12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Nokia N9 - V03 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~

Andy214
post May 10 2012, 10:45 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 10 2012, 10:26 PM)
Oh my Gawd!!  rclxub.gif  How do you guys live with it as your main phone?
Not sure how many can. I notice many Lumia users selling theirs off and the Lumia thread is pretty quiet and not much useful or interesting/technical discussion.

For very basic use, just to make phone calls, browse internet, I think not much issue, plus it's stable and smooth. BUT, for smartphone users, definitely a lot of issues.

Andy214
post May 10 2012, 11:35 PM

3,308 posts

Sad to say, almost everyone that I let them try didn't like it. Of course all of them are smartphone users and iPhone users. The limitations is just too much. Let's be honest, no point trying to protect the OS because this is a major weakness/issue and needs to be resolved as soon as possible, and Microsoft should know better, they have years of experience with Windows Mobile OS and they're not the type of company which locks everything away.
Andy214
post May 11 2012, 08:57 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 11 2012, 08:48 AM)
It's just sad that Nokia refused to push MeeGo which is far more capable and usable than WP7.5 even in its first release. The WP os seems like it has a lot of fundamental errors due to designers' inexperience. MS did not capitalize on their Win Mobile experience as they used a totally new team for WP7 which resulted in so many shortcomings even in the 2nd generation of the os.

For Nokia to change its fortune with Lumia is very hard, to put it plainly. WP7.5 is not competitive with Android, ios, MeeGo or even Symbian. You can say that WP is new but why should users wait for WP to improve when they can get a better user experience in another platform now?

Of course Nokia can bank on Apollo but it may not come out in time to save Nokia and who knows whether it will be competitive or not? Nokia has passed the point of no return. It must continue on its chosen path and live or die with Lumia.
Even new team, Microsoft should provide all their knowledge from their past Windows Mobile, especially what to include. BUT this is like a outsource to someone and let the company decide everything and do everything, else I don't understand why MS would want to put in those limitation which wasn't even suppose to be there in the first place, as a smartphone device, EVEN as a dumbphone. The only phone that does this is the iPhone. So, it makes people wonder, it's either from the same team/same people/same company which develop iOS OR these people just follow blindly on the iPhone since the management give orders, we want to be like iPhone which is the most successful phone currently and we want to beat that.
Very sorry to say that, I honestly feel these are like done by people with little experience, not very creative, "straight - follow instructions or order" with flat mindset, else they would've thought of many things (which now creates many issues listed in the previous link). It feels like dealing with some fresh graduate with not much experience and they just code based on the spec requirement without more creative thinking or flexibility in mind, and perhaps the designer himself/herself also did not think of it. UNLESS, it's done on purpose, but I don't get any logical reason behind it as it's obvious that it created many problems already.

Wait for it to improve is one thing, all these ECO System talk. Did they forget that users made purchases on the platform and the purchases are not transferable? If someone invested thousands on the apps, will they willing to loose all of it?
Some people already lost when they change to Android, or they have both iOS and Android device, they would've felt and see the problem already. Who would want to invest AGAIN on another platform?
And by the time it mature, more and more people would've been using Androids and made a lot of purchases.

If Nokia/Microsoft wants to tackle this issue for Windows Phone, they should come up something for this.

As for Nokia, they should've also provided Android devices to cater for Android market users. It's so huge and growing everyday at fast pace. People are switching over to Android, from iPhone, Symbian, dumphones, etc.
Nokia is obviously loosing a BIG market there, which they potentially could've gain a lot of it. Now they just blindly FREE all this to Samseng, and help Samseng to build up their brand and name, making them shine, in such SHORT time. It's like you play some MMORPG game, you spend months or years to reach very high level, then you help some low level characters to level up and above you in very SHORT time.

Apollo? I'm not sure how many issues can it resolved. BUT I think Nokia forget one important thing, other brand also can produce Apollo devices... Why should people buy Nokia? When they've damage their own image now, and Samseng is gaining the upper hands, Samseng is now more preferred and the brand is gaining more popularity. It most probably will have better specs, maybe cheaper too and with all these technologies like Super AMOLED, etc.
Nokia is already loosing their market share on Android, and their Symbian market is dying (lucky they still have the 808), and they STILL have to COMPETE against others in Windows Phone, which is the one and only OS they will use for their smartphones. I just cannot see how they can recover and make a come back. It's not like others brand cannot produce Windows Phone OS devices,.... moreover, other brands have other devices of choice to cater for different market.
As I said, Nokia will only be selling porridge in future. While others, is selling the SAME porridge, but also have other food choices in their menu.

This post has been edited by Andy214: May 11 2012, 09:18 AM
Andy214
post May 11 2012, 02:36 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 11 2012, 02:05 PM)
Aspire2006, since you have experienced ios, Symbian, Android 4.0, MeeGo and WP7.5 which is the one you will choose to use as your daily phone? Of course there is no perfect os and all have pros and cons but which is the overall winner for you?

I hope to hear sifu Andy's opinion as well, as an experienced man who has experienced all the OS mentioned.
LoL, I think it depends on what kind of user. I'm a user who look for a TRUE smartphone which can bring me closer to mobile computer, that's why until today I still prefer Maemo, no other OS can replace it, but there's no new hardware for it. So, it's left with MeeGo and Android. I would prefer MeeGo but it lacks a good browser and some good apps. Android on the other hand, lacks of good true multi-tasking and it consume a lot of resources/memory.

I can bear with some occasional lag, bugs, hangs, etc. but I CANNOT bear the limitations and restrictions. If I want less lag, I can run less services, put plain and empty homescreen, etc, but I don't bother, I still run many services and put tons of things on the homescreen. I can bear with the higher battery consumption of smartphone, if I want to save more battery, I will turn off services, etc. But if I have restrictions and limitations, what can I do?
It's when people don't know, then they complain this and that. Like i you drive a turbo car, if you floor it, you should know it will consume more petrol; But if someone complain of the high fuel consumption, then it's not the car's fault.

Windows Phone have really great and amazing Social Networks integration, that's one of the best and most interesting part. But the limitations, restrictions and all those things that are lacking CAN actually be implemented and make available. Why didn't they? That's a BIG question. It's not something that cannot be done or impossible, what's even more annoying is, it's actually can be easily implemented, but they decide not to, even after more than, erm... 1.5 years? That's a LONG time.

Now Windows Phone not just have to overcome this issue, all the talks of ECOSYSTEM. Did they expect people to just jump from Android or iPhone to Windows Phone and lost all their paid apps, which can lead up to thousands (or more than the phone price)? I think most people will just stick to their current OS, unless the OS is dead or will be dead like Symbian. Android and iOS is growing everyday bigger and bigger, more and more people will use them. Even if the person got FEEL want to jump ship, it is worth?

Honestly, MeeGo still have the potential but sadly, Nokia most probably has fired all the talented people. It's really a pity.

As for the BACK button and especially the SEARCH button, I've mentioned before, I don't really fancy them. The BACK button can be useful but at time it can be annoying because it can serve different purpose depending what screen you're on, it can become BACK, then suddenly become CLOSE, so you will accidentally CLOSE the app. I've experience this many times with Android and Windows Phone. I've been using Maemo for almost 2 years, there's no buttons on the screen (same like N9), only have qwerty keyboard, and I prefer this way. The BACK button can be annoying, and multi-tasking view, Maemo & MeeGo still the best.
Anyway, the main issue with the BACK and SEARCH button is mainly because Lumia 800 buttons are capacitive (on screen) button, so it's easily accidentally "molested" it.

Previously, I said before, many people don't really need a smartphone, they don't even know what's a proper smartphone. All they need is just a simple easy to use phone that works like a phone, but have support for application and web browsing. They don't care much about other stuffs.
There should be a new category called "Multimedia Phone" or simply mediaphone, which iPhone and Windows Phone should fit into this category, then Microsoft should reconsider come up with a new proper smartphone OS to replace their Windows Mobile OS.

The new comments in the below link is very interesting and nice to read:
http://my-symbian.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=44034

Harsh TRUTH, WP7 created users like iOS:
"If you remember the discussions last year about how wonderful WP 7 was when the strategy was announced, you should be used to the kind of arguments the fans are using.

I have learned from them that WP 7 is the best platform since it is simple, an argument that then is "backed up" with wrong descriptions about other platforms, for example that an Android device crashes when you take a phone call etc.

WP 7 and iOS fans *has* to offend people since their mission is to defend the platform and criticism is not allowed since everything with those two systems has clever reasons:

1. Joe 6 Pack is not using Feature X so it is unnecessary.
2. Other platforms are hard to use.
3. Other platforms lags.
4. Windows Phone 7/iOS is very simple to use and therefore better.
5. Joe 6 Pack wants something simple.
6. You are wrong.

With argument like those paired with offenses, the platforms are claimed to be the best thing since sliced bread.

I have not to this day heard any good argument for either iOS or WP 7 (in a different forum, there has been a 148 page debate and now a new 13 page long - without any good argument yet but different versions of the six ones I listed).

My conclusion is simply that there is no good arguments for WP 7. Therefore the hysterical reaction from the fans that tries to defend it at all costs.

It is pretty telling when the WP 7 fans has to register in a completely different forum, just to defend the platform. When you do that, you are really in deep love with the system.

Compare it to what happened last year when a particular user woke up and started to praise WP 7 without any good arguments besides "Symbian is dead". "

and this:

"Then my shovel is even better, as it's even simpler... But I don't want my smartphone to be simple, I want it to be functional. And I enjoy it being complex, because this way it offers me a lot possibilities, lots of new things to discover and learn, etc. When I use a complex product, I further develop my abilities and knowledge. Simple things make me bored and I get rid of them quickly and replace them with something more exciting.

And that's why for the last 14 years I've been using GEOS, Symbian, Maemo and MeeGo, and not "simple things" like iOS or WP7 which you get familar with in 15 minutes and then you don't know what to do. I'm afraid that I would bore myself to death in just one day with a WP7 phone. "

This post has been edited by Andy214: May 11 2012, 02:38 PM
Andy214
post May 11 2012, 05:36 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 11 2012, 05:14 PM)
You mean you can't decide which OS you love enough to get hitched to? OK. I'll make it simple for you. Which platform are you using as a daily phone now?
Actually, I still prefer my N900, which used to be my primary phone.
Now I'm using Android qwerty as my daily phone and N9 as second phone. If I need to make quick calls, I'll use the N9, it's much more reliable and stable, lol. And I use the N9 for the IM + sharing feature mainly, basically for what Android is lacking.

Andy214
post May 12 2012, 01:11 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ May 11 2012, 06:08 PM)
He means he has one wife (Android) but he still dreams of his ex (N900) and keeps an outside interest (N9) for what his wife cannot provide.  biggrin.gif
Good summarization, hehe

Basically, as I said, not everyone is looking or need a true smartphone. A mediaphone OS like iOS or WP7 is good enough for many people.

One thing people need to understand about restriction and limitation of the OS is that, it COULD and SHOULD have those features, but we're not included ON PURPOSE, or think of it, REMOVED.
Imagine if you buy a Windows 7 PC, the seller lock the administrator account and only an account with limited priviledge, the BIOS password locked, and prevent you from formatting and reinstall the Windows yourself. In short, the seller/company whichs sells you the PC controls everything and restrict and limits what you can do.
WOULD YOU LIKE IT?
This is what Apple did with iOS, and now Microsoft did the same with their Windows Phone. Their Windows Mobile wasn't like this. So should one accept the limitations and restriction imposed ON PURPOSE?

Andy214
post May 14 2012, 09:21 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 12 2012, 08:45 PM)
Here's a question for you fellas esp. Andy and Aspire.

If the MeeGo OS has as many apps as Android would you use it as your primary phone?

This is not a hypothetical question because there is a big likelihood that NITDroid based on Android 4.0 being developed now will be good enough and stable enough to be dual boot with MeeGo. Then we can have the best of both worlds - elegant Swipe UI, true multitasking and APPS!

I don't know about you guys but when NitDroid reach Beta I'm going to buy another N9 as a backup just in case Nokia stop selling it.
Actually, I can live without those apps, I would rather the device with those games as secondary phone, so I can play the games or use the app without worring calls coming in, sms or notifications, and most important of all, I don't have to worry draining the battery and I can't use it for important calls. Imagine if it's your primary phone, you will need the phone primary for calls, SMS, etc.

The MAIN reason the Android is now the primary device is mainly/solely because of the qwerty keyboard as I really need/want it. Well, you can tell why I need it from those post I typed, lol. Honestly, I would prefer the MeeGo as my primary device, I prefer it's contacts and social networks integration, the stability and reliability; it's just lacking a qwerty.
In comparison with my N900, it's also lacking a good browser. Maemo5 comes with so far, the BEST mobile web browser to date (yes, even till today, I can't find a browser that gives as good experience and functionality).
Android, what I have is choice like Dolphin HD or Firefox (when I want to use Flash and browse Desktop sites; Firefox works better but it's seems to consume more resource and poor performance), or Opera Mobile (when I want fast, lightweight, and simple web browsing). This is what iOS and WP7 can't offer, CHOICE.

I still keeping my N900 and use it for playing media and output to TV primarily; I'm even thinking about getting another N900 as a spare in case my N900 decide to stop working on day (touchwood).
If N9, I will want the N950 instead =P

Andy214
post May 14 2012, 09:30 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 12 2012, 02:32 PM)
There are some reasons why some companies want to cut down features and keep it simple instead of providing options.

1. Easier to program
2. Less costly to program
3. Less complicated so less bugs
4. Faster to market
5. Less support required

Of course all these reasons favour the company, not the user. If they can sell the public a dumbed down system why not? It saves them a lot of effort. Morever the majority prefer simple systems. However there is a danger that the public may reject an os which is too dumb. Maybe WP7 is already too dumbed down so its market share is very small. It's actually dumber than ios and even more locked down to developers.
IMHO, partially true; Yes, it makes CONTROL of users easier, LESS PROBLEM because you can be sure user will make less mistake and there will also be LESS BUG, LESS SECURITY ISSUE.
In short, you there is a concert, you only allow 1 ENTRANCE, you need less resources and manpower, it's easy to monitor the situation, you can much more control, easier to control. BUT the people who want to enter the concert will suffer but the organizer doesn't care as long as they can control the situation EASILY and with LITTLE EFFORT.
Is this RIGHT? They make so much money and do SO LITTLE WORK and GIVES the people all the HASSLES.
Does it mean they cannot open up more entrance? They can, they just need to do it properly and have better MANAGEMENT, MONITORING and proper resource and man-power assigned.

A big complicated software is surely harder to manage, but does it mean they cannot do it? It's not mission impossible and Microsoft is NOT some new fresh company in software, they're a big giant and they provide software design and development tools as well as COURSES. Their courses themselves, teaches flexibility and so on. What they did now is totally against their teachings. That's why I'm surprise and cannot accept what they did to their Windows Phone OS, it just so ALIEN comparing with it's past OS, it's nothing like Microsoft Windows except bearing the Microsoft Windows LOGO and "outlook". It's just what I feel.
Moreover, this is a Zune Media Player + Phone, it doesn't quality as a smartphone to me.

Added on May 14, 2012, 9:34 am
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 14 2012, 09:24 AM)
Copy paste i believe at the moment iOS is better my opinion. Its very easy to highlight, crop or even choose where u wannt edit.

If u said social integration for me WP7 is better than meego because meego just listed them all together while Wp7 u can choose to view ALL or a specify user or a group or only notification.
I would say not all. For sharing services, it's still MILES apart from MeeGo. MeeGo still have the best sharing services.
Plus, social networks accounts and conversations, MeeGo have more integrated services.

However, for the rest, Windows Phone really did very well and comprehensive. This is one (and probably the only) most impressive feature on Windows Phone OS.
BUT I guess MS somehow overlook this, others can also implement the SAME thing in future. So, it will no longer be unique in future. When other OS have this, they will be better because they doesn't have the limitations and restrictions (except iOS, budden iOS have jailbreak).

This post has been edited by Andy214: May 14 2012, 09:34 AM
Andy214
post May 15 2012, 09:09 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 14 2012, 11:40 AM)
What about using MeeGo with a bluetooth keyboard? I think it's already available.

Opera Mobile is available for N9 and it's quite good with text reflow. There's also UC browser. If you need flash or need to see the webpage same as Desktop browser there is Firefox. The stock browser is basic but quite usable.  So in MeeGo you have a choice of 4 browsers. Compare this with WP7. If you don't like IE you are out of luck.

Better buy another N9 as spare, not N900. The N900 screen is smaller and lower resolution so N9 is better for playing media. You can also stream output from N9 to TV you know?
It'll mean carrying additional hardware right? I prefer it's built-in or attached to the phone, so I can just slide it out. There's one for iPhone and it makes it looks like N900.

Yup, MeeGo has enough choice of browser including one which supports Flash. It's only lacking a physical qwerty keyboard.
WP7's IE is not bad, but still no flash. Useful for simple/normal web browsing and it's smooth and stable. But that's it, you have no choice if you need to run some website with flash.
With Maemo browser, I can open almost any website, with the mouse cursor feature, it's another plus and also the full Java support; the only drawback is the performance as the device lacks of memory mainly and processing power.

N9 have problem playing video. With N900, I have no problem playing any video file types as long as the resolution/bit rate isn't too high. With N9, even with KMplayer, seems it's still not as good as N900 plus N900 comes with built-in 32GB, and I can add another 32GB microSD, totaling up to 64GB of space.
My N9 16Gb is always full and I always need to clear it whenever I want to transfer new files, sometimes I can't even record video and have to delete some files.

N9 is good, but for me, personally, I still prefer the N900; I don't really need/fancy multi-touch and stuffs, I prefer the web browsing experience with Maemo, the use of stylus for precision touch, as well as for drawing/sketching.

Here's a demo of Flash on N900 I've done long ago (the last part I show how to activate the mouse in web browser and how it can be used):

This post has been edited by Andy214: May 15 2012, 09:09 AM
Andy214
post May 15 2012, 12:34 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 15 2012, 12:03 PM)
Andy, there's one guy who took an iphone bluetooth keyboard, change the casing to an N9 casing and he ended with a slide out qwerty for N9.

http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=84025

The limitation in playing certain types of video files is a problem but hopefully it can be solved with software solution in future. I think the N9 hardware is not inferior to N8 hardware so it may be possible.
COOL! Thanks for the info, will look into it~

Yup, hope they can come up with solution for the videos, kinda annoying with the default player, and kmplayer isn't very easy to use as Maemo version.
Andy214
post May 15 2012, 03:22 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ May 15 2012, 03:05 PM)
1 crazy "feature" i discover for the N950 itself is, the screen can "recover" from dead pixel. it happens weeks ago when i drop N950 accidently and have few lines of dead pixel on screen, few days later on it slowly "recover" and now the screen have no dead pixel at all!! Too bad i never realize to take before and after photo of it. That's my personal experience for this device, i still not understand its that a coincident or what.

Oh and plz dun ask me to drop that phone again, i not gona try that.
Hm, I think that's not the actual dead pixel as in hardware. I remember PSP have this problem, they call it "stuck-pixel" and can be fixed with some app which frequently changing the color tiles or something to "un-stuck" the dead pixels. Can't really remember already, so long ago.

Andy214
post May 15 2012, 04:44 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(tonberry_ax @ May 15 2012, 03:26 PM)
Really? its that because of the screen is LCD like PSP screen and not AMOLED like N9 screen, "stuck-pixel" can be fix and dead pixel could not be fix?

interesting....  hmm.gif
No idea about LCD technology thing. I just share what I able to recall or since there was similar cases for PSP, but not sure if the same apply for AMOLED. But I suppose the problem is due to software than hardware hence it can be fixed? If hardware, I suppose if the hardware fails, it will not be able to display it? Unless it's not actually damage? As in temporary failure.
Andy214
post May 17 2012, 11:48 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 16 2012, 08:11 PM)
After they replace the motherboard this issue never come back. Before this sometimes can detect sometimes cannot I am sure it's not cut simcard issue because this same self cut micro sim been used on iPhone, iPad, n9 and lumia.
No matter what, cut micro-SIM has risk. Just like you cut and join wires VS replace new wires.
When cut, the sim car will not be as smooth as proper micro-SIM. Plus, cut micro-SIM has tendency to cause the Sim Card to bent a little, and may cause the SIM Card totally unusable anymore. I even attached it back to the case and try to use as normal SIM in other phone, the SIM Card is damage.

As I said before, there're case where the cut micro-SIM scratches the phone sim reader part, although very rare, it's still a risk and it can cause the reader part to damage, and this will require change of the ENTIRE MOTHERBOARD.

No matter what, there's still risk. So, recommend properly. If not informed, people will not know. Maybe they willing to change micro-SIM? But if one never said anything then it's not right. I myself prefer people to tell me the risk involve and let me decide, not ask me to cut and don't bother. Even my friend, when I suggest him to replace, he said waste money, etc. Then I explain to him the risk, about the cost to replace a proper micro-SIM and the availability of an adapter; He consider for a moment, and decide to replace, he even bought the micro-SIM adapter from the supplier at cost price. Just let people know and let them decide themselves.

Added on May 17, 2012, 11:49 am
QUOTE(pikacu @ May 17 2012, 10:47 AM)
I believe Lumia meant for capturing U.S market only biggrin.gif
Not all also.

This post has been edited by Andy214: May 17 2012, 01:51 PM
Andy214
post May 18 2012, 03:11 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 18 2012, 02:30 PM)
true you have some point there.  But we follow technology evolving. Lately i notice more ppl message me on viber and whatsapp compare to facebook and msn. Alot my friends that use msn now dont use anymore.
The main issue is when the person wants to change number, or have 2 number. Seems you can really manage your contacts in WhatsApp? Or can you?
But then people will still have the number and thought it's you. There is a big flaw here, they need someone that can switch the number to new number, and all your contacts which have yours contact will auto-update to the new one.

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 18 2012, 03:05 PM)
sometimes i dont understand what elop trying to do?
I think no one really do. But one thing that is very clear from day 1 itself, it's as what the rumor says... attack from the inside, bring it down, when everything is down and cheap then...

Andy214
post May 18 2012, 03:59 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ May 18 2012, 03:20 PM)
elop trying to capture U.S heart again.
my assumption is that, after capturing U.S heart had been successfully delivered, Elop will start parallel strategy...WP7.5 for U.S or related, Meltemi/Symbian/MeeGo for other country that just love this OS.

just my guess lar. his moves (that transparent to media) right now ridiculous, but yet silently keeping Nokia's OS alive like this : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2351623
Still doesn't make sense. Why do you want to announce the death of your OS before the device even release (e.g. N9)
Why do you announce when your primary OS (Symbian) will be executed when your new replacement OS is still 1 year away to be seen. Doing this, your kill your own platform, your customers, bring the market share down, people start leaving and people who knew will not want to buy Symbian phone. Loosing huge Customers and Profit.

There's no plans to go multi-platform, they're going WP and dropping Symbian. If there's ANY Symbian revival, that would mean the shareholders want it back or Elop/Nokia has no choice to bring back Symbian as their Windows Phone isn't doing well as what Elop speculated. Lastly, WP is not only provided by Nokia, Samseng, HTC and some other brand also can adopt it and have their own device. With Samseng brand name gaining it's popularity, their device specs, etc. People might favor Samseng more, plus, it's more Samseng tongue.gif

Honestly, I don't see how it's gonna work. Even if WP actually become good and famous, but Nokia only offers WP, while other brands have multi-platform. Just like what I mention, a shop which serves only porridge, while another shop which serve the SAME porridge but also serve other food. The first shop can only capture customers who eat porridge, but even so, they need to compete with other shops.
Nokia has no Android devices and there're s many Android users now and growing everyday, when they invest more in Android apps/games, they will be reluctant to leave the platform, plus the OS has stable updates and growth and backed by Google. By this, Nokia already lost a big market share there as they don't even have any Android device to compete and grab the market. Samseng and HTC basically are leading, and they will compete against Nokia for Windows Phone devices.

Nokia still have Symbian customers, these people have choice to go, Android, iOS or WP (or other OS). Will ALL of them choose WP? Definitely NOT.
Will majority of them choose WP? I don't think so.
What happen? Nokia will loose a lot of their Customers, can they afford it? Maybe many of their customers still want to stick to Nokia, but if Nokia only have WP devices, so Nokia is again loosing their potential customers.

Just imagine this.
Nokia PureView devices available for Symbian, MeeGo, Android and WP devices. Nokia could've easily capture a lot of Customers.
Even without PureView technology, if they have Android device, imagine now they wouldn't be suffering loss. Samseng wouldn't grow so fast and got so much FREE and EASY opportunity given by Nokia.
Nokia have good camera phones, if these phone were available for Android, they could easily capture many customers.

Andy214
post May 18 2012, 11:47 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 18 2012, 07:26 PM)
I am also disappointed so much potential they should just go with two OS side by side meego and WP7 that will help to boost sales like what other manufacturer are doing WP7 and Android.

The question now WP7 is not solely for nokia but shared between so many manufacturer. The biggest question is how will this make nokia become No. 1 again.

It not important how many they can sell what matters is the more they sell the higher the nokia shares will go. if its not wonder why
Imagine if Nokia have multiplatform and have flagship device for each platform.
Today, SIII and One X will not have tough competition especially when Nokia have more to offer especially in the imaging area. Many of the SIII 9 million pre-orders could be belong to Nokia (if they have an Android flagship and with good imaging capabilities).

Means, each platform (e.g. Symbian, MeeGo, Android, Windows Phone), they will have competitive device and grab the market/customers. When they have more money, they can do much more for Windows Phone.
If they adopt Android they don't have to worry about how to bring apps to the platform, they're just "tapping" the market and gaining profit, popularity, customers from there.

Imagine IF they could manage to somehow do something with the app market to link with Nokia account; then they can make the purchases transferable to another platform as long as the they're STILL using a Nokia device. This way, they can have more assurance of maintaining their customers/users.

Andy214
post May 29 2012, 11:47 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ May 29 2012, 12:36 AM)
Been playing around with longest uptime my phones can hold on...

My Nokia N9 already running 1 month without any issue..no lags whatsoever.

However, my Xperia pro, having uber lagginess upon 7th day onwards  during my test.....and having prematurely ejac- reboot on 26th day...

notworthy.gif

My Xperia Pro is sluggish, laggy all the time. Well, I installed many things and runs many services. The ram is really lacking and Android didn't manage the memory well. It's worst than my N900, the only good thing it has it's the convenient apps and PapaGo. The reason for the Pro is mainly due to the keyboard.

Andy214
post May 29 2012, 03:32 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 29 2012, 01:41 PM)
HTC One X is consider quite smooth.
Actually got 768MB RAM can get smoother experience already, but the Xperia Play, Xperia Pro, etc only 512MB RAM, and internal memory for apps also so little, no more space for new app, and not all app can install on SD Card, plus FB app cache and some apps cache will slowly take up internal space and you need to clear them on and off.
FB integration also not properly done, after clear, FB app will be like newly installed again and will ask for sync contact again, then you will again get duplicate (which you have merged previously).
Very messy and poorly done integration unlike Maemo/MeeGo and WP7.

With too little ram, you can't multi-task, the smart Android keep kill off the application you put away and it's slow to switch between apps. How I miss Maemo multi-tasking. Even SIFU SuperEvilAlien, using SGS2 also said he missed Maemo's multi-tasking. The experience is just,... different. Google should improve on this.
Andy214
post May 30 2012, 09:44 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ May 29 2012, 06:23 PM)
Android ICS has improved on multitasking but it is still nowhere as good as MeeGo. Whether the app sent to the background runs, suspends or close is up to the OS and available system resources so the user has no control. Sometimes you don't know if the webpage will continue to load in the background or not. The ICS taskmanager now has a way to kill individual apps but for MeeGo we can close apps at the app level instead of going to taskmanager.

Android also needs to be rebooted regularly or it will lag but as pikacu has demonstrated our N9 can be run for a month with no ill effect.

Such a good OS but so tragic that it will be killed soon.
Yup, and switching between apps in Android isn't smooth as well, it's slow and takes time. Not sure on ICS with higher end device yet, didn't get to try my colleagues Nexus before he left. But so far, with Galaxy Note, switching apps still takes time,... well, just like Symbian. Maybe we're too used to Maemo/MeeGo which, I feel is more smooth and convenient.

So, we can only keep our N9... and hope the community will continue support it until as long as possible. Well, they're still supporting those old Nokia Tablets sometimes even till today.

Since Android is supported by Google and are very popular now and will be here to stay, and is the only OS which is open and have the potential compared to the other 2. Hoping Android will improve on it's multi-tasking and reliability.
Andy214
post Jun 11 2012, 02:04 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jun 11 2012, 11:52 AM)
Nokia Pureview 808 has arrived in Bolehland for RM1899. A very stiff price for a Symbian phone. Unless photography is your main priority better get a 64GB N9 for RM1600 instead.
Lumia 900 (flagship) is selling for RM1799, surprising cheaper than PureView. PureView pricing *could be* to protect Lumia 900 sales.

808 was silently release and sold, it was sold a day BEFORE it suppose to be selling; Someone bought it and posted in 808 forum shocking everyone and people thought it's trolling, but it's true. It's sold out in many stores on/before the official day it's suppose to be selling.

Confirmed with Nokia Rep from SG, it will be limited units and they're not pushing on the 808 as they're concentrating on the Lumia. Not sure if there is demand, will they bring in more units and colors, currently, only black and white available. Else, can wait for AP, which should be cheaper and more choices of color? Probably can get the package with Gorilla Pod?

Sadly, N9 and 808 will be the last and most anticipated device from Nokia, one for MeeGo one for Symbian. How I wish 808 is running MeeGo =P then I can replace the N9 without any dilemma =P

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0611sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:28 PM