6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V26, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

nicregi
post Feb 6 2012, 11:08 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Feb 6 2012, 11:05 PM)
Why format when its plugged in? I think you can format directly right?
What I mean was I:

Connect to PC to phone
Format via PC

Just it reboot a few times during the process ... zzz still not yet complete after 45 minutes O.o
nicregi
post Feb 6 2012, 11:17 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Feb 6 2012, 11:15 PM)
Why format via PC?

Under setting -> storage -> erase SD card will work just fine.
Why bother formatting via PC?
Old habit ma >.<
nicregi
post Feb 6 2012, 11:37 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 6 2012, 11:17 PM)
Never tried before. Usually i format in phone or use sd adapter and format in pc.

Added on February 6, 2012, 11:17 pmOk lets try siyah 2.6.12.
Antt00, how is your RD v1.2?

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Feb 6 2012, 11:20 PM)
Formatting via PC has a lot of variables.

Formatting via the phone itself can allow you to do apps2ext with less potential problems.

Not that it matters on the S2 since there is 1+gb of user space for apps. But on small capacity phones it becomes an issue.
Thanks for the note buddy~

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Feb 6 2012, 11:21 PM)
want me to show mine?
cant b so long
wait awhile more
if not i think btr to unplug it
then format from phone
Phew~ Just finish. That was close. Thought something wrong lol~
nicregi
post Feb 6 2012, 11:46 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 6 2012, 11:41 PM)
It's ok but i still feel siyah is smoother than red pill.
I see. Ask you something. Do you UV? Mind to share your setting? Want to compare biggrin.gif

QUOTE(erymanthus @ Feb 6 2012, 11:43 PM)
Recently my Titanium Backup hangs half way while backing up....last time used to be okay...

Any ideas why?

I uninstall and reinstall also having the same problem....it just hangs halfway while doing a "batch" backup for data + apk...
I thought it was me only. My schedule ain't working since past few updates and have no idea why. >.<

Have you try to reinstall TB from scratch?
nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 12:01 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Feb 6 2012, 11:55 PM)
Btw, if you needed estimated times, I formatted a 8gb class 2 SD card and it took less than a min.

So 45min is rather long, not to mention your phone shouldn't reboot since when it does the USB connection is broken and the formatting stops.
Yeah! What I did was remove the SD card after everything and reformat manually again. Now hope is better... sweat.gif

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 6 2012, 11:57 PM)
If i UV very simple. Everything -25mV.  biggrin.gif
Wah...I used to do that...but now I am using a little extreme biggrin.gif

1200 mhz - 1150
1000 mhz - 1050
800 mhz - 950
500 mhz - 875
200 mhz - 850
100 mhz - 825

>.<

Added on February 7, 2012, 12:02 am
QUOTE(MYstombox @ Feb 7 2012, 12:00 AM)
You can set 1 at a time using setCPU to test.
No need to 'guess' the values.

Usually -25mV for the highest.
Then -50mV for all until 400mhz
400mhz -75mV or -100mV
200mhz -125mV

For each step, do a stress test in set CPU.

Before you do a stress test, 'untick' everything else so that the CPU is running only at that clock speed, then stress it. If it can go 5min or so without error. Do the same thing for the next step.

Shouldn't take you very long.

If it crashes, increase the voltage.
Hmm...I wonder if I am that rajin to do it. Maybe will do it awhile more XD

This post has been edited by nicregi: Feb 7 2012, 12:02 AM
nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 12:15 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Feb 7 2012, 12:02 AM)
You enabled 100mhz?
I didn't even bother with that step. haha

Well, doing the stress test is the only way to know if the cpu is stable @ that clock speed using that voltage.
Yeah true. I took out my SD card and phone getting a little hairwire...wonder why.

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 7 2012, 12:12 AM)
Hehe. Actually i am not a fan of UVing so i did not really look into it. Cos I dun really see any benefit to UV. tongue.gif
Really?

I always try to push my phone to the lowest voltage but at times I wonder if that is really worth it.
nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 12:17 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Feb 7 2012, 12:16 AM)
You guys get significant battery savings on UV?

Wondering wanna tinker or not hmm.gif
I feel so but if it goes SOD, certainly no more battery saving.
nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 12:47 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Feb 7 2012, 12:25 AM)
Do you UV/OC?
Use my guide to UV smile.gif

Check Android Optimization Tips then CTRL-F for "undervolt".
Mine is:

1200MHz - 1175mV
1000MHz - 1075mV
800MHz - 975mV
500MHz - 875mV
200MHz - 850mV (can be lower)
100MHz - 850mV (can be lower)

I added 25mV from 500MHz above to be a bit more stable. smile.gif
It actually saves a bit of battery >.<
Thanks!

Pika, ask you something. Between Voltage Control vs SetCPU, which do you feel is better to use?

Added on February 7, 2012, 12:48 am
QUOTE(enJiNer @ Feb 7 2012, 12:47 AM)
guys,,anyone ever tried updated to Android 4.0 ICS??

i tried yesterday from this link http://androidadvices.com/update-samsung-g...kp2-firmware/3/

follow every steps and got the ICS installed in just a few minutes...
however within minutes later i discovered many issues and bugs

network is shown as No Network even i can call out ...
system is slow..very slow...
hang/force closed when trying to open apss that read the sdcard...
camera went nuts

etc....

stupid of me that i didnt read the comments at the bottom of the page coz i was too excited to upgrade...so suit me right

so with sad heart, i reinstall back to the old fw... but i didnt know /forgot to write down my own version.... currently i just install 2.3.4 .. i think my original fw was 2.3.3 or something... anyone has any ideas??
1. If you use stock, just flash the latest stock ROM.
2. If you using custom ROM, it will settle everything for you when you flash back.

Hope this clears up your doubt XD

This post has been edited by nicregi: Feb 7 2012, 12:48 AM
nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 01:01 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(enJiNer @ Feb 7 2012, 12:50 AM)
i'm using stock...so ow to get the latest fw??
Think you can find here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1075278
nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 01:17 AM

4,536 posts

Ask you all something.

After formatting data on sd card, I transfer back all the data back. However, I feel that the media scanning takes forever!

Hmm how to solve this? Could it be the data itself?

nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 01:26 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Feb 7 2012, 01:22 AM)
yea zombie wonderland 2 1.3 just now i wanna update from phone say incompatible, so i update by clicking install from pc

Added on February 7, 2012, 1:23 am
data problem ad, wut u put inside? there's an app that allows you to remove the media scanning and scan when u want
Inside video and photos. The rest TB backup lo. Nothing else.

Hmm!

Now when I go setting, storage and want to erase data, it can't select the option but it shows the sd card there. And, media scanning still running can't complete.
nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 01:36 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Feb 7 2012, 01:32 AM)
very strange, you try use my computer>right click the sdcard>properties>tools>check now>tick scan and recovery of bad sectors

usually everything will solve when reformat ad, and even me have 15+gb of images of my mangas also scan within 20 secs~40 secs only. or worst is that something is corrupted in your internal memory, that one u must format ad le~
Damn man. Yalo I also feel so. Twice happen to me already le...
nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 01:49 AM

4,536 posts

I am really pissed now. Something wrong with my SD card and that...arhhhh!!!! >.< Gonna scan and see if any error in it sad.gif
nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 02:13 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(xortz @ Feb 7 2012, 02:04 AM)
anyone here playing Drag Racing (from Market) ?
This game really fun, can drag race online..
Erm...yes but it is very old game now smile.gif
nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 02:57 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(kuryu_koheirevo @ Feb 7 2012, 02:46 AM)
hey there, im a new proud owner of I9100.
just want to know,
does the official 2000mah battery from samsung is good?
does it have some pros and cons?
thanks in advance.
may God bless you all!
I am thinking of getting it tomorrow.

Well, pro is more screen time. Cons is of course the slightly bigger back. So, choosing a casing might be a little issue unless is silicon type.

Bless you too my brother thumbup.gif
nicregi
post Feb 7 2012, 05:06 PM

4,536 posts

Don't know what to say about myself. Yesterday after formatting my sd, my phone FC kau kau. Don't know why.

So pissed off, turned off phone and zzz. Woke up, full wipe and now macam solve the problem. Damn man...Weird cos I know phone won't just FC like crazy without anything. And the only thing I did was format my ext sd hmm.gif

Added on February 7, 2012, 5:07 pm
QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 7 2012, 05:05 PM)
How to check whether is G or Non-G version? Thanks.
Setting > Option > Find either i9100 or i9100g

This post has been edited by nicregi: Feb 7 2012, 05:07 PM
nicregi
post Feb 8 2012, 02:01 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Feb 7 2012, 11:20 PM)
Voltage Control smile.gif

Sorry for the late reply tongue.gif
Hey Pika...just flash back Siyah. Can't stand with RP v1.2. It just hate my phone so much. Will SOD during the most important time....when I am awaiting for an important call >><

Added on February 8, 2012, 2:04 am
QUOTE(Shizuru @ Feb 8 2012, 02:01 AM)
Very interesting. Definitely going to look out for that. Can it beat HD? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by nicregi: Feb 8 2012, 02:04 AM
nicregi
post Feb 8 2012, 02:45 AM

4,536 posts

Guys need help. See my accuweather widget. Any idea how to solve the temperature being cutter out a little?

Using HD v6 and I tried adjusting the size but not working.

Please help.

nicregi
post Feb 8 2012, 10:57 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Feb 8 2012, 09:14 AM)
Are you using the normal dpi of 240? HD roms like to play around with the screen density.  rclxub.gif Especially if you use surgeon.
Bro I tested all do but still it won't revert back. I mean none of the option is working for it. No idea what else I should do. Takkan want to wipe... Aiyaya
nicregi
post Feb 8 2012, 11:24 PM

4,536 posts

Need to ask you something. How many of you tweak conservative governors to be more.....performance + battery?

Off topic: Guys, I know this will sound a little off topic but beside S2, what other samsung galaxy is good? any idea on s3?

This is because my gf want my s2 (wtf?) and she want to get me iphone (wtf?) yeah sweat.gif

This post has been edited by nicregi: Feb 8 2012, 11:25 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0372sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:38 AM