Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V24, Excitement Embodied

clivengu
post Apr 1 2012, 04:45 AM

1,850 posts

Anyone getting the Metal Build Freedom? Possible to buy without actually preordering it from XL?

Any comments for those own the 7 Sword Metal Build? Worth the price? Can buy Perfect grade already. Is difficult for me to tell from photos as I think it needs to be "feel" and the Weight to judge the value of it.
clivengu
post Apr 3 2012, 01:21 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Impulse10 @ Apr 2 2012, 10:17 PM)
Is someone talking about freedom?

For previous 7 sword owner, now freedom come with fix hands... 5 sets in total...

First impression, heavy, joints are solid, paint job passable (red, blue & yellow are in metallic pearl colour), the fins are sharp (no extra fins like GFFMC). Come together with a manual & some explanation of the gundam?? (all in Japanese)
Wow... where you get it? Im thinking should I buy 1... but worry if it is worth it or not.. the price can get a 1/60 PG.. but then these days I don have the luxury of time to build .. so thinking to get this one.

I heard the paint job and Quality control isnt as good as S7 metal build? Any comment?
clivengu
post Apr 3 2012, 12:21 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Impulse10 @ Apr 3 2012, 07:47 AM)
I bought it from amiami. I am into gunpla last time, now I dun have the luxury time to build (especially pg), so I opt for this.

I don't have 7 sword so can't compare. For freedom paint job is ok. Unless u magnified it. Compare to gffmc, mb have glossy finish.  Joints are tight & can hold his own gun. I would say it stay nice in my display.
As long as it can b a good display.. With "solid feel" and good at pose (strong joints) then I think should get it..
Amiami out of stock. Do U pre-order it few months ago? Know anywhere else I can get it with reasonable price? Last time I also into gunpla... But now no time to build... My last mg hi nu takes me 2 years to build n mg gn-x still on body skeleton for now.. ;p
clivengu
post Apr 3 2012, 02:53 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Impulse10 @ Apr 3 2012, 01:02 PM)
I pre-order since it launch. Now can buy from eBay see of there any nice price. Now sencondary market around 700++.
Aiyo...im not ready to pay the extra high price to own one... There is no way to buy at close to retail price anymore?.. All sold in ebay are those who buy just to resell it at higher price sad.gif
clivengu
post Apr 5 2012, 05:26 PM

1,850 posts

Hey guys, I know this is not the right thread to ask ... but is somehow related.. hehe.. since the current trend is about Gundam AGE.. Just wondering how is the anime? Worth watching or not? Look a bit childish to me from the characters.

Also.. has Gundam Unicorn finish already? I watched 3 episodes only
clivengu
post Apr 5 2012, 05:59 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(guarayakha @ Apr 5 2012, 05:32 PM)
So far it's worth watching, at the the plot is not all over the place like OO 2nd Season tongue.gif

Unicorn up to Ep4.
Hahaha.. yeah oo2nd season... really bad.. Gundam Seed original still the best. So far Age Gundam until wat episode?

Unicorn slow betul... but the quality of the anime is superb! rclxms.gif
clivengu
post Apr 5 2012, 07:40 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Khai62 @ Apr 5 2012, 06:08 PM)
Character design maybe childish but their altitude (most of it anyway) certainly not but one of my grip about it was it feel rushed and up until now their a large gap of missing info between the two generation in the anime atleast.

About Unicorn tho it was like immersion break when the gap of each episode are months away from each other.  rclxub.gif

Edit: i think Age is up to episode 25 now.
Oh and Unicorn is set to have 6 episode.
episode 25.. so I guess thats half already.. usually around 50 episodes.

QUOTE(Impulse10 @ Apr 5 2012, 06:50 PM)
Not forgotten bro. Is highly demanded.....
Ebay selling some for rm 1.5k rclxub.gif
clivengu
post Apr 11 2012, 01:25 PM

1,850 posts

Just received my parcel from Amiami Japan yesterday!

Metal Build Freedom Gundam! This kit exceed my expectation!!! It will be a bad thing if I start getting addicted to the MB line.

You must touch and FEEL the real thing to understand it. The photos cant really tell a thing. Once you hold it you can feel its solidness and weight, and the finishes are all of very high quality. This thing no doubt the highest grade for any gundam kit. Although most parts are still plastic, but the overall quality make you feel like you own a fully diecast gundam. It reminds me of the time when toys are not made from cheap light plastic... like the Voltron i owned 20 years ago. the plastics feel heavy and solid. Probably Chogokin DX quality.

The joints are strong.. so strong sometime you wont even realise if certain joints are suppose to be movable.

High quality build aside, afterall I am paying almost rm 600 for this piece of metal. What I love the most about this kit is its overall proportion. In MG or even PG we often see our favorite mechas been redesign to become something not within our expectation. Fatter, shorter.. Rounder.. Good example MG sazabi. But in this kit. I will say everything is perfect in proportion. It looks very close to the anime, very dynamic looking but at the same time not really too exaggerate. The size 1/100 seems a bit smaller on this kit. Look at the foot and the shield... I think they are a lot smaller than the MG . I dont have the MG so I cant be sure. I have no complain bout that as long as they look good.

I love the color combination as well. The semi metallic blue, red(slight pinkish), grey, and the white, which is not completely white. like light grey but they look great together.

As for decal, although not as detail as the S7, I think it is just right amount for a 1/100 kit. For me, as long as it does not look too empty, then it is fine. Most probably because generally this kit has sharper edges, so they look more detailed and refined.

Paint job is "ok" They are not perfect under close observation. And some of the surface seems to be not as smooth as it should. Dont know how to explain... just imagine when you spray ur glossy color and you have some dust left on the surface..

My wish for the future MB line. I hope they can eliminate all /most of the "joining line". In MG, they design in a way that most joining line is hidden away... or the joining line becomes part of the paneling detail. I do wish they can do that too the MB as I find a lot of parts (although not too obvious) but still visible, such as the top of the shoulders, the top of the gun, the wing back riffles has the joining line.

Thats for my first review + first impression on my first Metal Build kit tongue.gif. But I am GLAD i bought it impulsively when Amiami restock it last week! Thanks bro Impulse10 for informing me bout that. smile.gif cheers!
clivengu
post Apr 11 2012, 03:12 PM

1,850 posts

yeah is personal choice. bandai also susah to decide what direction to go... but the Metal Build proportion definitely suit me! tongue.gif
clivengu
post May 1 2012, 07:33 PM

1,850 posts

Damn Impulse10!!! u have the Formania Sazabi!!~~ arghhh My all time favourite sad.gif

0.0777sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:09 AM