Travel All About Hong Kong V3, A place to share things about Hong Kong

MR_alien
post Jun 11 2012, 02:17 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 11 2012, 10:29 AM)
so u did walk in to buy? i dont want to buy online 1st, scared i might purchase wrong.

Added on June 11, 2012, 10:30 am

i no longer planning to stay in Casa d. The rate too expensive for small room. if i need to pay HKD360 per nite, i rather choose a bigger one.
yes...i did walk in to buy
i saw alot of ppl also did that
hk hotel is like SG hotel...real estate expensive thus hotel also small and expensive
else u can try other's recommendation golden wave if not wrong but its not in agoda or other hotel website
MR_alien
post Jun 11 2012, 09:30 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 11 2012, 02:34 PM)
Might go with a 4star one hahaah rm400 per nite lol.

Hey, your back? come.. trip report! biggrin.gif
abt the heat...i mentioned previously already
now for food.....my recommendation is follow what is recommended here...dn't go to ALTERNATIVES
yung kee - 1 word EXPENSIVE...4 ppl eat minimum HKD1000....me and my family 4 ppl ordered half goose, char siew and a pineapple fried rice(not we choose, recommended by the waiter there)
the roasted goose is good...which is why this is their most famous dish...but not my favorite food so its consider quite good(HKD260 if not wrong)
char siew - this is HEAVEN to your mouth....this is basically the BEST char siew i've ever eaten, nothing comes close to it...MUST try (HKD140)
pineapple fried rice - nothing special and overpriced....can skip this
meanwhile my aunt 3 ppl there ate HKD2000++....they ordered half goose, char siew and their steamed chicken thn after that order another half goose...i was like WTF
and we take away 4 set of their century eggs...relatives all request us to bring back

now is milk company(there are 2...australian and yee shun)...like i said be4, dn't go alternatives
australia milk company.....portion big, same price as yee shun and their milk is real and rich(no add anything)
mean while in yee shun, price is same while portion is shit small.....most importantly their milk is tasteless...its milk added with water...no taste at all
i know australia's milk didn't add anything becuz the taste is rich enough and it tasted the same as the milk i have here in sabah(desa milk)

good hope noodle
i ordered wantan mee...very nice...can't compare cuz i didn't go elsewhere to taste others
my brother ordered century egg porridge with mince meat.....the bowl is literally filled with century eggs...worthed..and price is reasonable
eat the same thing else where will cost 2X
there is another thing that caught my attention but i didn't get the chance to taste it..its call pork leg kon lau mee...i saw the other table ordered it and dam it looks nice

dim sum
MUST GO TO TIM HO WAN...DO NOT go anywhere else
u go other place for dim sum, portion is small, price is 2X and u can't get as much food with the same price(but of course with the courtesy of no need queue)
in tim ho wan...i need to wait 1.5 hours...actually no need so long cuz the number will jump cuz they went away after taking number and heard that it will take 1.5-2 hours
and certain customer also shocked when they heard the guy said come back in 2 hours..hahaha
but dam the food is sooooo good and big portion
especially their meatball....1 long have 3 meatball and its freakin big

street food
fei je giant octopus(HKD10)....must try...even my mom and bro say its good
sakurashima bakery(HKD 2.5 each) and tai cheong bakery's egg tart(HKD5 each) - it taste abt the same but the cheaper one of course is smaller but still must try
gong cha...must try for me cuz my place dn't have it...not bad
MR_alien
post Jun 12 2012, 05:39 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jun 12 2012, 05:12 PM)
No wor, anywhere should be fine since I can travel smile.gif

I know most people will camp around Yau Ma Tei or Mongkok places.

I can still travel to there with MTR lor.

Any preferably hotels with good city/bay/anything view from the hotels? I need that lol. Morning boost of excitement is important for the rest of the day lol.
camp in mong kok/yau ma tei is becuz most of the food and shopping is there
and you will be spending alot of time there
yes, u can travel there but u dn't want to waste time and money travel back 2 back there
theres gonna be ALOT of walking there
i walked from casa to fa yuen street thn sai yueng choi street thn until the end turn left thn go to new town mall thn walk back casa
thn another day walk to langham
and that going up only...haven't count walking down to temple street
ALOT of walking...stay in that area is more convenient....from there wanna go jordan or TST also easy
MR_alien
post Jun 12 2012, 05:42 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 12 2012, 05:35 PM)
The reason why ppl camp kowloon rather than hong kong island is due to the MTR locations within the hotel.

I noticed that especially wanchai and causeway bay budget hotel is all located far from MTR stations.

Unless u take those expensive ones which does provide shuttle to nearest MTR

that is what i observed.
and theres not much there in hong kong island actually...at least from my POV
shopping is very expensive and most can get in TST/mong kok/YMT
food there in my record also tai cheong bakery and yung kee only...others are more to viewing/scenery
MR_alien
post Jun 12 2012, 05:44 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 12 2012, 05:41 PM)
bro, what time u went for fa jie snack? i was wondering if they start operate after lunch time or not..
erm...i go i think around late evening
i went pass around 12noon though on my way back to tim ho wan.... surprisingly not open while other small eatery shop opened already
MR_alien
post Jun 12 2012, 05:57 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jun 12 2012, 05:52 PM)
no, my wife not love shopping.

consider this first time i go with my wife la.

I've actually been there for few times already but that was like 3 - 4 years ago
its actually not abt want to shop or not
its the cloth there worth to buy or not
cloth there is way more updated yet way cheaper than the price sold here
what i mean are the cloth sold in new town mall(female) and fa yuen street(male)

Added on June 12, 2012, 5:58 pm
QUOTE(mugenz @ Jun 12 2012, 05:47 PM)
coz i will be going ding ding agency to buy my tickets somewhere after lunch or b4 lunch, i tot since going mongkok might drop by fei jie to get a bite. Too bad, might have to skip this.

turn left walk abt of langham only u go la
thn sapu all gong cha, fei ge octopus and sakurashima's egg tart all at once

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jun 12 2012, 05:58 PM
MR_alien
post Jun 12 2012, 06:22 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jun 12 2012, 06:06 PM)
branded stuffs definitely way cheaper thn here.. as for clothes (nt those street market n better quality one) is nt really cheap.. some after conversion is more exp.. imho la
i didn't just buy from fa yuen street
i also bought from cotton on...i saw its going promo...went in and grabbed too

MR_alien
post Jun 12 2012, 06:47 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

i did went into TST's HnM...big...3 floor right?
we didn't buy anything though....maybe its too big or didn't see any cheap cloth or i dn't like the style

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jun 12 2012, 07:04 PM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0449sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:25 AM