QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 5 2012, 10:30 PM)
the statistic is not really that high if you considering that every day there are ten of thousands of bikes crossing the border each day.
Compare to those who take bus and train?Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting
Mar 5 2012, 10:38 PM
1,305 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
Mar 5 2012, 10:44 PM
2,017 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(extremepower @ Mar 5 2012, 09:09 PM) of course jb depends on how alert is the rider, if u are experience enough, shouldn't be an issue. i ride for more than 7 years edi. never been knock by a car before, reason being i horn them when i feel they wanna change lane... need to alert others because bikers need to know that cars have blind spot, don't care whether they wanna change lane or not, horn 1st. if the driver beh song, he only can horn back. he won't knock u down purposely 1. that can safe u from a lot of accident.anywhere will do never use motorcycle. I got a friend died from accident. Life is not cheap. Just an advice. QUOTE(ch_teo @ Mar 5 2012, 09:25 PM) last week there is a case at TPE, today another case as well. but i think is those bikers ride too fast between cars and the car suddenly change lane knock them down 1. that's why i say back to my 1st point, horn the cars when u see there is movement on their wheel. horn them as well if they stick too near to the middle lane. coz if a fight really break out, no worries, u sure win coz if the car driver really dare to come and whack u, the bikers behind u definitely go and bash them gao gao... bikers are very unite in another words doesn't car what race u are.... real 1 Malaysia spirit.....» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(PepsiCo @ Mar 5 2012, 10:30 PM) the statistic is not really that high if you considering that every day there are ten of thousands of bikes crossing the border each day. 1 day, i think more than 50k bikes entering and only that few accident. not to mention the bike that got into accident might be a Singaporean with a Singapore bike. so not a big deal as long as you are careful enough.Added on March 5, 2012, 10:47 pm QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 5 2012, 10:38 PM) if u so kiasi, just stay in Singapore. u might get rob in JB as well. also Malaysia construction tend to be very fragile, who know 1 day the kastam building collapse and u were buried inside... just stay home and don't go out.... that's the safest.... oh wait.... your house might collapse also...... better hide in a underground bunker and don't go out...This post has been edited by Lester1987: Mar 5 2012, 10:47 PM |
Mar 5 2012, 10:59 PM
545 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: SG & KL |
Thats why theres a word called 'accident'. Just jaga-jaga.
When I was in Malaysia I also had an accident. The blady car cannot decide and agak agak... I was having my right of way. Riding slowly and yet he pressed the wrong pedal, causing me to langar him and fractured my arm. Felt like banging him on the spot. Got concussion. Sued him. You never know what can happen even though you are careful or slow enough. You horn the front and the back may cucuk you. |
Mar 5 2012, 11:10 PM
809 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:44 PM) 1 day, i think more than 50k bikes entering and only that few accident . not to mention the bike that got into accident might be a Singaporean with a Singapore bike. so not a big deal as long as you are careful enough. "However, what local residents most want is the creation of a rapid transit system link between Johor Baru and Singapore as close to 100,000 Malaysians commute daily between both destinations to work and study.""Between 30,000 and 40,000 people in Johor commute to and from the island nation daily." "It is estimated that 150,000 Malaysians are working in Singapore. Of this, about 41,000 are commuting daily (mostly from areas within SJER)." This post has been edited by ch_teo: Mar 5 2012, 11:17 PM |
Mar 5 2012, 11:19 PM
1,305 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:44 PM) depends on how alert is the rider, if u are experience enough, shouldn't be an issue. i ride for more than 7 years edi. never been knock by a car before, reason being i horn them when i feel they wanna change lane... need to alert others because bikers need to know that cars have blind spot, don't care whether they wanna change lane or not, horn 1st. if the driver beh song, he only can horn back. he won't knock u down purposely 1. that can safe u from a lot of accident. I know you ride bike. last week there is a case at TPE, today another case as well. but i think is those bikers ride too fast between cars and the car suddenly change lane knock them down 1. that's why i say back to my 1st point, horn the cars when u see there is movement on their wheel. horn them as well if they stick too near to the middle lane. coz if a fight really break out, no worries, u sure win coz if the car driver really dare to come and whack u, the bikers behind u definitely go and bash them gao gao... bikers are very unite in another words doesn't car what race u are.... real 1 Malaysia spirit..... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 1 day, i think more than 50k bikes entering and only that few accident. not to mention the bike that got into accident might be a Singaporean with a Singapore bike. so not a big deal as long as you are careful enough. Added on March 5, 2012, 10:47 pm if u so kiasi, just stay in Singapore. u might get rob in JB as well. also Malaysia construction tend to be very fragile, who know 1 day the kastam building collapse and u were buried inside... just stay home and don't go out.... that's the safest.... oh wait.... your house might collapse also...... better hide in a underground bunker and don't go out... Few case over 50k vs rare case over 100k bus passenger. It is simply math, whether you kiasi or not. Given the number of cases on one hand then stated that it is low risk is plain lying to the unknowing newbies. My ex-supervisor die on 2link leaving behind young wife and children. Tell the widow bike is safe but is just bad luck? Whatever you say, I wish all have safe journey. But when shit happen, the one who give wrong advice will get it. Face it, biker takes higher Risk for cheaper transport cost. In life when there is no other option then ride the bike safely. When there are safer options available, I will never advise people with dependant to ride bike in out sg on daily basis. << that's my message. If you are single and no dependent, you are free to take what ever risk you like. This post has been edited by r1v3r: Mar 5 2012, 11:40 PM |
Mar 6 2012, 12:03 AM
337 posts Joined: Sep 2011 From: Christmas Island |
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 5 2012, 11:19 PM) I know you ride bike. think you got him wrong. He's actually right in saying the odds are low based on statistic BUT the risk are high. No matter what precaution one takes, it's still dangerous to ride bike. That's the fact.Few case over 50k vs rare case over 100k bus passenger. It is simply math, whether you kiasi or not. Given the number of cases on one hand then stated that it is low risk is plain lying to the unknowing newbies. My ex-supervisor die on 2link leaving behind young wife and children. Tell the widow bike is safe but is just bad luck? Whatever you say, I wish all have safe journey. But when shit happen, the one who give wrong advice will get it. Face it, biker takes higher Risk for cheaper transport cost. In life when there is no other option then ride the bike safely. When there are safer options available, I will never advise people with dependant to ride bike in out sg on daily basis. << that's my message. If you are single and no dependent, you are free to take what ever risk you like. Added on March 6, 2012, 12:06 am QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:44 PM) depends on how alert is the rider, if u are experience enough, shouldn't be an issue. have this mentality and you'll be in serious sh|t in no time.» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Added on March 6, 2012, 12:10 am QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 5 2012, 10:44 PM) there was a case at causeway, a car trying to slit through a group of bikes, there is this 1 bike blocking the car lane, the car horn him and the bike doesn't give a damn, the driver go bang him and slowly push him to move, the biker gone and and knock his glass (not smash, just knock and scold him apa mau? wan fight come out...) when all the other bike behind start banging that fellow's car until he don't dare to come out. that's how unite we are even its the bikers fault to block the car lane. i think it's an irony that the biker's balls shrink when they enter Sg coz i've never see or experience this kinda cowboy behaviour in Sg road ? This post has been edited by PepsiCo: Mar 6 2012, 12:10 AM |
Mar 6 2012, 12:41 AM
13 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
thank you very2 much for all the advice; pepsico, r1v3r, Lester1987, extremepower and everyone else for the advice.. i'll definitely buy you guys drinks if we ever meet..
so, i'll stay in jb then.. thanks again!! |
Mar 6 2012, 01:37 AM
204 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 4 2012, 09:38 PM) i heard he stays near yew tee, known as 2nd bangla town... yew tee mrt lorQUOTE(Jurlique @ Mar 4 2012, 11:38 PM) Damn lo, all my frens here in SG... work, work, work, day and night... no time to find GF and almost reaching 30 yrs. sounds like me QUOTE(MPIK @ Mar 5 2012, 03:27 PM) Pilot 25 yrs old earning US$10,000.... OK not easy being a pilot u know.. after age 50 might be made redundant, a lot of risk involved and travelling is nvr easyIn contrast, for an Accountant or Engineer to earn US$10,000 a month, you need to have 10-13 yrs of experience. On top of that, you still cant shake leg like the pilots inside the cockpit once you press the auto-pilot. Cant work with pretty stewardess Cant travel around the world Cant own a BMW at age of 25... QUOTE(singaporestreet @ Mar 6 2012, 12:41 AM) thank you very2 much for all the advice; pepsico, r1v3r, Lester1987, extremepower and everyone else for the advice.. i'll definitely buy you guys drinks if we ever meet.. to stay in jb i hear u need to pay levy to the king there...so, i'll stay in jb then.. thanks again!! |
Mar 6 2012, 08:59 AM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(singaporestreet @ Mar 6 2012, 12:41 AM) thank you very2 much for all the advice; pepsico, r1v3r, Lester1987, extremepower and everyone else for the advice.. i'll definitely buy you guys drinks if we ever meet.. gathering thread is here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1889740 ... it's all up to you whether you want to meet them |
Mar 6 2012, 09:41 AM
1,424 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Regarding the motorcycle issue.
Odds are low, but risk is high...this is a fact. The odds should not be taken into your consideration...the risk is the one you should be concerned. Odds for winning the jackpot in 4D or TOTO or lottery is very small, but still a lot of people buy them. You just need to be unlucky once on the road and that might be the end of story. You can be alert and careful all you want but for an accident to happen, you as the driver is only one of the many variables. That is the reason r1v3r wants to point out. Everyone have their reasoning, no need to get ticked off. |
Mar 6 2012, 10:03 AM
110 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
take bus better lar, can see many beautyfull girl and wash eye. ride motorbike only see road and car. drive car also only see road and motorbike.
Mar 6 2012, 11:10 AM
2,110 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
mention this before
there is a reason why the workmen comp insurance exclude motorcycle in most companies if your company have history from similiar claim, most probably the insurance co already excluding this in their program, motorcycling is the main reason of such poor claim http://www.mom.gov.sg/legislation/occupati...qs.aspx#changes http://www.lawsociety.org.sg/public/you_an...mpensation.aspx |
Mar 6 2012, 11:24 AM
Those over 30 in sg and no gf/bf.. go karaoke la.. lol.
There are lots of fellow malaysians here playing badminton (majority are malaysians; must blame Lee Chong Wei jor...). Try to join some social games and those people will give you a new life. Lots of people welcoming others in Badminton Central website. It's an excuse to say 'no life'. lol. |
Mar 6 2012, 11:27 AM
knowing the stats and having a brother who ride a bike
what can i do then to ask him to buy more coverage for himself for the sake of his family |
Mar 6 2012, 11:32 AM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
QUOTE(extremepower @ Mar 6 2012, 11:24 AM) Those over 30 in sg and no gf/bf.. go karaoke la.. lol. OOT - What's the monthly rate like to play badminton in SG for season ? (inclusive court & shuttlecocks) There are lots of fellow malaysians here playing badminton (majority are malaysians; must blame Lee Chong Wei jor...). Try to join some social games and those people will give you a new life. Lots of people welcoming others in Badminton Central website. It's an excuse to say 'no life'. lol. I'll assume max 6-8 players per court for 2-2.5 hours session, so that the players do not wait/sit too long. Or can play continuous. |
Mar 6 2012, 11:43 AM
ah chai...
For badminton social games in Singapore, most will charge around $5-6-7-8 depending on the shuttles they use. My group (I am not the captain), they charge only $6 for 7.30-9.30 at Chong Pang CC Tuesday but with 3 courts some more. Very cheap already considering 3 courts and they are using 'freakin' high end lining shuttles which cost $39sgd a tube. But, have to brush up a bit on your game so that people will not kutuk you as a newbie. Also, need to be thick skin a bit. Try to be a little serious when you play and aim for improvement, then people will not get pissed off. Again, some people are discriminatory on newbies. Some guys what to have a good hit after a stressful job and also maybe releasing some frustration because their wife.... lol. Let me know who discriminates your, I hantam them kuat kuat.. there are many places in singapore for social games. Look at the singapore thread in badminton central. Some are so crazy that they play at Institute of Mental Health. True la... Hope it helps. |
Mar 6 2012, 11:45 AM
2012 World's Most Admired Companies
http://money.cnn.com/magazines/fortune/mos...?iid=splwinners is still Apple http://paultan.org/2012/03/06/rendering-pr...olkswagen-polo/ proton sago |
Mar 6 2012, 11:46 AM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Wah COE price just hit $57k (<1600cc) and $78k (>1600cc).
@extreme ... best best is to go look for a group on badminton central? |
Mar 6 2012, 01:05 PM
337 posts Joined: Sep 2011 From: Christmas Island |
Mar 6 2012, 01:15 PM
1,424 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 6 2012, 11:46 AM) Wah COE price just hit $57k (<1600cc) and $78k (>1600cc). badminton central has LOTS of group@extreme ... best best is to go look for a group on badminton central? u find the group which fits ur standard. you can go "Scout" or join them out once and see if u may click with the group or not if dun click, just find another one. anyway, there is a lot of groups in sg based on different interest...like board games google will help. |
| Change to: | 0.0272sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:27 PM |