Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

seantang
post Apr 26 2012, 11:37 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 26 2012, 11:09 AM)
I'm also confused on those minimum requirement set by banks. Shouldn't it be regulate by the central bank, like the MAS ?
MAS sets a minimum income requirements for Singaporeans and foreigners to obtain credit cards from Singapore registered banks. I think it's something like $30K or 36K per annum.

But many banks have higher end cards with higher income requirements to segment the market and filter out the customer base their want. This Premiermiles card seems to be one of them. Many Platinum cards have $48K requirement instead of the minimum $30K.

I heard those cards with atas names like INFINITE, ULTIMATE, ULTIMA etc have $250K income requirement.

seantang
post Apr 26 2012, 11:40 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 26 2012, 11:28 AM)
Maybe but few of my colleagues have the card and their salary nowhere close to that.
Could be subsidiary cards. Or they already have a home loan etc with the bank. Or they may have other income you don't know about. Or they simply didn't tell you their real salary. I have never told anyone besides my parents my real salary in my entire life.
seantang
post Apr 26 2012, 05:35 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Apr 26 2012, 01:58 PM)
No leh. I got Citi premier miles but my total pay is nowhere near S$80k p.a.
You hansem kua?

seantang
post Apr 29 2012, 06:28 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Alvis1988sun @ Apr 29 2012, 04:07 PM)
Doesnt if this apply to Big5 like BDO?

Big 5? Still 4 lah.

You're right about the 2.8 though. The Deloittes auditors auditing my company this year told me the same thing. Not sure about BDO though. They don't get the same kind of big fee clients that the Big4 do.
seantang
post May 3 2012, 11:04 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ May 3 2012, 10:55 AM)
Now still got war meh? drool.gif
Against Singapore... it won't be a simple war. It will be a 'jihad' or for "maruah" or "kedaulatan" or "pasir (tanahair)" or some other ridiculous war-mongering notion like that etc.

QUOTE(extremepower)
Now days they got nuke. Who dare to invade?  vmad.gif
Singapore got nuke?

And by the way, if you nuke your next door neighbour, you nuke yourself with the fallout. That's why Nth Korea's missiles are not pointed at Seoul, but rather Tokyo.

This post has been edited by seantang: May 3 2012, 11:05 AM
seantang
post May 3 2012, 08:16 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ May 3 2012, 02:27 PM)
Does anyone here knows which bus companies that use the Causeway and stops somewhere around Marsiling or Woodlands, from there its only a short distance to Sembawang. From my search online, Konsortium have a midnight bus that uses the Causeway. Has anyone used this before and where does the bus stop after immigration in Singapore?

Thanking all in advance.

If the bus crosses the Causeway at Woodlands (as opposed to 2nd Link), you can simply not reboard the bus after going through the Singapore side of Woodlands checkpoint. From Woodlands checkpoint you can take a taxi from the taxi stand or if you arrive during normal hours, you can take a bus from the bus stop.

When I was still taking the overnight bus from Ipoh, I would tell the bus driver I won't reboard at Woodlands. And then I just take a taxi home. Better than wasting another 30m going to Beach Road.

This post has been edited by seantang: May 3 2012, 08:18 PM
seantang
post May 4 2012, 09:01 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ May 4 2012, 03:48 PM)
So, SGS3 announced... stupid design phone anyway.

I wonder when will Singtel bring this in? My contract expired yesterday liao.

Why you want to buy stupid design phone?
seantang
post May 7 2012, 05:50 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 7 2012, 02:47 PM)
If you give up your PR, and if you are West Malaysian, you still can't (immediately) get your CPF back, still have to wait til 50-55: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/my-cpf/Overseas/LivO9.htm
Same as EPF.

So just think of CPF as your EPF. Why must one insist on withdrawing CPF (which is well managed) but have no qualms about keeping money in EPF (which has no assets left and is basically running on simple cashflow ie. as long contributions > withdrawals, nobody is the wiser).

seantang
post May 9 2012, 11:52 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 9 2012, 11:37 PM)
not every1 gets called back.. coy pays salary n gov pays coy back.. usually only those with low salary gets called back
My bunch of citizen colleagues whose salaries range from 10~20K get called for reservist duty every year, without fail.

This post has been edited by seantang: May 9 2012, 11:53 PM
seantang
post May 10 2012, 08:44 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 10 2012, 12:15 AM)
officers?  hmm.gif
None of them officers. Because officers serve more years of reservist duty compared to enlisted men. All if them made it a point to act blur during the early years so that they were not identified for officer training.

This post has been edited by seantang: May 10 2012, 08:46 AM
seantang
post May 10 2012, 08:51 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ May 10 2012, 06:34 PM)
If owned a home, how to relocate? I think better marry someone to make ur day so colorful

You're still here? I thought you emigrated to Indonesia already.

Why cannot relocate? Just rent out the place and keep for investment.
seantang
post May 11 2012, 05:38 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ May 10 2012, 06:20 PM)
I see nowadays salary also not bad in KL too (on the salary thread here), 5 years exp can achieve RM8K to RM10K
And you believe the people who post in that thread?

And even assuming they were telling the truth, you believe that is the norm or even common?

seantang
post May 12 2012, 03:32 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ntick @ May 11 2012, 06:20 PM)
Does any one know how to block ourself not going into casino?

I come 2 sg 2 months already, but almost loose all the money...
Maybe because in sg no friends......and life is boring...enter casino just duno where to spend time in weekend...

I loose more than 5k SGD within 2 month......2 month working effort donate to casino already...

I dont know why will be like that , everytime when i enter casino, i just want get back initial capital but keeping loose again and again......
the most biggest bet i place is 2k.That time i place BIG but it come out "wei sick"

Really regret...because 5k+ i can paid half year rental already (700 per month).When i was in casino..., having said that , the chip that i hold , i could not feeel it was a money.When i come out, i was know that...it is a money.

Just want to ask how you all spend time in SG?
Anyone experince b4, how you all overcome it....

Only one piece of advice for anyone who has any sort of self harming addition.

STOP IT.

Delete all the stuff loneliness lah, nothing to do but go casino lah, don't know why like that lah, wanting to be stopped from going to the casino etc... STOP IT. Don't blame anything but yourself. You have to take responsibility for your own actions and the consequences of your actions.

It's a matter of self control. Self discipline. If you don't have it... make up your mind to GET IT.

That's the ONLY way to stop your addiction. Putting the blame, the onus, the motivation, the accountability, the control in the hands of ANYONE ELSE but you is a self defeating effort.

In the words of Russell Peters... Grow up. Be a man.
seantang
post May 13 2012, 10:43 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 13 2012, 10:20 PM)
just drive in, as long as your road tax is valid then Ok liao. make sure you got touch n go card with money.

when u pass the singkapo immigration, tell them u got no autopass card. immediately after u pass immigration then park at the side and go buy the autopass card. they will just go and look at your road tax disc before issuing the card.

if u coming in on weekday, u will need to pay $20 per day (+$5 if u go through any ERP gantry). all this $$ is paid upon exit from singapore through your autopass card so while you are here u need to reload at 7-11.
Deo, about the ERP bit, do Malaysian cars need to get the IU as well as the Autopass card? Otherwise, how do they know you gone through a gantry?

seantang
post May 14 2012, 11:15 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 14 2012, 09:52 AM)
2. You can't withdraw ca$h from your cpf before 55. Even then, you couldn't withdraw all the amount if i remember correctly, PR or no PR. The only way ? Give up your Malaysia citizen, take Aussie or UK or other country citizenship.
Or get an East Malaysian IC. Only West Malaysians are restricted by CPF.

seantang
post May 14 2012, 11:30 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 14 2012, 11:15 PM)
hotters?  hmm.gif  the beer place?  sweat.gif  haram la brother... i am muslim cannot go to those place 1  nod.gif  i think u got the wrong person  doh.gif
Haram, yes. Cannot go, yes. But still go, yes.

seantang
post May 15 2012, 02:06 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(shoograd @ May 7 2012, 12:30 AM)
Hey guys, my company has an open position for graduate design engineers. Anyone who is interested please PM me for more details.
QUOTE(wquan @ May 15 2012, 01:39 PM)
i m interested, izit still available? tell me more details if yes, thank u  biggrin.gif
You're probably not going to get a job if you can't even follow instructions.

This post has been edited by seantang: May 15 2012, 02:07 PM
seantang
post May 15 2012, 05:49 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ May 15 2012, 05:47 PM)
Thanks man!

well the PRC is marrie, and the passenger is a lady, and not his wife. at 4am in the morning.
safe bet would be on mistress

If I were 31 and can afford a Ferrari... there'd be many more than just one.
seantang
post May 15 2012, 07:17 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 15 2012, 06:40 PM)
i won't be taking a mistress and risk losing a big chunk of my assets later when things turn nasty  biggrin.gif
Don't worry... Singapore doesn't recognise de facto marriages. Only legally registered wives can get their claws into your assets thumbup.gif

seantang
post May 15 2012, 10:17 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 15 2012, 09:51 PM)
no go...  doh.gif  why u say i go.. dont insult other ppl's religion ok...
I insult you what... not your religion.

Now your logic betul betul bunyi macam UMNO and Perkasa. Insult you = insult god. The Pope also don't have such a direct hotline to god.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0475sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:59 AM