> Malaysia freshie salary in 1983 vs 2010, purchasing power really dropped!

SUSYameteOniichan
post Feb 14 2012, 06:52 PM

100 posts

Actually, the average basket of price of goods only abit over doubled now compared to 1983. BB data (55 vs 118)

Likewise, graduates could already get RM2500++ even after tax and EPF.

I think the triple in price in certain goods has been balanced by stagnant price of necessities such as water/electricity/transport, on top of the additional of new indicators such as internet and mobile data plans.

More importantly, you cant directly compare people from 1983 from now.

People from 1983, download movie 300 byte per second. Now we can download a full HD anime within 20 minutes. water in 1983 is dirty. no 4-car LRT train, etc etc. As a person who actually LIVED from 1983 till today, in no bloody way will i prefer 1983 compared to today.

This post has been edited by YameteOniichan: Feb 14 2012, 06:54 PM
SUSYameteOniichan
post Feb 14 2012, 07:13 PM

100 posts

i dun mind save like hell for half a year, then blow it all on a single vacation to europe.

actually, if you are a real hard core traveller, travelling is insanely cheap.

I consider myself as quite a hardcore traveller (LOL).

So i only sleep in train/aeroplane. I bring all my food from home. mini rice cooker, rice, all bawak. Then i always plan such that at night, im always on a train going somewhere. this massively reduces travelling cost. if i have to stay somewhere, ill book cybercafe's or motels.

Because outside malaysia, food is simply too crappy. You dont go for food. you want to look at stuffs. hence you bring ur own food.

this means, you can go to europe with less then RM3K. mostly to pay flight tix. smile.gif

0.0192sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:54 AM