1,991 posts

QUOTE(warez @ Sep 18 2006, 01:50 AM)
@.:zep:.
@timekeeper

Both of you looks fine,no need worry.
I agree!!!

The higher the Margin the better.

The lower the Attenuation the better.

It is just probably the connection to international links.
Xybirium
post Sep 18 2006, 09:32 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Jerrylim @ Sep 18 2006, 08:47 PM)
but i suppose receive 512 speed.. how come onli 384?
n it doesnt show fast but interleave....hmmm
I was wondering about the upload speed too. Maybe you should check with them.
Xybirium
post Oct 13 2006, 09:35 PM

1,991 posts

Modem Status

Connection Status Connected
Us Rate (Kbps) 512
Ds Rate (Kbps) 1024
US Margin 18
DS Margin 23
Trained Modulation GDMT
LOS Errors 0
DS Line Attenuation 40
US Line Attenuation 19
Peak Cell Rate 1207 cells per sec
CRC Rx Fast 0
CRC Tx Fast 1
CRC Rx Interleaved 0
CRC Tx Interleaved 0
Path Mode Fast Path

This is from my Aztech 600EW. After the upgrade my SNR margin starts at around 30 and goes down to 20 or less.
Xybirium
post Nov 10 2006, 08:41 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(BlaBlaBoy @ Nov 10 2006, 05:54 AM)
I'm using Huawei modem.Can anybody teach me how to check SNR..I have try 192.168.1.1 and 10.0.0.2..also cannot..plz help
Please type in the exact brand and model into Uncle Google first, after that you can post it in this thread. biggrin.gif

PS - By the way, did you go through the manual first? I don't have the modem though.
Xybirium
post Nov 23 2006, 06:51 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(jassonvolt88 @ Nov 23 2006, 04:43 AM)
Downstream-            Upstream            Unit
SNR Margin          31                              29                  db
Line Attenuation  30                              20                  db
Data Rate            1536                          512                kbps
How about my streamyx connection ? izzit ok? icon_question.gif
Looks good!!! Your SNR Margin is high and your Line Attenuation is low.
Xybirium
post Nov 27 2006, 06:26 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(liquidoice @ Nov 27 2006, 11:35 AM)
is this ok? is Noise margin = SNR?
streamyx said my area very bad connection , so my 1Mb connection is reduced to 512 to improve stability. based on this modem reading, are they lying?
Your noise margin seems to be low (not good).
Your attenuation seems to be very high (not good).

Xybirium
post Dec 2 2006, 08:45 PM

1,991 posts

Your SNR Margin and Line Attenuation so nice lah!!!
Xybirium
post Dec 12 2006, 12:15 AM

1,991 posts

SNR Margin seems a bit too low but acceptable.
Line Attenuation is too high.

1) Have you tried your modem at his place? If yes, and the result is the same then
2) Check all splitters and/or filters or try direct connection from the phone socket to the modem.

If still no improvement, then it is time to call "them". I don't think you can do much if you have already done the above and the result is still the same.

Anyone else can advice?

This post has been edited by Xybirium: Dec 12 2006, 12:15 AM
Xybirium
post Dec 18 2006, 09:40 PM

1,991 posts

IMO, if it is okay, then just leave it as it is. Calling them may create more problems later.

Just my 2sen.
Xybirium
post Dec 30 2006, 09:41 PM

1,991 posts

Are you having connection problems? If not, then your US/DS Margin look fine. Not sure about Line Attenuation but a lower line attenuation is better.
Xybirium
post Jan 8 2007, 07:49 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(TakeshirO @ Jan 8 2007, 04:33 PM)
Just wondering my Ann at 57 is high onot leh.. .should i call them?

comment please. hands.gif
Too high and your SNR is low.
Xybirium
post Feb 7 2007, 07:16 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Feb 6 2007, 05:40 AM)
TM becoz this problem about the cable ,
but don't so sure,
I thought TMNet is already under TM!
Xybirium
post Apr 25 2007, 09:38 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Apr 25 2007, 04:08 PM)
always remember our uncle google..don't wait for spoon feeding...

GLITE
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

There is also Uncle Yahoo, Auntie Wikipedia and so on and so on.... Just don't be lazy because most of us here learn using Uncle and Auntie also.

This post has been edited by Xybirium: Apr 25 2007, 09:40 PM
Xybirium
post Jun 1 2007, 12:58 AM

1,991 posts

That is Streamyx connection bad. Try to switch to G.Lite modulation and see if it improves your connection.
Xybirium
post Jun 2 2007, 01:45 AM

1,991 posts

If I'm not mistaken, if from the pole to the little box inside your house, then no need to pay because it is TM's responsibility.

If however, from the little box to the phone with extra wiring, then you have to pay.

Correct me if I'm wrong.
Xybirium
post Jun 7 2007, 10:59 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Jun 7 2007, 08:43 PM)
erm.. my modem brand is Aztech, model is ADSL USB DSL 206U (is a USB modem.. kinda cheap.. jz RM88..)
if i m wrong, den can teach me how 2 check that thing? i dunno how 2 check..
1) Download ftp://ftp.aztech.com/download/Adsl/DSL206U(2T)/Manuals.zip
2) Unzip the file.
3) Open "Frequently Asked Questions & Troubleshooting Guide.htm" in your web browser.

Read through the document.

The statistics are all there...
Xybirium
post Jun 18 2007, 06:18 PM

1,991 posts

I just changed my telephone wiring from the cheap flat type to the twisted pair type and it increased my DS/US SNR Margin by about 4-5db!
Xybirium
post Jun 20 2007, 08:37 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(ahpek26 @ Jun 18 2007, 09:22 PM)
Who did it for you, how much you pay for it and how to apply?
Hahaha... I did it myself lor!!!

Just buy the twisted pair wire to as long as you need (don't know how much it cost because friend gave me). Buy the RJ11 connectors 2 pcs or more just in case rosak (it cost me 80sen each). I didn't have crimper so I just used plier and after that connect it.

Very simple!!!
Xybirium
post Jul 10 2007, 08:50 PM

1,991 posts

If the sound is like talking to people very very far away, then that is one sympton of a bad line. Is it like that whenever you call people or people call you?

Tell TM technician that when you call people, they sound very very very far away and cannot hear properly. If you tell them that your line attenuation is very high and your noise margin very low, they might not understand.

0.0388sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:03 AM