2012 Honda Civic Malaysian Version Revealed!, Here's how our new civic will look like!

stix
post Jul 11 2012, 03:22 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 11 2012, 03:17 PM)
How many of those who bought the Civic actually did so because it drives better? Are u sure it was 'drivability' that made the 8th gen Civic a success in Malaysia? I doubt so. Malaysians in general dont know what 'drivability' is in the first place. Im not much better myself.  biggrin.gif
quite a bunch actually. alot of civic enthusiasts in malaysia. i was one, back in my high school days biggrin.gif

Added on July 11, 2012, 3:24 pm
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jul 11 2012, 02:32 PM)
I went to the Honda showroom earlier and the salesman actually showed me the new Civics behind their service center.

I have to say, I actually like how the 9th gen look on the exterior, it appeals to me much more than the 8th gen does. The interior looks relatively basic for 1.8L but everything that needs to be there, seems to be there. It still uses key turn ignition and there's no cruise control. Steering wheel looks ergonomic and pleasing to the eyes.

The 1.8Navi version has all the bells and whistles but at the end of the day, is it worth paying so much more? It boils down to how much you like the look of the new Civic to want to pay for it vs the better spec Koreans.

As a personal opinion, I definitely think it looks better than the Elantra and the Forte but would I want to pay the premium for it? That's a different story....
what about the hybrid? does it come with navi? opting a suitable car for my girl. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by stix: Jul 11 2012, 03:24 PM
stix
post Jul 11 2012, 03:33 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Jul 11 2012, 03:30 PM)
guy drive Q7.. girl should drive A1...  hmm.gif hmm.gif
its Q5 and im not the one buying for her. or to be more precise, i don't see why i should buy my girlfriend a car lol.

This post has been edited by stix: Jul 11 2012, 03:34 PM
stix
post Jul 12 2012, 11:29 AM

276 posts

not that bad afterall.

http://www.cbt.com.my/2012/07/10/honda-civ...ng-compact-car/

The Civics interior was widely panned, especially by bloggers and the American media, but as the numbers show, the whole issue about interior plastics is not as important as American motoring journalists and trigger happy bloggers making rash conclusions with no experience in the car make it out to be.

This post has been edited by stix: Jul 12 2012, 11:30 AM
stix
post Jul 12 2012, 04:48 PM

276 posts

the modulo actually looks good. looks like the demise of civic is not possible afterall.

back looks odd with the spoiler though.

This post has been edited by stix: Jul 12 2012, 04:50 PM
stix
post Jul 13 2012, 12:49 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 12 2012, 10:46 PM)
U have a honda in your household till last year very special meh...

I also have a small old Honda until last year lor... nah...
hahaha your sarcasm never fails to amuse me biggrin.gif nice ride btw. brows.gif

This post has been edited by stix: Jul 13 2012, 12:50 AM
stix
post Jul 13 2012, 12:52 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Jul 13 2012, 12:51 AM)
Ermm. That actually is his bike n gadis cerah..
i know lol.
stix
post Jul 13 2012, 01:25 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Jul 13 2012, 01:24 AM)
went to showroom, the SA told me that 2.0 SOHC is the new engine from honda. honda started to focus go green, wan save FC so switch from DOHC to SOHC. what the heck?? i think producing a SOHC engine is much cheaper than DOHC engine. SOHC performance wise will be slightly lose to DOHC at high speed? maybe louder sound of engine?
thats like saying instead of driving a car, you can ride a bike. saves you petrol.
stix
post Jul 13 2012, 02:27 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jul 13 2012, 10:53 AM)
u are right. only in malaysia, the japs held back. in other country, jap car is very very competitive. well, VW is actually challenging toyota for number 1 spot  laugh.gif

imagine, vw group that has audi,lambo,porsche,vw, needs to go all out to fight with uncleish altis, camry  brows.gif

imagine, u need 1.2tsi,1.4tsi, 2.0turbo, 6speed 7speed dsg, to counter uncle  camry altis vios  brows.gif  laugh.gif

yes, toyota is that good  thumbup.gif
hey.. what about polo sedan? how could you miss out that!
stix
post Jul 13 2012, 02:31 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Jul 13 2012, 02:29 PM)
seriously from the rear, it looks like a bigger car.  brows.gif  brows.gif interior is not bad too  thumbup.gif
but.. but.. the quality of the interior is a slap on the face for the buyers. unsure.gif
stix
post Jul 16 2012, 12:10 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jul 15 2012, 09:58 PM)
I'll just upload the spreadsheet later so you all can make corrections, lol.
I made it so my wife and I can compare the features between the makes. In the end, after test driving the new Civic today, she went ahead to book the 1.8s.

Despite the Forte and Elantra being better specced, she was still more comfortable going Japanese.
haha, exactly the situation my girl is facing at the moment, though she is actually picking between hybrid and 1.8 elantra. as much as i love elantra's design, i can't help but to feel civic's level of refinement is better than elantra. the fittings in elantra seems, 'loose' lol but definitely more soft padded materials.
stix
post Jul 16 2012, 01:36 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 16 2012, 01:24 AM)
I say yes to the bolded part. When most people buy a new car they will be dependent on the distributor/manufacturer to service their ride and solve any technical problems with their cars. A gadget-filled car is useless if no one knows how to properly maintain it nor repair it. It should and it must play a critical role when choosing the brand of car to buy.

That said, IMO even T & H has less than stellar customer service in this country. It is a sad state that we have resort to choosing a brand with the least useless aftersales service these days.
I'd second your statement., especially when a car is full of electronics. My dad was pretty against the idea of me getting an audi as they are not exactly famous for their service 'friendliness'. Heck, I have to travel the Penang bridge just to do my annual service lol. I guess it only takes passion or obsession for one to buy cagrs where their service centers are not that well established yet. Take Kia for example. In Penang I think they have a 3s centre but they only service car on selected days rclxub.gif well I might be wrong but that's what I read on the window of the showroom. People bash myvi but the after service and service maintenance is even better than Mercedes in my case lol. My worker says that people from the service centre would always call and follow up post-service. Man, I don't even have that from driving a conti hahaha.

This post has been edited by stix: Jul 16 2012, 01:38 AM
stix
post Jul 16 2012, 03:55 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jul 16 2012, 01:37 PM)
My wife's 1.8s - 2 weeks, 2.0 expected between 3 to 5 weeks can get delivery upon bank loan approval.
wow, that's insanely fast. SA in Penang Sungai Dua Honda said that waiting period is around 3 months, at the very least due to a long queue.
stix
post Jul 16 2012, 09:30 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 16 2012, 09:20 PM)
Yes that was what i was trying to say. It was the brand that sold. But something which the Koreans will need to work hard to establish.
if our car industry was an open market, it would'nt be hard. look at the US, koreans sell remarkably there.

This post has been edited by stix: Jul 16 2012, 09:30 PM
stix
post Jul 17 2012, 11:03 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(cody1508 @ Jul 17 2012, 12:11 AM)
korean marques sell remarkably in the US? do you have any sales figure to back that up? well, no doubt that their sales are improving, but they are still playing catching up in the US market.

for the month of june 2012:

-- The Ford F- series pickup remains king, but the Chevrolet Silverado pickup is back as America’s No. 2 seller in June after being bumped recently by the Toyota Camry. However, the redesigned 2012 Camry leads Silverado through the first six months, 213,903 to 194,508.

-- It’s a sedan traffic jam on June’s best-seller list. Mid-sized and small cars are packed tightly in the sales race. It’s No. 3 Toyota Camry with 32,107 sales followed by Chevrolet Malibu at 31,402 and Honda Accord at 28,924, then No. 7 Honda Civic 27,500, Toyota Corolla 26,647 and No. 9 Ford Fusion at 24,433.

Read more: http://www.autonews.com/article/20120703/R...1#ixzz20nqzurds

so yeah, most of US citizens still prefer the 2012 toyota camry and the 2012 honda civic.
lazy to explain. keyword: hyundai elantra.
stix
post Jul 23 2012, 01:07 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 23 2012, 09:44 AM)
Honda car is always associated with speed and engine power. Honda involve in F1 to develop a better car and more power engine. You see more racer use honda car than others brand. There is more race accessory out there for honda car than others. Well, you don't understand this if you not car fans.

Why no ppl complain about FD2? FD2 and it engine is another best car after long drought from honda. After success in model eg/ek. The FD2 design is much more ahead than others model brand at that time. Even till now. That is why many honda fan bashing this new model. 

But honda is chnaging strategy now. No more power engine. No more F1.

When you don't look into their history, you don't understand the car philosophy. You only know the surface.

I don't understand why woman like to buy a RM40K LV bag.  hmm.gif  He.....
there, you've said it yourself. there are certain things that you can't and never will understand. doesn't mean that honda started as 'spirited driving', all of their cars have to comply to it. ffs, even Lambo has SUV now.
stix
post Jul 23 2012, 04:26 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jul 23 2012, 01:25 PM)
pray that it doesnt end up like the render.

stix
post Aug 3 2012, 01:29 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(civic2012 @ Aug 3 2012, 11:06 AM)
Going for tint tomorrow. Huperoptic.quoted 2300+
For the whole car. Never use this tint before. Anyone care to share?
good stuff, blocks heat efficiently. too light for my liking though.
stix
post Aug 17 2012, 04:10 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(kc_lim @ Aug 17 2012, 03:46 PM)
there you go.......low quality plastic......u should know which brand in M'sia can tell u that
you mean proton? i thought they started using soft touch dashies? though the quality's no different with hard plastics. unsure.gif
stix
post Aug 29 2012, 11:06 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Aug 29 2012, 10:49 AM)
Actually Hybrid sales doing very well right now. Surprisingly according to my wife's SA.
2.0s is selling very hot but they expect the 1.8s to be the volume seller in the next few months instead.
i've seen the hybrid once. built quality and refinement is surprisingly good, even compared to the 1.8 and 2.0 i guess this is where the japan marques pawn the koreans. quality.
stix
post Aug 29 2012, 11:12 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 29 2012, 11:10 AM)
Dangerous statement there bro.

I'm sure you are refering purely to Japan Civic vs Korean Civic right?
what the fish's a korean civic? K5?

0.0224sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:35 AM