-= myforte - naza kia forte owners club =- V12, Leaves You Speechless

gregy
post Jan 31 2012, 02:18 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(invinciblezero @ Jan 31 2012, 12:38 AM)
I juz got my 1.6sx b4 CNY, 90bucks juz lasted me for 450km. Going for my 1st service on Thursday. Hope this will improve the FC.

Will they change the engine oil on the 1st service? What else would they change?
1st service is just to change the oil and oil filter.
gregy
post Feb 3 2012, 09:32 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 3 2012, 12:47 AM)
I think I know what's my car's problem....very easy to find out why underpower...same as lots of 4speed 1.6SX users.....
Did u all notice that 4 speed, when engine running hot, gearbox attempt shift slower and when is engine cold(cold start), it shift properly....sometimes when overtaking cars, it takes time to shift down gears, and sometimes when u accelerate, it keep on drag till for sometimes before engaging another gear....this happens when using car after few minutes when engine temperature rise to normal....
Even with stock rims, I still feel our 1.6SX Forte still powerful, but because of gear 'delay shift' which might do with gear ratio timing with accelerator not accurate....even though last week i sent my car to NAZAKIA Alor setar for checking due to underpower, they stated this problem to me, and told me they reset it back....after few days...same thing happen....I think might need install ATF cooling solution like KFC did....thinking of installing 1 in Alor Setar, but having hard time to find it, due to busy-ness.....
Have you tried switching to a synthetic atf? Also, another thing you could try is having your throttle body cleaned.

The mineral atf in our Fortes aren't that great, imo.
gregy
post Feb 3 2012, 02:29 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Feb 3 2012, 12:04 PM)
mineral replace every 30k km, if using fully syn (like shell atf) can last until how many km ?

I think for best performance better change every 20k km. I don't know about traffic in your area, but in Klang Valley, anyone who commutes to work in the morning and evening traffic should classify their cars as "extreme environment" and service their cars more regularly.

Even though a car's mileage may be low because the car hardly moves in a jam but the engine is still turning, so is the torque converter.

I think a forumer is selling fully synthetic Korean car atf at mineral atf prices, maybe you can pujuk your SC to switch to this for you. Maybe have to pay a "corkage" fee smile.gif

Added on February 3, 2012, 2:36 pm
QUOTE(XionCity @ Feb 3 2012, 01:56 PM)
i not sure my ATF synthetic o mineral(caltex brand)...but i do change it every 20k...throttle body clean??/ i think i need consult SC.....heard from american, they asked me drain n flush transmission....i dunno wat that means oso...
Basically, flushing out the GB means draining out the old atf, then use new atf to flush out the remainder of the old atf, meaning new atf goes in, mixes with the remainder of the old atf, then flush out. Repeat a few times until the atf is clear. Normally will use around double or more of the GB's fluid capacity's worth of atf. Quite costly but cheaper than a rebuild.

As for cleaning of TB, it's due to the fact that the GB and engine have sensors that are read by the ECU and if the sensors are dirty they may give a wrong reading and affect the engine-GB synergy.

I suggest changing over to synthetic atf first then see how it goes. You can buy ThreeBond throttle body foam and clean the TB yourself.

After that, if still not satisfied, try adding a Fire Storm ignition booster smile.gif

This post has been edited by gregy: Feb 3 2012, 02:36 PM
gregy
post Feb 3 2012, 03:28 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Feb 3 2012, 03:01 PM)
i didn't drive the car to work but only used it for a long distance like outstation or balik kampung... mileage clocked 26k km for 23 mths
i'm riding a bike to ofis everyday... so back to the question, even use syn gb oil still need to change follow mineral oil punya duration ?
I suppose if you use synthetic atf you could extend the intervals. After all, 60k km intervals can be considered more than needed, even for mineral (since this GB is supposed to be maintenance free).

Ultimately, the best gauge is your own butt feel. After changing, you will possibly notice an improvement in gearchange and a smoother overall performance (mine has little or no whining sound after switching to synth atf). When the performance starts to deteriorate according to your butt dyno, baru tukar lah.

However, for me, because this is my first time changing over to synthetic atf, and I didn't flush out the mineral oil, I will change it soon (mine's already 21k km less than a year lol). Then subsequently I will extend the drain intervals.

This post has been edited by gregy: Feb 3 2012, 03:30 PM
gregy
post Feb 4 2012, 02:57 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(sackeen @ Feb 3 2012, 05:13 PM)
driving ex. fc so so about rm10 +-55. as expected because bigger car compare to it's rival. pickup quite good because 16" rim and 6speed. feel very comfortable with the car.
Wow, that's not too far from my 2.0 SX 6-sp. My typical mileage is around 10.3 litres / 100km, translated to your calculation method, RM10.88 per 55km, or RM10 per 50.5km compared to your 9.47 litres / 100km.

This means, for every 500km travelled, I use 4.15 litres more fuel, or RM8.00 only. And I take one hour to reach my office in SS2 from Subang USJ five days a week, giving me an average speed reading of around 22-27km/h (extra urban cycle).

But to be honest I don't think that's right as I believe the 1.6EX should be more efficient than that.
gregy
post Feb 6 2012, 11:13 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Feb 5 2012, 11:26 PM)
no alarm, no immobilier, no sensor. need to install at SC. auto wiper also none. have auto headlight tho smile.gif
I dunno about yours, but mine comes with an alarm system. Once the doors are locked, if I open any door the alarm will trigger. But instead of a dedicated alarm buzzer it sounds the car horn and flashes the signal repeaters. You can't start the car without the correct key being in the vicinity so yes there is an immobilizer.
gregy
post Feb 6 2012, 11:27 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Feb 6 2012, 11:17 AM)
sorry, i think you're right, there's immobilizer - you need the key fob to open the doors and start the car...i tried opening the doors once they are locked, no alarm triggered, how exactly did you trigger it? I know there's a horn button on the remote which will trigger the horn but other than that, i dont think our car has any sensor of any kind that will trigger the horn unless yours already installed when u bought the car which is not something that comes stock with the car, but rather a separate accessory.
Hmmm, now that you brought it up. Will go and test again to verify. I remember once or twice I triggered the alarm but your statement kinda threw me off a bit. Will let you know once I've tried it smile.gif
gregy
post Feb 6 2012, 04:52 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(ForteBlack @ Feb 6 2012, 04:38 PM)
Charged RM 150 by Michelin tyre shop for balancing, alignment and camber kit (I think it's a rip-off), but nope, handling/harshness issue still there.

They pumped-up the left tyres to 32/33, while reducing the pressure on the right tyres to 29.

I have less confidence going over bumps / rough roads / high speed with my Forte, compared to my previous Proton Gen.

Tried 3 Naza authorized service centres already, one in KL and another two in my current location (outside of KL). Plus two tyre shops.

Lastly, the parking brake release is not as smooth. Sometimes it does not release all the way. The "spring" not as "springy" as my previous car.

But I still like my Forte, leaves me speechless (for the right or wrong reasons) hahahah
There is a Lim Tayar shop (CKL) in Subang Jaya that charged me 90++ for alignment and one camber bolt. No need to import special bolt la, they have found a way to use what they have and add a washer to make it compatible. Works for me smile.gif

In case anyone is interested, it's the shop next to a Shell station as you are driving along the NPE from Sunway heading to USJ. After passing SS14 and SS15 you need to exit the flyover and keep left to continue towards SS19 and USJ. Right after taking the bend, you will see the shop on your left. The boss is a young friendly guy who drives a 'Roc.
gregy
post Feb 7 2012, 12:56 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Feb 6 2012, 05:14 PM)
RM 90 not cheap also leh..alignment shouldnt cost that much even plus the camber nut/bolt
Well, true, but at least they are really professional when handling customers' cars. Nobody gets in without first placing a seat cover that covers from headrest all the way down, and you won't find grubby hands touching your steering wheel. There are also place cloths for when they work on your engine bay. Free wifi, coffee, tea in an air cond lounge etc. For me, these reasons are enough to pay a slight premium over other places.

And they took around two hours to align my ride, doing more than three rounds of test and adjust. And it fixed the pulling left issue for me smile.gif
gregy
post Feb 9 2012, 06:31 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(Methaphora @ Feb 9 2012, 06:24 PM)
i jus got my 1.6sx, mileage just 600km.

i got 1 problem, when driving, if i release the petrol, i feel the car is slower and like i am braking the car. this happen even at downhill road(not so obvious than straight road).

at 1st, i think maybe of the car weight and cause the car getting slower, but when i try to change the gear to "N", the feeling of of braking is gone and car move smoothly.

i notice this only happen if below 40km/hour, if above of that, no such problem at all.

any1 face same issue or this consider normal to all?
That's normal, don't worry about it smile.gif
gregy
post Feb 10 2012, 10:38 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(Methaphora @ Feb 9 2012, 07:07 PM)
hmm.gif why need such braking.
Try switching your multi function display to "Instant" mode. When you see the bar at 0l/100km, what's happening is the car's momentum is turning the engine and keeping the alternator, air cond, power steering etc working. All these things impose a load which slows the car down. Once below a certain speed the "Instant" bar will come alive again. During this period you will find that engine braking is less pronounced because fuel is reintroduced to fire up the engine.

Engine braking saves fuel and brake pads.
gregy
post Feb 11 2012, 12:45 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Feb 10 2012, 06:46 PM)
just got a call from selayang SC... my torsion beam is ready to replaced...
quite fast... claimed on 1/2... item received on 10/2... 5 working days...
mesti made from gurun ni... kekeke...
Sorry I didn't follow earlier about your torsion beam. What was wrong with it?
gregy
post Feb 15 2012, 05:39 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(ferrari38 @ Feb 15 2012, 04:52 PM)
Hi to all bro n sis.
Just would like to check where can I get touch up pen for white forte?
Eneos? icon_question.gif
www.kiaceratoforte.blogspot.com
gregy
post Feb 17 2012, 11:36 AM

411 posts

[quote=epo,Feb 17 2012, 10:54 AM]
[/quote]
it's up to individual... for me if ekon tara sejuk then service la...
if not, no need to bother it, maybe wait until 80k km...
ok la tu... that's is what ur bonus for... to pay ur car maintenance, insurance, etc... tongue.gif
anyway u can request the list of items what need to be changed, if feels no need, then remove laaa...

[/quote]

If you don't service the air cond with the SC, lain hari kalo ekon rusak, warranty lesap bro...

Just have to remember that warranty is an expense and all companies will do their best to make sure to keep this expense to a minimum smile.gif

Just bayar je, unless it is stated that the air cond is not covered under warranty.
gregy
post Feb 20 2012, 03:31 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(thilak833 @ Feb 20 2012, 03:06 PM)
I've got 2010 Forte SX. Having an issue where my driver seat got sound, kiyook..kiyoook sound from the metals. Would this be covered as warranty ?

Added on February 20, 2012, 3:10 pmInteresting ! 2013 Forte, scooped.

http://youtu.be/djUk4Fewgq8
Same chassis as the MD Elantra. No surprise that the stance of the car is similar but I don't think the front looks that nice compared to the Elantra. Better wait for the unveiled car before making further judgment smile.gif
gregy
post Feb 22 2012, 09:04 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(ishumi @ Feb 21 2012, 05:21 PM)
NSS glenmarie? i also got same prob with u.. last time go there do major service for 40k also she told me the same thing. Summore add another rm300 for new transmission fluid ZIC ATF SP-IV (12X1L) item description. This fluid cost like rm 80/L and forte use it 4L.. so 4xrm80= rm 320! vmad.gif  compare to original ATF XP/209l only cost rm83 for 4liter! blink.gif  so my major service cost add up around 800++ woo.. any1 got xperience like dis??  icon_question.gif
I don't think they were wrong. What you have in your car right now is a fully synthetic ATF compared to the mineral stuff that was in your car from the factory. Did you complain about anything relating to your gearbox? Hard shifting? Bad FC? Fully synth ATF will take care of your GB better than mineral.

Maybe it's a new directive from the new mngmt at Naza Kia to protect themselves from premature GB failures. Good for us also la, but bad because we are paying for it lol...
gregy
post Feb 22 2012, 06:13 PM

411 posts

[quote=epo,Feb 22 2012, 05:49 PM]
[/quote]
u willing to drive to KULIM...??? brows.gif
ok since they change to full syn ATF, so how about the auto trans fluid replacement interval ? still every 40k km ?
should be more higher (ie : 60k km)... or double it up to 80k km ?

[/quote]

I was just talking to an SC (USJ 19) and she said that for the 6-sp model they use the fully synth ATF, every 40,000km intervals. Recommendation from HQ. She is charging RM7x per bottle.

gregy
post Feb 23 2012, 01:38 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Feb 22 2012, 09:05 PM)
Then what the diff with XP/209 ? 40k km too... more cheaper...
She said that this new 6-sp GB needs this SP-IV spec. In fact she claims that the 6-sp already came with SP-IV from the factory. Dunno la, I'm just tweeting what she said...
gregy
post Feb 23 2012, 05:12 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(izputra @ Feb 23 2012, 04:40 PM)
Not to mention there's a really big difference in acceleration..but obviously i can feel the urge & pull is better now (the car feels lighter)..changing from over 11kg of 17" rims to the 16" rims weighing just 7kg each will surely do good to acceleration. Easy acceleration means better FC especially in stop & go city driving..& that means, yaa..i can notice the improvement in FC also (for a city driving). For long highway trip however, i can safely say that there's no difference in FC..the onboard FC shows the same figure. Ride comfort..definitely better. Now can ride thru speed bump & small potholes with extra comfort & extra speed. No hard time avoiding potholes anymore..hehe.

But i have to say that..the 16" rims will somehow compromise the good looks of the car. So, i have to compromise a bit on the looks to gain the extra driving comfort (should i say better NVH), better acceleration & better FC..it's a win-win situation for me anyway thumbup.gif  My 2.0SX now can sprint off the line quicker..but i still drive like an uncle..haha  whistling.gif

For 1.6SX..changing to 16" rims is a good move to get the extra ommph of your car..provided that, u opt for the lightweight rims  brows.gif
Either that or he could consider lightweight 17" wheels smile.gif My OZ 17" are 3++ kg lighter than stock wheels. No need to change tyres or compromise the looks, but ride comfort only lah yg suffer sket.
gregy
post Feb 24 2012, 02:42 AM

411 posts

QUOTE(jetpacker @ Feb 23 2012, 06:42 PM)
so how's the FC with ur lightweight 17" wheels?..improve alot?

which OZ model did you put in anyway?..how much does it cost?
FC improvement not much, maybe around 0.5l/100km. But the car very willing to sprint smile.gif On a good week I can get around 8.5l/100km, mixed 70% city / 30% highway. For full city drive with the farkin morning jam five days a week, around 11l/100km hehe. Quite a big difference.

I'm using OZ Alleggerita, around RM1,150/pc.

0.0494sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:43 AM