SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V26, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

pikachu01
post Feb 6 2012, 12:37 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 6 2012, 12:28 PM)
Just flashed it, gave me a hang, need to force reboot  sweat.gif will see if still have this issue or not, my device suddenly keep hang on previous siyah versions, hopefully will stop, if not i will switch back to NEAK. NEAK kernel also not bad, i recommend you guys to try it out  thumbup.gif
Do you UV? Try not UVing/OCing and reflash?
pikachu01
post Feb 6 2012, 12:50 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 6 2012, 12:40 PM)
pika, your script is integrated in the new Siyah meaning no need to flash back Thunderbolt! right?
Only a part of the scripts is integrated smile.gif If you want the full experience, you still have to flash it smile.gif
pikachu01
post Feb 6 2012, 01:00 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 6 2012, 12:50 PM)
Nope i dont UV, not even a singl bit. No OC/UC too, i set governors to sio/conservative, since in ur android optimization article you said sio is best, so i follow what you say  smile.gif
I know that i have a crappy name cry.gif if can change name i sure change liao, this was originally only as a temporary acc to ask some stuff about my laptop here
If you came from NEAK, you probably need to delete the s91voltctrl because NEAK by default only has 5 (or 6 with the 100MHz) frequencies while Siyah has 1.6GHz and 1.4GHz. This creates a discrepancy with the UV/MV tables. If you ever saved a configuration in Voltage Control, the UV tables will shift by 2 and the UVing (even if its stock in NEAK) will make the voltage of 1.2GHz in NEAK to be 1.6GHz in Siyah and so on.

i.e.

1.6GHz 1.4GHz 1.2GHZ 1GHZ 800MHz 500MHz 200MHz 100MHz - Siyah
1.2GHZ 1GHz 800MHz 500MHz 200MHz 100MHz - NEAK
amV bmV cmV dmV emV fmV (ignored)

Something like this.

Conclusion: Remove your s91voltctrl script (by flashing the Voltage Control emergency wipe zip file that it nags you the first time you install it).
pikachu01
post Feb 6 2012, 01:39 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 6 2012, 01:24 PM)
Voltage control didnt prompt me to flash that emergency wipe zip file. Also cant find any voltctrl script in my init.d folder, i should be safe right?
Thanks for moral support biggrin.gif
Then you must be using Voltage Control service. Try to disable it before it applies. You hung when the OS is fully booted right?
pikachu01
post Feb 6 2012, 01:50 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Feb 6 2012, 01:40 PM)
Pikachu, I read that your latest Thunderbolt release is not compulsory to use cos not in line with SIyah or something. Means that even flash has no effect right?
Umm, where did you read that? It's in Siyah and it's working fine?

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 6 2012, 01:46 PM)
Only hang once just now, so far no hangs yet. i did remove boot settings though, and reboot it, i'll just leave settings to default
Ah, removing boot settings will solve it smile.gif As the frequency table is different from Siyah and NEAK. Hence changing from these two kernels to each other requires a wipe in the UVing setting. (even if you don't UV, as when you save the boot setting in Voltage Control, it snapshots the UV table as well).

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Feb 6 2012, 01:51 PM
pikachu01
post Feb 6 2012, 01:54 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Feb 6 2012, 01:51 PM)
Thanks Pika for reply. This is what I meant:

2/3/2012 (2.4.1 and screenstate_scaling 1.5.1)
- Mostly comment cleaning
- Changed TCP Syncookis to false. Most kernels won't even support it. Hence its a useless change, but change it in case some kernels do support it and nope TalonDev and Siyah doesn't support it. Can't enable/disable it.
It's referring to the TCP Syncookies change?
pikachu01
post Feb 6 2012, 02:22 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Feb 6 2012, 02:05 PM)
Great. Redownload / flash RP v1.2 again  rclxms.gif  drool.gif Hope no SOD again`

Added on February 6, 2012, 2:06 pm

Not sure. Thought was not good for the kernel. XD Anyway, flashing it back right now after a wipe and new kernel change.
It's only referring to the TCP Syncookies change :/
pikachu01
post Feb 7 2012, 12:25 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Feb 6 2012, 11:43 PM)
Recently my Titanium Backup hangs half way while backing up....last time used to be okay...

Any ideas why?

I uninstall and reinstall also having the same problem....it just hangs halfway while doing a "batch" backup for data + apk...
Do you UV/OC?

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Feb 7 2012, 12:00 AM)
You can set 1 at a time using setCPU to test.
No need to 'guess' the values.

Usually -25mV for the highest.
Then -50mV for all until 400mhz
400mhz -75mV or -100mV
200mhz -125mV

For each step, do a stress test in set CPU.

Before you do a stress test, 'untick' everything else so that the CPU is running only at that clock speed, then stress it. If it can go 5min or so without error. Do the same thing for the next step.

Shouldn't take you very long.

If it crashes, increase the voltage.
Use my guide to UV smile.gif

Check Android Optimization Tips then CTRL-F for "undervolt".

QUOTE(nicregi @ Feb 7 2012, 12:01 AM)
Yeah! What I did was remove the SD card after everything and reformat manually again. Now hope is better... sweat.gif
Wah...I used to do that...but now I am using a little extreme biggrin.gif

1200 mhz - 1150
1000 mhz - 1050
800 mhz  - 950
500 mhz  - 875
200 mhz  - 850
100 mhz  - 825

>.<

Added on February 7, 2012, 12:02 am

Hmm...I wonder if I am that rajin to do it. Maybe will do it awhile more XD
Mine is:

1200MHz - 1175mV
1000MHz - 1075mV
800MHz - 975mV
500MHz - 875mV
200MHz - 850mV (can be lower)
100MHz - 850mV (can be lower)

I added 25mV from 500MHz above to be a bit more stable. smile.gif

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 7 2012, 12:12 AM)
Hehe. Actually i am not a fan of UVing so i did not really look into it. Cos I dun really see any benefit to UV. tongue.gif
It actually saves a bit of battery >.<
pikachu01
post Feb 7 2012, 11:20 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Feb 7 2012, 12:47 AM)
Thanks!

Pika, ask you something. Between Voltage Control vs SetCPU, which do you feel is better to use?

Added on February 7, 2012, 12:48 am

1. If you use stock, just flash the latest stock ROM.
2. If you using custom ROM, it will settle everything for you when you flash back.

Hope this clears up your doubt XD
Voltage Control smile.gif

Sorry for the late reply tongue.gif
pikachu01
post Feb 9 2012, 02:01 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Feb 9 2012, 01:39 PM)
red pill gave me sod just now  rclxub.gif
thinking of i can survive with this kernel for few more day, i will try latest siyah hopping did not have so much battery drainage as 2.6.11

i worry to test out neak d since giving sod
QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 9 2012, 01:53 PM)
Red pill give you SOD? If you got the bolt_siyah script in init folder try delete it and see.

I dunno why neak give me sod. Didn't even have time to tweak anything yet. And also remove scripts already. You can try it if you want.
Try removing boot settings from Voltage Control. You might be using the service and hitting it when booting.

This is due to NEAK having 6 frequencies while Siyah having 9 frequencies (The frequency table is not aligned properly for the UVmV table.).

So you have to remove it before flashing.
pikachu01
post Feb 9 2012, 02:43 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(snigapoe @ Feb 9 2012, 02:05 PM)
for now i still not into changing voltage
and i do always wipe everything except data when flashing kernel
Even if you changed the governor/scheduler and you save as boot setting (the current voltage snapshot for NEAK/Siyah) will be snapshot as well, causing the voltages to mismatch if you change kernel.

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 9 2012, 02:21 PM)
Hellcat also got a tool for it
https://market.android.com/details?id=net.h...ev.sgs2bootlogo

Added on February 9, 2012, 2:23 pm
I never use VC service to start at boot before. Only the init method. The VC script also deleted. The device boot up and run fine. But it went into SOD sometime in the night, so i don't think this is the problem.
NEAK's is undervolted by default in some of its frequencies :/
pikachu01
post Feb 9 2012, 05:55 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 9 2012, 05:45 PM)
followed this instructions should be ok right?
http://developer.android.com/sdk/installing.html
Just download the SDK zip and extract somewhere.

Then use cmd to do:

adb shell
pikachu01
post Feb 9 2012, 06:26 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 9 2012, 06:07 PM)
a little confuse now. already extract SDK zip.

How do I run this on adb shell
echo "0" > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_ecn

icon_question.gif
First, check if your ecn is turned on.

You can use Root Explorer/File Expert/Root Browser etc.

Navigate to the directory and open the file as a text file.

Then, create a script like this:

CODE

#!/system/bin/sh
echo "0" > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_ecn

In notepad++ (save as unix file).

Put it in /etc/init.d with rwx-rwx-rwx.

No need to use ADB.
pikachu01
post Feb 9 2012, 07:49 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 9 2012, 07:39 PM)
google it but it make no sense sweat.gif  tongue.gif
ECN is a protocol to control traffic congestion. Some older routers are not compatible with it.
pikachu01
post Feb 9 2012, 08:23 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 9 2012, 08:21 PM)
no, only have file expert. should I go buy root explorer first?
Long press the file then press permissions. Tick all. smile.gif

Don't need to buy >.<
pikachu01
post Feb 9 2012, 08:45 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 9 2012, 08:42 PM)
I already move to sdcard.

but when open on file expert the file is not there.
open in file explorer can see file but the system folder is not there doh.gif
You need to enable the ROOT function in File Expert's setting smile.gif
pikachu01
post Feb 9 2012, 09:00 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 9 2012, 08:53 PM)
did that but keep getting operation failed when I paste the file in the folder sad.gif
You need to mount the system as rw first smile.gif
pikachu01
post Feb 9 2012, 09:13 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 9 2012, 09:05 PM)
still failed shakehead.gif
Does it have something to do with the file name?
Already have a file in that folder name s99complete.
Wait a bit. I'll just create the script for you and let you flash it >.<
pikachu01
post Feb 9 2012, 11:13 PM

1,510 posts

For Shizuru or anyone that wants to disable ECN.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  ECN.zip ( 141.22k ) Number of downloads: 14
pikachu01
post Feb 9 2012, 11:55 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 9 2012, 11:26 PM)
OMG! it works! data connection fixed! THANK YOU  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Donation going your way soon biggrin.gif
Eh, no need donation tongue.gif

Very simple thing that I've done, not really worth a donation for. smile.gif

0.0419sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:26 PM