Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

cute_boboi
post Feb 27 2012, 05:52 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 27 2012, 04:48 PM)
If you're in the finance line, time to find a new job! Because banks like  HSBC will have $22billion profit and yet cut 30,000 jobs smile.gif
DBS anjua ? rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Feb 29 2012, 07:05 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Feb 29 2012, 06:51 PM)
And read chinese news paper in SG,similar with HK apple daily style, nothing big news but just gossip and realize that alot SG young lady easily cheated by  guys....not handsome 1 and no money also....
SG is small, hence very small news also will get published, like the Remy Ong hit-and-run a dog ...

cute_boboi
post Mar 2 2012, 05:57 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Mar 2 2012, 05:13 PM)
Just curious, do we need to apply for Visa if we travel to Spain for a month on business trip?
Malaysians no need visa to enter Spain. Business/Tourist also 90 days.

Madrid ? Barcelona ? Valencia ?

cute_boboi
post Mar 2 2012, 06:22 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Mar 2 2012, 06:14 PM)
Barcelona... but i doubt there will be time to do anything other than facing the PC.  Sigh....
If you are going to stay 1 month there, you should have time to walk around. Forgot the names spelling,
Park Guelle, Sagrada Familia temple, I think there is a bull fighting ring also (not used anymore?).
If got full day, try to goto Montserrat by train. They have some funny buildings also with tiles and books, etc.
MNG and Mango there are like Giordano/Baleno here, everywhere also have shops.
That's all I recall now.

If got > 2D time, take overnight train/bus to Zaragoza, Madrid, Valencia.

OOT already tongue.gif Working in Spain

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Mar 2 2012, 06:23 PM
cute_boboi
post Mar 6 2012, 11:32 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Mar 6 2012, 11:24 AM)
Those over 30 in sg and no gf/bf.. go karaoke la.. lol.

There are lots of fellow malaysians here playing badminton (majority are malaysians; must blame Lee Chong Wei jor...). Try to join some social games and those people will give you a new life. Lots of people welcoming others in Badminton Central website.

It's an excuse to say 'no life'. lol. wink.gif
OOT - What's the monthly rate like to play badminton in SG for season ? (inclusive court & shuttlecocks) hmm.gif
I'll assume max 6-8 players per court for 2-2.5 hours session, so that the players do not wait/sit too long. Or can play continuous.

cute_boboi
post Mar 7 2012, 06:00 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ Mar 7 2012, 01:19 PM)
hi guys,Anyone work in Singapore frequently travel back to KL during weekend?
1)what are the best economic transport that can be use?

1 month i maybe travel 2 or 3 times back to KL. 
Air asia is quite expensive.....no more as cheap price already.....

Any one can share your experience?
Bus. Depends on your preference and safety acceptance.

Here's what I did every weekend once upon a time ago.

Kranji MRT, take SBS 170 all the way to Larkin. I'm nearby at Woodlands, Sembawang, Admiralty area ... so easy and near for me.
(you can take the Causeway bus, cheaper, but I like to use EZLink)
If you are from CBD... jialat liao rclxub.gif

Larkin, take no-frill express bus (normal VIP seat, not those double decker or VVVVVVVVVIP seat)
RM30+ only. Bring own water bottle and bread/snacks. Coz buy at Larkin/mid-way are expensive by 20-80 cents or more tongue.gif

If take bus from B!tch Beach Road, SGD30-40+ for normal VIP seat.

If you are slightly richer, go take the double-decker or fancy ones like Aeroline, First-coach, Odessey, etc.

This takes into account your familiarity with causeway peak/jam hours, etc. and your willingness to WALK across the causeway when it is fully jammed up. Been there, done that. rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Mar 8 2012, 04:16 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Mar 7 2012, 10:12 PM)
First-coach FYI ROUND trip is at SGD55....
YOU EITHER PAY WITH TIME OR PAY WITH MONEY....can't escape it
SGD55 x 2.4 = RM132

Larkin-KL round trip ... 2x ~RM35 = RM70 only rolleyes.gif for those who are kiamsiap
Even add in SBS 170 & Kranji MRT ... another RM10-20 only.

QUOTE(walanneh @ Mar 8 2012, 09:05 AM)
Hi cute_boboi, when are we allowed to walk across the causeway?

I enquired with the guard once and was told it wasn't allowed.

If it was allowed, that would cut my evening Friday trips back to Larkin considerably.
I'm not sure about current latest rules.
Last time it is possible. Once a fellow start to walk, droves of people will follow, rather than stand inside the bus for 20-30 min stuck in jam. Or if the 170 queue gets very long (I'm sure you've seen it snake for 100-200 metres).
If walk briskly, just 10-15 minute walk only, provided the person is not a whiner or couch junkies or puteri lilin who don't exercise.

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Mar 8 2012, 09:06 AM)
^before the new malaysia kastam, is common people just walk across  cool2.gif
ah... yes. Correct. Nowadays not feasible to walk already tongue.gif

Last time I cross and sometimes walk to Kotaraya / Jln Wong Ah Fook to buy some stuff before take bus to Larkin.

cute_boboi
post Mar 8 2012, 04:43 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(chanti-sama @ Mar 8 2012, 04:17 PM)
there must be a firstcoach fan club somewhere... i suspect the bulk of their biz is coming from folks shutting back n forth kl-sg.

i bump into more single wimmen riding on firstcoach than aeroline. Think now got higher frequency and more stops in kl/pj/bu/subang.
the grouse is -
1. movies didnt change... i sit 1 year watched all movies adi
2. sometimes bad bus.. vod kong, wah~~ 5hrs damn boring
I tried first-coach several times before for novena-bangsar.
These VVVVVVVIP got some extra like 1 bottle of mineral water and snack like bread/nasi lemak.
Sometimes (not every time) they give me headset, but no sound. Movies also cannot see due to bus shaking/vibrating due to highway/road condition. Also, the morning/evening sun shine/glare... even close curtain also the brightness/contrast still not good. It is worse than watching movies on flight. After watch <15 minutes, I switch off and either sleep or read newspaper.

For those extras, I don't feel like worth it. Still prefer no-frill bus.

cute_boboi
post Mar 26 2012, 04:05 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 26 2012, 03:23 PM)
ICIC..that means if the first company to apply for this does not cancel the application the 2nd company would never be able to get EP for me and I will not be able to work for 2nd company. Right? mad.gif

That really is a problem. Can't do anything at this point...just hope it doesn't turn up this way  nod.gif
"A bird in hand is better than two in the bush" rolleyes.gif

My advise is take the first job. Settle down first, then only look for other jobs if this one does not go well.

If you screw up A and B can't get the EP for you, then you will still be jobless in SG.

cute_boboi
post Mar 26 2012, 05:21 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 26 2012, 05:08 PM)
Perhaps you are right...but really there is a very good reason I am still waiting for another offer.

When they were interviewing me last week... the promised pay was amount X but then today they called me say want to hire me but the amount is X-200. When I questioned them they said that is the best offer they could make...
whereas last week they told me they will be able to offer X or more....

OK all the above are just verbal...I have no idea what will happen to the offer letter that will be issued by them
That's why I really feel like there would be more unwanted surprises that will come to me if I work there

As for the other company, I feel like they hold on to their words, both HR and hiring manager told me the same kind of compensation packages. Which I think is they are more ethical in a way. It's just that their process is slower and I have to wait here worrying rclxub.gif
If A verbal promise X. But OL shows X-200, and you waiting for B, why not just tell A that you don't accept their offer ?
So, when B comes along, you take whatever they offer, even if it is X-300 ?
Or worse, B does not offer you.

Now you see the point of bird in hand vs two in the bush ?

cute_boboi
post Mar 26 2012, 05:29 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 26 2012, 05:26 PM)
Actually A has not issued any offer letter yet. It's just that verbally over the phone it is X-200

As I mentioned on earlier post both still do not have any black and white at this point.
it's just that A took the first step to tell me they would like to take me..

I'm just hoping that B will issue an offer letter soon (with no surprises of MINUS sign) then I can take B's offer

I get your point cute_boboi, I know I am in no position to choose right now since I am unemployed. I'll see what comes for the next 2-3 days.
The unemployed is 2nd point.
Your main point is to enter SG and work there with valid EP.
That will help a lot in your upcoming job search, instead of stay/work in MY, without any SG working permit.

cute_boboi
post Mar 30 2012, 06:25 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Source
Due to her injury, she also has to stay home to rest for 10 days, and stands to lose a thousand dollars for everyday she does not work.

shocking.gif What kind of beautician job is that ? Owner ? If owner, already hired staff to take care shop, won't lose a thousand dollars everyday.
If work 22 days (Mon-Fri) a month, that's SGD22k/month whistling.gif

cute_boboi
post Apr 2 2012, 12:24 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ptit @ Mar 30 2012, 07:08 PM)
1 customer tip $200 special treatment...everyday 4-5 customer...thousand wor...
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 31 2012, 11:38 AM)
maybe is those that provide extra service  brows.gif  sgd 100 for 45 mins type?  drool.gif
tongue.gif rolleyes.gif
Must be. That's why so tired must sit down in MRT laugh.gif

cute_boboi
post May 3 2012, 06:35 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ May 3 2012, 02:27 PM)
I am one of those that travel to KL almost weekly during the weekends. I normally return by taking Nice Executive Coach around midnight on Sunday arriving around 5.30 in Singapore, stopping at Mackenzie Road (near Little India MRT). From there I take the first 980 bus which takes me directly back to Sembawang where I stay and work. However in June, Nice Coach is shifting to The Plaza on Beach Road, which is much further down and there is no direct bus.

Does anyone here knows which bus companies that use the Causeway and stops somewhere around Marsiling or Woodlands, from there its only a short distance to Sembawang. From my search online, Konsortium have a midnight bus that uses the Causeway. Has anyone used this before and where does the bus stop after immigration in Singapore?

Thanking all in advance.
I use Sri Maju from KL-SG. Use Causeway.
But I normally drop off after Woodlands Immigration (SingSeong), and don't proceed to Beach road.
I either take bus, or 170 to Kranji MRT.
Much faster rather than stop at Beach road and come up north again.
Not sure got midnight bus or not.

cute_boboi
post May 11 2012, 05:59 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ May 11 2012, 05:44 PM)
rm6 chicken rice ! ! omg ... notworthy.gif
the chicken imported wan is it ?

rm3.50 at the stall near tmn daya  brows.gif
sgd2.50 for stall at woodlands....

u sure ? that's like day light robeeri to the max. ! mad.gif
Wisma Central next to KLCC, if you know what and where it is. Still can consider as aircond restaurant, since the old building is air-conditioned laugh.gif

Roast chicken rice = RM4.50
siew yuk rice = RM5.50

Unless you mean those famous ones at Jalan Alor or Pudu there, RM6-7 (minimum) for char-siew rice.
Pudu famouse siew yuk rice (they give you the entire thin-slice about 20cm long) costs around RM15 (forgot exact price).

dollar-to-dollar, SG food is cheap. I still remember eating lunch nasi lemak at Tg. Pagar market/food court at <SGD3, with small fried chicken/nugget, acar, otak-otak, etc. Not that tasty (according to M'sia standard), but tasty enough for SG standard, although long queue, but consider cheap lah.

0.0560sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:09 PM