18 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 - V03 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

zachary22_77
post Mar 14 2012, 05:48 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ Mar 14 2012, 05:28 PM)
actually i won't recommend this N9 tweak, anything goes wrong with ur phone, u need to reformat it, even it has the restore setting option, it doesn't show much help.  doh.gif

I rather script every tweak 1 by 1.. its safer & u know what u r doing.
I think the old version yeah was not good. But this latest version, 5.1 is good enough that I dare to recommend. Still as usual with any tweaks it's proceed at your own risk. Oh yeah, make sure your phone is PR1.2 before using this script

zachary22_77
post Mar 15 2012, 06:10 PM

716 posts

If you just connected to internet or your phone doing refresh (Twitter, FB, Feeds, etc.) then yes it will lag a little while. Let it be for a min then it'll be fine smile.gif
zachary22_77
post Mar 16 2012, 11:06 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 16 2012, 10:53 AM)
Camera wise I don't think there is enough difference between N9 and Lumia 800 to base your decision on.

However the audio quality of N9 is great while that of Lumia 800 through headphones is very poor with no bass and muddy sound. If you listen to music on your phone this will be a deal breaker.
http://discussions.europe.nokia.com/t5/Nok...p/1236759#M1973

There is already a good FM radio app for N9 with presets.
Well, I would say there are differences like UI & post processing on image for both phones. Pics taken by sifu Aspire on Lumia 800 look amazing, something I've not seen replicated on N9. The latest N9 firmware does help especially for low light flash pics but still doesn't reach the same level like Lumia 800.

As for audio quality of Lumia 800 on headphones prob, it has been confirmed to be fixed in the latest update that is SLOWLY seeding out. Haha!

zachary22_77
post Mar 16 2012, 02:45 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 16 2012, 02:27 PM)
Hey guy, Calligra (MS Office editor) is coming to N9 soon!
http://everythingn9.com/calligra-active-on-n9/
Cool!!! thumbup.gif
zachary22_77
post Mar 20 2012, 11:54 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 20 2012, 11:43 AM)
Can you play Farmville on N9 or any smartphone for that matter?

Can the N9 tether? Got inbuilt program or apps available?
Nope can't play Farmville on N9. U can play on iOS devices with their specific Farmville app on iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch. Apart from that I don't think anything else works.

N9 has built in WIFI Hotspot app.
zachary22_77
post Mar 20 2012, 01:24 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Mar 20 2012, 12:10 PM)
Not even Andriod?
AFAIK, nope. I tried on Galaxy Tab 10.1, tried to load Farmville but it reported that my browser not supported.
zachary22_77
post Mar 20 2012, 03:47 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Tuyin @ Mar 20 2012, 01:31 PM)
Firefoxx 11.0.0.1 is available now in nokia store.....
no update in 'update  application '...weird
Same here.

QUOTE(AlOnE89 @ Mar 20 2012, 03:16 PM)
Interesting debates, I'm sooooo impressed by you guys that managed to type so well,
even longer than my thesis lol
(Not teasing, pure admiring, purposely login to say this lol)
laugh.gif I'm sure most of us can type very well when it doesn't come to writing a thesis. tongue.gif
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 02:55 AM

716 posts

Hi Andy, there's a way to manage contacts for Windows Phone if you login to Hotmail on PC. Go to Contacts, All Contacts & you'll see it all there. Another way I found can manage it is from Windows 8 Consumer Preview, if you played with it & used your Windows Live ID to login. brows.gif

As I've said before, Windows Phone OS is very new, has nothing to do with old Windows Mobile. Let's just give it some time to mature more. They will add more features along the way, hopefully with Nokia pushing MS ass to move faster in that regard.
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 11:22 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 21 2012, 08:43 AM)
This is why as Andy said WP is not suitable for many people like aunties and uncles who don't have hotmail, Windows Live ID or Cloud services. Many of them don't even have a PC to run Zune and with internet access. It's just like file transfer between phones. Using bluetooth is direct and easy. Using email means both sender and receiver need email a/c and data connection. Why make things so complicated and the ownership requirement so high? Just because Apple does it is not a good reason.
Already said again & again, WP is NOT AIMED at ppl like aunties & uncles. Can we drop this? Tired of repeating this.

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 21 2012, 10:05 AM)
Now Nokia Drive offline mode is just released for Lumia. Why so late? N9 had it from day 1. Looks like Lumia is a rushed job for Nokia. The audio quality of Lumia 800 was disastrous until Nokia recently issued an update. Poor Lumia users had to wait 4 months for this.
Lumia was something Nokia only started in April 2011 officially & they lauched it by Dec 2011. The fact that offline mode is now here for Lumia is great liau. Try to count the number of months it took from nothing to something for a change.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 21 2012, 11:05 AM)
No matter how I see it, I don't see how is Windows Phone OS a better choice if Symbian is the burning platform.
There're Androids, and the highly potential MeeGo.

The reason like only 1 MeeGo device in 2012. It's not valid, it's not like they released many Windows Phone in 2012? And to prove further, they didn't launch N9 in US? And upcoming 808?

Is there is a burning platform for Nokia, it will be the Windows Phone OS as it will affect many of their users.
Despite having many problems with Symbian, there still many people using it especially those that has been loyal and sticking to Nokia. Choosing Windows Phone, is like taking a big risk, trying to gain new (which is not stable) and risk loosing many of their highly potential loyal customers.

But then, it's more like depending on Microsoft, whether they decide to open up, loosen up, remove the restrictions and limitations, make it like how a smartphone OS should be.
It has great features like People Hub and Office integration. Even if people don't use it, there is a CHOICE/OPTION not to use it because IT'S AVAILABLE.
Unlike Bluetooth File Transfer, ZUNE reliane, and other restrictions and limitations... people have NO CHOICE/OPTION, they are FORCED to adapt.
Bro, I think it might be better if you look outside of our circle & region. In regions like UK, USA, there is no phone shop or carrier that will even think of selling/subsidising a Symbian phone. To them, Symbian is long dead, long before Elop announced EOL. These are the regions they tryiing to get back now. But yeah maybe at the cost of some country/region like us, Malaysia. But as you've already read, Nokia is pushing MS hard on changes so it might be just more time needed. Nokia knows what is needed for lower end phones to succeed.

zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 11:52 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 21 2012, 11:39 AM)
So is MS and Nokia content to cater to a niche market? What about all the talk of being a 3rd ecosystem?
Yes, it's great to Lumia users that offline mode and better audio quality are here now after 4 months but not everybody are so patient. In Europe the return rate of Lumia is so high that salespeople don't even want to push Lumia anymore. In Finland itself, the home of Nokia an independent survey shows that 8 out of 10 salesmen will bring out another phone even when customers specifically ask for Lumia.
So Symbian is going off into the sunset but this doesn't mean WP7 is the right platform to replace it. If Nokia had put its weight behind MeeGo instead of treating it like an unloved stepchild things may be different.
Niche market? So you're classsifying the gazillion of youngters as niche market? doh.gif

Anyway, may I know where you get the info that in Europe Lumia return rate is so high?

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 21 2012, 11:40 AM)
Even if they decide to go with Windows Phone OS, there's no need to drop Symbian. The truth quite ugly, how fast Symbian will be drop very soon... sooner than expected, but hope the market response will wake them up and put back Symbian in-line.
They should only decide on Symbian future when their Windows Phone OS has stabilize. It's like running 2 tap water, until Lumia is stable and people have no problem switching and are satisfied, then you can safely decide on the future of Symbian. If software, I think you also know this phase. But they announce much earlier, they don't even know if their users can adapt to Windows Phone. It's like forcing people to adapt or "leave". Well, if the product is really that good, they can do that.

Just like the article mentioned, which I think it's an important point
1 to 1.
Can Windows Phone OS gain back 1 to 1 of Symbian? Or AT LEAST like say 80%?
Now it's just the beginning of Windows Phone, they're already loosing many Symbian customers? That alone is in UK market? Where they were more convince about their Windows Phone?

The 1 to 1 or maintaining current Symbian users is also what I wanted to highlight to my previous debate; It's not right to just tell the current Symbian users, it's not for you, go leave. Bloggers can write that because it's not their business.
For Nokia, these are their customers, can they afford to loose all these customer and tell them, don't like leave "lah", don't buy? Not for you? It's easy for bloggers to write, but it's not this way to tell customer, moreover, it's the CURRENT users. Like I said few times before, this strategy to gain new customer (which is unstable), but can they risk to loosing their CURRENT LOYAL STABLE LONG-TERM Customers?
Unfortunately, Symbian was badly mismanaged. The original idea was to let it ride on then let Maemo/Meego take over the high end. The slow pace of Symbian improvements & the detour taken by Nokia in the Meego project caused delays that originated before Elop's time. Honestly Nokia should have just gone ahead with Maemo & not merge with Moblin to become Meego. That alone delayed things by a year.

Unfortunately because of the extremely different usage of Symbian to WP, I don't think Nokia ever hoped to just push WP straight to their Symbian users. Hence why they put a date 2015 for Symbian. I've read before that they will slowly ease old Symbian users to WP when WP is at a point that it can directly replace Symbian, but that time has NOT ARRIVED. I hope you guys understand this. This is still the middle of transition period. We still have Symbian phones to choose from. Nokia is not telling u to go away if you don't want WP.

zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 12:04 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Mar 21 2012, 11:57 AM)
The thing is, Nokia can have 2 OS if they want. Then everybody happy,thry can try get back some from western market while maintaining the existing customers.
If look at nokia support discussions, even those from europe, japan complain abt the zune, skydrive and increased data rates. 1st question ppl ask, 'if nokia pay for my monthly data usage than can consider all this skydrive'.
As for iphone, studies have shown iphone users very loyal to iphone. Latest from my nokia blog is iphone users 90% remain with iphone
Well, Nokia still have S40 & Symbian. Last time I checked QT is still being pushed very hard since S40 is a HUGE market that QT can tap into. So QT might just give Symbian a little more time.

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Mar 21 2012, 12:00 PM)
because of the money they spend on buying apps, i suppose. For me it's the same, i spend money to buy quite a number of apps too, thinking that i would lost all of them if i move to Android.. sometimes just saddens me
Yeah this is mostly true. It's also why I haven't moved from Symbian & bought most games I have now on my N8 after my iPod Touch became a dinosaur.
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 12:24 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Mar 21 2012, 12:09 PM)
honestly, i agree on the above when you guys said that Lumia 800 and 710 are rushed, look at the Wifi hotspot feature, recently announced and will have update, Maps too, you check on the Lumia 900 prototype unit and the Nokia Maps they are running from, you will know that there are still MANY features that are yet to be included into the phone. Right now, that phone is just a toy that has basic features, whereby N9? optimized, but lacking of apps. Honestly, if only N9 have at least whatsapp, this phone will still be selling well.
Of course it's rushed, 8 month from nothing to market. But then again it's actually Nokia's fault since WP by itself supports WIFI hotspot & is available on other manufacturer WP phones like HTC Radar & HTC Titan.

I actually don't agree N9 is optimised. It's buggy, way more buggy than my N8 even during Symbian Anna time. Can't sync my contacts with Ovi sync, used BT to transfer contacts from old phone only to find out that N9 doesn't support multiple fields of the same type. For eg, a contact have mobile, mobile(work) & mobile(home). Only mobile gets transfered while the other 2 fields go MIA. Only way to sync properly? Go through Ovi sync, but guess what? It doesn't work prior to PR1.2!!! doh.gif

PR1.2 fixed most but introduced some other very annoying bugs like buggy video playback, web browser hang in background not able to kill. I haven't been able to go more than 3 days without having to reboot my N9. I also can't replace my N8 as my media server since DLNA video playback is darn buggy for now.
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 02:01 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 21 2012, 12:17 PM)
1.9% global market share for WP7 as at Q42011 is a niche market. We are looking at market share to determine whether a platform is popular or not. Actual numbers have no meaning without relating to the total.

This is the link about Lumia returns.

Why does Elop have to put a cutoff date for Symbian? Once you put a cutoff date users will migrate and new users will think twice. This is a blunder from the CEO who is too anxious to push to WP7.

Unfortunately WP7 can never directly replace Symbian in developing countries unless they change the whole design philosophy to remove its dependence on Zune and online services. This is not within Nokia's control. There is no transition from Symbian to WP7 going on, Nokia is losing Symbian users to other platforms.
So your conclusion is that in a quater that saw iPhone & Android phones dominate sales like crazy, the 1 mil sales of Lumia is a disaster? Can you conclude that so early that it's done? Let me know, what was Android's sharemarket just 2 years back?

Elop putting a cutoff date is seen as a big mistake which I agree. That practically killed most future Symbian sales even though Belle is such a huge change & improvement.

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 21 2012, 12:43 PM)
Actually, I mentioned this quite long ago and suggested to Nokia before, they should have plans like porting the purchases to new OS platform when they switch, or at least give some rebates, discount or something like that.

It's simple. If I've been supporting Nokia with Symbian, now Nokia wishes me to adapt to Windows Phone. Why should I switch if I'm loosing everything and starts fresh? When I can... venture into Android or iOS with better games and less problems. With iOS, I don't have to worry about Apple dropping iOS? With Android, I can easily switch to Samseng, HTC, LG, etc. and my purchases still there.
It's not optimize, but I feel it's more stable and reliable than Symbian. At least for me; when I need to make a call ANYTIME, I can rely on N9 anytime and it's easy and fast to access to calls or SMS. But Symbian sometimes it can be slow a bit to respond, Android is the worst....

I won't blame MeeGo much, but Nokia in not putting enough effort and manpower. It's just like Maemo, it has so much potential, a powerful Linux OS in a mobile device, with flexible Desktop (not your typical homescreen), flexible customizable widgets (e.g. Queen Beacon Widgets), excellent browser where you can activate mouse icon, and just so much more. If you use it, and look at the development update progress, it's very clear that they're not putting enough effort and manpower to this. Maemo and MeeGo is like their backup, adopted baby, thus not given enough attention.

Added on March 21, 2012, 12:50 pm

Yup, that's what I also said previously, go multi-platform. But their plans of going purely Windows Phone OS is suspicious. Abandon their MeeGo project despite invested so much? And Symbian despite their Belle has shown improvements and some users are actually happy with it?
Choose WP instead when most preferred Android?
It's all just doesn't make sense and too suspicious; Hence, back then when the partnership was announced, rumors circulating was, "infiltrate and attack from the inside and finally..."
Haha! Bro did you realise you spelled Samsung as 'Samseng'? OMG!!! laugh.gif

Yeah, why didn't Nokia think of giving rebates, discounts or something. That would have made A LOT of ppl happy. thumbup.gif

Oh well, we'll see end of this year how things work out & IF there's still a Nokia around. Honestly all these management decisions we can debate all year long but nothing will come to change of it since they surely don't listen to us. So most of the time I tend to not bother discussing it since it's really rather pointless.

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Mar 21 2012, 01:35 PM)
nope, it is optimized. Optimized = drawing more performance from the chip. Previously, Symbian 3 was not optimized, you see lagging here and there, whereby you don't see much lags on N9, not as far as i experienced.
as for what you are saying, it's stability. I have to say, it's a brand new OS coming to the market, and sadly, there aren't many users as other phones to give a more progressive and useful bug report, so yeah, for now, i think stability wise it's still incomparable with some other OS, but over the time it will catch up. BTW i'm more concern on Android on N9, that will really make me interested in it, again. As of now Meego aint really attractive to me apart of the smoothness and the swipe gestures
Oh so that's what you mean by optimised. Well I guess Nokia Belle is optimised now to you? It is to me as I have pretty much no lag now on my N8. For the N9, yes the ability to run ICS definitely is one of the main reasons I bought it. It was that or Alien Darvik which unfortunately seems to have gone dead or something. But the main draw for the N9 to me was the multitasking, how it's integrated into your use flow, instead of something u need to invoke to find. Like the designer of Swipe UI said, you can decide where you want to do next & go straight there, instead of always having to go out of your house & come back through the front door just to get from the bedroom to the kitchen. That was a swipe at any mobile OS that uses a HOME button. laugh.gif
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 02:38 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Mar 21 2012, 02:28 PM)
yes i do mean that, and to me Belle is very optimized. But, there're always room for improvement (greedy consumer mindset).  IMO Windows phone will sell, BUT, only if they allow the device to be plugged in as a media device, which allow easy drag and drop for picture/songs etc, and allow pictures, audio note to be shared through wireless connections like Bluetooth. All these are already available in other nokia devices but the Lumia. Sure, recent updates brings offline navigation, which IMO is not bad, but does it allow us to adjust the route setting? (faster route, shorter route, allow toll roads, etc)
without those, we are pretty much being screwed with only the default options. We might ended up spending toll money, when there are some other route that uses same time but doesnt require tolls.
there are so so much more.. in short term, WP will not sell well, we'll have to see how Apollo change the game, but personally I won't be putting high hope on that
Haha yeah always room for improvement. But for my N8 I guess it's kind of end of the road for it, sadly. I wonder if I'll get a 808 end of the year to replace it, haven't decided yet.

We'll see if mass storage mode does get added to WP. If Nokia & MS are serious then they should know what to do. Else as usual, the consumer will let them know by rejecting their product.

I'm not sure of route settings are included or not in the latest update. No mention on Nokia Conversations also here.
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 03:21 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 21 2012, 03:06 PM)
N9 has 1GB amount of ram. I think it will be a plus point as I notice Android consume and requires a lot of ram. SE doesn't have dual core device until recently, their Androids only packs 512MB of ram and is suffering, especially when you customize the homescreen and install more services. It frequently restarts the launcher, etc. I hate when the OS gets too smart in killing apps, but there's just not enough ram.

As a phone, one thing is should do it, the basic phone feature and home should always easily accessible. When we press HOME, it should immediately go back, just like iPhone, it doesn't matter if the apps lag or not; Manufacturer's need to know the priority of a phone is the phone function, and also the home, we should easily go back to home and easily access to our contacts and make phone calls, etc.
Most people complains is when they receive a call when they're doing something and the phone just lags and cannot respond immediately, or when they want to make calls half way or access SMS, it lags and respond slow. These are the critical and most important factors.
Android eats RAM like nothing so yeah, hopefully 1GB will make Android on N9 run smooth enough. Don't even start bout SE, their Timescape UI is a horrible memory eater.

Yes, Nokia is "PaiKia", Samsung is "Samseng Kia", hehehe.
and now we have Lumia
S: Ni hp ape?
N: Ni Nokia Lumia.
S: Bukan I mia lah, I tanya ni hp ape?
N: Betul lah tu! Ni Nokia Lumia lah...
S: Bukan la, I guna Samseng mia.
N: #@#@#$%#...
ROFLMAO!!!! laugh.gif thumbup.gif

Yeap, it's pointless, it's just to release our "unhappiness" lol
Anyway, for bloggers and reviewers, what they write can become important especially when their blogs or article are famous, so what they write can really contribute to the decision or changes. Hence, why I state that they should be considerate and think more about everyone; For this case, Nokia, they should consider current users most importantly, not asking them to leave or say things like, it's not suitable for them; more so, when these things are actually easily solvable. It's just requires Microsoft attention and take a "small" action. These are not major change or something serious, it's a simple modification of feature, and it doesn't take a lot of effort at all, just a matter of "management decision".
Haha, yeah, unfortunately that "management decision" chain is still very long & still takes ages to see end of the tunnel, on MS side.
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 04:13 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Mar 21 2012, 04:02 PM)
actually, believe or not, iOS also has phone lags, for instance, when you got a phone call, sometimes the "slide to answer" doesnt work, you slide your finger across the screen, but the touch input is not detected.
Sometimes, after sliding to end(phone answered), the screen will hang there will the slider at the right edge of the slider, meaning slider to answer edi, and wait around 3-5 seconds only change to the typical phone call screen.
there are also times when you wanna call, you press on the contact, it will highlight the contact on touch, hang there few seconds, then only start calling.

when you screen is not locked, you get the "Answer" and "reject" button. my experience is that there are times when you press answer, the phone also takes few seconds to respond. and upon hanging up the phone call(press cancel button ) it will hang there will all the button shaded, longest i seen was around 1 minute hang on my gf's phone. and some of this happens rarely, while some of these happens on daily basis.

Message, no complain, apart from it lags the application to death.

I believe what your friend complain on the lag, is when the message come and the notification shows. 3-5 seconds before the notification shows, your game will drop to slideshow speed, then show the notification, then suddenly run smooth again, and recent experience, my character fell into a hole in Temple Run. all these are common stuffs on smartphone, but as far as i can recall, Symbian was the best in this, it doesnt have very noticeable performance drop

Added on March 21, 2012, 4:03 pm

the thing about 808, i suspect it will come out at RM2200 RRP
overly high pricing to make other premium Lumia phone look like they are better deals
Your experience with iPhone lagging is true, I've friends that complain till today they can't slide to answer calls on their iPhone 4. And I thought that was a basic thing to make sure it works.

LOL! That's darn funny, your character falling into a hole. On the old Symbian if I remember correctly the pop-up when a SMS comes in will freeze the game. After Symbian ^3 it's no longer an issue since the pop-up is confined to home screen & when running games & stuff I only see a notification on the top left that disappears after 2 seconds. So yeah, still the best I've seen for handling that. Honestly they should get rid of the pop-up now in Belle.

Yes, the 808 IF it comes to M'sia should be priced above RM2K. Marketing strategy. Haha.
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 04:34 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Mar 21 2012, 04:24 PM)
yeah, seriously, samo almost beat my high score doh.gif
talking about lagging, notification on android also sometimes have that issue on my tablet, say when email come, it will also stutter a bit. I guess memory management wise, really, nothing beats Symbian now.
Nokia, did u saw what i just type? yes, Symbian today = WP at 2014 at least, u sure u can ensure that long?
i was hoping to have most the major OS devices out there so that i can compare on the OS without being bias. I seen many people complaining about this or that just by hearing some of the user feedback, where most cases are really, users' fault, haha. Although my android device is a tablet and i wasn't able to test anything on the SMS/Call part, the notification part is also having rather similar lagging as on the iOS
Actually notifications on WP (they are called Toasts) doesn't lag the phone in any way. Too bad there's no way to see collection of Toasts. Once it's gone it's gone. Back to before Belle time. doh.gif

Memory management on WP is darn good. Much better than Android, even beats iOS in my opinion but that's cause it only saves state for 5 running apps. They are pushing it to 8 in the next update called Mango Refresh.

Yes on Android notifications lag a bit. I did a lot of testing on my dad's Galaxy Tab 10.1. The most annoying lag is usually when the adverts are reloading every min. doh.gif
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 05:23 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 21 2012, 04:43 PM)
It's good because it limit what you can run and use. Which is OK for me, but NOT be too smart to close the app for me without asking my permission. Where are the manners? Imagine if the app is a word document which I've type very long?
Similarly, IE tabs only allows up to 6 tabs, if you click on the link and open in new tab, the smart OS will decide to close the first tab for you. Again, no manners.

It should:
1. Ask user if they choose continue/OK, which app/tab will be closed, or cancel it.
2. Some people will say, "aiyah, this is annoying". But think further, this can be set as option in settings, "always ask" or auto-close, etc.

They can push it to 8, but here's the catch, device with not enough ram may not support it.
Just as 256MB ram, will not be able to support 5 apps multi-tasking and there is a limit to how many ram is allocated to each task, if not wrong, below 90MB? Again, this overly smart OS will decide to close for you without asking because the OS is a smart OS, and it consider the user as a dumb user  tongue.gif
So, although Lumia 800 have 512MB is enough, but more is always better, it means ready for future requirements.

Anyway, hope MS will implement something like above, the options.
LOL! Eh... is there an OS that will ask you is it OK to close an app? hmm.gif

Oh, Didn't realise IE only allow 6 tabs. If can't open more then dun allow like in iOS & Symbian. Haha! Prob solved! icon_rolleyes.gif

Actually for the current 512MB devices the push to 8 fast switch apps is no issue. For devices that are using 256MB, fast switching is actually most of the time going to be disabled. It'll only work with certain apps. At least that's my understanding lah.

Added on March 21, 2012, 5:31 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 21 2012, 05:21 PM)
Already read this slightly earlier, doesn't seems any useful. We should think about Nokia current customers.
As previous article by Kenny, can Nokia gain back it's customer 1 to 1?
They already lost 1/3 of their customer since Lumia, in UK alone, where they have higher hopes for Windows Phone OS?

In Asia, there're many customer who may not be able to adopt with the restrictions and limitations (not just Asia actually). Note, I did not mention changes. People can try new ones, but not at the expense of inconveniences, frustration and unhappiness.
If you take some time to read through the article Kenny posted, you will read about more interesting point.
The above article, never seems to touch what may draw customer away and how to improve Windows Phone sales, it's more like a believe that it will success. To success, means you need to make sure your customer are happy/satisfied and have as little complain as possible. At current rate, it's already pretty bad, but mainly it can be resolved if Microsoft could just open up, loosen up, remove these restrictions and limitations, make a true smartphone  OS. The stability and reliability is great, the People Hub and Office Integration is amazing, but they need to take care of the little things that can be what turns people down/away.
That's the famous Rita aka Dotsisx from Symbian Guru site last time. Don't worry, she haven't give full review. She always gives good side & bad side, you should read her review on N9. Anyway, she's giving a general review, not helping Nokia improve sales so it's just her opinion. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by zachary22_77: Mar 21 2012, 05:31 PM
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 05:49 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 21 2012, 05:36 PM)
No, but other OS, so far it won't close for you except Android which is also annoying. I type half way, go back, it's restarted. Windows Phone OS worst, where's my app? Missing from the multi-tasking view.

Other phones like Symbian, Maemo, MeeGo, it doesn't close for you; but because no restriction on how many you can open, it can affect the performance on Maemo and MeeGo especially. Not sure about Symbian as I never tried it before.

Windows Phone doesn't allow open anymore tab when there is already 6, the "+" tab is disabled, but you can clikc on a click to open in new tab.
Actually no big issue, MS can easily add in an option for user to decide or just use AUTO (or "recommended" settings). This is like "things to improve" feature.

Push 8 apps, maybe depend on the ram consumption on each app, as with 256mb device, there's a limitation on ram for each app, if exceed if not wrong it will close it. But that's the limitations, who ask the manufacturer to skimp on ram. Like Lumia 800, it could have 1GB ram like the N9, but the decide to give less since it meet the requirement. But nothing serious, 512MB is fine, it works well, no complains; it's just "nice to have" more and getting more value for what you pay (including for future requirement).
Actually iOS will tombstone aka kill the app when non enough memory is available but the app will remain in the recent used list. Same with WP but WP have less memory to work with. Symbian will just close your app, no questions asked if it runs out of memory. I know coz I've seen it so many times on my phone.

Maemo/MeeGo doesn't close it, unfortunately it can result in complete lockup of the phone. This has happened to my N9 a couple of times when web browsing using stock browser & firefox.

On 256mb device, basically if an app don't use more than 90mb then it can fast resume, any app using more will be tombstoned. Read that from MyNokiaBlog here.

Anyway, it's not that Nokia didn't want to put more RAM, but maybe it's a OS issue. Who knows. There's no WP phone on market with more than 512mb.

Added on March 21, 2012, 5:52 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Mar 21 2012, 05:36 PM)

Added on March 21, 2012, 5:43 pm

Nah, didn't say she's helping Nokia improve sales; Just saying she's a believer that Windows Phone can success; Initially I believe too when it was first announce they will revamp Windows Mobile and emphasize on Social Networks integration, back then I've experience SNS in N900 so I know how appealing it is, but I never thought they will put in limitations and restrictions, moreover from Microsoft.

As I said, if the product wants to be more successful, we need to identify early, what can turns people down or off, and can it be avoided? In this case, YES. But seem they didn't and go ahead with the restrictions and limitations, which have no good reasons as now they have to face many complains and unsatisfied customers.

Anyway, it's her point of view and how she felt about the phone. For me, I can live without bluetooth file transfer, but as I said, it's not about me; moreover, why remove this feature when it can cause many unsatisfied customers.

As a reviewer (especially famous one), it will be helpful if they write about these restrictions and limitations, because it will take more attention and awareness of Nokia and Microsoft. For us, we can write thousands of times and it may not get any attention or priority.
Well, WP is a new OS, not based on Windows Mobile. So it's not about taking out bluetooth transfer. It never was in the OS, they have to add it in. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by zachary22_77: Mar 21 2012, 05:53 PM
zachary22_77
post Mar 21 2012, 06:07 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Mar 21 2012, 05:59 PM)
This girl published a review of her Lumia 800 a mere 24 hrs after getting her phone. She hasn't even used it in-depth yet. She also got her Lumia free and the main thing she went ga-ga over was the colour. Here is a review by a real user who bought his own Lumia 800, used it for 1 month and said goodbye.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/blog/...mia-800-goodbye
Kenny, why are u so negative? She's not any girl, if you've followed Symbian blog you would know who she is & her credentials. Have u even read that post?

1) The phone is on 1 month trial
2) She was a Symbian user now converted to Android, never touched WP b4.

So just because she doesn't kick dirt on her initial impression you just dismiss her entirely? shakehead.gif

18 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0765sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:09 PM