My old table fan is spinning very slowly, How to fix ?

TSnarf03
post Feb 7 2012, 02:21 PM, updated 14y ago

4,547 posts

As topic, I've cleaned the table fan, i remember it rotates very fast when it was new, never fall, never do anything to it, only used for like 2-3 years only. Any easy solution to make it spins like new ? Without getting a new 1 =P thanks
elm0001
post Feb 7 2012, 02:28 PM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

maybe there's dust or whatever inside that makes it getting slower?
TSnarf03
post Feb 7 2012, 02:53 PM

4,547 posts

sooo ?

Really hope i do not need to play with those internal parts.
myasiahobby
post Feb 7 2012, 03:00 PM

693 posts

change the motor to more powerful one...
hafiez
post Feb 7 2012, 03:35 PM

2,980 posts

i think the motor sudah ketat.

u need to spray WD40 inside. but it wont last long.

its time.
TSnarf03
post Feb 7 2012, 04:16 PM

4,547 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Feb 7 2012, 03:35 PM)
i think the motor sudah ketat.

u need to spray WD40 inside. but it wont last long.

its time.
WD40 i got, i try to spray and lets see how it works, but i tot WD40 is to remove stain not lubricant.

myasiahobby sorry to say, this section is new kopitiam, if you want to troll, u need to get 1 level up, motor for all fans are different 1, its not compatible and beside that, changing the motor will cost more than getting a new fan.
cjoenic
post Feb 7 2012, 04:25 PM

-
773 posts

yeah use WD40 and spray it. it occured to mine as well. tried the method long time ago (3 months ago), then back to normal speed.

what hafiez say is right it wont last long. but mine still running fast after spray with WD40. hope it not dead till forever. thumbup.gif
joe_mamak
post Feb 7 2012, 11:58 PM

363 posts

And when the fan jams, the motor coils overheat and may cause a fire.
dkk
post Feb 8 2012, 12:18 AM

11,400 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Feb 7 2012, 04:16 PM)
WD40 i got, i try to spray and lets see how it works, but i tot WD40 is to remove stain not lubricant.
It is multi-purpose.

Added on February 8, 2012, 12:20 am
QUOTE(cjoenic @ Feb 7 2012, 04:25 PM)
yeah use WD40 and spray it. it occured to mine as well. tried the method long time ago (3 months ago), then back to normal speed.
Perhaps WD40 is too fluid? Maybe you need something thicker. Like sewing machine oil. Or the lube they use on car wheel ball bearings.

Added on February 8, 2012, 12:21 am
QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Feb 7 2012, 11:58 PM)
And when the fan jams, the motor coils overheat and may cause a fire.
But then, doing it wrong might result in this.

This post has been edited by dkk: Feb 8 2012, 12:21 AM
enig.ma
post Feb 8 2012, 01:23 AM

123 posts

Turn it on a higher setting.
cjoenic
post Feb 8 2012, 06:59 AM

-
773 posts

QUOTE(dkk @ Feb 8 2012, 12:18 AM)

Perhaps WD40 is too fluid? Maybe you need something thicker. Like sewing machine oil. Or the lube they use on car wheel ball bearings.
no it will work trust me. spray at the front shaft. (must open that blade 1st) then spin the shaft a bit using your hand until the motor is un-jammed.
micpling
post Feb 8 2012, 07:05 AM

201 posts

Oo I know this. Last time sent to the mechanic, he said over time, the magnet inside will lose its magnetism. Sent for magnet power charge.

But in the end decided to buy new one. The old one still can be used but need time to start spinning.
tph84
post Feb 8 2012, 10:49 PM

96 posts

If you open the casing of the fan (top casing) you will see a capacitor in it, something like this: http://image.made-in-china.com/2f0j00RBwtG...itor-CBB61-.jpg . Try to change this capacitor to a new one, and it will improve your fan speed. Remember to change the exactly same capacitive capacitor. You can get it from electronic store, price around RM5.
maranello55
post Feb 9 2012, 02:18 AM

Accelera Ayrton!!
3,385 posts

send to shop easier....dont burn ur house trying to make it faster diy
cjoenic
post Feb 9 2012, 11:22 PM

-
773 posts

QUOTE(tph84 @ Feb 8 2012, 10:49 PM)
If you open the casing of the fan (top casing) you will see a capacitor in it, something like this: http://image.made-in-china.com/2f0j00RBwtG...itor-CBB61-.jpg . Try to change this capacitor to a new one, and it will improve your fan speed. Remember to change the exactly same capacitive capacitor. You can get it from electronic store, price around RM5.
tried that one b4. the speed just more about the same. instead, grease the motor will do the trick.

QUOTE(maranello55 @ Feb 9 2012, 02:18 AM)
send to shop easier....dont burn ur house trying to make it faster diy
icon_idea.gif

---

TS, while the fan is turned off. have you tried to move the blade/motor using finger? is it a bit hard to move? if it is hard. definitely motor become a bit jammed. spray/grease with anti-corrode. else, get an advise from electrical technician, maybe need to change capacitor to more powerful one.
YummyFriedOnions
post Feb 10 2012, 05:56 AM

62 posts

Try engine lubricating oil. Works wonders and is of much better quality compared to sewing machine oil or WD-40, which is a bit corrosive in the long run.
stimix
post Feb 10 2012, 09:15 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just buy a new one-lah..It will not cost you a bomb nowadays.
cjoenic
post Feb 10 2012, 09:47 PM

-
773 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 10 2012, 09:15 AM)
Just buy a new one-lah..It will not cost you a bomb nowadays.
yeah. here only costs RM29.90 for 14 inch thumbup.gif

just spend a bit, ts.

0.0165sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:35 AM