-+♦+-LYN Proton Persona Owners Club V31-+♦+-

Cavino
post Feb 20 2012, 10:33 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(raimy_m9 @ Feb 20 2012, 10:30 AM)
also can change to 205/45/17 to retain the same rolling radius and total diameter..
Of course, you have to change rim, then have to pay more for tyres, a lot more, and then you have to pay more for FC and then you PE jadi kura kura due to extra weight of bigger size tyres...
Cavino
post Feb 20 2012, 10:55 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(seng12345 @ Feb 20 2012, 10:42 AM)
major concern of it..,our PE already quite kura..if change to bigger tyre it getting even more kura..
i sufficient with 15" already..hahaha laugh.gif
but then the spec not so common, quite number of shop dun keep stock of this spec (except branded shop, of course more expensive)..
Note that if you change to 55 height, you car will be slightly bumpier than original. And altho 195/55/R15 are the most commonly available tyre sizes, PE should not change to that size due to diameter differences.
Cavino
post Feb 20 2012, 11:07 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(raimy_m9 @ Feb 20 2012, 10:59 AM)
u dunno ah? zeng is funding for his 17inch la..same like me..wait till original tyre bald..then change the whole thing la..

ps: btw..zeng tyre dun have bunga already..
Lots of his money goes into investment, this guy knows how to earn money.....accountant to be mah...(I think).

Michelin Primacy LC has 195/60/R15 size, so is Falken ZE-912.
Cavino
post Feb 20 2012, 11:38 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(VincentChen @ Feb 20 2012, 11:15 AM)
best to use back the same size lo, brand, base on your preference and experiance lo
Same size I agree tho choice is greatly limited but then Proton did tune the car to this tyre specs, balanced comfort vs handling. If you're using NCT5, personally (altho other might disagree), its a good tyre for everyday non-reving drive. Tahan lasak but once it gets to 60% or less, performance degrades really really quick. Noise increase even more. NCT5 nowadays is not that cheap considering its performance.

Other tyres you can consider for this size courtesy of price list from users at autoworld forum
Bridgestone AR-10 - RM240 Hin Leong (Dec 11)
Continental CC5 - RM210 Hin Leong (Dec 11)
Michelin Primacy LC - RM295 JS Tyre, Glenmarie Shah Alam (Apr 11)
Michelin XM2 - RM270 Ban Hooi (Dec 11)
Michelin XM2 - RM250 Hin Leong (Dec 11)
Yokohama A-Drive - RM210 Yokohama Shop Pandan Indah (Sep 11)
Yokohama C-Drive 2 - RM240 Yokohama Shop Pandan Indah (Sep 11)
Yokohama C Drive 2 - RM 210 Setia Alam (V+B+A) (Sep 11)

Cavino
post Feb 20 2012, 11:42 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(VincentChen @ Feb 20 2012, 11:39 AM)
the price listed is for 1 tyre or for 4 tyre?
oh, no wonder those F1 go change tyre when raining
Haha....if its for 4 tyres, that means each tyre RM50 only...you go find me one of this tyre at this price, those recon also more expensive...
Cavino
post Feb 20 2012, 01:45 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(ZenGTMM @ Feb 20 2012, 01:06 PM)
Actually can.. It wont cause brake failure.. It only causes inaccurate speedometer reading. People have the misconception that it will affect the ABS system too due to the faster/slower turning rate for the different tire sizes. But ABS works on the principle of measuring the deceleration rate of the tire.. If the tire speed drops very fast (when the tire locks up) then the ABS will kick in to prevent it from stopping totally. Threshold braking is the braking point just right b4 the tires starts to slide.. So no worries.. U can go for ur 235/35R18 tires.. hehehe..

Falken Zien 912 actually its not that good nowadays.. For the current generation of tire standard, Ziex 912 is quite noisy and high wear tire for the amount of grip it offers, and the price for it also quite high.. Hankook V8 Ventus and Nexus N6000(read it forums) is currently one of the best balance of grip, noise and tire price.
Never did like Falken 912.

Anyway, this is what i copied from a car site.

If you increase or decrease your tire size over 3% of stock size (in outsize rolling diameter) it will affect your ABS braking system and VDC. Simply put, your car will sense the back wheels are rotating too quickly for example and the ECU will think you are spinning your tires/losing traction which will possibly cause your car to brake or cut off the throttle. In another words, its mostly likely not mechanical brake failure but risk of ECU (computers) detection failure. Quite a few car sites mentioned that on the computers (ECU). Not sure tho coz no tyre experts but VR2Turbo tyre sifu in Autoworld follows this limit as well.
Cavino
post Feb 20 2012, 01:52 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(VincentChen @ Feb 20 2012, 01:49 PM)
scare the shit out the car behind hahahahaa
good choice o, i might wanna do like you, i usually put D and press brake
Zen,

If Vincent got killed from following your braking advice, his spirit is going to haunt you forever. Imagine everytime you're "pumping" your CKT, a voice from your back keep whispering, "bear bear, bear bear".
Cavino
post Feb 20 2012, 02:17 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(ngeo88 @ Feb 20 2012, 02:05 PM)
it was still an argument that no one can tell either put in D or N while waiting traffic light turn green will not harm the gear box. But if i knoe the junction traffic light will need to wait a long period i will put to N if the junction that traffic light turn fast i will keep it at D.
Same here. Although I no fear PE box spoil this way, not going to be ultra expensive like the City's CVT gearbox. If you keep your pedal on "D" during idle a long, you might just slip at times and car push forward, a bit dangerous.

As for braking and slowing down, to a stop, this ah pek always practice the safe driving way, that is keeping gear on "D" until complete stop, then shift to "N" if idle long time. Why that rather than the fc saving "N" during slow down, one word, emergency. You never know what will happen during while your car still moving, a car might just swerve in your back or even front, you need the "D" drive to accelerate accordingly for emergency like that.

For PE, I don't know coz engine braking don't know exist or not but for other makes, engine braking is still there when you're at "D", it helps during braking as well as emergency situation. "N" free for all coasting is great for fc (I used to do that but as I have a family now, nah, safety first) but as mentioned above, not so great for safety reason.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0438sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:40 PM