Nokia N9 - V03 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

passmaster14
post Jun 13 2012, 03:26 AM

195 posts

Damn. Am I the only one lurking here since V2 who still does not have this gem of a phone? Haha. Been saving up/waiting for the price to drop so that I can get my hands on the 64GB version, but it appears I may have waited too long!

Seriously thinking of getting one now, but I'd like to ask you sifus here: in the course of the day when using this phone, have any of you ever come across a situation when you thought, "Shoot, I wish this phone could have done this" or something to that effect? I know that there is a genuine lack of apps for MeeGo, but from what little time I spent with it a few months back, I can see that there are so many powerful utility apps that makes the N9 so much better than the rest. What, in your opinion, does it really lack in?

Also, I can't believe the thread has gone so far, and no one has mentioned the Beta Labs apps? City Lens ftw! flex.gif
passmaster14
post Jun 13 2012, 10:52 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jun 13 2012, 09:20 AM)
You are not alone smile.gif  laugh.gif
Good to know biggrin.gif Saw you searching in Garage Sales as well XD

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Jun 13 2012, 10:29 AM)
The sales would've go higher and N9 have better future if the user trust its capabilities.
U wana know what is lacking? Its lacking of user like u who are not confidence enough to buy the N9 which is better than the rest.

"Your imagination its your limit"
No need for the aggression bro...I'm still a student, and I've been saving to get this for a long while. Don't get me wrong, I had both this and the Lumia 800 for two weeks, and I totally ignored the Lumia. I do agree with you though, the leap of faith isn't that great as Elop is making it out to be. MeeGo is dead, sure, but we all know how many Android devices are still stuck at Gingerbread...
passmaster14
post Jun 13 2012, 11:18 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Jun 13 2012, 10:53 AM)
In my opinion, it depends on what you're expecting from the phone. For me, I need it for calls, SMS, web browsing, emails & Whatsapp. In that regard, it fulfills my expectations. Yes it's missing a lot of apps like Viber, Tango, LINE, but since I come from Symbian history it doesn't affect me much as I'm used to NOT having those apps  biggrin.gif

Like a lot of ppl mentioned, there's a lot of small usability apps that make the phone so nice to use. Easy Answer being one like Kenny mentioned. I just bring my phone to my ear to answer the call & shake it to end the call. It's funny when ppl see me shaking my phone & wonder what am I doing  laugh.gif

Another useful app is MeeCast, the weather forecasting app. It has the option to replace Accuweather as the widget on  the notifications screen & show weather updates on your lock screen as well as standby screen. Have you ever seen a phone that can tell you the weather on a standby screen? I usually use this to knock the socks off Android & iPhone users  laugh.gif

I've actually been using an Android phone for around 2 months before going back to my N9 when Wazapp was released. I honestly don't feel like I'm missing anything.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Good to know! Yeah when I saw the Easy Answer app I was like "Not bad for a phone that is supposedly dead to have a feature from the S3." Even the S3's gesture of taking screenshots is inspired by ScreenshotMee, don't you think?

For me, I'm still using a feature phone after getting frustrated with Android. The Sensation XE that I had for a while was not reliable enough - battery life, heat dissipation, even some random hangs - that the added benefit of game apps and Whatsapp didn't seem worth it.

So yeah, totally in love with the N9. Still need to save a little more. Not sure if paying an extra RM500-600 for a new 64G is better than a 16GB version, or even a second hand 16GB one...
passmaster14
post Jun 14 2012, 06:39 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jun 13 2012, 09:19 PM)
Not yet la, I tossed all my hope on the LYN seller - GNEX.. lowest point 1,325 - only for roughly 48hours then "supplier no longer carry this model" .. so fast!! I want to get Zitron/Avaxx unit, no AP ><"
I wonder.. if I get s'pore unit.. other than the warranty have to be in S'pore.. everything else is ok in M'sia right?
I emailed Nokia about the warranty issue as well...they asked me to look for the N9 here. Haha.

Btw, one of the sifus over at the 808 thread mentioned that the N9 16GB ori is now only RM1099 at Penang. Tempted to get this instead. Anyone here successfully dual-boot with Nitdroid? Is it fully functional? Not sure if 16gb will be enough though.

All the pretty pics at the 808 thread makes it an interesting alternative to the N9... But really dunno what is Nokia doing with their sales strategy.
passmaster14
post Jun 15 2012, 10:22 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jun 14 2012, 08:34 PM)
Nokia N9 or Pureview? Which to buy comparison.

http://geekaphone.com/compare/Nokia-808-PureView-vs-Nokia-N9
Nice one. But it's still so subjective. My head says 808, but the heart says N9. How? tongue.gif

QUOTE(radhi0zil @ Jun 14 2012, 11:18 PM)
I'm successfull to dual boot my n9,but the weakest point is cannot call/answer call,and the system cannot connect to camera.There is also some minor bug in the graphic.
Talking about apps,i think most important apps like whatsapp,ubersocial,viber and other functioned well.also game like angry bird space(have some lag) and wheres my water.

using android 4.0.4 as main os in nitdroid is the best thing for me,is so tempting and sexy,huhu drool.gif

So,do want to try to dual boot in nitdroid??? hmm.gif
Nitdroid still cannot make calls? Some of the videos I watched rarely show any lags when in Nitdroid playing games. What about battery life? Really wanna try out vanilla ICS, but main reason I wanna get N9 is still MeeGo.

Btw, anyone seen this?
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=451...28706153&type=1
First comment win!

Looks like Nokia is going down the Palm/WebOS path. Sad news indeed.
passmaster14
post Jun 15 2012, 06:28 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Jun 15 2012, 10:40 AM)
Haha!!! Well are you going to take a lot of pics? Is that the main function for your phone? For me I have 2 phones, N9 for most of my stuff & N8 for photos & GPS. So best of both worlds  laugh.gif
Yeah, Nitroid is still Alpha stage so there's still issues here & there but these r the main ones:

1) No voice calls, very experimental ATM
2) No camera
3) No GPS
4) No video hardware decoder, means you can't watch video clips, movies. It'll play in 1 frame/sec.

Side effect on MeeGo:
1) Not able to save passwords in Accounts manager. So you can't save passwords for your email accounts, built in FB, Twitter apps.

Games work because 3D hardware acceleration is working. Battery life I've read is getting better since the latest version can properly hook into battery status so some power saving stuff works.

Best page to keep up to date on what's working on Nitroid is this

I'll wait till my N9 is no longer my main phone before trying Nitdroid.

Yeap that's the free gift Nokia MY gives when getting a Lumia 900. It's actually a very good external charger & I was looking at picking one up. But no, I'm not picking up a Lumia 900  tongue.gif

Added on June 15, 2012, 10:46 am

Yeah VERY UGLY. I won't be surprised to see QT on the sale list next. They have dug such a big hole now I don't see how they ever going to get out. Every good plan with great potential gets axed & we end up with now a plan that reads like this: Lumia & S40. WTH Nokia?

Let's see if they even SURVIVE till end of this year......
Thanks! Will think twice about dual-booting now. Still leaning towards the N9, simply because it's so darn good looking! But some of the Beta Labs apps really are testament to the amount of R&D that goes into MeeGo. Too bad Belle can't run those apps sad.gif

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 15 2012, 05:27 PM)
Goosebump! What the author wrote, really happen today. Semi-Accurate, now that's Pretty-Accurate.
Goosebumps indeed, I actually forgot that I was reading a year-old article! Damn, better hold on to your Nokia sets, they may no longer be around, by the looks of it cry.gif
passmaster14
post Jun 16 2012, 02:44 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jun 16 2012, 01:07 AM)
OMG!!

Guys...is this legit?
RM1488 for a Nokia N9 series 64GB (BLACK) with full package

Added:
passmaster14 , we can still make it!! laugh.gif
I dunno if anyone else noticed, but there seems to be a much higher rate of interest for the N9 in garage sales threads lately. A lot of threads been bumped asking for the N9. BTW, GNex have the 64GB back in stock at RM1410!!! rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Jun 16 2012, 11:14 AM)
Actually I'm curious to know which Beta Lab apps you impressed with that is not available for Belle?
As someone has mentioned this is not  MeeGo or Symbian. It's S40 with Swipe UI elements. Actually Nokia mentioned before they will bring Swipe UI to their other phones so this is the results. Of course before this Nokia always had something else cooking in their R&D but now has all been cancelled. So Nokia now only concentrating on Lumia & what you see here with S40. Is this enough for them to survive?
Whoops, my bad. Just realised that City Lens and World Gaze is also available for Belle blush.gif Just like to ask though, will the UI for City Lens on the N9 change when changing orientation from landscape to portrait? As in, from an AR view to a list view? I saw it on the Nokia video for the Lumia version, but never tried it on the N9. Couldn't find any videos either.

Is the 16GB enough for dual booting? I don't really keep many songs/videos. Would like to keep and watch videos, but I noticed that the stock video player has a noticeable stutter every 1 second or so. Audio is fine, but video has this weird stutter. Is it hardware or software related? I was playing an mp4 file taken from the Ovi Store.
passmaster14
post Jun 19 2012, 02:03 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Jun 18 2012, 10:00 AM)
I can confirm that City Lens doesn't change orientation to portrait. Works only in landscape mode. Don't think it makes sense also to work in portrait mode hehe.
So sad, that means the Lumia version has more functions than the Symbian and MeeGo version. City Lens for Lumia, every orientation got different view. Pretty awesome.

I do agree, it's a bit gimmicky. But, having said that, gimmicks go a long way in luring customers who are sitting on the fence (look at the Galaxy S3 and their many motion-based gestures) . It's all in the presentation, and Nokia Beta Labs have some really interesting apps.

I agree with aspire, it does look very useful for those on foot. If and when you need it, it's there smile.gif Plus, no one's got any AR-based apps yet, so it can raise some awareness on the N9/Lumia etc.
passmaster14
post Jun 19 2012, 02:44 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 19 2012, 07:55 AM)
I know that because i used to try GPS at melaka and walk around melaka town by foot. The GPS even you reach your destination you also not sure its right or wrong because its shop outlets. SO with this i just need point it at the shop it will show me which is the correct shop
One thing I did notice is that some POIs were out of date. Some shops that already closed down are still listed. Minor problem only though.

QUOTE(zachary22_77 @ Jun 19 2012, 11:28 AM)
Wow!! That Lumia version is so darn impressive & no that doesn't look gimmicky anymore since each orientation caters for different information views. N9 version definitely no such thing, just the AR view & u can change it to a list view but it's still in landscape orientation only. I wonder if the Symbian version have any of those extras, I doubt it. Kind of lazy to install on my N8 since it's running out of space on C drive  shakehead.gif
Yes I also find reading 2D maps easier while on foot. But I think Nokia Maps offline POI were pretty good as I was using that when in Europe a month ago. Had to use it to find some eateries  laugh.gif
Let's just hope that there will be an update for the MeeGo/Symbian version for this. Again we can see how useful most of the apps in MeeGo can be, despite the small "ecosystem".
passmaster14
post Jun 26 2012, 04:07 PM

195 posts

What an awesome community. Can't wait to be a part of it! biggrin.gif

About that guy who was offered the white 64GB, OMG. One of the rarest devices out there, and so cheap! (Maybe need to be a little cautious though...)
passmaster14
post Jun 28 2012, 11:17 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jun 28 2012, 09:37 PM)
anyone interested to buy a 2nd hand Nokia N9? Free BH505 NFC headset BRAND NEW?

My friend finally surrender to this phone too much problem. Who interested let me know will offer you a price you cant resist.

BTW its a Nokia N9 64GB Black.
Hey sifu interested as well. Could you PM me more details (age of item, pics) and pricing? Thanks!
passmaster14
post Dec 22 2012, 03:06 PM

195 posts

hey guys, just wanna check with other N9 users here. Is wazapp working for you? Woke up today and it says i need to re-register :/
passmaster14
post Dec 23 2012, 12:15 AM

195 posts

It doesn't seem to be a widespread issue...and that's really confusing. the TMO forum also not many response. Sigh. any ideas as to what can we do to fix it? tried closing the app, and restarting. still can't use sad.gif

EDIT: Devs are working on a fix, as confirmed by a post in the Wazapp fb page.

This post has been edited by passmaster14: Dec 23 2012, 12:40 AM
passmaster14
post Dec 24 2012, 09:14 PM

195 posts

It's really weird how this problem only affects a select group of Wazapp users. Whatsapp updated its protocol again (maybe after the new Whatsapp app for WP8), so now there is a six-digit verification system, which is not compatible with the current Wazapp.

Tgalal is working on a fix right now, so all we can do for now is wait la :/
passmaster14
post Dec 26 2012, 07:08 PM

195 posts

Oh wow, it's back online? This is so cool. Gonna load it up tonight biggrin.gif

BBXiong: long presses don't work anymore?
passmaster14
post Dec 28 2012, 12:05 PM

195 posts

Agreed. Using a Lumia 920 now, and I'm really annoyed at the inconsistent notifications, especially on Whatsapp. I've missed A LOT of Whatsapp notifications when the 920 is locked. No notification sounds. No visual cues. Then when unlock the phone, bam, 20-30 messages come in. But other times, the notification sounds pop up. I seriously have no idea how the background task works.

On the other hand, while I'm still trying to get used to the replacement of a central notification system with Live Tiles, I also found out that Gtalk is not supported - and I use that a lot at work. Speaking of which, both the Lumia 920 and 820 cannot detect certain WiFi networks - probably a router compatibility thing.

Finally, I sometimes stupidly stare at the locked Lumia 920, expecting to see the low power screen. Lol

But on the other hand, I am also liking the smoothness and fluidity of the OS. And of course, the camera is just insanely good. It really makes you wonder what the N9 or its successor could do with similar hardware.

0.0734sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:41 PM