Travel South Korea V3

EightPhantomz
post Feb 21 2012, 08:33 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(kamemada @ Feb 20 2012, 01:53 AM)
I think mid-June is already Summer. Maybe chiller than in July-August. Try ask your Korean friend again to confirm.
If its Summer, I think you can wear like in Malaysia already. But normally Summer will have alot of rain. Do pack your rainy days clothes aswell, just in case. Umbrellas, raincoats, leather waterproofed shoes, extra pair of socks etc.

The Koreans call it "Chang-ma 장마", rainy season. Watch the video below to see how it looks.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IlPdVD0dlRo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PHOi8aRa5Bo
Ya my wife told me its gonna be rainy season during our trip in July. Hafto do Plan B since our Plan A is mostly outdoors activities.
But I wouldnt complain much. If not satisfied, will set another trip at the end of the year. Hopefully got good offers.

QUOTE(Listiani @ Feb 20 2012, 07:36 AM)
Korean got Muslims also. Not neccesarily Pakistan/Indian Muslims but Korean Muslims. So don't worry about halal food.
True. I'm not really worry about the food aswell. But then, I do want to test the original Korean food. Sadly, most are porks. LOL. Sigh.

QUOTE(kamemada @ Feb 21 2012, 02:37 AM)
Might be too early to ask this; anybody living/studying/working in S.Korea? Wanna meet up? I'll be in Seoul; July onwards.
I think Ashcrimson is staying in Korea. Do correct me Ash!

EightPhantomz
post Feb 27 2012, 11:18 AM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(mkaz @ Feb 27 2012, 09:54 AM)
its Pirate Caribbean Bay to be exact .. tongue.gif

btw..
subway fares rise up by 150won
http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/FU/FU_...jsp?cid=1558639
Omo!!!
EightPhantomz
post Feb 27 2012, 07:00 PM

1,766 posts

The food was nice during my flight from KL to Miri. International flights should be better.
EightPhantomz
post Jun 12 2012, 05:12 AM

1,766 posts

Does 60,000won too much for 1-day meals for 1 person? Includes breakfast,lunch,dinner and snacks.
EightPhantomz
post Jun 18 2012, 11:14 AM

1,766 posts

2 more weeks to go. Just reconfirmed my Namsan 3 bookings.
EightPhantomz
post Jun 20 2012, 11:31 AM

1,766 posts

Will be in Seoul in almost 2 weeks time. Doing some research on prescription eyeglasses.

Mostly mentioned is ALO and Davich Optical.

Any comments from speckies in this thread?

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Jun 20 2012, 04:22 PM
EightPhantomz
post Jun 22 2012, 02:25 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(leonghan @ Jun 22 2012, 11:59 AM)
is that true than Namsan 3 only accept booking in 3months before arriving date?
As i knw, Namsan 1 and 2 in November been fully booked..
Not sure about that as I did my first booking early this year which is about 6-7 month before arrival date. And then they asked to reconfirm a month before arrival date. Then 14 days before arrival date. 3 times reconfirmation for me.

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Jun 22 2012, 02:27 PM
EightPhantomz
post Jul 8 2012, 03:07 PM

1,766 posts

Just came back from Seoul. I saw many ppl going to the Yeosu World Expo 2012. Too bad cant go there as my itinerary is already full. Maybe next year then.
EightPhantomz
post Jul 17 2012, 02:23 AM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(cute_miao @ Jul 17 2012, 12:21 AM)
is the living expenses high in htere? i meant by things in there.

can u sow me some guide, based on ur experience, where is hte best place to visit in korea n hotel/motel in htere?

thanks a lot ar..i will reach INT airport..then frm there, i duno how already...need ur advise.
Its better for you to decide where to stay first. Then you can plan your way from airport to the hotel/guesthouse.

I would recommend the Namsan Guesthouses (got 1,2 & 3) which is so near to Myeongdong and the famous Namsan Tower.

Added on July 17, 2012, 2:27 am
QUOTE(Jazzing @ Jul 17 2012, 01:03 AM)
hello all, i've got question. hope some1 can help me out =)
izzit better to change the currency in msia or at korea? yest i check was was 1000won = 2.8rm. anybody roughly noes the exhange rate there?
and izzit true that they don accept ringgit?
What we did was, divide the whole budget to WON and USD.
Calculate what you need in WON, specially the guesthouse fares, transportation fares (T-Money etc), snacks/food etc.
Budgeting is crucial here.
Then the rest you convert to USD as your emergency. And yes, no RM in Korea. Use USD.

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Jul 17 2012, 02:27 AM
EightPhantomz
post Jul 17 2012, 05:20 PM

1,766 posts

I would recommend USD as all money changers accept USD happily.

The Woori Bank rates wasnt that good during my visit. Even for USD. Let alone RM.

At times, I saw better rates at the ahjumma/ahjussi stalls. Hehe.

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Jul 17 2012, 05:21 PM
EightPhantomz
post Jul 17 2012, 09:43 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Jul 17 2012, 06:45 PM)
So based on my understanding, it is recommended to change whatever currency you have to USD then change it to KRW when needed in Korea.
Am I right?
Not really. If you're sure about your budget, just change everything to KRW in Msia.

0.0208sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:05 PM