HTC Sensation and XE Official Thread V4, now with ICS

AzeL
post Feb 1 2012, 11:19 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(teh_master @ Feb 1 2012, 10:43 AM)
Thanks lcs87, you had put in so much effort for us.

Btw I noticed volume in ics has been improved, same setting with volume+ but my ringtone volume is a step lower than previous roms. (For same loudness)
What version of Volume+ are you on?, if you're on the latest one, dev has completely revamped the audio settings. Therefore the eq settings from last time do not apply anymore. For the time being I left the custom EQ alonoe and just enabled virtual room, good quality sound and increase volume level. Seems louder than on GB haha, if not louder it's the same.

QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ Feb 1 2012, 10:47 AM)
anyone facing browser randomly close?
i try Dolphin HD/mini , default browser,same thing happen....
Do i miss anything?
Are you rooted or stock?
AzeL
post Feb 1 2012, 12:57 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ Feb 1 2012, 12:31 PM)
I facing this problem since d 1st day t got my phone.
I this it only happen on facebook game page (ghost-trappers).
It's happen everytime I open this page.d browser will close itself.

****did try restore factory n fdisk my sd.same thing happen.
QUOTE(teh_master @ Feb 1 2012, 12:37 PM)
if that happens only when accessing the particular page, it seems like the page itself is the culprit. try accessing other website and see if the browse will close by itself?
I have some input for the browser hang then force close problem. I noticed the first week I got my phone last time was that the browser will get slower and eventually hang and FC. I noticed I somewhat solved the problem by frequently manually clearing the browser data cache (i.e history, cache etc those things).

Just open the browser, go to its settings and clear cache.

For FB flash games, I'm guessing it's more of a game incompatibility to mobile browsers, or perhaps developers never really optimized for mobile devices yet. Have you tried opera mobile?, or maxthon browser.
AzeL
post Feb 1 2012, 03:33 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ Feb 1 2012, 02:39 PM)
ya still stuck with sense 3.0 / 2.3.4...sighs.....
normally battery will last for how long?
i do surfing + gaming it only last 2 hour max.....sighs x 999
QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ Feb 1 2012, 03:23 PM)
Yes if continually playing game.
Is that normal?
It's a phone, not a PSP. Even using a laptop to play moderate/heavy 3d games will last you around those times as well, if not shorter.

If you're talking about standby doing nothing battery completely drain in 2 hours then it's an issue.

Perhaps your battery isn't calibrated, that was my situation when I got my phone, it registered full charge at 3.8 volt and shut down at 3.4 volt, whereas true battery value would be full charge at 4.2 volt and full drain at 3.2 volt.

Do be reminded that calibration requires root.
AzeL
post Feb 1 2012, 07:30 PM

304 posts

Case Mate fan here, have barely there, tough, and pop (black & white) case. Still prefer Rough, pop plastic back scratches easily ugh >_<.

Regarding the lint, for me not really an issue, guess it depends on the kinda clothing you wear and maybe it's also cause I normally hold my phone vs putting into pocket.
AzeL
post Feb 1 2012, 07:58 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(MikeWJ @ Feb 1 2012, 07:43 PM)
Grats on V4! Add me to owner list of XE.
Really good phone, nice design but the beats logo behind made the phone looks cheap for me. Don't really like it.
So far so good! smile.gif
A phone cover will solve that problem for you =D
AzeL
post Feb 1 2012, 10:26 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(ethanpoh @ Feb 1 2012, 10:15 PM)
any idea where i can get extended battery for sensation xe?
Google powerskin, its a case with extended battery built in...it should work great if you don't mind the slight bulk.

Other battery (non extended, fit with normal back cover) would be Mugen 1800mah, Anker 1900mah. But for your case sensation XE's 1730mah battery should be fine what. I'm on 1520 >_<.
AzeL
post Feb 2 2012, 01:18 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Feb 2 2012, 12:33 AM)
Anyone tried xe battery with sensation? Can it fit?
Yeap it can fit, same dimensions.
AzeL
post Feb 2 2012, 02:00 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(ferd_hardcore91 @ Feb 2 2012, 01:27 AM)
Hye guys, i need some help. I'm new user for xe. Do i need to root the phone? what are use of root? and wht if not root? Thank you for your reply.
Please read the first post.
AzeL
post Feb 2 2012, 09:12 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ Feb 2 2012, 09:02 AM)
any idea where to get it powerskin ? and how much?
I did say Google for it right?
AzeL
post Feb 2 2012, 09:56 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ Feb 2 2012, 09:19 AM)
sorry i mean in local where can i get......
any local bring in this?
really try Google....
Local I don't think got, have to order online. Try search around Lowyat for forumers selling it?

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Feb 2 2012, 09:22 AM)
mind cannot leh, when i press together, it will sleep the screen....
Timing have to be correct, don't press it together, press power button first then follow closely with home button. Must be quick, but never press at the same time.
AzeL
post Feb 2 2012, 01:09 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(jun_ng_1208 @ Feb 2 2012, 12:31 PM)
If not mistaken screenshot is 'Power Button + Vol Down' key isn't it?
QUOTE(AzeL @ Feb 2 2012, 09:56 AM)
Timing have to be correct, don't press it together, press power button first then follow closely with home button. Must be quick, but never press at the same time.
AzeL
post Feb 2 2012, 06:54 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(accelerator7 @ Feb 2 2012, 04:02 PM)
I'm on stock rom bro.. i've been using it for months and it only started happening last few weeks.. it has already emptied itself overnight for like 3 times ady haha.. before that i dun face this problem at all, the battery never drains when i sleep.. last 2 nights it was fine too, yst night it drained again, so i think it's not the battery life prob right.. is there any better battery app to monitor what really drains the battery?
Sounds like battery problem, better call up sis for a replacememt.
AzeL
post Feb 2 2012, 08:03 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(MikeWJ @ Feb 2 2012, 07:31 PM)
Should I root my sensation xe?
Very subjective question, in general, rooting has advantages over staying stock, on the other hand, it voids your warranty (but you can re-enable it back yourself, there are fool proof guides for that) and may create problems/lead to problems/bugs that more or less you need to figure out yourself.

I would suggest that before you continue, read up on the advantages of rooting, and go through the guides and links detailed in the first post. If you feel that the guides and steps are overwhelming, then perhaps rooting is not for you, or you may need more time to fully understand everything before proceeding.
AzeL
post Feb 2 2012, 09:08 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(kahtsin @ Feb 2 2012, 08:58 PM)
A friend of mine has a HTC Desire and he say that rooting is just to make your HTC look more custom-made and for some reason it will increase the battery life yawn.gif What about the XE?
As far as I'm concerned making it look custom/nicer is just the eye-candy part. Most important thing with rooting is the performance increase customization that comes with custom ROMs, which would, among other things, result in good battery life/battery consumption etc.

It's not just limited to XE, seriously, Google about advantages of rooting and you will be surprised at all the information you can find.

I'm sorry but I'm not deliberately being rude here, but if you can't even make such a small effort to read up and know these things then you shouldn't even be considering about rooting.

AzeL
post Feb 2 2012, 09:53 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(teh_master @ Feb 2 2012, 09:14 PM)
@azel: you've been marvelous providing detail input with such patience. respect. lately i'm losing my cool at times reading here.
haha, this is nothing actually, you try reading at the ARHD thread over at xda, even worse over there.

@accelerator7

Btw, since you're on stock ROM, I would suggest you try the full charge/discharge cycle:

1. Use your phone till it dies, remove the battery for 15-30 minutes, reinsert and try to turn it back on, repeat process until the phone refuses to turn on. This is important to make sure that the driver registers the empty voltage correctly.

2. After that just charge normally till full. Best if you repeat this process a couple of times and see whether there's any improvements or not.

3. If there is no improvement, high time to replace the battery via warranty, because I have to admit that kinda drain seems highly abnormal, even I never experienced something like that when my phone was stock.
AzeL
post Feb 2 2012, 10:46 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Feb 2 2012, 10:17 PM)
If you can wait, I suggest that you wait for another 3 mths as HTC will be unveiling new handsets at MWC this month.
Price will be extremely interesting too I presume.

From my experience, trying to catch up with the new stuff is tiresome, but then again it might be due to financial constraints, hahaha.
AzeL
post Feb 3 2012, 08:25 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(jun_ng_1208 @ Feb 3 2012, 08:19 AM)
Went to 1 of the HTC Concept stores in Berjaya Times Square and was quoted a whooping RM 89 for the screen protector blink.gif although its for 2 pcs but still RM 45 for a sp?! Anyone wanna share?
Full screen OEM Original HTC clear screen protector costs me RM 50 per piece here, twin pack is RM100.

I don't mind the price because its actually quite good, with the exception of some bubbles near the corners due to curved screen. But if the guy knows how to apply it shouldn't be a problem.

From the way I see it, I've been using this SP for almost 6 months now and no problems, so RM50 over 6 months and more is a really negligible amount, really. Hell, I spend more on Starbucks per week if I really want to go through my spending.
AzeL
post Feb 4 2012, 07:19 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(queenc @ Feb 4 2012, 07:09 PM)
any1 running on leedroid 6 ics.
having constant warning "unfortunately (any apps), stop"

etc, my hawx game, scare prank
Settings>Applications>SD Card>Move all apps to phone storage.
AzeL
post Feb 5 2012, 03:03 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(zyphron @ Feb 5 2012, 02:59 PM)
micro SD and micro SD HC same 1 right? any recommendation on what brand and class shud i get? currently using 8GB and seems like too little for me to install HD games.
Sandisk should be good.
AzeL
post Feb 5 2012, 04:34 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Feb 5 2012, 04:08 PM)
Let's say if I bought a new micro SD, do I need to transfer all Android core files + games files into the new micro SD or just insert the empty micro SD will do?
Copy paste everything from old sd card to new sd card. No need anything special.

Higher class Micro SDHC card means faster transfer(write) speed, doesn't really affect much in anything else, although if you record Full HD videos it will speed up the file saving but that's just about it. I'm on a 32GB Class 4 and it's been working fine since I got it.

0.0496sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:14 PM