SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V8, Phone? Tablet? It's Note!!

kkkw80
post Feb 24 2012, 02:04 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

Just flashed romow ics and its fantastic.Darn its fast and smooth!!

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Feb 24 2012, 02:04 PM
kkkw80
post Feb 24 2012, 02:58 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

My ICS home screen..

kkkw80
post Feb 24 2012, 04:19 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

sorry but i wouldn't use this "box" as there is a disclaimer that they need access rights to your phone directory! Imagine all your whatsapp, phone number, e-mail add from company to yahoo is accessible by them!!
kkkw80
post Feb 25 2012, 09:31 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

Benny if i am on rowmo ICS now and want to change to rocket ICS do i need to fullwipe? Also do you think rocket is better than rowmo?

Added on February 25, 2012, 9:32 am
QUOTE(vostro78 @ Feb 25 2012, 09:17 AM)
by the way, talk about the warranty issue, if my unit register ewarranty already.receipt + warranty card gone, can we send for warranty? some tell me don need some tell me need, anyway 1 that bring to service center without those proof of purchase?

sorry my bad if this question been ask before. if not, maybe can put this f&q at 1st page also.
I have sent mine twice without receipt

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Feb 25 2012, 09:32 AM
kkkw80
post Feb 25 2012, 01:38 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 25 2012, 09:37 AM)
Romov spen cannot function that is why i drop it. Midnote is better than romov as spen functional
Rocket 1.5 best so far of all the ics rom i have tested
Yes you need wipe phone to install. Just restore back stuff from titanium backup only take 10 mins,  small issue

Added on February 25, 2012, 9:47 am
You need root even with stock rom. At least Change kernel n use setcpu to control cpu speeds under differnt condition. You will acieve 3-4% drain over 7-8 hours with 3g always on n wifi off
If you dont want to touch such stuffs try using app such as juice defender which will help too though unlikely hit such great level
Disable apps auto refreshing if you do not need it
Set brightness to level you are comfortable,  me i always at 10-20% level, brightness is a great drain in battery
If you have setcpu, maximize cpu speed to say 1 or 1.2 ghz. Do you always need 1.4ghz?

thanks Benny. When u say rocket ICS is best, in terms of? less sod, smoothness, etc?

Added on February 25, 2012, 1:47 pm
QUOTE(benny888 @ Feb 25 2012, 12:07 PM)
No ; you misunderstood
The dialer issue is only calls received does not show caller name - it affects all users and all leaked versions of ICS
you MUST flash abyss kernel or you will not get full root and modem flash will stuck halfway

Added on February 25, 2012, 12:10 pm
there will never be a full stable version until the official ones are released. But I must say in just a week the progress in reducing and eliminating the bugs is impressive
After testing the ICS, and going back to GB and than jumping back to ICS, with present ICS status I will stick and continue with it as there is now already a I'd say a 99 % stable version. Having experienced the extreme smoothness of the UI and more responsive performance, hard for me to go back to GB roms now
So far did not faced any SOD issues on the rocket v1.5 unlike earlier ICS roms

uncle..actually no wor. I am using midnote ICS now and no problem with caller id and name showing.

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Feb 25 2012, 01:47 PM
kkkw80
post Feb 29 2012, 09:10 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(curaptz @ Feb 29 2012, 09:01 AM)
haha...coz i dont want to take back later then go warranty.
if really got prob they give me refurbish set...

if i can find any major prob there, i can ask them to change new set for me there...
haha...
u can't lor. U can only check that much when you are there. I myself at the center everything seems ok but less than 2 hours i brought it home already got problem where the screen fizzle and went blank on and off. Had to change the motherboard not once but TWICE and even changed once the display screen.

I guess u just pray that its not a lemon set like mine... sweat.gif

Added on February 29, 2012, 9:13 am
QUOTE(Duckies @ Feb 29 2012, 09:08 AM)
I heard some shop ask the buyer go back and register urself.Is it possible to register it ourselves at home?
read page 1

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Feb 29 2012, 09:13 AM
kkkw80
post Mar 1 2012, 09:36 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Mar 1 2012, 07:28 AM)
Yesterday encounter 2 SOD on the Criskelo  ICS rom after on it 3 days. Strange that such is happening. Reverted back to midnote, SOD within first hour!
As on trip to KL today cannot afford such issues i restore back to substancer LB1
Will miss the superb performance of the ICS rom
i think it is pretty subjective. I have been using midnote ICS for almost 2 weeks now and so far only once SOD.
kkkw80
post Mar 1 2012, 10:50 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(Hunakadoo @ Mar 1 2012, 10:46 AM)
Im using criskelo rom too , not really satisfied as i feel rocket ics 1.5 is much stable than criskelo , but still not that perfect for both Rom.
Not yet test for this Midnote ics , how is it ?
So far overall quite stable and smooth. After 2 weeks only once SOD. One thing i realised is it doesn't support OTG. Can't plug and use my mouse.
kkkw80
post Mar 2 2012, 02:59 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

midnote ICS no problem with wifi connection after being used more than 3 weeks now

Added on March 2, 2012, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(wcshin @ Mar 2 2012, 09:39 AM)
i tried 2 remove yellow triangle based on
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1354888
half way thru, now phone cant on...
anyone can help?
DON'T BRING YA NOTE BACK TO SC IF THERE IS A YELLOW TRIANGLE= ROOTED! they will not warranty it. You need to do a factory reset first Btw, is ya current rom now ICS? If yes, use triangleaway.apk available in xda also.

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Mar 2 2012, 03:05 PM
kkkw80
post Mar 4 2012, 09:42 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

If you send to federal highway sc, very likely they wouldntt warranty you
kkkw80
post Mar 5 2012, 10:00 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(cychua85 @ Mar 5 2012, 09:46 AM)
Does any1 here used matte/ anti finger print screen protector for note?

Wonder does it effect S-Pen to draw or something? Feel irritating with my current oily+ finger printed screen.
been using matte sp since day 1. no problem so far.
kkkw80
post Mar 11 2012, 04:56 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

Midnote ICS don't support usb and hdtv adapter. Now back to rocket rom v22

Added on March 11, 2012, 5:00 pm
QUOTE(adkins981 @ Mar 11 2012, 01:38 AM)
Hey guys,

Do any of u know where i can get the Mfit leather bar casing for samsung galaxy note in malaysia preferably KL, PJ or subang
I prefer to buy online either at pdair or maker4u. Cheaper and more option. Just ordered my 3rd casing online..

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Mar 11 2012, 05:00 PM
kkkw80
post Mar 12 2012, 09:24 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

first of all..you all need to know the fundamental between android and ios. Android allow you to customise most of the settings= more unstable while Apple lock most of it= more stable.

I have been using 2 android phones for more than a year now and i realised after playing around with it so much, rooting, flashing from one rom to another, changing kernel here and there, the worry of bricking my phone during the process (thank goodness it didn't)..i'm tired.

Most proberly my next phone will be an Apple.
kkkw80
post Mar 12 2012, 05:36 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

Was watching video while charging my phone for 2 hours in an air conditioned room but realised temperature raised up to 61 degree!! Now on rocketrom v22 + abyss 4.1.

Just flashed franco kernel v9 and hopefully it can help to lower it down..

This post has been edited by kkkw80: Mar 12 2012, 05:40 PM
kkkw80
post Mar 12 2012, 08:00 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(edwardlys @ Mar 12 2012, 07:42 PM)
anyone know when is stock ICS wil b update for g note?
and how to connect g note to LCD tv? using wat cable, anyone can show me the picture of the cable?
Thank u ~
Hdtv adapter.

kkkw80
post Mar 13 2012, 07:05 AM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(getajob @ Mar 13 2012, 02:25 AM)
I tried ICS ROCKET ROM V1.5, tried ICS MIDNOTE 2.0.

the problem happened when i try to sync my contact or join any duplicate contact.

the phone seems giving me error & jump back to main menu.

anyone face this problem before?

am now flash back to stock ROM... =(
Nope.. Was using midnote no such prob
kkkw80
post Mar 14 2012, 04:12 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

I support Sunway Giza. Easy to find parking and lotsa yum char spot!

kkkw80
post Mar 14 2012, 04:24 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

mamak also can. Theres one just across Giza and both sides.

Sunway Giza is in Sunway Damansara near Kota Damansara.
kkkw80
post Mar 20 2012, 09:20 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

My new casing from Pdair freshly arrived from Hong Kong. Slip on leather pouch. My 4th casing.. LOL

kkkw80
post Mar 20 2012, 09:51 PM

Tan Sri Member
1,015 posts

QUOTE(wypua @ Mar 20 2012, 09:36 PM)
Like when you play the draw something application, sometimes the white background juz change to greenish. Like me now typing this message, the keyboard from grey somehow will change abit colour. Very hard 2 describe
Faster go back to samsung service. Either or both motherboard and LCD screen faulty. At first they thought it's motherboard and changed once.. 2nd time changed both motherboard and screen then only ok.

0.0382sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:45 PM