Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

totti 10
post Feb 17 2012, 02:20 PM

339 posts

well, about my interview earlier this week, i pretty much spent about 30minutes getting killed and owned by the GM, where he boldly mentioned that I am not adaptable, not flexible, and technical minded ( he is is looking for someone with more commercial minded). Sent a thank you letter the day after the interview, and the HR said will revert to me by Friday(today). But today the HR said still cannot conclude their selection yet. My guess is that, I did bad, but the others did worse. lol

This post has been edited by totti 10: Feb 17 2012, 02:21 PM
totti 10
post Feb 17 2012, 03:31 PM

339 posts

I guess in this case, if they do give me an offer, I am the monkey.
owh well, give me few more years hopefully i can evolve into a human
totti 10
post Feb 20 2012, 01:53 PM

339 posts

got another inerview this thursday for a shipping company as technical superintendant. The company manpower is only 9 ppl, 2 of them are Japanese and the manager that is going to interview is a Jap. Time to look up for Japanese vocabulary related to marine industry
totti 10
post Feb 20 2012, 03:04 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Feb 20 2012, 02:26 PM)
I'm already happy with my S$2.6k per month  rclxms.gif

Added on February 20, 2012, 2:31 pm

1 company 9 ppl ? Technical 'Superintendent' might sounds high position but with 9 ppl total, you might have to play double or triple roles  hmm.gif
I think the position is actually quite high since they are actually willing to fork out S$6k for 5years exp. Although of course i am not gonna be paid as much with my exp, but i think they maybe more interested in my japanese language ability, and of course, I am much cheaper than S$6k biggrin.gif
totti 10
post Feb 20 2012, 03:55 PM

339 posts

EP only takes 1 day to get the IPA.
(max 2 weeks i heard)
totti 10
post Feb 21 2012, 09:10 AM

339 posts

10k is for the normal HDB
12k is for DBSS

if im not mistaken
totti 10
post Feb 22 2012, 03:27 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Walaoeh! @ Feb 22 2012, 02:06 PM)
$15 per online transfer from Maybank SG -> Maybank MY... good only if you are transferring very large amount.

alternatively, you can use Maybank SG ATM card to withdraw cash (RM) in malaysia maybank ATM machine,
then deposit it into your Maybank MY account via the deposit machine.
owh i didnt know that we can do this. ho much do they charge per withdrawal?
can we withdraw money from Maybank MY using Maybank atm in SG too?
totti 10
post Feb 23 2012, 05:40 PM

339 posts

mang went to other interview today

i told the jap my reason of leaving my company is cos my company is relocating to Sembawang and its gonna take me at least 1hour and half on transport alone. Cant relocate cos its gonna cos im gonna lose the deposit money and its gonna cos me a lot.

He asked me why not just stay and travel 1hour and half per trip? its not that bad, and its very common in tokyo.

Japanese.....
totti 10
post Feb 24 2012, 01:07 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Feb 23 2012, 05:49 PM)
^ if that is a singaporean employer
your answer is flawless and for sure score the job thumbup.gif
too bad is a jap thou..   icon_idea.gif
yeah man, if he was a singaporean, i dont even need to say how long do i need to travel from my place to the new office, the word Sembawang or Woodlands is enough to irk them. lol

QUOTE(keeganz @ Feb 23 2012, 05:56 PM)
Hmm. I bet its a tough interview and anyhow, you already face it. All the Best:) Good Luck.
Next time, you could answer. "But Sir, its not common in Singapore.  whistling.gif
Actually i think its not really a good answer cos most japanese employer expect the candidate to be able to adapt japanese culture, of cos especially their working culture. so emphasizing the cultural difference might not be a good idea imo. I just said that i prefer to spend my precious 3 hours a day on something more productive rather than standing in an MRT/bus

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Feb 23 2012, 08:06 PM)
Haha... Stay in JB, work in SG = Japanese...  However, if you stay in SG and travel 1.5hrs, it will be quite a toll.
especially when I am iving in Queenstown(higher rental) and travelling to place like Sembawang. not a really wise thing to do, and most people are doing the other way around

but man... even after 4 years living in Japan, these people never stop to surprise with their rigidity and weird way of thinking shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by totti 10: Feb 24 2012, 01:09 AM
totti 10
post Feb 24 2012, 07:53 PM

339 posts

p1? doesnt matter.
materazzi still spit on your low krass S$8k salary
totti 10
post Feb 25 2012, 12:28 AM

339 posts

so instead of calling it surcharge within *certain time*

more convenience to say, cheaper at *this time*
totti 10
post Feb 28 2012, 05:13 PM

339 posts

long live the king
totti 10
post Mar 1 2012, 10:51 AM

339 posts

stomp is more like
"why ppl never give up the reserved mrt seats"
and of course the most popular fucntion is to bash foreigners, particularly PRC

This post has been edited by totti 10: Mar 1 2012, 10:51 AM
totti 10
post Mar 1 2012, 11:02 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Mar 1 2012, 10:56 AM)

Anyway, no perf bonus nor pay raise for me this year, although I've got my pro-rated 13th month salary. I guess it's fair enough since I started work last September.
man, you case is 100% like me. so basically 0.25 month salary sweat.gif sweat.gif

I am planning to see an AIA agent on 9th March, getting a health insurance.

life insrance maybe next year see how my financial first
totti 10
post Apr 4 2012, 08:48 PM

339 posts

sent out about 200 resumes out ord.
tweaking my resume from time to time oso.
so far only called for 2 interviews.

now starting to engage recruitment agency.
cannot tahan anymore being in my current company.
MD is most likely is being possessed by some evil spirit by the way he is freaking out

This post has been edited by totti 10: Apr 4 2012, 08:48 PM
totti 10
post Apr 10 2012, 07:08 AM

339 posts

pinoy is for boys
pinay is for girls
unless you really mean what you wrote
totti 10
post May 9 2012, 02:29 PM

339 posts

okay just got called by swiber for an interview
field engineer position
who was it that is working with swiber again?
heavenhell am i right?

got any tips? =)
totti 10
post May 15 2012, 05:41 PM

339 posts

jus got back from interview with swiber.
i think the interview went very well n really hope can get the job
dam no spirit to go to work tomorrow.
if dont get this job i might be suicidal. lol
totti 10
post May 15 2012, 05:47 PM

339 posts

Thanks man!

well the PRC is marrie, and the passenger is a lady, and not his wife. at 4am in the morning.
safe bet would be on mistress
totti 10
post May 16 2012, 11:18 AM

339 posts

any of you applied EP recently? did it takes you guys like a week to get IPA? mine last year was only 1 day.

0.0200sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:01 PM