SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V26, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

Laier
post Feb 5 2012, 11:28 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Feb 5 2012, 11:23 PM)
Want on phone lo...hehe. Zenonia etc really bad in graphic. Beh tahan~

Sigh...guess back to Angry Bird  blush.gif

Hunting for Red Phil 1.2 kernel. wonder if it is updated on the OTA yet..
Tried Battleheart bro? Old game,but really addictive,plain simple and fun. biggrin.gif
Laier
post Feb 6 2012, 11:51 AM

320 posts

Hey bros,why is it my phone charges and when it says fully charged,but when I look at it using GO Widget,it's still at 97%. Then,I charged it again,then it reaches fully charge status,unplug it,then it goes back down to 98%. Firmware problem or should I take note of this?
Laier
post Feb 6 2012, 11:55 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 6 2012, 11:54 AM)
Calibrate ur battery
Callibrate? Needs rooting right? Is it mandatory like in the first page states or is there another workaround? Thanks for the input TLDG. laugh.gif
Laier
post Feb 6 2012, 12:16 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 6 2012, 11:57 AM)
Just do a few full charge cycles should be fine. drain ur batt till zero then charge to full, do this 2-3 times, ur battery meter should be more accurate
Ok bro,drain till battery zero,charge to full after that,rinse and repeat for 3 times,got it. Thanks sifu! laugh.gif

QUOTE(Positron @ Feb 6 2012, 11:57 AM)
I don't think is firmware, maybe you could try battery calibration from the market..
It might work..

But if can't there is a physics explanation, as it is the law of the universe that nothing is perfect, even absolute zero, molecules still vibrate... and everything tends to distortion, ( the uncertainty principle ) ...

One thing is for sure, the battery charger cable itself holds some of the charge, hence although it shows full charge but when you unplug, a fraction of percentage of the battery is still in the battery cable..

Other than that, the battery is not 100% efficient, it's a law by nature to..
Nothing is perfect ( second law of thermodynamics )..

Hence, charging to 100% is also not possible, the manufacturer definitely rounded up to 100%..

But if the market app works then its fine....

shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Wow,mind blown over here. Thanks for the lengthy explanation though,albeit needlessly long. Susah susah aje. sweat.gif
Laier
post Feb 6 2012, 09:46 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Feb 6 2012, 09:43 PM)
Samsung Kies huh... Last time I update my phone to KL3, the phone entered Download Mode but Kies aborted it because of some "buggy" connection error.
Luckily it doesn't brick my phone.
The update was successful at the second attempt.
Isn't updating via Odin much more easier and safer than KIES? hmm.gif
Laier
post Feb 6 2012, 09:55 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Feb 6 2012, 09:46 PM)
Thanks bro. Sigh. Reformatting now smile.gif

Added on February 6, 2012, 9:49 pm

+1 and not to forget, faster!
Ahh,thanks for the confirmation bro niceregi! biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Positron @ Feb 6 2012, 09:52 PM)
For me, easier I agree..
But safer, it is left to be seen..

icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
What do you mean? It's less safer because? Please state the reason.
Laier
post Feb 6 2012, 10:03 PM

320 posts

Seems like Positron is infamous in this thread. Is he a troller or something?
Laier
post Feb 7 2012, 10:41 AM

320 posts

Bros,quick question,which one do you prefer,ADW or Go Launcher EX? smile.gif
Laier
post Feb 7 2012, 11:04 AM

320 posts

Haha,nice choices bros! BTW,already a user of Go Launcher,just interested in knowing which one is more popular with you guys. I guess Go Launcher holds the title. Like that it has extensive list of themes compared to ADW,but ADW has some of the more cooler themes though.
Laier
post Feb 7 2012, 02:37 PM

320 posts

To be honest,G user here BTW,never encountered any camera hang issues with my phone till now. G ver is not as bad as they say it is.
Laier
post Feb 7 2012, 04:25 PM

320 posts

G user here,am not experiencing any lag,nor camera hangs. Always have around 500+MB of RAM. Nothing wrong with SD card. All A-okay,thank god. smile.gif

Anyway,guys,had a nice laugh watching this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3M0TuhQActU...8f1FAAAAAAAAAAA
Laier
post Feb 7 2012, 04:34 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 7 2012, 04:28 PM)
Fixed tongue.gif

Thanks bro,didn't know how to embed it here,despite being in Lowyat for years now. Thought I just post the links. Thankies! icon_rolleyes.gif
Laier
post Feb 8 2012, 07:54 AM

320 posts

Hey guys,I tried draining the batter to calibrate the battery,but when it reaches 0%,I tried turning it on again,even with the charger plugged in,it still wont boot up. After I put out the battery and let it rest for 10 minutes or so,then i put the battery back,only then it would boot up again. Am i doing it right?
Laier
post Feb 8 2012, 11:09 AM

320 posts

My battery is getting more uneven,I think. Before,a full charge was a 97%,now it's a 96%. Am I doing anything wrong? rclxub.gif
Laier
post Feb 8 2012, 11:13 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Feb 8 2012, 11:11 AM)
Full charge as in you leave the charger till "full charge" notification comes out, and when you unplug it drops right down to 96-97%?
Yupe,any idea why? Do note that I fully exhausted the battery prior to this,to do a battery calibration or so they say.
Laier
post Feb 8 2012, 11:19 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Feb 8 2012, 11:15 AM)
Hmm tried wiping battery stats via CWM once you drain down to 0%?

If not shouldn't be like that, could be battery can't hold charge as well already hmm.gif
I haven't rooted it yet,will get to rooting once I verified that the shopkeeper has registered my phone with SME. Darn,forgot to check it when I bought the phone.

Couldn't be the battery problem,just got bough the phone like a week ago. Or could it? icon_question.gif
Laier
post Feb 8 2012, 11:23 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Feb 8 2012, 11:20 AM)
Since it's new it's unlikely, but there's always a possibility.

Hmm have any friends to swap a batt temporarily to see if the batt is the problem?
Can't,my friends are either using Blackberries or Nokia S40 phones,so that's out of the question. Could it be the battery is still adapting to my way of using it or something? Is it possible?
Laier
post Feb 8 2012, 11:25 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Feb 8 2012, 11:22 AM)
I think it's normal mine also like that..
But do take note, when it drops to 97%, but you try leaving it about 10 minutes without touching it, it will go back to 100%.. mine when back to 100%..
Like I said, the cable holds extra charge, not all the charge is in the battery yet..
it takes time for the battery to go to full charge...
Yes,mine's like that too. Just now it was 95%,then it goes too 96% after being left for 5 minutes. By the cable holding extra charge,what do you mean?
Laier
post Feb 8 2012, 11:29 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Feb 8 2012, 11:24 AM)
I think even if the phone says full charge, i think you try leaving it in there for an extra 30 minutes, i think maybe battery indicator not accurate
Ok,will do this. If it's not accurate,how can I make it accurate? Only calibrating method?

QUOTE(ellimist @ Feb 8 2012, 11:25 AM)
Do you guys wait for the "fully charged" icon to pop up in status bar?

Mine holds at 100% for quite a while, since 100% as pikachu explained before holds more charge than say, 99% and below (to mask battery's deterioration in max charge holding)

Even on 100% without fully charged icon mine doesn't dip to 97%. Think that can happen if you use the phone quite a bit while it's at 100%, and then unplug.
But my phone was off when I fully charged it,so I wasn't using it. Maybe system fault?
Laier
post Feb 8 2012, 11:30 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Feb 8 2012, 11:26 AM)
Hmm I'm not an expert, but I guess to troubleshoot wise, do what the above comments suggested, and see got difference or not:

1. When fully charged icon appear, leave it in for say, 30 mins or so and do not use the phone; or
2. After you unplug and it dips down, leave it for 5-10 mins, see if it bounces back up, probably coz battery meter not so accurate
Ok,will do as advised. Thanks!

0.0391sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:46 AM