u mean by screwing up everyone's data? Is there a drawback to this unified storage? I like this unified storage system in ICS
What i mean is that now its not unified.

When they switch to ICS and if they want unified storage, they have to find a way to backup your data, format the partitions into 1, install the firmware, restore your data back.

All this without screwing up your data.

Oh, and make it work. Lol

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Mar 12 2012, 03:13 PM
MYstombox
post Mar 12 2012, 04:33 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Yes, if unified partition, wipe = gone. Clean like baby's backside.
MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 08:17 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 13 2012, 08:03 AM)
Hmm...i use a single gmail with credit card. When i want to transfer purchased apps to my wife's galaxy tab, i create my account in her tab, then use my account and then download the apps purchased on my SGS2....once done delete my account on her tab....reason: don't want my son to buy the entire Google Play market by clicking "Buy"....sweat.gif....
You can lock the market for paid apps.
Under setting there is a pin setting for paid apps.

Use that instead of adding/removing account.
MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 02:21 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

If you haven't bought it yet, don't worry lor.
See how much is your holding power. lol
MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 02:29 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

The first release will be a common one la.
Why worry?
The reason for the G was to move chip production to other devices and use substitute chip because of lack of capacity.

For the first few batches, usually all the same product and components.
MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 02:34 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Even if announced this week, you'd need to wait at least 2-3 months before it arrives to market.

MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 02:47 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Next 'upgrade' would be a tossup between the successor of the S2 and the note.

lol

Anyway, need to wait till more kernels are available before I swap to ICS.
MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 02:53 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Mar 13 2012, 02:47 PM)
Nop, S3 has 1.5Ghz, Quad-Core, confirmed by rumors..
Lol...
since when can rumours 'confirm' anything?

HAHAHA
MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 03:01 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

I want a 800ghz gigacore multitreaded processor with nano particle heatsink. I want to rumour this as well so the S55 can confirm to have it.
MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 03:53 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

The f in camera means the max aperture opening.

the number is based on the ratio between the focal length and the max diameter opening of the aperture.

E.g.

Aperture opening diameter = 2mm
Focal length = 4mm

f/2

etc.
MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 03:54 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 13 2012, 03:45 PM)
ic, so the number as low as possible
haha
but it use for what ?? speed ??
More light allowed into the sensor.

Low light conditions, the aperture doesn't have to stay open as long.

Thereby reducing chances of shaking, and whatever u can associate with blurry low light photos.

Added on March 13, 2012, 3:55 pm"Samsung's latest 8MP cameraphone sensor has backside illumination, zero shutter lag (Update: specs)"

From engadget on the camera.

Wow, I'm interested in the 'backside illumination'. The human kind.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Mar 13 2012, 03:55 PM
MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 04:10 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Mar 13 2012, 04:04 PM)
So the higher the aperture the better, and the lower the focal length the better?
Well it depends on how you want to look at it.
There's always design limitations.

But generally camera makers tweak the aperture size instead of the focal length because there's so little distance you can narrow down the focal length to. As is, the distance between the lens and the sensor is already so minute.
MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 04:12 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Mar 13 2012, 04:08 PM)
confuse already rclxub.gif
Focal length is the distance between the lens and the sensor.

Aperture size is the opening of the "lens hole" that lets in light.

So he's right, bigger aperture, lower focal length is better if u want lower f number.

but not always possible.

MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 04:19 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Mar 13 2012, 04:17 PM)
Ok thanks smile.gif so why dont oems make like a f5/0 sensor?
f/5 has a aperture to focal length ratio.

Its length / aperture size.

Not aperture/f-length.

We're looking for a smaller f-number.

so f/2 is actually very(very very) respectable already.

Added on March 13, 2012, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(Positron @ Mar 13 2012, 04:17 PM)
Higher the aperture translates to more light entering the hole of the camera, which translates to better picture quality even in low light. The shorter the focal length means the thinner the phone will get, and of course if the shorter the focal length of the lens means it would be able to capture a wider angular field of view as opposed to longer focal length. And that is why you noticed that Samsung camera focal length is short, but the magnification power is really compromised, as the advantages to longer focal length translates to higher power of magnification. So it's up to you, whether you want a longer camera but with higher amount of magnification which is the pure view, you can see the camera just pops out like a extrusion popping out of the phone, or you want a slimmer body like the S3 which I bet it would be slimmer than S2 but with a low magnification power but of course with a wider angular field of view.. Sorry for the long read, most of you will not read all.. but thanks for you time..

rclxms.gif
Are you sure?
because magnification depends on the distance of object to the lens.
And we're not really talking about magnification here, we're talking about f-number.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Mar 13 2012, 04:22 PM
MYstombox
post Mar 13 2012, 04:39 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Mar 13 2012, 04:28 PM)
Ok i think i get it now thanks, so f/1 will be better than f/2?
Yes, f/1 will allow more light to hit the sensor than f/2 for the same given amount of time the lens aperture is open.

Example:

If the aperture is open for 1 second for both f/1 and f/2 lenses, assuming both are open at max aperture setting.

Picture in f/1 will be brighter than f/2.

This is useful mainly in low light conditions.

But sometimes in very bright conditions this may be a drawback as the shutter speed can only be that fast. smile.gif

This sucks right? hahaha...

When you think f/1 is better than f/2.

Until you realise that when background light is so bright your picture loses all detail, then you want an f/5 lens. tongue.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0545sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:10 AM