MyBrain15, FAQs on MyMaster & MyPhD

TSberdorki
post Oct 5 2011, 11:15 PM

254 posts

Hi everyone!

I graduated with a degree last year, and I worked for a year before deciding to pursue my phd this year. Currently, I'm thinking to apply for MyPhd, which cover my tuition fees and would give a monthly allowance of rm2300 for 3 years. smile.gif

The thing is, I attended a talk on this MyBrain thingy where the speaker said that those who have worked before might not get the monthly allowance, especially after the government checks your KWSP account and finds out that you have been getting epf (working).

So my question is, is there anyone here who got the MyPhD and at the same time worked before he/she applied for this? I have stopped working of course, but am wondering if this would affect my chances of getting the scholarship. sad.gif Is it better to declare that I have worked before or should I claim that I have never worked before? (In Borang pengesahan status bagi kategori graduan belum/tidak berpendapatan tetap program biasiswa myphd)

Also, a second question:

Has anyone ever accepted a Fellowship by their university, and a few months later, get offered MyPhD as well? Would the fact that one who has been offered the Felowship have a lower chance or rejected for MyPhd? sweat.gif I know that if one receives both at the same time and has not accepted either one, then this is no prob - just choose which one you prefer.

But what IF I had already accepted the Fellowship, would Mohe be able to find out I have accepted the fellowship offer?
-Once they find out, will they still offer us MyPhd and allow us to choose?
-Or will they immediately reject us?

Many thanks to anyone who has any knowledge of the above and would be willing to share their opinion on this matter! Cheers. thumbup.gif

tRG
post Oct 6 2011, 09:40 AM

17 posts

Just wondering, aren't you meant to get a Masters first before proceeding on to PhD?
Holyboy27
post Oct 6 2011, 11:10 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(tRG @ Oct 6 2011, 09:40 AM)
Just wondering, aren't you meant to get a Masters first before proceeding on to PhD?
According to this link https://payloan.mohe.gov.my/MyBrain15/index_myphd.php

this is also open to Pemegang Ijazah Sarjana Muda with CGPA 3.50 and above
HaoYuan
post Oct 11 2011, 08:48 AM

Kai Qi Baby
1,401 posts

QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Oct 6 2011, 11:10 AM)
According to this link https://payloan.mohe.gov.my/MyBrain15/index_myphd.php

this is also open to Pemegang Ijazah Sarjana Muda with CGPA 3.50 and above
Ya, i know about this programme but u still need to get a master before you can get into PHD.

Even ur CGPA is 4 also no short cut to skip the master.
Irzani
post Oct 11 2011, 11:08 AM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Oct 11 2011, 08:48 AM)
Ya, i know about this programme but u still need to get a master before you can get into PHD.

in Malaysia, to be a developed country, any first class graduate can be a PhD candidate without examination entry icon_rolleyes.gif
HaoYuan
post Oct 11 2011, 02:23 PM

Kai Qi Baby
1,401 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Oct 11 2011, 11:08 AM)
in Malaysia, to be a developed country, any first class graduate can be a PhD candidate without examination entry  icon_rolleyes.gif
i dun think a good university (havard,cambridge) will accept that.

Dun tell me those bad ranking university
XterNalz
post Oct 11 2011, 02:46 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Oct 11 2011, 02:23 PM)

this is a total nonsense, do your homework before you give your opinions
Tiger I
post Oct 11 2011, 11:32 PM

210 posts

Correct me if i am wrong though, but a student with good grades in degree can apply straight to PhD right? One of my friends do that.

But as for what I know, if you're taking master and you perform well, you can also apply to change into PhD as well
Irzani
post Oct 11 2011, 11:42 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(Tiger I @ Oct 11 2011, 11:32 PM)
Correct me if i am wrong though, but a student with good grades in degree can apply straight to PhD right? One of my friends do that.

But as for what I know, if you're taking master and you perform well, you can also apply to change into PhD as well
both correct laugh.gif
SUSWintersuN
post Oct 12 2011, 07:29 AM

3,173 posts

can get how much money?
Irzani
post Oct 12 2011, 01:32 PM

2,972 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Oct 12 2011, 07:29 AM)
can get how much money?
RM 2300 and my friend is enjoying now ... vmad.gif
Deidara
post Oct 12 2011, 02:58 PM

45 posts

A lot of universities are offering direct PhD programmes after your first degree. This is typical for the sciences where you spend about four years working on a research project.

QUOTE(berdorki @ Oct 5 2011, 11:15 PM)
Has anyone ever accepted a Fellowship by their university, and a few months later, get offered MyPhD as well? Would the fact that one who has been offered the Felowship have a lower chance or rejected for MyPhd?  sweat.gif  I know that if one receives both at the same time and has not accepted either one, then this is no prob - just choose which one you prefer.

But what IF I had already accepted the Fellowship, would Mohe be able to find out I have accepted the fellowship offer?
-Once they find out, will they still offer us MyPhd and allow us to choose?
-Or will they immediately reject us?

I believe you are allowed to choose, but you can only hold either a fellowship of the MyPhD.

TS, what and where are you planning to apply for?

This post has been edited by Deidara: Oct 12 2011, 03:15 PM
ortega7117
post Nov 6 2011, 10:01 AM

U dun think? thats mean u r not sure rite & ur knowledge bout current issue is very2 poor lor hmm.gif . Noob. cum on, now is 2011. Dun b like "a frog under the coconut shell" la... tongue.gif shame on u coz USM & few other Universities, local & foreign already implement this pgrmm... mad.gif
TSOM
post Nov 6 2011, 11:31 AM

2,145 posts

Is there any string attached for MyPhD?

Added on November 6, 2011, 11:33 amOh .. I'm not interested anymore.. just IPTA or IPTS.

This post has been edited by TSOM: Nov 6 2011, 11:33 AM
wcypierre
post Nov 6 2011, 11:57 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

NUS have a fast track program from degree directly to Phd, said by their own uni lecturer. is NUS a bad ranking uni?
realnumber
post Nov 6 2011, 01:38 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(HaoYuan @ Oct 11 2011, 08:48 AM)

stupid...i got to know a Malaysian MIT jumps from degree to Phd..
do ur own research dude... mad.gif
even i can do that tongue.gif

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Nov 6 2011, 11:57 AM)
NUS have a fast track program from degree directly to Phd, said by their own uni lecturer. is NUS a bad ranking uni?
nope..those who r eligible, can straight read phd..
it's good if u could study @ NUS

This post has been edited by realnumber: Nov 6 2011, 01:41 PM
wcypierre
post Nov 6 2011, 01:53 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(realnumber @ Nov 6 2011, 01:38 PM)
stupid...i got to know a Malaysian MIT jumps from degree to Phd..
do ur own research dude... mad.gif
even i can do that tongue.gif
nope..those who r eligible, can straight read phd..
it's good if u could study @ NUS
Agreed. If you HAVE the ability, then go for it. Otherwise, go for a masters then Phd. Don't try to run when you only know how to crawl.
Mr.Wang
post Nov 6 2011, 02:08 PM

377 posts

obviously some who replied in this thread got weak concept of higher education.

those with 1st class honours degree sure no problem to apply straight to phd. but those with 1st class can choose to do master if they want. anything with second class or worst need to go through masters degree.

now government wants more phd holders in malaysia and hence they gives the scholarship and fast track program.
realnumber
post Nov 6 2011, 02:13 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wang @ Nov 6 2011, 02:08 PM)
obviously some who replied in this thread got weak concept of higher education.

those with 1st class honours degree sure no problem to apply straight to phd. but those with 1st class can choose to do master if they want.  anything with second class or worst need to go through masters degree.

now government wants more phd holders in malaysia and hence they gives the scholarship and fast track program.
i agreed to this yet i was lazy to further crystallize..
i hv fat hands tongue.gif
sue_0586
post Dec 5 2011, 03:53 PM

hi guys.. i applied for this scholarship and got the offer..

33 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:56 AM