PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB V19, Saga FLX SE 1.6 -> PRESSURE YOUR PEERS

peet
post Feb 4 2012, 09:33 PM

397 posts

Okay, here's my latest report.

Finally managed to send my car in for 5K servicing after all the holidays etc. Sent in to Platinum watever at Mutiara D'sara.

11am: Arrived there at appointed time.
11.30am: Someone finally came to entertain me. I complained that engine idling sometimes like dying off. Also asked for CVT upgrade.
4pm: Car finally ready. Did the routine servicing. Said they did the tuning but found nothing wrong (I did find the car has less jerking when I drove off). Also they ran out of stocks for CVT so they didn't upgrade. Will call me when they have stocks. I also requested for "no engine treatment oil" so my bill came to less than RM130.

In my mind, wow, 4 hrs wait for routine servicing...hmm.gif
peet
post Feb 14 2012, 12:09 PM

397 posts

The FLX suspension is actually better, more firm and u get a solid feel when going over bumps, a bit like european cars. U get less of that "floating" feel.

QUOTE(sg999 @ Feb 14 2012, 10:12 AM)
if comfort just go for blm/fl
the stiffness has increased for flx
very jumpy liao
peet
post Feb 14 2012, 03:31 PM

397 posts

In my previous car, I changed from stock Yokohama tyres to Dunlop (imported version) and road noise was drastically reduced.

But do bear in mind that most tyre brands offer different models for:
- comfort (meaning quiet but not so good for speed)
- speed (but gives harsh ride and not so gd for comfort) etc
So choose for whatever is your priority. Dun think there is a tyre model that suits all conditions and if they say have, it's advertising gimmick.

Other ways to cut down road noise is of course, sound proofing.

QUOTE(cuteyman @ Feb 14 2012, 01:53 PM)
hi,
currently i used michelin xm2 for my 14" tires.
turns out it produce alot of noise and its bugging me.
have to turn on radio volume more when i speeding.
any solution or suggestion to reduce the noise?
peet
post Feb 19 2012, 08:39 PM

397 posts

Here's my latest report:
Car: FLX1.3A
Age: 6 mths. Just past 5K service, no upgrade of CVT cos SC say ran out of stock.
Current condition: Start to hear rattling sound on left and right front doors.

Side note: A few friends said my choice of elegant brown very "uncle." Now I have 2nd thoughts....hmm! hmm.gif

peet
post Feb 20 2012, 01:30 AM

397 posts

Wow, so much for driving Proton with confidence. Nowadays when I drive long-distance I always ask myself where I can swerve to when engine stall. sweat.gif

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Feb 19 2012, 09:53 PM)

any comment on this? my friend in Proton Quality department said, happened also for CVT model but early model (last year).

(^__^)
peet
post Feb 21 2012, 07:32 PM

397 posts

I even forgot it's there. No, never use it.
QUOTE(Granite @ Feb 20 2012, 10:40 AM)
Just asking... The SAT switch...

Do you guys really use it?  hmm.gif

or is it just a gimmick  sweat.gif
Why buy new car and change so many things? I suggest that u just go for Volvo S40. Your wife will love u more and your kid when come into this world will be so proud of daddy.
QUOTE(Granite @ Feb 20 2012, 12:49 PM)
For me, I want to make my ride more comfortable, as my wife is pregnant.

I planned to:

1. Install Front strut bar, front lower strut bar & rear lower bars --> to improve handling a bit.
2. Soundproofing such as on the wheel arch, floor, doors, bonnet, using dynamat or other similiar options (No chassis foaming --> a bit scared of the side effect)
3. Maybe change to 16" or 17" (kinda love the 17" size rim)
4. Changed absorber & spring --> Sachs, Well
5. Open to any suggestions

This is what I planned. But I'm really open to any suggestion & advises  thumbup.gif

0.0561sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:43 PM