Malaysia freshie salary in 1983 vs 2010, purchasing power really dropped!
SUStet
Feb 15 2012, 09:49 AM

hi...i'm new here..but like to add a lil bit...
i started work in 2002 after graduated with 3rd class mechanical eng degree......with salary of 1.5k.....after 10 years with the same company, now i'm getting quite good pay and good position. my opinion below based on my experience and thinking...you can agree or you can disagree with it....
from my work experience, i can say that younger generation ie fresh grads are not patience....most expected to get high pay, ie 3k, 4k per month....even though don't have any experience yet.
my opinion, the 1st 3 years should be your learning years....try to get as much knowledge and experience as you can, then after that, the money will come. some, keep jumping here and there and end up, they don't get the seniority and knowledge but just get the money. Until 1 stage, they stop, at senior exec or just exec......cannot move on to higher position as not enough experience and knowledge....
another thing is financial planning.....for me, it's not how much u earn, but more on how much you spend. ur salary 2k nett. do you need iphone? bb? or just a phone which can call, receive call, sms? it's about what do you need, not what u want. do you need samsung tab? bb palybook? hard truth YOU CANNOT AFFORD THOSE THING IF YOUR SALARY JUST 2k.....but, many youngsters opt to own 1 and even get data plan which cost more money.....
car the same....work 3 months, straight away buy vios, persona, city, etc...why don't buy 2nd hand car or consider other cheaper cars, perodua? proton saga?
F&B.......always go to kopitiam which serve rm6 coffee, rm10 nasi lemak, etc...etc....do you need to go there? cannot choose cheaper option? normal restaurant with rm2 teh tarik or rm5 nasi ayam?
hang out sometimes is ok....but if more than 3 days per week hang out at those expensive place....financial trouble just around the corner.......
for freshies, 1st 3 years is for you to learn how to control and plan ur personal finance.....learn your trade.....so that, when the time come, you'd be prepare.....
my suggestion: try read azizi ali book :millionaires are from different planet, retired rich, etc....
SUStet
Feb 15 2012, 10:32 AM

hahahaha....i think it depends on how you look at it....from company point of view ie employer or from employee point of view...
employer: why should i pay high for know nothing, no experience guy? show me what you're capable of and we can talk.....
employee: aiya...salary so low how to makan...give me more la...i got all the papers you need...know nothing yet, but i can learn...i got degreeee mar...
employer: ya...i know....but in terms of economics, if i pay high for new guy which no track record of competency, what do i get? how do i rationalize or calculate my return of investment ie hiring you with high salary?
employee: haiya.....not enuf la...2k....i need iphone, playbook...cars...petrol...tolls....how to pay my data plan, hang out at kopitiam etc....
employer: here boy, you learn your trade within 3 years, you got experience,knowledge, then we talk....prove your value first....
employee: inflation so high.....now cannot buy rm1 teh tarik anymore......
employer: erm...maybe you can try other place....there's so many unemployed grads out there...maybe someone can accept our company salary scale...ok, see ya..
employee: haiya....can got get work ah? ok la...surely somebody can hire me with higher salary...
3 months later:
employee: hello, amma.....
mama: ya son...how are you?
employee: not good...i'm broke...no job.....
mama: aiya..come back la....be a rubber tapper also ok.....rm4/kg now...
employee: ya...i'm thinking that also...how about jagung? can plant jagung or not?
mama: can la....there's some land behind our house....you can plant jagung there...
i'm maybe sarcastic, but that's the hard truth...
few times.....interview fresh grads.....ask for 2.5k....do you know what is ISO? answer: no. can you speak, write in english. answer: sikit sikit. what do you mean by sikit sikit? answer: i know lil bit.....speaking problem because not always speak...write can..read can.....xde tempat bos nak cakap omputih nih......what do you think you can bring to this company? answer: i can..err..learn..will follow orders..err...new ideas...err..that's it. hahaaha....how to hire?
SUStet
Feb 15 2012, 10:39 AM

QUOTE(LiLFreaK @ Feb 15 2012, 10:16 AM) +111 damn true but many fresh graduates they have not come back to reality most of them are delusional and they have high standard of expectations in life  yup. that's the right word: delusional.... they thought that employer should give them high pay..few k's.....it's like the whole world owe them and have to give salary/money to cater for their lifestyle......it's lifestyle that make the pay not enuf.....a slave to lifestyle.......