LYN Proton INSPIRA Owners and Fans Thread V25!, Mod car not war~!!!

ikeken
post Feb 20 2012, 11:09 AM

225 posts

Hey people. Its been awhile since I posted hehe.

Couldnt track all the posts la.

But since in the tyres topic, am thinking changing rims. 18" or 17" better?

I mean I wanted to increase the width of the tyres really, from 205 to 225 but dont know should go 18 or 17. Price of course a consideration as well but if difference not so much, 18" may look nicer?

But since the gap between body and the tyre is so high, I doubt 18" will do much to make it look good unless we lower the car la?

Opinions please?

Hehehe.
ikeken
post Feb 20 2012, 11:20 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(stewPik @ Feb 20 2012, 11:15 AM)
depends on the usage and ur WALLET........18 won't cost too much to upgrade but maintainence will be a big different from 17" ( rubber cost more and also will wear out faster)

for ppl that travel a lot, 17" is recommended cuz of the lesser wear effect and also the taller wall, so won't bengkok so fast ........

but if u r a 1.8 i strongly recommend 17", but if 2.0 then very much up to you liking

Mine is 2.0 la. Hm, but for 17" if getting 225 can remain within 3% of original tyre? Cz speedometer will be inaccurate also right?

How much roughly 17" 225 vs 18" 225?

Preferably 225/40 or 225/45 max la. Dont want tyre wall so high.

ikeken
post Feb 20 2012, 12:37 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(stewPik @ Feb 20 2012, 11:22 AM)
if budget not much issue, and u want 225 then go for 18", if 17" a bit heavy jor for the rubbers ( wider and taller wall) compared to 18"
Well, to upgrade once off not an issue. Issue is maintenance going forward.. Hm. But I was wondering if 215 is sufficient..

QUOTE(ngjx @ Feb 20 2012, 11:23 AM)
Hey bro.. How's your car so far? 18" will looks nicer... Fc sure will drop.. If 225 u nd wider rim... Unless u 1 join the fd/wira(claimed by nzh) gang
So far so good. Though the 'new' feeling no more edi. Sigh.. And minor issues with the rattling sounds. Still unsolved.

Yeah FC will drop I know but have to see if its manageable or not. Currently I'm clocking around 8.7km/liter. Yea, I'm thinking 18" more metal less rubber will look fierce..

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 20 2012, 11:23 AM)
Usually the 18" goes to 225.. u need to find wider rims for that if you go 17", use a tyre calculator.

Nicer or not depends on personal preference, come TT and look at our cars lor.. got 18"/17"/16" for u to look see look see.

As for the gap, changing the rim size doesnt not change overall wheel diameter... so... the gap doesnt change.. at all.
Well I've seen but couldnt really tell the difference. My preference is for the gap to be lesser but like you said, tyre diameter stays the same so will look the same. So not really an issue here.

Even contemplated whether wanna go 225/45/16 or not. But stock rim like abit not nice hahah.

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 20 2012, 11:27 AM)
Bro.... FC mainly depends on your rigth leg lah.... my car 18" rims... FC so ridiculously good when driven by my wife
Bigger rims if travel city stop and go sure FC higher, but if on highway will save petrol more. So give and take loh.

0.0422sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:28 PM