Streamyx Streamyx SNR Margin, --Read here if you face disconnections--

Friz
post Apr 9 2007, 01:26 PM

Thumbs up!
852 posts

I have problem with my downstream SNR margin, it keeps dropping, but no disconnection, but I can't use my line at all when it drops until 0. So I have to reset my modem, and when it sync I get initial downstream SNR for 12 and my download is blazing fast at full speed. But the SNR will keep dropping until 0. My upstream SNR margin doesnt affected though. So my assumption is, this is nothing to do with my phone line.

So the question is, how am I gonna get a port change? Few of users did ask TM before but they refuse as the technician sent to investigate the problem cant find any problem. Well of course! They wouldnt mind the SNR margin as long as your modem is not blinking and your speedtest seems ok.

Note: When my downstream SNR margin drops to zero, its still synchronized without disconnection, but I can't surf/download/etc anymore until I reset my modem. This happens from morning until late night then only I can get stable SNR margin.

This post has been edited by Friz: Apr 9 2007, 01:31 PM
Friz
post Apr 9 2007, 05:25 PM

Thumbs up!
852 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Apr 9 2007, 02:42 PM)
for this problem,try to use another different modem at your line of streamyx,
becoz sometimes there is also caused by modem problem

if u tried with another modem,but still get the same things,
that probably TM side problem..
What? My ZTE just fried and I just got Aztech DSL600ER. Last time ZTE got this kind of problem also, my Downstream SNR (Local SNR) margin keeps dropping.

BUT...

After midnight especially 2am-7am the margin is damn stable. So how come? And my Upstream SNR margin is not affected somehow (20+).

This post has been edited by Friz: Apr 9 2007, 05:27 PM
Friz
post Apr 12 2007, 06:14 PM

Thumbs up!
852 posts

QUOTE(Guardian @ Apr 10 2007, 11:48 PM)
Same problem here,using aztech 600eu,just started to have it yesterday night,still the same now.Anyway,I just keep refreshing the page that I am surfing and will be fine after few times.It will again keep dropping after a while and SNR back to 0...
Where are you staying btw?

QUOTE(scorps @ Apr 11 2007, 01:07 AM)

@Friz
i think you should make report about your problem,something wrong somewhere about wiring or cabling of TM
when the technie TM come you can show your modem status and ask more details..

this about the condition of cable i think ,
maybe when hot days it will make trouble,
I DID make the report, they insist on cable problem which will cost me 100 bucks or more... But I think this is not about the cable, because its still new, about a year.

BUT if it is, then its not my internal wiring or cable from the pole, it must be my area copper line is old...

Moreover, I did mention that ONLY "Downstream SNR affected". If it is the cable's fault my Upstream SNR also must be dropping?

IMHO.

Friz
post Apr 16 2007, 12:02 AM

Thumbs up!
852 posts

Connection Status  Connected
Us Rate (Kbps)  512
Ds Rate (Kbps)  1408
US Margin  20
DS Margin  2147483646
Trained Modulation  GLITE 
LOS Errors  0
DS Line Attenuation  56
US Line Attenuation  31
Peak Cell Rate  1207 cells per sec
CRC Rx Fast  0
CRC Tx Fast  0
CRC Rx Interleaved  2
CRC Tx Interleaved  0
Path Mode  Interleaved

DSL Statistics
Near End F4 Loop Back Count  0
Near End F5 Loop Back Count  0
This is mine. DS Margin 2147483646 because it drops until 0 and now the value shows an error like that.

WTF?

Friz
post Apr 16 2007, 02:28 PM

Thumbs up!
852 posts

Of course not my fault. 2 possibilities, either the area copper line old or equipment (DSLam/Exchange) problem.
Friz
post Apr 16 2007, 04:46 PM

Thumbs up!
852 posts

Due to low US SNR Margin. Everytime you restart/resync modem you get US SNR Margin that low?

[offtopic]
I saw TM's kancil passing by in front of my house while typing this reply. Almost wanted to shout at them tongue.gif
[/offtopic]

This post has been edited by Friz: Apr 16 2007, 04:47 PM

0.0185sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:06 PM