which Router support Printer function ?

MPK
post Mar 2 2013, 04:43 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(wshoh @ Feb 7 2012, 04:10 PM)
I have compiled the relevant posts to reply accordingly. But in short, you can indeed network enable a USB printer (without ethernet/Wi-Fi function) to work like one with built-in Wi-Fi, if you have the proper hardware and software.

The default unifi router (and by that, I am referring to the TM D-Link DIR-615) can connect a USB printer and 'convert' it into a 'Wi-Fi printer', with some setup. I know it works, because I set up my Fuji Xerox DocuPrint M205 b which doesn't have ethernet/LAN to print wirelessly via the DIR-615.

Just connect the USB printer cable from your USB printer to the USB port on the DIR-615. You will then need to install D-Link's SharePort software, which you can download here. Credit to DLink'ed Router over here. Once you have done that, just configure it accordingly - you should be able to get instructions by searching online.

Note: I suggest you get the older version of SharePort through the aforesaid link. I spent hours trouble-shooting before I got the setup to work (it didn't work with the newer version of SharePort). This could be due to TM's custom firmware. YMMV but don't say I didn't warn you if you still try the newer version of Shareport.

And yes, there are other routers with similar functions (SharePort is just D-Link's brand, it may go by another moniker) - Asus is one of the known pioneer brands with SharePort-type technology, though I have no personal experience setting it up.

As per above, you can indeed use the DIR-615 to network enable a non-network USB printer through the USB port on the router provide you have the right hardware and software.

I m actually looking at this solution desperately and found this thread that really suit my needs. Thanks for your advices and help. Here I have 2 screnerio and hope u can provide me some guideline as well and appreciated your kind generous

1) at home, I have same printer as u but due to location of printer and unifi are far, I can't connect the USB printer to unifi router. How possible can I do it ?
2) at office, I have a printer that comes with Ethernet /LAN port, and a reduntant router tp link 3420.  Office is using unifi as well. How possible can I turn the printer comes wireless so that everyone can connect the router n print accordingly.

Many thanks  notworthy.gif

I m actually looking at this solution desperately and found this thread that really suit my needs. Thanks for your advices and help. Here I have 2 screnerio and hope u can provide me some guideline as well and appreciated your kind generous

1) at home, I have same printer as u but due to location of printer and unifi are far, I can't connect the USB printer to unifi router. How possible can I do it ?
2) at office, I have a printer that comes with Ethernet /LAN port, and a reduntant router tp link 3420.  Office is using unifi as well. How possible can I turn the printer comes wireless so that everyone can connect the router n print accordingly.

Many thanks  notworthy.gif

The above is correct to the extent it concerns printers with a network (ie LAN) port ie ethernet function.

I believe you have got your answer above.

Option 1 and 2 is correct, prior to routers with SharePort or similar technology being available, which now brings a 3rd option. True network printers should still perform better (in terms of speed/capability to handle numerous users/huge printing volume etc) especially in office environments but option 3 ie through SharePort-type technology enabled routers should be sufficient for casual/light users.
This post has been edited by MPK: Mar 2 2013, 04:46 PM
MPK
post Mar 2 2013, 04:50 PM

121 posts

Many thanks.
MPK
post Mar 4 2013, 02:47 PM

121 posts

^ anybody help ? Thanks.
MPK
post Mar 5 2013, 03:09 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(MPK @ Mar 2 2013, 04:50 PM)

Many thanks.
^any solution ?
MPK
post Mar 6 2013, 03:22 PM

121 posts

^ anyone can help sifu please......sad.gif
MPK
post Mar 9 2013, 12:07 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Mar 6 2013, 04:50 PM)
Try to buy new router with USB printer server capability.
any model / brand that you can recommend ?

I googled many days for this solution to enable me to print at office and home until my eyeballs get tiring...still something is missing there to enable for printing through wireless.

Any expert here can answer my query here :

1) I tried to connect my existing TP link MR3420 old router to printer (with Lan port) using RJ 45 network cable and configure the same IP address as router in the printer driver, it failed....do I need to configure the router to be connected into Unifi in order to all computers print at the printer ? what have I missing ? or any other better solution

2) for home, can I just buy a usb print server so that I can print anywhere from home ?

I know only the IT expert able to solve this problem and your kind advices is deeply appreciated ! notworthy.gif

0.0114sec    1.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:38 PM