Papago™ M8/M9 for Android, supports galaxy note 1280x800

SUSUpCar
post Jan 30 2012, 02:43 PM, updated 13y ago

1,612 posts

Just recently got hold of a test unit for Papago™ M8/M9 for Malaysia.
Before i get to the boring parts, let me skip it till the end and show u some screenies instead.

Beautiful icon taken from my Gnote. (kindly ignore the rest of the prgrams and dont lol pls)

Screenies in portrait mode

Screenies in landscape mode

Now here's the more boring bit.

Papago ™ M8/M9 is still in test phase. So its not launched yet.
My source is legitimate and word has it that it should be released for retail around early march 2012.
Yes it works for 1280x800 Gnote on both portrait and landscape mode.
Source of map is free as usual from MFM which u can find at the link below.

www.malfreemaps.com

Retail price should be the same as previous version.
You can make the purchase from M3 directly when it is launched or go to their dealers nationwide.

Now for the pros and cons

The pros:

Voice of the lady has changed. i like this voice. sounds sweeter like a lady instead of a prison warden.
quick to lock on sattelites. Its a very cloudy day today here at my place so i get a 7 second lock.
Visuals are entertaining with most of the custom poi's popping up. Can finally see RHB and Oldtown Kopitiam's logo
Routing is much improved with some very minor issues.

The Cons:

Still unable to pinpoint via co-ordinates.
The mistakes made on the Android X5 version was brought to this and still not rectified. (overlapping poi's)
junction views should have been made a tad bit smaller.
Same boring UI

You have to make sure you exit the program properly if not it will still be running on the background.

If there are any questions, and i can answer them, please feel free to ask me in here. I dont entertain pm's.
Allow me some time before i can answer, i am working and if my boss see's me spamming away in forums i'm gonna get my rights to the internet.

This post has been edited by UpCar: Jan 30 2012, 03:05 PM
SUSUpCar
post Jan 30 2012, 03:04 PM

1,612 posts

Reserved for future use
MYstombox
post Jan 30 2012, 03:08 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Required specs for use?
Any indication?

SUSUpCar
post Jan 30 2012, 03:23 PM

1,612 posts

Minimum android 2.1 eclair.
Hardware specs is kacang putih to fulfill. Does not require nvidia gts450 or ati 5900.
Indication of what ah?
uzary
post Jan 30 2012, 03:26 PM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 30 2012, 02:43 PM)

Now here's the more boring bit.

Papago ™ M8/M9 is still in test phase. So its not launched yet.
My source is legitimate and word has it that it should be released for retail around early march 2012.
Yes it works for 1280x800 Gnote on both portrait and landscape mode.
Source of map is free as usual from MFM which u can find at the link below.

www.malfreemaps.com

Retail price should be the same as previous version.
You can make the purchase from M3 directly when it is launched or go to their dealers nationwide.

The pros:

Voice of the lady has changed. i like this voice. sounds sweeter like a lady instead of a prison warden.
quick to lock on sattelites. Its a very cloudy day today here at my place so i get a 7 second lock.
Visuals are entertaining with most of the custom poi's popping up. Can finally see RHB and Oldtown Kopitiam's logo

The Cons:

The mistakes made on the Android X5 version was brought to this and still not rectified. (overlapping poi's)
Same boring UI

You have to make sure you exit the program properly if not it will still be running on the background.

If there are any questions, and i can answer them, please feel free to ask me in here. I dont entertain pm's.
Allow me some time before i can answer, i am working and if my boss see's me spamming away in forums i'm gonna get my rights to the internet.
since it is still under test phased, why not fix all the cons? i really hope it can use coordination location function.
SUSUpCar
post Jan 30 2012, 03:29 PM

1,612 posts

I dunno n i cant say much. I dont work for m3 or maction. I questined them also over this b4. All i got was geleng kepala as answers.

MYstombox
post Jan 30 2012, 03:35 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

I mean any indication of the specs requirement.
SUSUpCar
post Jan 30 2012, 04:05 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Jan 30 2012, 03:35 PM)
I mean any indication of the specs requirement.
they just told me it will work on anything that supports android 2.1 and above.
Cynox
post Jan 30 2012, 04:11 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

most important question : Will it support ICS 4.0? since our Note will all be upgraded to ICS pretty soon.
MjMax15
post Jan 30 2012, 04:21 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

can use for standard galaxy series?
SUSUpCar
post Jan 30 2012, 04:27 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jan 30 2012, 04:11 PM)
most important question : Will it support ICS 4.0?  since our Note will all be upgraded to ICS pretty soon.
Yes and No.

The M8/M9 was released for bug fixes, some visual upgrades, routing issues resolvements, graphical glitches and of course to support newer machines with different resolutions.
The entirety of this actually was to mainly address the resolutions issue alongside the portrait landscape mode.

If you buy the M8/M9 when it is released, it should still work fine with ICS. It is afterall still in beta mode now. There should be some software tweaks further on, probably to cater to even higher res perhaps or even diff android OS.
When ICS arrives on note, i will test it out.

Right now still on rocket rom v20. on its last legs already . Next jump for me would be something that is ICS and not ICS themed only.

Added on January 30, 2012, 4:29 pm
QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Jan 30 2012, 04:21 PM)
can use for standard galaxy series?
yup. is meant for devices capable of GPS that are running minimum of Android 2.1 Eclair.
It is not bound by brands.

This post has been edited by UpCar: Jan 30 2012, 04:29 PM
Cynox
post Jan 30 2012, 04:37 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 30 2012, 04:27 PM)
Yes and No.

The M8/M9 was released for bug fixes, some visual upgrades, routing issues resolvements, graphical glitches and of course to support newer machines with different resolutions.
The entirety of this actually was to mainly address the resolutions issue alongside the portrait landscape mode.

If you buy the M8/M9 when it is released, it should still work fine with ICS. It is afterall still in beta mode now. There should be some software tweaks further on, probably to cater to even higher res perhaps or even diff android OS.
When ICS arrives on note, i will test it out.

Right now still on rocket rom v20. on its last legs already . Next jump for me would be something that is ICS and not ICS themed only.

yup, feels the same way - also on RR V20 with ICS theme, nothing much more entice me to flash new rom until the final ICS for Note is out later.

Do update us the latest development. Btw, is Papago support multiple installation in different devices like other android apps? meaning I bought the app only once but I can use it on my Note and another Android Tablet too. Currently only have Note but most probably will add an ICS Android tablet soon.

EDIT: Another question tongue.gif :it is using the latest X8.5 map format? Coz the old X3/X5/X6 map format already discontinued at malfreemaps.

This post has been edited by Cynox: Jan 30 2012, 04:42 PM
SUSUpCar
post Jan 30 2012, 06:28 PM

1,612 posts

ya i went from momow's rom to rocket to criskelo and now back to rocket. lucky mowmo still ok for me.

Latest development mostly is concentrated on PND's and not mobile. Papago™ is gonna launch TMC soon in malaysia. now in testing phase.
Hopefully can get a unit soon.

as far as i know, the licensing agreement is 1 unit per unit. Meaning if u buy 1 papago sdkad, u can use in 1 device only. so i suppose in your statement, the answer would be yes. ONLY if u use it on a single device at a time. not both units at the same time.

I know some people actually own 2 android phones, but they only use 1 for weekdays and 1 for weekends. So they buy 1 unit papago sdkad and keep on interchange lor.

Yup map still from mfm and yup is free and yup there will be a new installer under the compiler for papago m8 as it is official malaysian m3 papago software. X series is for PND's now.

Since this m8/m9 is still in testing phase and soon to be launch in a month's time, mfm will release a map for it in due time once they have the finalised version of the compiler.
mezzi-quan
post Jan 30 2012, 06:30 PM

450 posts

wah got english version?? mine is chinese .........
un_id
post Jan 30 2012, 06:30 PM

music is soul's food
7,106 posts

i always wished to have the latest papago on my phone.. i hope this M8 coming true real soon.
SUSUpCar
post Jan 30 2012, 06:32 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(mezzi-quan @ Jan 30 2012, 06:30 PM)
wah got english version?? mine is chinese .........
taiwan version is chinese. papago from m3 for msia and singapore has always been in english.

QUOTE(un_id @ Jan 30 2012, 06:30 PM)
i always wished to have the latest papago on my phone.. i hope this M8 coming true real soon.
yup. actually i confirmed liao is coming. duration is 2-3 weeks but i'd say a month before official launch. That's why i actually say early march instead of late feb. later scared everyone kena let down.
mezzi-quan
post Jan 30 2012, 06:34 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 30 2012, 06:32 PM)
taiwan version is chinese. papago from m3 for msia and singapore has always been in english.
yup. actually i confirmed liao is coming. duration is 2-3 weeks but i'd say a month before official launch. That's why i actually say early march instead of late feb. later scared everyone kena let down.
but the taiwan version gt english? or is thr any ways to make it english?
Cynox
post Jan 30 2012, 06:41 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

thanks, UpCar, for the insider info. smile.gif
SUSUpCar
post Jan 30 2012, 06:49 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(mezzi-quan @ Jan 30 2012, 06:34 PM)
but the taiwan version gt english? or is thr any ways to make it english?
interface cannot. but voice pack can swap to english. i did it once a long long time ago before x5 msia launched. that time still on htc hero. so very long ago. now u ask me i cannot remember liao.

i only can remember i swap the taiwan x5 voice files and replace it with a lot of pre-recorded counter strike sounds also lol. even the keyboard doesnt click. it goes pang pang pang ( CS 1.6 gunfire from desert eagle)
That process was scary. It took me more than 1/2 day i remember. coz i skipped 1 meal.
There were some glitch on poi search and road search also but i cannot remember liao. really too long ago.

Oh and if u purchased the taiwan license genuine, you cannot transfer that to m8/m9. even if u purchase m8 taiwan from maction , the license cannot transfer or swap unit. msia papago is from m3gps so have to buy another sdkad from them.
mezzi-quan
post Jan 30 2012, 07:02 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 30 2012, 06:49 PM)
interface cannot. but voice pack can swap to english. i did it once a long long time ago before x5 msia launched. that time still on htc hero. so very long ago. now u ask me i cannot remember liao.

i only can remember i swap the taiwan x5 voice files and replace it with a lot of pre-recorded counter strike sounds also lol. even the keyboard doesnt click. it goes pang pang pang ( CS 1.6 gunfire from desert eagle)
That process was scary. It took me more than 1/2 day i remember. coz i skipped 1 meal.
There were some glitch on poi search and road search also but i cannot remember liao. really too long ago.

Oh and if u purchased the taiwan license genuine, you cannot transfer that to m8/m9. even if u purchase m8 taiwan from maction , the license cannot transfer or swap unit. msia papago is from m3gps so have to buy another sdkad from them.
ic, thnk god i cn read cainis n stil cn understand the menu abit, but i stil prefer english........

so the english version wil b released by end of february rite? hw much it wil cost?
SUSUpCar
post Jan 30 2012, 07:06 PM

1,612 posts

where got need to read cinis ????

only got like 4-5 butang to klik nia. klik silap can re-try again 1. wont hang kei or blow up 1. i remember last time i also got do this trial error thing on igo because it was not in english at that time. so klik until dapat lor.

release date i dun dare say, but should be early march. if they can kau tim their things mebbe late feb. cost is same as X5 last time.
boonwuilow
post Jan 31 2012, 08:25 AM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

How fast is the location locking speed?
SUSUpCar
post Jan 31 2012, 10:36 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Jan 31 2012, 08:25 AM)
How fast is the location locking speed?
This depends on your phone hardware not software enjin of papago leh.
boonwuilow
post Jan 31 2012, 12:31 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 31 2012, 10:36 AM)
This depends on your phone hardware not software enjin of papago leh.
Last time when using Papago x5 is very slow on my moto defy...

smokey
post Jan 31 2012, 01:01 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

what is the difference between m8/m9?
y not tell them to add features like linking the phone contacts with the map, or search by coordinate?
we need option to avoid toll/small/medium road...
in my opinion, the user interface needs to be more friendly too...
razin
post Jan 31 2012, 01:49 PM

375 posts

On galaxy note Papago X5 start almost immediately if you on the GPS first. It should be the same if not faster
SUSUpCar
post Jan 31 2012, 03:20 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Jan 31 2012, 01:01 PM)
y not tell them to add features like linking the phone contacts with the map, or search by coordinate?
My name not tan sri or datuk or dymm. I tell also no use. I oni is small kuci ppl.u think they will do as i say meh tai lou?

QUOTE(razin @ Jan 31 2012, 01:49 PM)
On galaxy note Papago X5 start almost immediately if you on the GPS first. It should be the same if not faster
Read first post. answer is there.

edan1979
post Jan 31 2012, 05:58 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

another 2 to wait... if ever... the one they release for a normal gps device got coordinate function...
boonwuilow
post Jan 31 2012, 08:34 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(razin @ Jan 31 2012, 01:49 PM)
i also turn on the GPS before open Papago X5, but also the same also...
SUSUpCar
post Feb 1 2012, 02:17 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Jan 31 2012, 05:58 PM)
another 2 to wait... if ever... the one they release for a normal gps device got coordinate function...
of course la friend. the papago for mobile is RM99 on android phones.
the navigating device is RM 399 minimum if i'm not mistaken for 3.5 inch or 4 inch.

price alreday got difference leh. u pay more u get more lor is common logic ma.

edan1979
post Feb 1 2012, 02:53 AM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

bro.. the phone we use also not cheap one maaaa... if all the menu and function is going to be the same... no use la to upgrade... only the name is changing... tongue.gif
SUSUpCar
post Feb 1 2012, 09:35 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Feb 1 2012, 02:53 AM)
bro.. the phone we use also not cheap one maaaa... if all the menu and function is going to be the same... no use la to upgrade... only the name is changing... tongue.gif
Route management changed. Already stated in 1st post . Is most important factor in GPS. The more efficient the route, the better the software becomes.
smokey78
post Feb 1 2012, 05:15 PM

271 posts

HI All ,

Consider as final stage on testing for PAPAGO! for ANDROID .. brows.gif

p/s : running on Motorola Droid RAZR , currenly testing for few bugs to workin out .. be patient guys nod.gif

This post has been edited by smokey78: Feb 2 2012, 02:00 PM
DarkNite
post Feb 1 2012, 06:54 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 30 2012, 02:43 PM)

The pros:

The Cons:

Same boring UI

I have just a question, but dunno if you are able to answer or not, any way here is goes...how does it compare to iOS M8.2.0? hmm.gif

Can't wait to have it in my SG2

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Feb 1 2012, 07:06 PM
giveme5
post Feb 1 2012, 09:53 PM

55 posts

A question. Is this going to be tablet compatible ie. 7.0plus???
SUSUpCar
post Feb 1 2012, 10:57 PM

1,612 posts

Sorry guys. I don't have iphone not do I have tablet. Maybe in future I might consider getting a tablet but iphone too pricey to my liking.
smokey78
post Feb 2 2012, 06:25 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(giveme5 @ Feb 1 2012, 10:53 PM)
A question. Is this going to be tablet compatible ie. 7.0plus???
Hi.. for Tablet , i already tested on XOOM.. so possible will support for all resolution.. Will update again.. rclxms.gif
daruma
post Feb 2 2012, 06:46 AM

7,559 posts

my m8 get force closed after running a while in g.note.

do you face that prob?
djlah
post Feb 2 2012, 08:01 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(daruma @ Feb 2 2012, 06:46 AM)
my m8 get force closed after running a while  in g.note.

do you face that prob?
me too. from gnex.
razin
post Feb 2 2012, 11:35 AM

375 posts

Are you all using the beta? Any link? Thanks
sHawTY
post Feb 2 2012, 01:57 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

upcar's screenshot doesn't show coordinate search function.

smokey78's screenshot however seems to have coordinate search function.

Interesting.

Anyway upcar, you said in the first post that the junction view is too big, can show us a screenshot of the junction view?
SUSUpCar
post Feb 2 2012, 06:11 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(daruma @ Feb 2 2012, 06:46 AM)
my m8 get force closed after running a while  in g.note.

do you face that prob?
nope. full 5 hours to and fro ipoh under hot sun. still ok.

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Feb 2 2012, 01:57 PM)
upcar's screenshot doesn't show coordinate search function.

smokey78's screenshot however seems to have coordinate search function.

Interesting.

Anyway upcar, you said in the first post that the junction view is too big, can show us a screenshot of the junction view?
cannot. phone not with me and wont be with me for 2 week

IamNOT
post Feb 3 2012, 10:41 AM

283 posts

Where to get the software? I waited sooo long for an update in Android.
rahuldave
post Feb 4 2012, 07:24 AM

FAFC 'Forever Android Fan Club'
1,241 posts

Just wish if they could add coordinates and it would be one of the best GPS Navigation software on Android. I've waited for this since the first Google Nexus One. smile.gif
djlah
post Feb 4 2012, 09:56 AM

7,723 posts

feedback: Papago M8 not working on galaxy nexus. there is no 720x1184 support. I guess galaxy nexus user won't buy papago M8 until there is official support add for galaxy nexus.
jtdc
post Feb 5 2012, 12:13 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Jan 31 2012, 08:34 PM)
i also turn on the GPS before open Papago X5, but also the same also...
even if you turn on GPS, it will not "sniff" unless a software tells it to (ie. Papago, Google Map, etc.)... therefore the speed of locking is dependent on the GPS hardware in the phone.

SUSUpCar
post Feb 6 2012, 09:19 AM

1,612 posts

After days of driving around, this I'd much better than the previous version. Voice guidance much easier on my ears but there's still room for improvements.
sHawTY
post Feb 7 2012, 06:07 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Edited: Nevermind, it seems updating Papago M8 Pro for iPhone / iPad / iPod Touch is very hard. Thus I'm choosing Galaxy Tab 7.7. Now waiting for Papago M8/M9 for Android to come out then I'll buy the Galaxy Tab 7.7.

UpCar, would you mind asking them if Papago M8 Pro (For iPhone / iPad / iPod Touch) is compatible with the latest map from MFM?

Right now deciding either to buy iPad 2 or Galaxy Tab 7.7.
So the answer to my question above is very crucial in making my decision.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Feb 7 2012, 06:10 PM
rahuldave
post Feb 12 2012, 07:43 AM

1,241 posts

Any news on release date of M8/M9 for android? hmm.gif
joanalooidog
post Feb 12 2012, 07:28 PM

2,823 posts

Why still no coordinate input method.........
smokey78
post Feb 13 2012, 07:35 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Feb 12 2012, 08:28 PM)
Why still no coordinate input method.........
Hi Bro,

FYI, Coordinate input got.. brows.gif

p/s : New PAPAGO! software will support all screen resolution.. so stay tuned.. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by smokey78: Feb 13 2012, 07:44 AM
rahuldave
post Feb 13 2012, 09:53 PM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(smokey78 @ Feb 13 2012, 07:35 AM)
Hi Bro,

FYI, Coordinate input got..  brows.gif

p/s : New PAPAGO! software will support all screen resolution.. so stay tuned..  rclxms.gif
Haha, I would say this is one of the best Navigation software on android which I have been waiting for a very long time. Just tell me when is the release date, really can't wait smile.gif haha
smokey
post Feb 13 2012, 10:38 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

so whats the difference m8 vs m9? cant find in google...
sHawTY
post Feb 15 2012, 04:44 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Still waiting for the official release date. hmm.gif
chteh
post Feb 16 2012, 01:45 PM

21 posts

Iphone M8 version have 3D landmark or terrain,
did this Android version have?
rayfoo
post Feb 16 2012, 08:35 PM

2,562 posts

waiting waiting
rahuldave
post Feb 17 2012, 07:40 AM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Feb 16 2012, 08:35 PM)
waiting waiting
me too..... sweat.gif
DarkNite
post Feb 19 2012, 03:23 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(chteh @ Feb 16 2012, 01:45 PM)
Iphone M8 version have 3D landmark or terrain,
did this Android version have?
many ppl are hoping also.
Heard coming in March but you know la M3GPS sweat.gif sweat.gif
rahuldave
post Feb 23 2012, 10:09 AM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 30 2012, 06:32 PM)
QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 19 2012, 03:23 PM)
many ppl are hoping also.
Heard coming in March but you know la M3GPS sweat.gif  sweat.gif
The possibility is there as advised by TS earlier. Just hoping it will be released soon biggrin.gif
DarkNite
post Feb 26 2012, 09:49 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

3 more days to early March 2012.
squall_kay
post Feb 26 2012, 10:32 AM

5,726 posts

anyone tried to compare with Sygic? hopefully better smile.gif
rahuldave
post Feb 27 2012, 04:39 PM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Feb 26 2012, 10:32 AM)
anyone tried to compare with Sygic? hopefully better  smile.gif
Gotta wait for the official release before we could compare it bro
yoksan
post Mar 3 2012, 10:32 AM

44 posts

now is early march already ... still waiting to be release ... any news ?
rahuldave
post Mar 5 2012, 07:10 AM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(yoksan @ Mar 3 2012, 10:32 AM)
now is early march already ... still waiting to be release ... any news ?
Hope TS can assist us to advise the release date since we are in the first week of Mac 2012
stranger88
post Mar 6 2012, 02:21 PM

593 posts

sent a mail to support@m3gps.com, this is what they replied

Papago M9 will be released by next week. Kindly refer to our website for more details and announcements. The retail price will be RM119.

Cynox
post Mar 6 2012, 05:23 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(stranger88 @ Mar 6 2012, 02:21 PM)
great news. thumbup.gif
rahuldave
post Mar 8 2012, 11:09 AM

1,241 posts

At last, they have announced it. Good to hear that biggrin.gif
vamfire
post Mar 8 2012, 04:43 PM

171 posts

Chatted with their customer service online & got info that it will be available by the end of this month for the price of RM99 to RM149...

Feels like the days of this month is passing slowly, cant wait for it... drool.gif

SUSUpCar
post Mar 8 2012, 05:59 PM

1,612 posts

i think its better u all wait for the launch at pcfair and try to grab it then.

pcfair i think in early april next month oni. should have promo price. i forgot to ask them.
rahuldave
post Mar 9 2012, 10:35 AM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Mar 8 2012, 05:59 PM)
i think its better u all wait for the launch at pcfair and try to grab it then.

pcfair i think in early april next month oni. should have promo price. i forgot to ask them.
I guess you cant be expecting the Papago fans to wait for another month..... smile.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 11 2012, 07:38 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(vamfire @ Mar 8 2012, 04:43 PM)
Chatted with their customer service online & got info that it will be available by the end of this month for the price of RM99 to RM149...
1 post said they will release it by next week.
1 post said they will release it by the end of the month.

Again M3GPS with their unreliable services.
APIITian
post Mar 11 2012, 07:53 PM

1,316 posts

Downloadable from Google Play Store?
joanalooidog
post Mar 11 2012, 11:07 PM

2,823 posts

normally for paid version, license lasted how long?
1 year? or 1 time payment?
mar90
post Mar 12 2012, 12:55 AM

340 posts

this support ics? please do biggrin.gif
rahuldave
post Mar 13 2012, 04:52 PM

1,241 posts

Here's reply from m3gps

Tue, Mar 13 2012 4:52pm - Caroline Chong
We thank you for your interest and inquiry.

The PAPAGO! M9 is into the final stage of the development We however, still have not firm up the release date but it will not be within the week.

Do follow us on our Facebook Fan PAge or Twitter Account for the release of the product.

Should you require any further information and assistance, please do not hesitate to email or contact us at 03-7954 8101 (Monday to Friday, 9am to 6pm) and (Saturday, 9am to 1pm) excluding Sundays and Public Holidays.

stranger88
post Mar 13 2012, 04:58 PM

593 posts

haiz, all diff answer we got.
zeese
post Mar 15 2012, 12:15 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

i'm also waiting to this because of the problem i had with it's potrait mode (the junction view blocks all information on the top screen).
DarkNite
post Mar 15 2012, 01:00 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Mar 11 2012, 07:38 PM)
1 post said they will release it by next week.
1 post said they will release it by the end of the month.

Again M3GPS with their unreliable services.
the M3GPS representative in MFM forum also scared to show face there.
So many problem and no solution! laugh.gif
azumimuo
post Mar 16 2012, 04:55 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Mar 15 2012, 01:00 PM)
the M3GPS representative in MFM forum also scared to show face there.
So many problem and no solution! laugh.gif
biasa laaa... malaysia kan negara 3rd class. duit diutamakan... pencapaian dikemudiankan.
DJFoo000
post Mar 17 2012, 02:02 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

I hope this time they can quote a support period for the new version. The X5 was like what, <2 years old before they asked MFM to stop map support?
MICHAEL TANG
post Mar 21 2012, 04:44 PM

How to install m8 papago?? where can find the installer?? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
jusbella
post Mar 21 2012, 04:46 PM

3,034 posts

QUOTE(MICHAEL TANG @ Mar 21 2012, 04:44 PM)
How to install m8 papago?? where can find the installer?? icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Buy from M3gps, here http://www.m3asia.com/

its very cheap...
samhong198
post Mar 23 2012, 09:20 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Mar 21 2012, 04:46 PM)
Buy from M3gps, here http://www.m3asia.com/

its very cheap...
M3gps already have android m8 msia software meh?
jusbella
post Mar 23 2012, 10:31 PM

3,034 posts

QUOTE(samhong198 @ Mar 23 2012, 09:20 PM)
M3gps already have android m8 msia software meh?
No, not yet...
thomasyke
post Mar 26 2012, 11:33 AM

409 posts

because they are so slow, maybe we should all just purchase sygic or garmin instead? =\
bug_vengeance
post Mar 26 2012, 12:12 PM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

QUOTE(thomasyke @ Mar 26 2012, 11:33 AM)
because they are so slow, maybe we should all just purchase sygic or garmin instead? =\
got garmin for android ?
shahzad86
post Mar 26 2012, 12:19 PM

171 posts

AFAIK, no garmin for android yet.....i'm already planning to get a nuvi 50LM, tired waiting for M3gps to release m9...haih

rayfoo
post Mar 27 2012, 08:16 PM

2,562 posts

latest news i get today is they will sell it during pcfair klcc which is around the corner
edan1979
post Mar 27 2012, 08:24 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

because of the slowness i use waze instead... free...
shaoming90
post Mar 29 2012, 01:18 PM

23 posts

compatible with s2 4.0.3?
h530251
post Mar 29 2012, 08:48 PM

When I turn on the M8, I noticed that you have to manually turn on the GPS on the phone. When you power down the M8, you have to manually turn off the GPS on the phone. This is a hassle.

Does anyone of you have this problem ?

Is there any way to make it automatically like what X5 is working in windows mobile ?

razin
post Mar 29 2012, 08:52 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Mar 27 2012, 08:24 PM)
waze is good for city
sHawTY
post Mar 29 2012, 09:49 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(h530251 @ Mar 29 2012, 08:48 PM)
When I turn on the M8, I noticed that you have to manually turn on the GPS on the phone. When you power down the M8, you have to manually turn off the GPS on the phone. This is a hassle.

Is there any way to make it automatically like what X5 is working in windows mobile ?

That's normal for Papago for Android.
The GPS receiver is turned off the save the battery.
zeese
post Mar 29 2012, 10:15 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(h530251 @ Mar 29 2012, 08:48 PM)

It's a security feature. You don't want someone to automatically turn on the gps and track you remotely. By manually turning on the gps indicates that you really give permission for the software to get the location and do whatever the software is meant to do.

Anyway, you can leave it on all the time as it won't turn on the gps unless you open the gps Application.

This post has been edited by zeese: Mar 30 2012, 08:40 AM
sHawTY
post Mar 31 2012, 11:36 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

It's 31 March 2012 & still no news about Papago M9 for Android.
M3GPS is really unreliable.
rahuldave
post Apr 1 2012, 10:41 AM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Mar 31 2012, 11:36 PM)
It's 31 March 2012 & still no news about Papago M9 for Android.
M3GPS is really unreliable.
+1
ghost_301
post Apr 1 2012, 11:51 AM

500 posts

Been waiting for this for long and seems it will continue to disappoint us. :/ Anyone have any news on the release?
arslow
post Apr 1 2012, 12:00 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Mar 27 2012, 08:24 PM)
And it doesnt eat much data too!!!20 minutes ride only about 2 mb used.... rclxms.gif
zeonczk
post Apr 1 2012, 10:03 PM

276 posts

Is papago compatible with Sony tablet s?
awol
post Apr 2 2012, 10:49 AM

912 posts

"'Papago M9 will be officially released during KL Pikom PC Fair on 13th April 2012."

this is what i got from their representative.
hellfire8888
post Apr 5 2012, 11:02 AM

3,196 posts

M9 is for sale now
zeese
post Apr 5 2012, 11:28 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Apr 5 2012, 11:02 AM)
M9 is for sale now
How much is it?
bug_vengeance
post Apr 5 2012, 11:34 AM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

i cant find it in playstore
pc-ox
post Apr 5 2012, 11:59 AM

174 posts

PAPAGO! M9 can get from M3Shoppe.com for RM129.

http://www.m3shoppe.com/index.php?page=sho...uemart&Itemid=1
dvpro
post Apr 5 2012, 12:32 PM

The M3Shoppe.com FB page announces that it's offered for only RM99 for a limited time, but the price online has not been adjusted just yet, still listed for RM129.

Added on April 5, 2012, 12:33 pmIt's RM99 already, got to buy one now.

This post has been edited by dvpro: Apr 5 2012, 12:33 PM
DJFoo000
post Apr 5 2012, 12:53 PM

3,000 posts

Anyone know how long is M9 going to be supported for by MFM?
rahuldave
post Apr 5 2012, 12:57 PM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(dvpro @ Apr 5 2012, 12:32 PM)
The M3Shoppe.com FB page announces that it's offered for only RM99 for a limited time, but the price online has not been adjusted just yet, still listed for RM129.

Added on April 5, 2012, 12:33 pmIt's RM99 already, got to buy one now.
It has been reduced to RM 99.00

zeese
post Apr 5 2012, 02:22 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Apr 5 2012, 12:57 PM)
It has been reduced to RM 99.00
It becomes rm97 if payment is made using online banking thumbup.gif

SUSUpCar
post Apr 5 2012, 03:30 PM

1,612 posts

anyone buy yet ?
pc-ox
post Apr 5 2012, 03:47 PM

174 posts

Genuine Papago! X5 can get upgrade to Papago! M9 from M3GPS.

Thank you Mr Sunn.

First of all, our apology for the previous delayed response and thank you for your patience.

We would like to announce the release of our Papago! M9 for Android. You can get it via our online shop at http://www.m3Shoppe.com. For those who already bought the Papago! X5 can get the upgrade by sending an email to upgrade@m3gps.com. Kindly provide the details as below in the email:

1. The email received from Maction Technologies after the registration (the email received after the registration of Papago X5 for Android).
2. The Authorization code
3. The proof of payment.
http://www.malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f...11726&start=400
jusbella
post Apr 5 2012, 04:08 PM

3,034 posts

I just bought it... need to wait 5-10 days delivery :'(
samhong198
post Apr 5 2012, 04:29 PM

39 posts

1 set m9 software can use 1 unit device only or more?
garytey
post Apr 5 2012, 04:29 PM

948 posts

QUOTE(pc-ox @ Apr 5 2012, 03:47 PM)
Genuine Papago! X5 can get upgrade to Papago! M9 from M3GPS.
http://www.malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f...11726&start=400
thank you, send jor, hope for good news
jusbella
post Apr 5 2012, 04:58 PM

3,034 posts

QUOTE(samhong198 @ Apr 5 2012, 04:29 PM)
1 only...
dvpro
post Apr 5 2012, 05:39 PM

QUOTE(jusbella @ Apr 5 2012, 04:08 PM)
I just bought it... need to wait 5-10 days delivery :'(
I opted for the premium delivery, maybe I'll receive it earlier. rclxms.gif
jusbella
post Apr 5 2012, 06:02 PM

3,034 posts

QUOTE(dvpro @ Apr 5 2012, 05:39 PM)
I opted for the premium delivery, maybe I'll receive it earlier.  rclxms.gif
I want to save money, I'm not from rich family.
zeese
post Apr 5 2012, 06:17 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(samhong198 @ Apr 5 2012, 04:29 PM)
QUOTE(jusbella @ Apr 5 2012, 04:58 PM)
1 only...
If I upgrade my phone, then I cannot use the software again?
So many new phones will come out this year.. sony xperia S, htc one X, galaxy S3, etc.
samhong198
post Apr 5 2012, 07:59 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Apr 5 2012, 06:17 PM)
So many new phones will come out this year.. sony xperia S, htc one X, galaxy S3, etc.
yalo,here got many rich man mah~ some one mybe upgrade phone each season leh~
SUSUpCar
post Apr 5 2012, 08:08 PM

1,612 posts

i hope all the bugs weed out liao
mesol_er
post Apr 5 2012, 08:19 PM

46 posts

how about map, is it free and downloadable from navigasi.net? malmapfree.com already expired domain thou..
dvpro
post Apr 5 2012, 09:41 PM

QUOTE(mesol_er @ Apr 5 2012, 08:19 PM)
how about map, is it free and downloadable from navigasi.net? malmapfree.com already expired domain thou..
Free PAPAGO X8.5 map of Malaysia/Singapore/Brunei is available at malfreemaps.com
squall_kay
post Apr 5 2012, 11:09 PM

5,726 posts

if purchase ori one, can it be use for multiple device?
pc-ox
post Apr 5 2012, 11:18 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Apr 5 2012, 11:09 PM)
if purchase ori one, can it be use for multiple device?
Please read previous post. Answer is 1 device only.
sHawTY
post Apr 6 2012, 01:12 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Yes. 1 purchase can only be used on 1 phone.

QUOTE(mesol_er @ Apr 5 2012, 08:19 PM)
malmapfree.com already expired domain thou.
That's because you're typing the wrong address.

It's http://www.malfreemaps.com
pc-ox
post Apr 6 2012, 02:00 PM

174 posts

The license key is not transferable as the license will locked on the phone IMEI. So when you upgrade phone, need to buy new copy of Papago! M9.
SUSUpCar
post Apr 6 2012, 02:39 PM

1,612 posts

if buy laptop come with windows 7, that license also only valid for that laptop alone. where got transferable ?

if papago allow multiple devices or installation on diff devices then chap lap liao lor like that.

garytey
post Apr 6 2012, 04:11 PM

948 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Apr 6 2012, 02:39 PM)
if buy laptop come with windows 7, that license also only valid for that laptop alone. where got transferable ?

if papago allow multiple devices or installation on diff devices then chap lap liao lor like that.
other gps apps like sygic also practise the same???
squall_kay
post Apr 6 2012, 04:17 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Apr 6 2012, 02:39 PM)

thats different. like all other android apps, most of it transferable.

IINM, papago M8 for iphone also transferable.
SUSUpCar
post Apr 6 2012, 04:30 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Apr 6 2012, 04:11 PM)
other gps apps like sygic also practise the same???
i dont use sygic but on my old symbian, the garmin mxt was not transferable.

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Apr 6 2012, 04:17 PM)
thats different. like all other android apps, most of it transferable.

IINM, papago M8 for iphone also transferable.
i dunno bout that. but i do know my 3GS sucks big time. i wont even bother buying apps or jailbreaking because its just not worth it. At least with android, i'm willing to spend some money buying mojo's for little empire game.
heck i've even paid for quite a number of apps and donated mostly to xda people for the great effort they put into their rom dev.

garytey
post Apr 6 2012, 05:03 PM

948 posts

I was lucky to have my phone used almost 2 years, hahaha
DJFoo000
post Apr 7 2012, 11:16 AM

3,000 posts

Just received the M9 package. Am having serious issues copying the NAVISEA folder from the DVD. The transfer keep failing at the same file 'R51_SSC_VR.pak'. There are some other files as well that fail to copy when I select them manually.

Anyone having same problem? Opened support ticket with M3shoppe already.
mesol_er
post Apr 7 2012, 11:25 AM

46 posts

just receive email delivery last nite. hope no issue for me..
dvpro
post Apr 7 2012, 07:50 PM

As in my case, the CD-ROM is OK, but the transfer was unsuccessful for a few files, where initially I had transfered directly to device and mSD card using USB cable. But it was fine when I transfered it using card reader. My device is Samsung Galaxy Note.
zeese
post Apr 8 2012, 12:31 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

I also have my own problem. I got the CD and after installation, when I tried to register it from the web, it says it is already registered.. and it is registered to someone else.. WTF!!
zhen^wei
post Apr 8 2012, 02:00 AM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Apr 7 2012, 11:16 AM)
Just received the M9 package. Am having serious issues copying the NAVISEA folder from the DVD. The transfer keep failing at the same file 'R51_SSC_VR.pak'. There are some other files as well that fail to copy when I select them manually.

Anyone having same problem? Opened support ticket with M3shoppe already.
that is map file problem right ?
can use Papago x8.5 maps for update ?

QUOTE(zeese @ Apr 8 2012, 12:31 AM)
I also have my own problem. I got the CD and after installation, when I tried to register it from the web, it says it is already registered.. and it is registered to someone else.. WTF!!
that is terrible ! should ask for refund shocking.gif

zeese
post Apr 8 2012, 03:25 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Apr 8 2012, 02:00 AM)
that is terrible ! should ask for refund  shocking.gif
I hope they won't give me a hard time because new serial number from them should be sufficient to solve this issue.

This post has been edited by zeese: Apr 8 2012, 09:32 AM
smokey78
post Apr 8 2012, 03:28 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Apr 8 2012, 04:25 AM)
I hope they won't give me a hard time because new serial number from them should be sufficient to solve this issue.

On the other hand, I suspect this piracy is caused by their own staff.
Becareful with ur statement bro...

This post has been edited by smokey78: Apr 8 2012, 03:30 AM
CoupD'Etat
post Apr 8 2012, 05:54 AM

502 posts

the map can use in x5 papago ?
pc-ox
post Apr 8 2012, 08:02 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(CoupD'Etat @ Apr 8 2012, 05:54 AM)
the map can use in x5 papago ?
No. Free-MFM-PAPAGO! X8.5 Maps can't use in X5.

Free-MFM-PAPAGO! X8.5 Maps is for PAPAGO! X8.5, M3GPS X8.5, M3GPS PAPAGO! ONE & PAPAGO! M9.
The latest map for PAPAGO! X5 is 04-Oct-2011. MFM stopped update map for PAPAGO! X5.
CoupD'Etat
post Apr 8 2012, 04:15 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(pc-ox @ Apr 8 2012, 08:02 AM)
No. Free-MFM-PAPAGO! X8.5 Maps can't use in X5.

Free-MFM-PAPAGO! X8.5 Maps is for PAPAGO! X8.5, M3GPS X8.5, M3GPS PAPAGO! ONE & PAPAGO! M9.
The latest map for PAPAGO! X5 is 04-Oct-2011. MFM stopped update map for PAPAGO! X5.
Ah..... any other site ?
pc-ox
post Apr 8 2012, 10:01 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(CoupD'Etat @ Apr 8 2012, 04:15 PM)
Ah..... any other site ?
No.
CoupD'Etat
post Apr 8 2012, 10:15 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(pc-ox @ Apr 8 2012, 10:01 PM)
No.
mean x5 can throw away? T.T

so sad.
samhong198
post Apr 8 2012, 10:28 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(CoupD'Etat @ Apr 8 2012, 10:15 PM)

so sad.
yes,till 04/11 map very outdate, drop!
dvpro
post Apr 9 2012, 01:57 PM

QUOTE(CoupD'Etat @ Apr 8 2012, 10:15 PM)

so sad.
If you have purchased the original, you are entitled to a free upgrade.
CoupD'Etat
post Apr 9 2012, 03:54 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(dvpro @ Apr 9 2012, 01:57 PM)
If you have purchased the original, you are entitled to a free upgrade.
u mean map or software?
giveme5
post Apr 9 2012, 03:55 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(CoupD'Etat @ Apr 9 2012, 03:54 PM)
u mean map or software?
Of cos the software ler dude. tongue.gif
dvpro
post Apr 9 2012, 09:04 PM

Kudeta, you can refer to this post in MFM: http://malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?p=173393#p173393
dchk
post Apr 11 2012, 08:53 AM

415 posts

Anyone care to give a quick review of M9?
dvpro
post Apr 11 2012, 09:58 AM

Haven't had much time to navigate yet, but cosmetically, apart from the landscape mode and coordinate input, everything else feels similar to X5.
solsekuin44
post Apr 11 2012, 01:31 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

Is it free?
smokey
post Apr 11 2012, 04:25 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Apr 11 2012, 01:31 PM)
Is it free?
no its not free...
they are having promotion now...rm99 instead of rm129

http://www.m3shoppe.com/index.php?page=sho...emart&Itemid=26

btw, i emailed them and they are unsure whether it will work with 1280*720 resolution...they suggest to bring ur device to go to their shop and test...

Added on April 11, 2012, 4:31 pmupdate:

seems like papago m9 will scale up the nearest resolution to 1280*720...

http://www.malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f...11726&start=410

This post has been edited by smokey: Apr 11 2012, 04:31 PM
ghost_301
post Apr 12 2012, 08:58 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Apr 11 2012, 04:25 PM)
no its not free...

btw, i emailed them and they are unsure whether it will work with 1280*720 resolution...they suggest to bring ur device to go to their shop and test...

Pretty surprise that they just opt off the Galaxy Nexus resolution, but good to know it will scale down to make it work.
2uk3y
post Apr 12 2012, 10:55 AM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

is there any software demo to test if can support my phone or not ?
garagesell
post Apr 12 2012, 12:56 PM

1,310 posts

any free version
solsekuin44
post Apr 12 2012, 03:06 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Apr 11 2012, 04:25 PM)
no its not free...

shocking.gif So expensive for an app!
Where is the branch? I'm using Sony Xperia S, anyone tried Papago on the same phone? ^^
lestat48
post Apr 12 2012, 08:22 PM

I installed it on my Galaxy SI. But my current location shown on the map is wrong? Off by few hundred meters. Anyone facing this?
smokey
post Apr 12 2012, 10:15 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Apr 12 2012, 03:06 PM)
Where is the branch? I'm using Sony Xperia S, anyone tried Papago on the same phone? ^^
if u refer to the xperia s thread, i rmb i person saying it cant work on his xperia s...not sure bout his latest news...
solsekuin44
post Apr 13 2012, 12:18 AM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Apr 12 2012, 10:15 PM)
if u refer to the xperia s thread, i rmb i person saying it cant work on his xperia s...not sure bout his latest news...
Thanks, will ask. ^^
zeese
post Apr 13 2012, 12:29 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(lestat48 @ Apr 12 2012, 08:22 PM)
I installed it on my Galaxy SI. But my current location shown on the map is wrong? Off by few hundred meters. Anyone facing this?
Try I move until the cursor starts moving to show your new location. I had the same issue with x5, it showed wrong initial location until I start moving. I also have purchased the latest m9, but I haven't tried it yet as I have no need to use gps at this moment.
raclette
post Apr 13 2012, 08:12 AM

428 posts

anyone care to answer?
MYstombox
post Apr 13 2012, 08:19 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Difference between M9 and M8 is $$ for them. lol
zeese
post Apr 13 2012, 08:36 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(raclette @ Apr 13 2012, 08:12 AM)
in my opinion, the user interface needs to be more friendly too..

anyone care to answer?
sounds like u were a garmin user.. because all those features are available inside garmin..
anyway, for papago, among all the listed features above, they've added toll avoidance option and coordinate search only.

If they want to be the best, they should have all the features that competitors have.. and more features on top of that..
raclette
post Apr 13 2012, 08:39 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Apr 13 2012, 08:19 AM)
Difference between M9 and M8 is $$ for them. lol
so M9 is for middle class n M8 for poor ppl? rich ppl got built in gps in their car mostly biggrin.gif
QUOTE(zeese @ Apr 13 2012, 08:36 AM)
sounds like u were a garmin user.. because all those features are available inside garmin..
anyway, for papago, among all the listed features above, they've added toll avoidance option and coordinate search only.

If they want to be the best, they should have all the features that competitors have.. and more features on top of  that..
i was asking about diff between m8 & m9 smile.gif

This post has been edited by raclette: Apr 13 2012, 08:39 AM
OneBuck
post Apr 13 2012, 10:06 AM

208 posts

Anybody manage to get a free upgrade from x5 to x9?

How you get it? emailed? walk-in?

This post has been edited by OneBuck: Apr 13 2012, 10:07 AM
Atsutane-Shirane
post Apr 13 2012, 10:17 AM

1,458 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Apr 12 2012, 03:06 PM)
It's normal for app like this... Sygic also cost around RM90
MYstombox
post Apr 13 2012, 10:33 AM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Since the app is non-transferable to another device of yours in the future, you may need to consider the switching cost as well.

May be just better to outright buy a standalone device.
mesol_er
post Apr 13 2012, 07:37 PM

46 posts

how to key im auth code? seem can only accept numerix. auth code provided have alphabet too
zeese
post Apr 13 2012, 08:05 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

you key in the authorization code inside their web, and then, you'll get the actual, numeric code.
mesol_er
post Apr 13 2012, 09:04 PM

46 posts

zeese, thanks. demm i have problem to copy file too. one sound file..
samhong198
post Apr 13 2012, 09:11 PM

39 posts

my samsung 7.7 tab install M9 just now.

i got force close each time in 3D Simulation mode.

only in 2D mode can run smooth

my cpu run m9 not over 60%use i can see in my taskinfo

anybody facing it?
pkchai
post Apr 14 2012, 10:07 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(samhong198 @ Apr 13 2012, 09:11 PM)

anybody facing it?
I bought M9 for RM99 at PC Fair yesterday. Followed the instructions on the instruction sheet and DVD provided and obtained the 8-digit all numerical registration code, installed the app on my Acer Iconia Tab A500 and duly keyed in the registration code. All I get is the Demo mode and a map of Jakarta. I sent an email to support.m3gps.com and am still waiting for a reply. Will let you guys know what happens next.

The picture shows that M9 supports Android devices from Samsung, HTC, Sony-E, Asus, Acer, Huawei for Android OS 1.5 and above.

zeese
post Apr 14 2012, 12:36 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(pkchai @ Apr 14 2012, 10:07 AM)
I bought M9 for RM99 at PC Fair yesterday. Followed the instructions on the instruction sheet and DVD provided and obtained the 8-digit all numerical registration code, installed the app on my Acer Iconia Tab A500 and duly keyed in the registration code. All I get is the Demo mode and a map of Jakarta. I sent an email to support.m3gps.com and am still waiting for a reply. Will let you guys know what happens next.

The picture shows that M9 supports Android devices from Samsung, HTC, Sony-E, Asus, Acer, Huawei for Android OS 1.5 and above.
Go to setting. Scroll to the bottom and click "map version". There, you can select malaysia, thailand or indonesia map. Once you select the correct map, the demo word will be gone.
Amal
post Apr 14 2012, 01:09 PM

1,672 posts

Bought mine online from m3.

Guess what? They gave me someone else code that have already registered!

Already called the papago service desk.
Still waiting for new code.. haihh...
pkchai
post Apr 14 2012, 02:01 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Apr 14 2012, 12:36 PM)
Go to setting. Scroll to the bottom and click "map version". There, you can select malaysia, thailand or indonesia map. Once you select the correct map, the demo word will be gone.
Hi, thanks for the suggestion. Followed it and changed the map to my favourite MFM map. However the dreaded DEMO mode is still there! Still waiting for support from m3gps. At least I've got the right map now. Thanks again.
peterscm
post Apr 14 2012, 05:54 PM

388 posts

just bought a copy from PC-Fair. after open the package and insert the DVD into DVD drive and discovered the DVD disk is empty!! doh.gif WTH... tomorrow have to go down to PC-Fair again to get it change.
garytey
post Apr 14 2012, 06:05 PM

948 posts

QUOTE(OneBuck @ Apr 13 2012, 10:06 AM)
Anybody manage to get a free upgrade from x5 to x9?

How you get it? emailed? walk-in?
im free upgrade from x5 to M9

if you done by walk in, then it is free, if you opt out for post to your door like me, then there is an handling of RM15
pkchai
post Apr 14 2012, 07:23 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(pkchai @ Apr 14 2012, 02:01 PM)
Hi, thanks for the suggestion. Followed it and changed the map to my favourite MFM map. However the dreaded DEMO mode is still there! Still waiting for support from m3gps. At least I've got the right map now. Thanks again.
Strange. Papago M9 is working fine now. Haven't tried it on the road yet, but the Demo mode is gone. The people in m3gps must have done something to solve the problem. Thanks to everyone who helped.
samhong198
post Apr 14 2012, 07:33 PM

39 posts

anybody have M9 working fine in samsung tab 7.7 ?
arslow
post Apr 14 2012, 08:47 PM

3,544 posts

lol. Empty disk? key already registered? What are these m3 guys smoking lar doh.gif
ghost_301
post Apr 14 2012, 09:57 PM

500 posts

Beware! Doesn't work on Galaxy Nexus. Just bought a copy from PC fair, register and copy fine, but won't work on my Galaxy Nexus. Very very disappointed.
zhen^wei
post Apr 14 2012, 10:24 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(samhong198 @ Apr 13 2012, 09:11 PM)

anybody facing it?
QUOTE(samhong198 @ Apr 14 2012, 07:33 PM)
anybody have M9 working fine in samsung tab 7.7 ?
QUOTE(ghost_301 @ Apr 14 2012, 09:57 PM)
Beware! Doesn't work on Galaxy Nexus. Just bought a copy from PC fair, register and copy fine, but won't work on my Galaxy Nexus. Very very disappointed.
Galaxy 7.7 got issues with the M9. dont buy first.
I guess someone should update the first post with supported list, and non supported list.

QUOTE(pkchai @ Apr 14 2012, 10:07 AM)

you need to register online and key in the registration code provided in the package and also the IMEI of ur device to generate one more code to activate.

QUOTE(Amal @ Apr 14 2012, 01:09 PM)
Bought mine online from m3.

Guess what? They gave me someone else code that have already registered!

Already called the papago service desk.
Still waiting for new code.. haihh...
this not first case, got forumrs from cari already complaint this.

QUOTE(peterscm @ Apr 14 2012, 05:54 PM)
just bought a copy from PC-Fair. after open the package and insert the DVD into DVD drive and discovered the DVD disk is empty!!  doh.gif  WTH... tomorrow have to go down to PC-Fair again to get it change.
QUOTE(mesol_er @ Apr 13 2012, 09:04 PM)
zeese, thanks. demm i have problem to copy file too. one sound file..
the DVD abit lousy, some dvd can't read and copy the files. I had 100pcs DVD here..
I can upload the program files and put at my website hosting and provide the download link for those who can try the software in advance before do purchase. and those who has empty dvd and dvd error when copy.

This post has been edited by zhen^wei: Apr 14 2012, 10:25 PM
smokey
post Apr 14 2012, 11:43 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

QUOTE(ghost_301 @ Apr 14 2012, 09:57 PM)
whats the error faced? resolution not supported?
ghost_301
post Apr 15 2012, 01:13 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Apr 14 2012, 11:43 PM)
whats the error faced? resolution not supported?
Just hang there, and I can't provide any input in the registration screen. Pretty much like when you try to install X5 into Galaxy Nexus. Thought they say will resize to nearest res to make it work, but apparently it is not. :/
OneBuck
post Apr 15 2012, 07:35 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Apr 14 2012, 06:05 PM)
im free upgrade from x5 to M9

if you done by walk in, then it is free, if you opt out for post to your door like me, then there is an handling of RM15
That is great.....! Thanks a lot bro.

I will drop by next week at their office since it is near from my house.

Thanks again rclxms.gif
mousqy
post Apr 15 2012, 10:04 AM

758 posts

papago is better than sygic
hope they fix problem for gnex compatibility
ghost_301
post Apr 15 2012, 05:49 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(mousqy @ Apr 15 2012, 10:04 AM)
papago is better than sygic
hope they fix problem for gnex compatibility
Indeed, Sygic is pretty sucks for Malaysia I think. Very unclear and the map is pretty outdated.
jtdc
post Apr 15 2012, 09:50 PM

245 posts

you need to register online and key in the registration code provided in the package and also the IMEI of ur device to generate one more code to activate.

ok here's a related question. we know that in time we all upgrade phones. therefore the IMEI will differ everytime.

is it ok if i enroll the IMEI of a device that i am not ever going to sell (like my Nokia basic phone or an old Siemens phone in my collection), so I will not have change IMEI issues?
zeese
post Apr 16 2012, 08:33 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

if you use imei of of another device, then, use it on ur current phone, the papago will work in a demo mode only.

another option is by buying standalone device/PND.
2uk3y
post Apr 16 2012, 09:39 AM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Apr 14 2012, 10:24 PM)
the DVD abit lousy, some dvd can't read and copy the files. I had 100pcs DVD here..
I can upload the program files and put at my website hosting and provide the download link for those who can try the software in advance before do purchase. and those who has empty dvd and dvd error when copy.
zhen^wei...plz upload the program files and share the link (PM me) so we all can try 1st to see if our device support or not.
TQ notworthy.gif thumbup.gif
zhen^wei
post Apr 16 2012, 09:45 AM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Apr 16 2012, 09:39 AM)
zhen^wei...plz upload the program files and share the link (PM me) so we all can try 1st to see if our device support or not.
TQ  notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif
http://ideal.altdl.com/index.php?dir=Downl...ile=navisea.rar
Maps please download from MFM. files too big for Maps.
Trial Version allow you using no more than 30 minutes on the road.
2uk3y
post Apr 16 2012, 09:50 AM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Apr 16 2012, 09:45 AM)
Thanks bro.... notworthy.gif
lowlock
post Apr 16 2012, 01:00 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Apr 16 2012, 09:45 AM)
i've donlod it and install...
it says unsupported resolution..
btw im using SE live with walkman
2uk3y
post Apr 16 2012, 01:27 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

QUOTE(lowlock @ Apr 16 2012, 01:00 PM)
i've donlod it and install...
it says unsupported resolution..
btw im using SE live with walkman
this bcoz zhen^wei just upload only for 480x800 and 800x480...

i already inform him and he will upload again with all resolution supported. just wait rolleyes.gif
lowlock
post Apr 16 2012, 02:39 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Apr 16 2012, 01:27 PM)
this bcoz zhen^wei just upload only for 480x800 and 800x480...

i already inform him and he will upload again with all resolution supported. just wait  rolleyes.gif

ouh..thnx 4 ur info.. rclxms.gif
rahuldave
post Apr 16 2012, 03:04 PM

1,241 posts

I cant copy the Navisea folder, its giving error in R51_SSC.SLH file. How to overcome this problem?
edan1979
post Apr 16 2012, 03:08 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

I wonder if editing the organic folder trick like X5 work to overcome the unsupported error...
zhen^wei
post Apr 16 2012, 04:44 PM

4,057 posts

Deleted !!!

This post has been edited by zhen^wei: Apr 20 2012, 02:40 PM
2uk3y
post Apr 16 2012, 05:05 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

bro, the link for navisea.rar not found.... i guess this is the link that work...

*remove (request by owner)

btw thanks zhen^wei thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by 2uk3y: Apr 20 2012, 09:43 PM
ghost_301
post Apr 16 2012, 05:15 PM

500 posts

Guess it will take time to solve the resolution support for Galaxy Nexus (and some other devices). They don't even have a test unit of Galaxy Nexus (they are asking for one, so who has it and stay near to their service centre may be can do them a favour?) to know the problem I am having. Pretty damn disappointed for this.
rahuldave
post Apr 16 2012, 05:17 PM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Apr 16 2012, 03:04 PM)
I cant copy the Navisea folder, its giving error in R51_SSC.SLH file. How to overcome this problem?
Call and explained to M3Asia on the problem, now they asked me to send them the faulty DVD sweat.gif
flattyre
post Apr 16 2012, 05:19 PM

289 posts

Anyone using it on S2?

Possible to install the same in tablet such as Transformer Prime?

Sorry. Noob Q.
2uk3y
post Apr 16 2012, 05:27 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Apr 16 2012, 05:17 PM)
Call and explained to M3Asia on the problem, now they asked me to send them the faulty DVD sweat.gif
nonsense.... just download the file from given link and throw the DVD out huhuhu

QUOTE(flattyre @ Apr 16 2012, 05:19 PM)
Anyone using it on S2?

Possible to install the same in tablet such as Transformer Prime?

Sorry. Noob Q.
just test the trial from link given to see if support or not....
kenny79
post Apr 16 2012, 05:38 PM

3,200 posts

Buy n instal i9000 working perfect
zeese
post Apr 16 2012, 06:38 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Buy and install in S2. Works great..
zhen^wei
post Apr 16 2012, 11:15 PM

4,057 posts

Compatible Mobile Model:
* from M3asia webiste, just for reference. If your phone as below then comfirm can.

Htc Sensation ( O.S 4.0.3 ) - can run from external
Motorola Atrix ( O.S 2.3.6 ) - only run from internal
Motorola Razr ( O.S 2.3.6 ) - only run from internal
Samsung Note
Samsung Galaxy S
Samsung Galaxy S2
HTC Desire HD
HTC Desire Z
HTC Desire S
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7
Samsung Galaxy Tab 7 Plus
Samsung Galaxy Tab 8
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10
pc-ox
post Apr 17 2012, 03:08 PM

174 posts

Tested on Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc, everything run OK and no silly issue.

For those who wants save some memory space, can remove unnecessary screen resolution and voice. Screen resolution files stored in organic folder, while voice files stored in sounds folder. Screen resolution depend on phone model. If select wrong screen resolution, unsupported resolution message will pop up during Papago start-up. I just keep English UI and voice, can save about 285MB.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
dchk
post Apr 17 2012, 03:15 PM

415 posts

M9 Papago working on Samsung Galaxy Note. On Thailand and Malaysia map.
smokey
post Apr 17 2012, 03:26 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

tested on Xperia S and working, but it will not auto scale to the entire screen...the papago only occupies small part of the screen
SUSMatrix
post Apr 17 2012, 04:47 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

How much is this thing? RM150??? Can forget it if so expensive....

This post has been edited by Matrix: Apr 17 2012, 04:48 PM
rahuldave
post Apr 17 2012, 04:50 PM

1,241 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 17 2012, 04:47 PM)
How much is this thing? RM150??? Can forget it if so expensive....
Its RM 99.00
jtdc
post Apr 17 2012, 07:42 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Apr 16 2012, 08:33 AM)
if you use imei of of another device, then, use it on ur current phone, the papago will work in a demo mode only.

another option is by buying standalone device/PND.
eh? what happens if i change phone then, what to do?
chteh
post Apr 17 2012, 08:14 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Apr 17 2012, 07:42 PM)
eh?  what happens if i change phone then, what to do?
License are not transferable to other smartphone, so you have to buy a new copy of Papago.
jtdc
post Apr 17 2012, 08:25 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(chteh @ Apr 17 2012, 08:14 PM)
License are not transferable to other smartphone, so you have to buy a new copy of Papago.
damn. what a disadvantage. this basically means i am stuck with my existing phone, as my papago license cannot be transferred.

this is not acceptable i think, as in time people will change phone, either new model come out, need money so resell, stolen, lost, broken and beyond economical repair, very many reasons.

is that official (cannot be transferred)? any reasonable solution provided?
zhen^wei
post Apr 17 2012, 09:23 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(jtdc @ Apr 17 2012, 08:25 PM)
damn.  what a disadvantage.  this basically means i am stuck with my existing phone, as my papago license cannot be transferred.

this is not acceptable i think, as in time people will change phone, either new model come out, need money so resell, stolen, lost, broken and beyond economical repair, very many reasons.

is that official (cannot be transferred)?  any reasonable solution provided?
they worry for piracy issues. u know malaysian always like free stuff.
maybe there is solution soon for trnasfer license.

jtdc
post Apr 17 2012, 09:34 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Apr 17 2012, 09:23 PM)
they worry for piracy issues. u know malaysian always like free stuff.
maybe there is solution soon for trnasfer license.
i was thinking along the lines of, when we buy of course there is an authorization code or something. then its paired with IMEI ok, i am ok with that to curb piracy. but when need to change phone, is it fine it you bring then your new phone to an authorized papago service center, together with your proof of purchase, authorization code, and everything they can use to prove it is legitimate buy and registered to the previous IMEI. then they would just install a new one to the new phone, register the new IMEI on it, and deregsiter/invalidate the previous IMEI paired with the authorization code. that can be done in store right? of course a limit as well, say up to 3 IMEI changes only and only within a certain period of time, say 3 years, whichever comes first. could even bill the license transfer to pay the labor of who would be doing it. i guess that's reasonable enough by the time either 3 years past or 3 changes of phone, the customer would have utilized its worth.

maybe since the M9 is new these things haven't been thought about?

This post has been edited by jtdc: Apr 17 2012, 09:41 PM
mesol_er
post Apr 17 2012, 09:46 PM

46 posts

bought m9. frankly speaking, i prefer sygic, better graphic but they rarely update their map. last is sep 2011.
jtdc
post Apr 17 2012, 09:53 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(mesol_er @ Apr 17 2012, 09:46 PM)
bought m9. frankly speaking, i prefer sygic, better graphic but they rarely update their map. last is sep 2011.
in sygic, how did u determine the date of your installed map, and how do u update?

the last active sygic thread is here.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2159056

btw this is Papago thread and we may be offtopic, sorry for any offense.
zhen^wei
post Apr 17 2012, 10:17 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(mesol_er @ Apr 17 2012, 09:46 PM)
Sygic Routing not good.
and u always can't found the POI. the road name is fine, like google maps.
fairuzdanu
post Apr 18 2012, 12:00 AM

hi

I just installed M9 on my phone
it's Samsung Galaxy W
running android GB 2.3

chose normal delivery, received within a couple of days via pos express

installation wise, i had the same issue as everyone else
copying the file with my memory card in the phone connected to the computer i encountered errors in copying some files.
i had to insert my memory card into a card reader to copy it properly.

Once copied, fortunately the rest of the installation went smoothly.
i had some issue with the demo thing, but after changing to the right map, everything was ok.
bear in mind the authorisation code that they give contibute to some confusion
in the browser window it was 02XXXX but if u save it in excel file it doesnt show the 0 at the front.

anyways, tested it on the way to work.
satellite lock was pretty much instantaneous.
i used x5 before, interface was quite similar, nothing unfamiliarly new.
however what i notice is with the voice turned on, the app keep force closing every few minutes.
regardless in 2d or 3d mode.
however, when i put it to mute.
everything works well. No more crashes.
whether that's because of some error during copying the voice files. i dunno lah.
will try t install later.

Anyway, that's my brief experience with M9.
ok la. few niggle to sort out still. Dunno, maybe some updates in the near future,

jtdc
post Apr 18 2012, 08:18 AM

245 posts

> i used x5 before, interface was quite similar, nothing unfamiliarly new.

i saw on the site there's coordinate inputting already?
also, the important thing here is that it has new map. X5 stuck already at Oct 2011.
zeese
post Apr 18 2012, 08:41 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

Yup.. the coordinate input is nice, because you can enter in 3 different formats like below

-ddd° mm' ss.s"
-ddd° mm.mmm'
-ddd.dddddd°
fairuzdanu
post Apr 18 2012, 12:39 PM

QUOTE(jtdc @ Apr 18 2012, 08:18 AM)
> i used x5 before, interface was quite similar, nothing unfamiliarly new.

i saw on the site there's coordinate inputting already?
also, the important thing here is that it has new map.  X5 stuck already at Oct 2011.
hi.
I agree. Most important thing is the map is new and updated.
i dont mean the similar interface as a bad thing, i always liked the simple interface of papago.
so for me, if it's not broken why fix right:)
coordinate input is there, all three formats.

i'm quite happy with the app for the price(despite the force closing issue with voice turned on).
just hope that there will be some updates in the future to sort out the few niggles.

pkchai
post Apr 18 2012, 08:13 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(fairuzdanu @ Apr 18 2012, 12:39 PM)
hi.
I agree. Most important thing is the map is new and updated.
i dont mean the similar interface as a bad thing, i always liked the simple interface of papago.
so for me, if it's not broken why fix right:)
coordinate input is there, all three formats.

i'm quite happy with the app for the price(despite the force closing issue with voice turned on).
just hope that there will be some updates in the future to sort out the few niggles.
I tried using it on the road for the first time a couple of days ago and experienced the same problem - frequent force closure. I will try it again but this time with the voice muted. Thanks for sharing the benefit of your experience.

A dedicated GPS navigation unit will perform better but it will cost more than the app. If the unit dies (my Garmin Nuvi 255W did) after the warrantee period, you'll still have to purchase a new one (or do without). So Papago's tying our purchase to a particular Android device isn't too unacceptable.

I have a cardboard shield/holder for my tablet to reduce the glare which makes the screen unreadable in bright light.
DJFoo000
post Apr 20 2012, 02:48 PM

3,000 posts

Does anyone still have the NAVISEA folder hosted somewhere? I've waited for 2 weeks and M3 still hasn't resend the DVD.
zhen^wei
post Apr 21 2012, 01:04 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Apr 20 2012, 02:48 PM)
Does anyone still have the NAVISEA folder hosted somewhere? I've waited for 2 weeks and M3 still hasn't resend the DVD.
just call M3asia to get the dvd back.
I already delete the navisea in my server since some idiot share at navitotal and wiating for crack.

This post has been edited by zhen^wei: Apr 21 2012, 01:04 PM
flattyre
post Apr 21 2012, 07:12 PM

289 posts

Tested on S2 and it works fine.

Tested on Asus TFP and FC. Think every time the sound comes out.

eye
post Apr 21 2012, 11:02 PM

1,166 posts

why dvd, why not just put on google play or yr website for us to buy n download direct via wifi, so maafann ..
Alx77
post Apr 21 2012, 11:32 PM

220 posts

Where can I get PapaGo M8/M9 for Galaxy Note?
zhen^wei
post Apr 22 2012, 05:02 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Apr 21 2012, 11:02 PM)
why dvd, why not just put on google play or yr website for us to buy n download direct via wifi, so maafann ..
becoz it is not freeware. unless they put at google play then need pay via credit card,
sHawTY
post Apr 22 2012, 05:49 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Alx77 @ Apr 21 2012, 11:32 PM)
Where can I get PapaGo M8/M9 for Galaxy Note?
By buying from M3.
Link: http://www.m3asia.com/
Alx77
post Apr 22 2012, 07:09 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 22 2012, 05:49 PM)
By buying from M3.
Link: http://www.m3asia.com/
Thanks for it.
DJFoo000
post Apr 22 2012, 07:25 PM

3,000 posts

Alright M3 told me they'll send it again.

One question. I flash ROMs, and restore apps thru Titanium Backup. Do I need to activate the restored Papago M9 every time I perform the restoration, or it will remember that it's activated? Does the data backed up by TiB include the information that it's been activated?
sHawTY
post Apr 23 2012, 12:59 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Just ordered and paid for Papago M9 + Premium Delivery.
Bought it for my Galaxy Note.

Yeah, I know there are some problems with Papago M9 and Galaxy Note reported in MFM and in this thread as well.
Hope that I don't have the same problem though. Fingers crossed. sweat.gif
Dannyl
post Apr 23 2012, 08:10 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Tried out the demo this morning.

+ landscape mode
+ coordinates
+ can use latest MFM maps

- FCs once in a while
- same screwed voice construct ('at the 3rd exit, please', 'please', etc)
- scrolling while navigating seems slower than X5
- cannot import X5 bookmarks
- cannot have both X5 and M9 at the same time, both use NaviSEA (unless manually rename the folder)

The pros seem few, but they are major points. Oh well.
ivn79
post Apr 23 2012, 11:00 AM

203 posts

Hi! just placed order for normal deliver & hope to get it soon. Will try out & update u all soon. I'm using Desire HD.

Cheers!
zeese
post Apr 24 2012, 09:15 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

for those of you who use galaxy note, you can post a screenshot of your papago.. I'm considering gnote right now. So, I'd like to see how good/bad the papago is, since it doesn't have matching resolution for the phone.

Just noticed that the thread's title mentioned it is now supports gnote's resolution..

This post has been edited by zeese: Apr 24 2012, 09:22 AM
peterscm
post Apr 25 2012, 06:25 PM

388 posts

btw, Papago M9 still FC on my G. Note (rooted stock rom.)

best part (error) of all is from Cheras (Tmn Midah-current location) to Kepong Baru shows 300km+ in My List doh.gif . Performance is slower than X5. When initial start of the program, after get the satelite signal, it will shows wrong place / location.

btw, i already activated MY, Indo and Thai maps.

flattyre
post Apr 25 2012, 07:33 PM

289 posts

Received my DVD 2 days after ordered even though through normal delivery says up to 10days.

Thanks M3! rclxms.gif

But still in demo mode as no time to put in the codes doh.gif
sHawTY
post Apr 26 2012, 03:18 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(peterscm @ Apr 25 2012, 06:25 PM)
btw, Papago M9 still FC on my G. Note (rooted stock rom.)
Bought M9 on Monday & installed today.
Also having FC on my G Note.

Either M3 find a fix soon or we wait for ICS.
Perhaps ICS can solve the FC issue.

Although ICS for Galaxy Note will take a while to be released.
Samsung said ICS will only be released in Q2 this year.

No exact date yet. sweat.gif
garytey
post Apr 26 2012, 03:25 PM

948 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 26 2012, 03:18 PM)

shawty i saw read your post on MFM forum, sorry to tell you even I am on ICS, my case was even worst than you, totally cannot use, my papago auto close after satellite locked(refer to my case report in MFM too), thus, i got no gps apps to use now. i think m3 got to do something immediately, else there is no return for me next time and I would not recommend other ppl to purchase their license software till there is any firm solution, providing their untransferrable license charging scheme is unfair to consumer.
sHawTY
post Apr 26 2012, 03:53 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Apr 26 2012, 03:25 PM)
shawty i saw read your post on MFM forum, sorry to tell you even I am on ICS, my case was even worst than you, totally cannot use, my papago auto close after satellite locked
Damn it.
So what are we supposed to do? Wait another 6 month for a fix from Maction?
Knowing M3 Asia, it will take them a very long time to release an update / a fix.

I paid RM97 & this is what I get.

Unfortunately, the FC not only happen to Android based Papago M9, the FC also happens on Papago x8.5 (Windows CE) users.

Sigh, should've waited for the pirated version to be released, at least with that I wouldn't lose any money paying for something that doesn't work. doh.gif
zhen^wei
post Apr 27 2012, 10:03 AM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 26 2012, 03:18 PM)

I thought G Note should work well.
i dont think 4.0 can fixed the issue. i had tried my stock to upgrade 4.0.3 , but still force closed.
I think need adjustment from Maction side, not the device
sHawTY
post Apr 27 2012, 11:05 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Apr 27 2012, 10:03 AM)
I thought G Note should work well.
i dont think 4.0 can fixed the issue. i had tried my stock to upgrade 4.0.3 , but still force closed.
I think need adjustment from Maction side, not the device
Nope, it only works for a few minutes, then force close.
Sometimes can last about 1 hour before it force close again.

My previous ICS idea is just a thought, I was hoping ICS could fix the issue but after 2 replies saying ICS doesn't help M9 at all, then this is going from bad to worse. sweat.gif

m3gps in MFM said they've tested on their Samsung devices, but how they run their test I also don't understand, if they did test thoroughly on Samsung devices, why are there so many reports on M9 force close in this forum and MFM itself? doh.gif
zhen^wei
post Apr 27 2012, 11:51 AM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 27 2012, 11:05 AM)
Nope, it only works for a few minutes, then force close.
Sometimes can last about 1 hour before it force close again.

My previous ICS idea is just a thought, I was hoping ICS could fix the issue but after 2 replies saying ICS doesn't help  M9 at all, then this is going from bad to worse. sweat.gif

m3gps in MFM said they've tested on their Samsung devices, but how they run their test I also don't understand, if they did test thoroughly on Samsung devices, why are there so many reports on M9 force close in this forum and MFM itself? doh.gif
u can try install on internal memory or external memory. see which can work well.
abit worst, we order 100pcs but force close issue..
look like their motive only to get sales during pc fair.
SUSUpCar
post Apr 27 2012, 11:53 AM

1,612 posts

i was on rocket rom 17 when i experienced FC's on my note.
i swapped to rocket 23 now and all is good. didnt even FC once.
but then i tweaked so much in rocket 23 until i forgot which kernel i struck in and what i did with angry gps.
either way, m9 is working for me on my galaxy note without FC's and that's all that matters to me. So much better than when i was on rocket rom 17. FC non stop every few hundred meters. made me miss quite a lot of turnings.
sHawTY
post Apr 27 2012, 12:27 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Apr 27 2012, 11:51 AM)
u can try install on internal memory or external memory. see which can work well.
I thought Papago M9 won't work if install in MicroSD?
Last time when I'm using Galaxy S2, I was not able to run Papago X5 from MicroSD. Papago X5 will only run if I install from internal memory.

Haven't tried with M9 though.
QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Apr 27 2012, 11:51 AM)
look like their motive only to get sales during pc fair.
You got a point there. Until now, M9 is still avaialble in M3Asia's website.
With all this problem, M3Asia should've taken out M9 from their website until the problem has been fixed.
With the problem still being around, more people is going to be frustated with the FC problem.
QUOTE(UpCar @ Apr 27 2012, 11:53 AM)
That defeats the purpose of paying RM99 for a software that has to run on custom ROM to work properly. doh.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 27 2012, 12:31 PM
deathbringer
post Apr 27 2012, 12:47 PM

I'll Pwn j00 !!
1,160 posts

wow...wanted to get for my One X but luckily didn't...so many problems plus the price (with non transferable license) is just killing the software. no wonder everyone is turning to the pirated version.
sHawTY
post Apr 27 2012, 02:53 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Following upcar's advise, I rooted my G Note and now downloading Rocket V22 & V23.
Will test & update here if what upcar said about G Note on Rocket v23 doesn't have any FC for Papago M9 is true or false.

Will be flashing my G Note once the battery is full. Downloading the ROM is going to take some time anyway.
I'm on UNiFi VIP 10, but still it take some time to complete the download for both ROMs. sweat.gif

By the way upcar, you install M9 in internal memory or in MicroSD? hmm.gif
SUSUpCar
post Apr 27 2012, 03:02 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 27 2012, 12:27 PM)
Last time when I'm using Galaxy S2, I was not able to run Papago X5 from MicroSD. Papago X5 will only run if I install from internal memory.

Haven't tried with M9 though.You got a point there. Until now, M9 is still avaialble in M3Asia's website.
With all this problem, M3Asia should've taken out M9 from their website until the problem has been fixed.
With the problem still being around, more people is going to be frustated with the FC problem.That defeats the purpose of paying RM99 for a software that has to run on custom ROM to work properly. doh.gif
tai lou ah, the gnote i buy is RM2299 la. use custom rom better than stock rom also defeated my purpose of buying the note right ? how cna say until liddis. happy can liao la. like some ppl happy with stock rom, but i happier with custom rom ma.

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 27 2012, 02:53 PM)
Following upcar's advise, I rooted my G Note and now downloading Rocket V22 & V23.
Will test & update here if what upcar said about G Note on Rocket v23 doesn't have any FC for Papago M9 is true or false.

Will be flashing my G Note once the battery is full. Downloading the ROM is going to take some time anyway.
I'm on UNiFi VIP 10, but still it take some time to complete the download for both ROMs. sweat.gif

By the way upcar, you install M9 in internal memory or in MicroSD? hmm.gif
i use rocket 23 but abyss kernel or fm kernel. i forgot which 1. but its not the stock 1 that came with rocket 23.
m9 i put inside internel memory. now left back about 100+mb in internel memory. i dun have microsd kad coz is quite expensive. i saving up for a class 10 64gb for my d90.
blackchides
post Apr 27 2012, 03:27 PM

HiiiPower
779 posts

Wow, looks like got a lot of problems. I'll be sticking to Sygic for now then. Thanks for the feedback guys.
sHawTY
post Apr 27 2012, 04:05 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Apr 27 2012, 03:02 PM)
tai lou ah, the gnote i buy is RM2299 la. use custom rom better than stock rom also defeated my purpose of buying the note right ? how cna say until liddis. happy can liao la. like some ppl happy with stock rom, but i happier with custom rom ma.
I didn't say it's wrong to use custom ROM.
I said it defeats the purpose of paying RM99 for the software but then we as the customers have to use custom ROM in order to run the M9 correctly without FC.

You misunderstood what I'm trying to say. smile.gif

Some of us may have the bravery & the knowledge to root and flash our devices, but what about those who doesn't know?
Do all of them have to flash their phone too?
What about those people who love their phone too much to root their phone? Believe me, there are that type of people out there.

I'm not putting the blame on you, I'm putting the blame on M3 and whoever engineered & tested the software without doing a completely thorough check.
sHawTY
post Apr 27 2012, 04:16 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Apr 27 2012, 03:02 PM)
i use rocket 23 but abyss kernel or fm kernel. i forgot which 1. but its not the stock 1 that came with rocket 23.
Can you check which kernel you're using right now?
I believe you know where to check. smile.gif

Right now I'm on Franco kernel. The stock kernel that came with Rocket v23.
SUSUpCar
post Apr 27 2012, 05:00 PM

1,612 posts

can. i reach home about 9pm later. now battery dead and no charger. my whole office ppl here is iphone4 and iphone 4s ppl.
only me and another girl is use samsung and nokia but she gone home early today and lock her desk.

i confirm not using stock rocket 23 kernel because i face many issue with it last time. especially during when use set cpu. so i swap the kernel to either abyss or fm.

sHawTY
post Apr 27 2012, 05:05 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Apr 27 2012, 05:00 PM)
can. i reach home about 9pm later.
Alright, do post here or PM me what kind of kernel you're using right now on your G Note.

Thanks. smile.gif
DJFoo000
post Apr 27 2012, 05:53 PM

3,000 posts

Wow M9 on Galaxy Nexus is totally unusable. Constant crashes, laggy and shrink-ed down UI. The keyboard input is still laggy as hell, thought they would've fixed it in this version.
sHawTY
post Apr 27 2012, 09:04 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Still having FC even after using Rocket v23, although not as much as when I'm using stock ROM.
The FC happens when there's too much rerouting. sad.gif
zhen^wei
post Apr 27 2012, 09:45 PM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Apr 27 2012, 11:53 AM)
i was on rocket rom 17 when i experienced FC's on my note.
but then i tweaked so much in rocket 23 until i forgot which kernel i struck in and what i did with angry gps.
either way, m9 is working for me on my galaxy note without FC's and that's all that matters to me. So much better than when i was on rocket rom 17. FC non stop every few hundred meters. made me miss quite a lot of turnings.
what is the differnet between both custom rom ?

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 27 2012, 12:27 PM)

Haven't tried with M9 though.You got a point there. Until now, M9 is still avaialble in M3Asia's website.
With the problem still being around, more people is going to be frustated with the FC problem.That defeats the purpose of paying RM99 for a software that has to run on custom ROM to work properly. doh.gif
micro sd can installl, u can try. i see their support list, some hp have to install at ext just can run.

QUOTE(deathbringer @ Apr 27 2012, 12:47 PM)
wow...wanted to get for my One X but luckily didn't...so many problems plus the price (with non transferable license) is just killing the software. no wonder everyone is turning to the pirated version.
RM99 / 12 months / 30 days. worth la. like one month one movie ticket..

QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 27 2012, 03:27 PM)
Wow, looks like got a lot of problems. I'll be sticking to Sygic for now then. Thanks for the feedback guys.
Sygic POI and Road Search SUXK. when i using it i remember back the 3D version of Mapking software... but Mapking better than Sygic still.
sHawTY
post Apr 28 2012, 09:09 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

UpCar, still waiting for that kernel you promised.
Dannyl
post Apr 29 2012, 07:34 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Apr 27 2012, 09:45 PM)
RM99 / 12 months / 30 days. worth la. like one month one movie ticket..
It's worth it if it's transferable. But it's not.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Apr 29 2012, 07:35 AM
DarkNite
post May 2 2012, 11:01 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(deathbringer @ Apr 27 2012, 12:47 PM)
at times like this I really miss my 4S with Papago M8.2.2 cry.gif
waisang
post May 2 2012, 01:44 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Apr 27 2012, 05:53 PM)
Wow M9 on Galaxy Nexus is totally unusable. Constant crashes, laggy and shrink-ed down UI. The keyboard input is still laggy as hell, thought they would've fixed it in this version.
Beside papago, what is your next option for your GNexus GPS?
DJFoo000
post May 3 2012, 04:50 PM

3,000 posts

QUOTE(waisang @ May 2 2012, 01:44 PM)
Beside papago, what is your next option for your GNexus GPS?
Google Navigation (Ownhere brut mod).

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: May 3 2012, 04:52 PM
sHawTY
post May 8 2012, 01:54 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Papago / M3Asia / Maction is a joke.
Everyone whose working there is nothing but dumb rednecks & the boss is just a man who doesn't care about anything else but taking money from gullible buyers.

They said the fix for Papago M9 force close is already out, but to get the fix, we have to send them an email with the authorization code & register in their M3Support website.

But when I tried to register my Papago M9, it says my authorization code is invalid. Tried 4 times with 3 different browser still the same.
Then I called 3 times to tell them about the issue, they said they will call back, but even after 3 hours, still no calls at all.
Emailed them my authorization code, still nothing at all.
I bet the fix is not even available yet, that's why all this errors came out.
It's just some sweet lies from their part to cover up from their own errors.

UpCar, you also promised me the kernel, but no replies nor a PM.

I'm going to open a FaceBook group to collect 10000 people to show their dissatisfaction with Papago/Maction/M3Asia. This way, more people will know about the errors of Maction/M3Asia/Papago so more people will stay away from buying any Papago products.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: May 8 2012, 02:23 PM
samhong198
post May 8 2012, 02:11 PM

39 posts

support u ! sHawTY!!

add me in yr FB group!!

samhong198@gmail.com
sHawTY
post May 8 2012, 02:28 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(samhong198 @ May 8 2012, 02:11 PM)
support u ! sHawTY!!

add me in yr FB group!!

samhong198@gmail.com
Have you gotten the fix yet?
samhong198
post May 8 2012, 03:27 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 8 2012, 02:28 PM)
Have you gotten the fix yet?
no,still wait. vmad.gif
zhen^wei
post May 8 2012, 11:48 PM

4,057 posts

cool down bro, maybe too many customers have same problem tat's why they not able to reply your email.haha. I remember last week 2/5 they just combine all the problems and send to maction and yesterday (monday) already got solution, but need to double test before the fix file released, still can accept lor, at least they are try to solved when we reported. But next time hope M3asia can test all the products before sell to end users.

i am waiting the fix file too, .they said only send to customers by email, will not provide download link to public, worry crack version come out from navitotal.

dvpro
post May 9 2012, 08:50 AM

Hi, does any one know how to register the product (M9) in M3GPS support website? I have already registered but was not able to add the product at the product registration page. Apparently the authorization/registration code is not the serial number.
waisang
post May 9 2012, 12:15 PM

588 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ May 8 2012, 11:48 PM)
cool down bro, maybe too many customers have same problem tat's why they not able to reply your email.haha. I remember last week 2/5 they just combine all the problems and send to maction and yesterday (monday) already got solution, but need to double test before the fix file released, still can accept lor, at least they are try to solved when we reported. But next time hope M3asia can test all the products before sell to end users.

i am waiting the fix file too, .they said only send to customers by email, will not provide download link to public, worry crack version come out from navitotal.
In fact, my sister is facing similarity issue, she took the GPS for map and version upgrade, however, it was being unattended incident and advised by the front counter that 2 weeks in order to process the request and leave the unit at M3, at the end, she took back the unit without any action from m3.

After that, i have raised a concern to the m3 on this unattended incident occurred for frustration, however advised by M3 back office, this should or take about/approximately 1 hours to be completed.
SUSUpCar
post May 9 2012, 12:18 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(dvpro @ May 9 2012, 08:50 AM)
Hi, does any one know how to register the product (M9) in M3GPS support website? I have already registered but was not able to add the product at the product registration page. Apparently the authorization/registration code is not the serial number.
you should pm sunn to get things moving faster for you.
dvpro
post May 9 2012, 12:22 PM

NVM, they already registered my software. The fix is now available at support.m3gps.com. I'm downloading it now.
SUSUpCar
post May 9 2012, 03:18 PM

1,612 posts

u paid rm 99 ?
dvpro
post May 9 2012, 06:01 PM

Yes.
sHawTY
post May 9 2012, 08:23 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

The fix doesn't work 100%.
When there are multiple rerouting while navigating, force close still happens.

Tested on a 10KM route.

Just like what I said earlier, Maction/M3Asia/Papago is nothing but a joke.
I knew thier fix wouldn't fix everything.

Sheesh, what a let down. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: May 9 2012, 08:25 PM
samhong198
post May 9 2012, 08:49 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 9 2012, 08:23 PM)

Tested on a 10KM route.

what phone u use?

test my samsung tab 7.7 in Simulation fine at all...

but only Simulation, one day need to go out test route.
jtdc
post May 9 2012, 09:02 PM

245 posts

The fix doesn't work 100%. When there are multiple rerouting while navigating, force close still happens.
Tested on a 10KM route.  Just like what I said earlier, Maction/M3Asia/Papago is nothing but a joke.
I knew thier fix wouldn't fix everything. Sheesh, what a let down. vmad.gif
i'm sad for that fact, to think i was excited in buying before. i hope the issues get resolved.

waisang
post May 9 2012, 11:39 PM

588 posts

Tested on a 10KM route.

at least this is a good try, have you compare/try with other like Sygic? ndrive etc?
sHawTY
post May 9 2012, 11:42 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(samhong198 @ May 9 2012, 08:49 PM)
what phone u use?

test my samsung tab 7.7 in Simulation fine at all...

but only Simulation, one day need to go out test route.
Galaxy Note.
Simulation is fine because there are not route recalculation if you go other way from the route that Papago M9 suggested.

Try and drive to your office with the new M9 fix, then don't follow the route that Papago M9 suggested, if possible, make the Papago M9 recalculate route multiple times, then you'll see the force close. doh.gif
zhen^wei
post May 10 2012, 12:17 AM

4,057 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ May 9 2012, 11:42 PM)
Galaxy Note.
Simulation is fine because there are not route recalculation if you go other way from the route that Papago M9 suggested.

Try and drive to your office with the new M9 fix, then don't follow the route that Papago M9 suggested, if possible, make the Papago M9 recalculate route multiple times, then you'll see the force close. doh.gif
is it relate on memory shortage causes the force close issue ?
let me check mine later, i tested the demo one so far ok, but multi recalculate route not yet tested. will inform them for the bugs.
sHawTY
post May 10 2012, 03:52 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ May 10 2012, 12:17 AM)
is it relate on memory shortage causes the force close issue ?
I don't think so.
Everytime before I start using Papago M9, I will run ESTM (ES Task Manager) and shutdown all running programs that is not important. After ESTM cleanup, I have at least 480MB of RAM left, so this has nothing to do with the RAMs.

I've also tried without running ESTM cleanup 10 minutes after restarting the phone while battery above 90% & everything settling in, still force close happens after multiple rerouting.

The fix only fixes the force close issue IF you follow the routes 100%, if there are simple rerouting, it works fine, but after 3 ~ 5 rerouting, then everything goes haywire. rclxub.gif
J3batDerhaka
post Jun 3 2012, 02:59 AM

82 posts

My GNote already upgraded to ICS 4.0.3 official ROM and I install Papago M8 but when i run it, it popups an error 'System Memory Low'. Anyone facing this problem? How to fix it?
thana146
post Jun 28 2012, 06:12 PM

205 posts

Is there any routing improvement in papago x8 compared to x5... i find no improvement..

still find garmin routing the best....
FreakyRookie
post Jul 10 2012, 10:21 AM

155 posts

can use in SII 4.0.3??
zeese
post Jul 10 2012, 12:03 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Jul 10 2012, 10:21 AM)
can use in SII 4.0.3??
Yes. Mine is s2 ics too. Looks ok to me.
FreakyRookie
post Jul 10 2012, 12:15 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Jul 10 2012, 12:03 PM)
Yes. Mine is s2 ics too. Looks ok to me.
how u install it ya?? need to purcase??
zeese
post Jul 10 2012, 02:41 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(FreakyRookie @ Jul 10 2012, 12:15 PM)
how u install it ya?? need to purcase??
yes.. need to purchase. I bought it for rm99 (promo). Installation by copying whole NAVI folder into the phone, or memory card. Then, click the .apk file to continue with the installation.. After that, need to follow instruction on how to enter authorization code.
hoonguy81
post Jul 27 2012, 01:40 PM

where you bought for the promo RM99. i check online is RM120. I wanted to install to galaxy note. I upgraded to 4.04. Not sure whther can support or not
zeese
post Jul 27 2012, 03:45 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(hoonguy81 @ Jul 27 2012, 01:40 PM)
where you bought for the promo RM99. i check online is RM120. I wanted to install to galaxy note. I upgraded to 4.04. Not sure whther can support or not
That means the promo is over. I bought it online.. from m3gps web..
rahuldave
post Aug 8 2012, 07:04 AM

1,241 posts

Looks like Papago has added Galaxy S III to their M9 compatibility list.

Source
Coisox
post Sep 26 2012, 12:05 PM

517 posts

I have added a location into My List. How to retrieve the coordinate?
ajay67
post Sep 26 2012, 12:55 PM

2,960 posts

very good question. after browsing thru the menu, i think u can't retrieve sad.gif
azumimuo
post Nov 22 2012, 03:55 PM

54 posts

let's try 'WAZE'... with data plan ON + Facebook acc linked, you can get so much info. cute graphics also.

since using WAZE... I've un-install PapaGo M9 from my phone.

not satisfied with PapaGo M9 UI and Function. I really like the PapaGo on GPS device... but not PapaGo on android.

PapaGo on GPS Device = Papa can Go
PapaGo on Android = Papa cannot Go
^4ever_Fan+a5y^
post Nov 22 2012, 04:53 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(azumimuo @ Nov 22 2012, 03:55 PM)
let's try 'WAZE'... with data plan ON + Facebook acc linked, you can get so much info. cute graphics also.

since using WAZE... I've un-install PapaGo M9 from my phone.

not satisfied with PapaGo M9 UI and Function. I really like the PapaGo on GPS device... but not PapaGo on android.

PapaGo on GPS Device = Papa can Go
PapaGo on Android = Papa cannot Go
i think a lot places u couldnt search using Waze, i tried and just stop using waze, yeah, its cute, tats all...

I rather use google map than waze sweat.gif

And seem like most of the users here have the papago run smoothly on their android devices...y ur PapaGo on Android = Papa cannot Go shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by ^4ever_Fan+a5y^: Nov 22 2012, 04:55 PM
SUSUpCar
post Nov 22 2012, 04:58 PM

1,612 posts

waze is still a long way from being complete
nik_krizalid
post Nov 22 2012, 05:25 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(^4ever_Fan+a5y^ @ Nov 22 2012, 04:53 PM)
i think a lot places u couldnt search using Waze, i tried and just stop using waze, yeah, its cute, tats all...

I rather use google map than waze  sweat.gif

And seem like most of the users here have the papago run smoothly on their android devices...y ur PapaGo on Android = Papa cannot Go shakehead.gif
inside waze u can also search using google map.
WakalaBoost
post Nov 26 2012, 09:18 PM

I use papago M5 before, but I always hate the road's layout; makes me confuse. I like google maps's road layout because it's nice and clean.

Now I use Waze all the time and love all the feature it provides. I do think it's the future of GPS navigation nod.gif
Norameen
post Nov 26 2012, 09:40 PM

Error
1,165 posts

is it already have fixed for papago on 4.2...because it force stop when opening apps..
2uk3y
post Jan 28 2013, 11:11 AM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

any news for JB 4.2 fix ? always FC after logo
komputer
post Jan 28 2013, 11:26 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Nov 22 2012, 04:58 PM)
waze is still a long way from being complete
Does Papago give you live traffic info and advises on reroutes based on traffic conditions? tongue.gif
puchongite
post Jan 28 2013, 11:36 AM

33,655 posts

I have problems with all the GPS software.

I played with these before :-

1. Papago.
2. Sygic.
3. Waze.
4. Google Navigator.

Search wise, the most complete and up-to-date is Google Navigator.
But the tts voice is terrible.

Waze hardly use. Requires to be online all the time, is the major setback.

Sygic seems to have better graphics.
Papago search is rather confusing, some more using wrong name compared to the actual name of the building.

Both Sygic and Papago search is not as convenient and up-to-date as Google.

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 28 2013, 12:07 PM
SUSUpCar
post Jan 28 2013, 11:45 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(komputer @ Jan 28 2013, 11:26 AM)
Does Papago give you live traffic info and advises on reroutes based on traffic conditions? tongue.gif
MFM was supposed to launch TMC with Papago. The project faced too many variables. Controlling and broadcasting traffic was a major setback. First there is a need to address the information. where the traffic jam is, and to what extent that it requires rerouting. then there's the question of when. Traffic jam on that road, starts when ? ends when ? who's gonna update that information. Then there's also the question of which rerouting should it bring you to ?
Also the question arises, which road should we take care of . Nobody can take care of every single road in Msia. So if you just concentrate on major roads such as highways and expressways, what can be done to ensure that the re-routing is more efficient ? nobody is looking at smaller roads hence traffic is unknown.

i highly doubt Waze can provide you an efficient TMC. MFM has more followers and data flowing in than users of Waze. IF MFM can hit and surpass that glitch, i believe Waze will have a chance. But as of now, MFM and papago has hit that wall, and i bet you Waze cannot even answer the questions above nor do they know of the indication.

As report, even hitz.fm traffic report only reports the major roads. Does not even give you a bypass route.

Waze users rely on each other. Who updates the live traffic nobody knows. And how reliable also nobody knows. Wrong or right info also nobody knows. Bypass routes also nobody knows. whether the bypass routes are as jammed up also nobody knows.

I dont think its wise to use such tech when its not implemented properly.

And TMC is an old tech. It's so old, nobody really bothers about it. Papago and MFM should be in the midst of a breakthrough project currently. i think should be halfway done by now. The project should serve ppl much better in ways i cannot reveal.
annoymous1234
post Jan 28 2013, 12:03 PM

7,616 posts

Damn why papago don't wanna update for 4.2.1 ishhhh

2uk3y
post Jan 28 2013, 12:18 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

how about M11, just release couple of days ago....

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....papago.M11SGMY

anyone try it ?
annoymous1234
post Jan 28 2013, 12:37 PM

7,616 posts

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Jan 28 2013, 12:18 PM)

anyone try it ?
hmm.gif is this suppose to replace m9?
puchongite
post Jan 28 2013, 12:39 PM

33,655 posts

Two screenshots I got from M9 after I input "leisure mall" into the search into POI :-

Can someone tell me what is this screen below is all about ?

This is the result I got :-
( Only Johor result is coming back )

Why lar like this ?

fisherman10
post Jan 28 2013, 12:44 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 28 2013, 12:39 PM)
Two screenshots I got from M9 after I input "leisure mall" into  the search into POI :-

Why lar like this ?
looks okay for mine tho.

puchongite
post Jan 28 2013, 12:49 PM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 28 2013, 12:44 PM)
looks okay for mine tho.

What is the meaning of the first screen anyway ?

What is "SPACE" and the '1/1' and the grid all about ?

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 28 2013, 12:50 PM
Rock Kapak Karat
post Jan 28 2013, 12:49 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 28 2013, 12:39 PM)
Two screenshots I got from M9 after I input "leisure mall" into  the search into POI :-

Why lar like this ?
already update your maps? hmm.gif
fisherman10
post Jan 28 2013, 12:55 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 28 2013, 12:49 PM)
What is the meaning of the first screen anyway ?

What is "SPACE" and the '1/1' and the grid all about ?
no idea about that tho. never bothered about it. Just straight tap on "Search" at the bottom.
puchongite
post Jan 28 2013, 01:00 PM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 28 2013, 12:55 PM)
no idea about that tho. never bothered about it. Just straight tap on "Search" at the bottom.
The gridbox which has the word "SPACE" on it is clickable. If you click on it (maybe accidentally), the screen will change to like mine.

Then you do a search, you will get only 'Johor' result coming back.

That's what have been confusing me. LOL.

fisherman10
post Jan 28 2013, 01:19 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 28 2013, 01:00 PM)
The gridbox which has the word "SPACE" on it is clickable. If you click on it (maybe accidentally), the screen will change to like mine.

Then you do a search, you will get only 'Johor' result coming back.

That's what have been confusing me. LOL.
Okay lemme explain. When you type "leisure mall" and then tap search, it'll search the database for "leisure mall".

However when you type "leisure mall" and then tap the word SPACE there, it actually adds a space in the search box. So now it'll search the database for "leisure mall " (notice the space after mall?)

after you tap on SPACE, u'll notice there are other alphabets in the gridbox. Try tap on it and you'll see your search term in the search box with additional alphabets also. That gridbox is actually like a big version of onscreen keyboard.
puchongite
post Jan 28 2013, 01:27 PM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 28 2013, 01:19 PM)
Okay lemme explain. When you type "leisure mall" and then tap search, it'll search the database for "leisure mall".

However when you type "leisure mall" and then tap the word SPACE there, it actually adds a space in the search box. So now it'll search the database for "leisure mall " (notice the space after mall?)

after you tap on SPACE, u'll notice there are other alphabets in the gridbox. Try tap on it and you'll see your search term in the search box with additional alphabets also. That gridbox is actually like a big version of onscreen keyboard.
Why you tap the SPACE then only Johor result coming back ?

Why got funny alphabets one ?

Haha does not sound convincing to me lar.

I think it's some kind of bug or some kind of corruption somewhere.

And does not sound like a quality software.

archinkent
post Jan 28 2013, 01:28 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Jan 28 2013, 12:18 PM)

anyone try it ?
i may give it a try. i was using m9 for a while, but constant crashing made me switch to sygic. ill wait for more reviews first.
fisherman10
post Jan 28 2013, 01:42 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 28 2013, 01:27 PM)
Why you tap the SPACE then only Johor result coming back ?

Why got funny alphabets one ?

Haha does not sound convincing to me lar.

I think it's some kind of bug or some kind of corruption somewhere.

And does not sound like a quality software.
haiya. what's so hard to understand. when you tap space, your search term becomes "leisure mall ". Look at your Johor search results. "Giant Leisure Mall Tmn Pelangi", "Watson Leisure Mall Pelangi", "Leisure Mall Parking".

All of the Johor search results have "leisure mall "

Now if you type "leisure mall" (no space after mall) and and look at my results. "Giant@Cheras Leisure Mall", "GSC Cheras Leisure Mall", "Leisure Mall".
All doesnt have "Leisure Mall ".

So if you tap on SPACE, your search term becomes "Leisure Mall ". Of course nothing from cheras comes out because the cheras leisure mall doesnt have a SPACE in the database.

And the alphabets are NOT funny. Try this. type "Leisure Mall". Then tap on SPACE, then tap on P. now tap search.

Go back, then now tap on A. then tap search.

It's actually narrowing down your search results based on what's left in the database. See what I mean?
puchongite
post Jan 28 2013, 01:46 PM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 28 2013, 01:42 PM)
haiya. what's so hard to understand. when you tap space, your search term becomes "leisure mall ". Look at your Johor search results. "Giant Leisure Mall Tmn Pelangi", "Watson Leisure Mall Pelangi", "Leisure Mall Parking".

All of the Johor search results have "leisure mall "
Now if you type "leisure mall" (no space after mall) and and look at my results. "Giant@Cheras Leisure Mall", "GSC Cheras Leisure Mall", "Leisure Mall".
All doesnt have "Leisure Mall ".

So if you tap on SPACE, your search term becomes "Leisure Mall ". Of course nothing from cheras comes out because the cheras leisure mall doesnt have a SPACE in the database.

And the alphabets are NOT funny. Try this. type "Leisure Mall". Then tap on SPACE, then tap on P. now tap search.

Go back, then now tap on A. then tap search.

It's actually narrowing down your search results based on what's left in the database. See what I mean?
Thanks for taking time explaining it to me.

Anyway it's world of graphical user interface these days.

I could not understand why they have to use such "non-intuitive" way to narrow the searches.
It almost needs a genius like you to understand what it is !

And I happen to be a non-genius. LOL.

2uk3y
post Jan 28 2013, 01:51 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jan 28 2013, 12:37 PM)
hmm.gif is this suppose to replace m9?
not sure about it, but since M9 never reach Google Play, i think M11 is the stable version (hope so) sweat.gif

QUOTE(archinkent @ Jan 28 2013, 01:28 PM)
i may give it a try. i was using m9 for a while, but constant crashing made me switch to sygic. ill wait for more reviews first.
hope u can give some feedback after try it. rolleyes.gif
fisherman10
post Jan 28 2013, 01:58 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 28 2013, 01:46 PM)
Thanks for taking time explaining it to me.

Anyway it's world of graphical user interface these days.

I could not understand why they have to use such "non-intuitive" way to narrow the searches.
It almost needs a genius like you to understand what it is !

And I happen to be a non-genius. LOL.
LOL. you're welcome.

I think they use that grid way of narrowing coz it's based on the standalone gps version where people want big alphabets in grids to make it easier to tap while driving or while it is mounted on the windscreen.
komputer
post Jan 28 2013, 07:10 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Jan 28 2013, 11:45 AM)
MFM was supposed to launch TMC with Papago. The project faced too many variables. Controlling and broadcasting traffic was a major setback. First there is a need to address the information. where the traffic jam is, and to what extent that it requires rerouting. then there's the question of when. Traffic jam on that road, starts when ? ends when ? who's gonna update that information. Then there's also the question of which rerouting should it bring you to ?
Also the question arises, which road should we take care of . Nobody can take care of every single road in Msia. So if you just concentrate on major roads such as highways and expressways, what can be done to ensure that the re-routing is more efficient ? nobody is looking at smaller roads hence traffic is unknown.

i highly doubt Waze can provide you an efficient TMC. MFM has more followers and data flowing in than users of Waze.  IF MFM can hit and surpass that glitch, i believe Waze will have a chance. But as of now, MFM and papago has hit that wall, and i bet you Waze cannot even answer the questions above nor do they know of the indication.

As report, even hitz.fm traffic report only reports the major roads. Does not even give you a bypass route.

Waze users rely on each other. Who updates the live traffic nobody knows. And how reliable also nobody knows. Wrong or right info also nobody knows. Bypass routes also nobody knows. whether the bypass routes are as jammed up also nobody knows.

I dont think its wise to use such tech when its not implemented properly.
And TMC is an old tech. It's so old, nobody really bothers about it. Papago and MFM should be in the midst of a breakthrough project currently. i think should be halfway done by now. The project should serve ppl much better in ways i cannot reveal.
Your ignorance shines through. Tell your bosses at Papago and M3 Asia that their product are about to be made irrelevant by free to use apps such as Google Maps & Waze.
SUSUpCar
post Jan 29 2013, 12:34 PM

1,612 posts

i dont work for papago. i am attached with MFM, the makers of malaysian maps which take for free and give back for free. we serve as a community for the community. not a single cent was ever paid, and not a single cent was ever received.

google maps is good. i like google maps. very innovative. however routing from them isn't excellent as our country is just to small for them to pay attention on.

Waze still has a long way to go. i'm not saying they aren't good but they are just not there yet. Waze contacted MFM offering to buy the route and data plans that we own. We do not sell therefore they have to start from scratch like how we started from scratch.

standalone units will never be irrelavant. It will always serve its purpose. battery life on your mobile device will not last long. sure you can argue that you have powerbanks and car chargers. however, there are situations that require you to roam freely without them. And furthermore, those apps require data. lets see you roam the whole of malaysia without having a signal loss on cell and data.

if you do not believe i am attached with MFM, please feel free to pm this user and ask him instead.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=6065

2uk3y
post Jan 29 2013, 03:06 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

Plz dont argue which the best. if u dont like, just dont use it. that it, full stop.

each got pro n con, so just search and judge it by yourself.

so now back to the topic.

so i got a question, is it true about the new M11 that release in Google Play?

can it truly use MFM map for X8.5 or X9 ?

TQ
puchongite
post Jan 30 2013, 01:51 PM

33,655 posts

I always find searching using M9 is a pain in you know where. Lots of places cannot be found but it can be easily found using google map.

Anyone knows what is the best way for me to input search obtained from google map and transfer the coordinates and input to M9 ?

First for the google map mobile, I don't seem to be able to find the GPS coordinate of the place.
On the PC, the google map there is a "where's here" which tells you your coordinate. Can't find that in google map for mobile.

Next if the coordinates are obtained, is there a convenient 'cut and paste' to input to M9 ?

2uk3y
post Jan 30 2013, 02:20 PM

┌П┐(◣_◢)┌П┐
2,095 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 30 2013, 01:51 PM)
I always find searching using M9 is a pain in you know where. Lots of places cannot be found but it can be easily found using google map.

Anyone knows what is the best way for me to input search obtained from google map and transfer the coordinates and input to M9 ?

First for the google map mobile, I don't seem to be able to find the GPS coordinate of the place.
On the PC, the google map there is a "where's here" which tells you your coordinate. Can't find that in google map for mobile.

Next if the coordinates are obtained, is there a convenient 'cut and paste' to input to M9 ?
Papago is using MFM map, so if u need the place to include in map, u need to contribute to MFM community by sending them the coordinate and place name. So the next map release (1st week every month), your place will be there.

If u find the coordinate, just go to Coordinate option and put it there. after u find it, just save as Favorite.

Hope that help rolleyes.gif
puchongite
post Jan 30 2013, 02:34 PM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Jan 30 2013, 02:20 PM)
Papago is using MFM map, so if u need the place to include in map, u need to contribute to MFM community by sending them the coordinate and place name. So the next map release (1st week every month), your place will be there.

If u find the coordinate, just go to Coordinate option and put it there. after u find it, just save as Favorite.

Hope that help  rolleyes.gif
Yeah .... But you are not answering my question.

I have found too many places which I could not use the Papago search. If each place I need it updated I have to send to MFM, I will be too busy. wink.gif

So I would rather use Google map search, get the coordinates and find a convenient way to input into Papago.

I already could do this if I have a PC in front of me, but if I could do everything with only the phone, that will be the best. If it is not possible, then the answer to my question is just not possible. I am not expecting miracle. wink.gif
zazatel
post Jan 30 2013, 02:37 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 30 2013, 02:34 PM)

I have found too many places which I could not use the Papago search. If each place I need it updated I have to send to MFM, I will be too busy. wink.gif

So I would rather use Google map search, get the coordinates and find a convenient way to input into Papago.

I already could do this if I have a PC in front of me, but if I could do everything with only the phone, that will be the best. If it is not possible, then the answer to my question is just not possible. I am not expecting miracle. wink.gif
papago can be used for offline mode. that's y u need to always update the latest one. google map use online connection. if u dont have mobile data, will be a problem to use google map.
puchongite
post Jan 30 2013, 02:44 PM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(zazatel @ Jan 30 2013, 02:37 PM)
papago can be used for offline mode. that's y u need to always update the latest one. google map use online connection. if u dont have mobile data, will be a problem to use google map.
I think you have not tried to understand what I am trying to say.

I am not trying to create competition between google map and papago, on the contrary, I am trying to make papago useful.

Please re-read my posts again, and if you are still helpful enough and wanting to reply, just say 'yes, it is possible' or 'no, it is not possible' to my questions. That will answer my questions. wink.gif

This post has been edited by puchongite: Jan 30 2013, 02:51 PM
zazatel
post Jan 30 2013, 02:50 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 30 2013, 02:44 PM)

I am not trying to create competition between google map and papago, on the contrary, I am trying to make papago useful.

Please re-read my posts again, and if you are still helpful enough and wanting to reply, just say 'yes' or 'no' to my questions. wink.gif
maybe NO will be the answer? hmm.gif
fisherman10
post Jan 30 2013, 04:58 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 30 2013, 02:44 PM)

Please re-read my posts again, and if you are still helpful enough and wanting to reply, just say 'yes, it is possible' or 'no, it is not possible' to my questions. That will answer my questions. wink.gif
yes it is possible. but not so easy.

search location > tap on location > share location > share to notes app or messaging > copy paste the link into browser > load desktop version of google maps > and now look for the coordinates.

another way you can try instead of using coordinates is search your location in google maps, take note of more famous buildings/places nearby your location and roughly remember the route from famous place to your location.

then search for this "famous place" in papago. it'll still bring you nearby and then just find the place yourself.
kazarboys
post Jan 30 2013, 05:07 PM

537 posts

hi guys. i tried papago m9 on asus padfone2. weird thing is when i set location.then it will route the place but the current place it went upside down. example my current location is setapak and my destination is klcc. once set destination my current location it will point sumwhere in pahang.
fisherman10
post Jan 30 2013, 05:16 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(kazarboys @ Jan 30 2013, 05:07 PM)
hi guys. i tried papago m9 on asus padfone2. weird thing is when i set location.then it will route the place but the current place it went upside down. example my current location is setapak and my destination is klcc. once set destination my current location it will point sumwhere in pahang.
pirated version eh? brows.gif brows.gif
zeese
post Jan 30 2013, 05:38 PM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(kazarboys @ Jan 30 2013, 05:07 PM)
if the current location is incorrect, usually it is because the gps has not lock onto satellites (gps is not ready). You need to wait until the gps shows your correct location.

Actually, I also don't like papago search function. It's terrible. I have to try an error whether the POI name should be in english, or in malay, or try all possible spelling varieties.. One example, i tried to find imigration at kajang, it took me a very long time, and it still didn't know what I'm looking.. I tried imigration, imigresen, etc.. Searching using google maps gave me an instant result! They must put some intelligence in the software and give POI results that CLOSELY MATCH the search keyword, not just the EXACT search keyword onlyt. Despite this weakness, I'm still using papago because of the maps only..
fisherman10
post Jan 30 2013, 05:51 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Jan 30 2013, 05:38 PM)
if the current location is incorrect, usually it is because the gps has not lock onto satellites (gps is not ready). You need to wait until the gps shows your correct location.

Actually, I also don't like papago search function. It's terrible. I have to try an error whether the POI name should be in english, or in malay, or try all possible spelling varieties.. One example, i tried to find imigration at kajang, it took me a very long time, and it still didn't know what I'm looking.. I tried imigration, imigresen, etc..  Searching using google maps gave me an instant result!  They must put some intelligence in the software and give POI results that CLOSELY MATCH the search keyword, not just the EXACT search keyword onlyt.  Despite this weakness, I'm still using papago because of the maps only..
that's why what I usually do is to search location using google maps, the look around for more common/famous place. Then type that into papago. Or just use the road name from google maps.

Papago doesnt have google's intelligent search algorithms to understand various search terms. Papago just search directly according to what's in the database.
kazarboys
post Jan 30 2013, 06:51 PM

537 posts

Actually, I also don't like papago search function. It's terrible. I have to try an error whether the POI name should be in english, or in malay, or try all possible spelling varieties.. One example, i tried to find imigration at kajang, it took me a very long time, and it still didn't know what I'm looking.. I tried imigration, imigresen, etc..  Searching using google maps gave me an instant result!  They must put some intelligence in the software and give POI results that CLOSELY MATCH the search keyword, not just the EXACT search keyword onlyt.  Despite this weakness, I'm still using papago because of the maps only..
i thought so also.but before i set destination. i let the gps lock 1st. This is where i get see my current location then i set destination my current location point else where
Skylinestar
post Jan 30 2013, 07:21 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 30 2013, 02:34 PM)

if everyone thinks like that, MFM would not exist by today.
everyone has to get busy and contribute to our local MFM community.
puchongite
post Jan 31 2013, 02:03 PM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 30 2013, 07:21 PM)
if everyone thinks like that, MFM would not exist by today.
everyone has to get busy and contribute to our local MFM community.
There are many free GPS software around, MFM should better associate themselves with those free GPS software than associating themselves with Papago. It's will make it more convincing that it is a truely community effort, and it will make sure that the community contributing to it, does not go into contributing revenue/profit for the people who sells Papago.
nghj
post Jan 31 2013, 02:11 PM

1,790 posts

if not sure how to spell properly in PPG, normally i just key in the first few letters and search.
then papago will let you know what names are available based on the letters appearing on the list.
nghj
post Jan 31 2013, 02:18 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Jan 30 2013, 05:51 PM)
that's why what I usually do is to search location using google maps, the look around for more common/famous place. Then type that into papago. Or just use the road name from google maps.

Papago doesnt have google's intelligent search algorithms to understand various search terms. Papago just search directly according to what's in the database.
i mostly just use PPG to look for POIs.For navigation, i prefer sygic.
sygic proposes few alternative routes at the start of the journey and it has helpful lane assistant.

oh, also the sygic landscape mode is not as laggy as Papago. but maybe that's just my phone.

This post has been edited by nghj: Jan 31 2013, 02:19 PM
Skylinestar
post Jan 31 2013, 07:20 PM

Mega Duck
10,475 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 31 2013, 02:03 PM)
There are many free GPS software around, MFM should better associate themselves with those free GPS software than associating themselves with Papago. It's will make it more convincing that it is a truely community effort, and it will make sure that the community contributing to it, does not go into contributing revenue/profit for the people who sells Papago.
MFM currently provides map for Galactio, Garmin, iGO Primo, Mio Polnav & Papago.
puchongite
post Jan 31 2013, 10:27 PM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 31 2013, 07:20 PM)
MFM currently provides map for Galactio, Garmin, iGO Primo, Mio Polnav & Papago.
But .... Any of them is free ?
JayceOoi
post Feb 2 2013, 12:58 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

Is M11 good?
zeese
post Feb 4 2013, 09:11 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 31 2013, 10:27 PM)
But .... Any of them is free ?
MFM just provides a free map. You still needs to buy the hardware or software.
puchongite
post Feb 4 2013, 09:57 AM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(zeese @ Feb 4 2013, 09:11 AM)
MFM just provides a free map. You still needs to buy the hardware or software.
You missed my point.

MFM claims it's a community effort and providing free map.

But MFM only works with non-commercial GPS vendors and feeding them with the free map.

There are other free GPS software around, but none of them are not able to use the MFM free maps.

What's the meaning ?
SUSUpCar
post Feb 5 2013, 10:50 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 4 2013, 09:57 AM)
You missed my point.

MFM claims it's a community effort and providing free map.

But MFM only works with non-commercial GPS vendors and feeding them with the free map.

There are other free GPS software around, but none of them are not able to use the MFM free maps.

What's the meaning ?
the meaning is simple. Nobody uses those free softwares.

We at MFM provide free maps and try to cater to malaysians. Majority of malaysians use Garmin and Papago. Tourists that come in uses igo, tomtom and others.

With the little manpower that we have, since everyone works for free, maintaning and making maps for each and every brand out there is ridiculous. too time consuming.

You don't get to complain what you get for free. You dont even contribute nor do u spend the time to help out the community. If you really want to make maps for the community for another navigation software, i am more than happy to help you out. I will teach you how to map, so u maintain it, and distribute it for free. But it is very time consuming. There are other stuff u will need to fulfill as well but then again, if you're willing to start, then i'm willing to teach. Just make sure u keep your pet project alive and completely give it out for free.

Otherwise, stop complaining and don't tell me what MFM should do or should not do. You want to start a project for a navi software, go on by all means. We at MFM might help you out. Just make sure u dont give up and quite halfway through. And dont charge a single cent nor do u get to pocket any profits as there will be none.

ajay67
post Feb 5 2013, 12:30 PM

2,960 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Feb 5 2013, 10:50 AM)

We at MFM provide free maps and try to cater to malaysians. Majority of malaysians use Garmin and Papago. Tourists that come in uses igo, tomtom and others.

With the little manpower that we have, since everyone works for free, maintaning and making maps for each and every brand out there is ridiculous. too time consuming.

You don't get to complain what you get for free. You dont even contribute nor do u spend the time to help out the community. If you really want to make maps for the community for another navigation software, i am more than happy to help you out. I will teach you how to map, so u maintain it, and distribute it for free. But it is very time consuming. There are other stuff u will need to fulfill as well but then again, if you're willing to start, then i'm willing to teach. Just make sure u keep your pet project alive and completely give it out for free.

Otherwise, stop complaining and don't tell me what MFM should do or should not do. You want to start a project for a navi software, go on by all means. We at MFM might help you out. Just make sure u dont give up and quite halfway through. And dont charge a single cent nor do u get to pocket any profits as there will be none.
rclxms.gif
azrash
post Feb 5 2013, 02:16 PM

1,174 posts

was about to reply the same thing!

here is the short draft that i saved in my gmail

there is no hidden agenda behind all these.

GPS navigation system first started on these navigation hardware before they were available on smartphones as installable softwares.

Logic wise, MFM just supports these systems because there user base is very big. it is only natural to support the widely used systems in Malaysia.

would things be different if there were free or open source system that is widely used since years ago? yes it would. i love free softwares too, esp open source ones.

you can download the maps and modify it to work for your free software choice, there are guides on how to do it icon_rolleyes.gif

that being said, puchongite, which free software are you using? how good is it? if more people use it, then it'll be a good MFM project thumbup.gif
SUSUpCar
post Feb 5 2013, 02:54 PM

1,612 posts

to map the whole of malaysia was very time consuming, labour intensive and costs quite a fair bit.

stimix and i had a tough time but we enjoyed and delivered.

i dont know about stimix but my contribution towards MFM has reached its milestone. Nowdays i'm not very active anymore but i still hand in a few notes and pointers and poi's. i think stimix's contribution also has declined very much. we both peaked out a long time ago. but we never left and we still contribute the data and pointers every now and then.

stimix dei u still got contribute in there ka ?
puchongite
post Feb 5 2013, 03:33 PM

33,655 posts

Oh really ? People don't use it, it is because they are not using free software, or it is because the maps are not available ?

You don't get to complain what you get for free.You dont even contribute nor do u spend the time to help out the community.
Oh really ? Is that how Linus Torvalds handles feedback :- "Hey guys accept it, don't complain of Linux bugs or bad quality or whatever, you don't even contribute to it! And you did not even pay for it ! "

I like this attitude so much. smile.gif

Others are snipped anyway. Good luck !

puchongite
post Feb 5 2013, 03:36 PM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(azrash @ Feb 5 2013, 02:16 PM)
was about to reply the same thing!

here is the short draft that i saved in my gmail
that being said, puchongite, which free software are you using? how good is it? if more people use it, then it'll be a good MFM project thumbup.gif
A quick search of the net revealed this as the result.

http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/top-3-free-of...s-apps-android/

There are a few other very popular ones in China. Baidu and so on for example.
azrash
post Feb 5 2013, 03:52 PM

1,174 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 5 2013, 03:33 PM)
Oh really ? People don't use it, it is because they are not using free software, or it is because the maps are not available ?
Oh really ? Is that how Linus Torvalds handles feedback :- "Hey guys accept it, don't complain of Linux bugs or bad quality or whatever, you don't even contribute to it! And you did not even pay for it ! "

he is just being honest and stating his opinion. again, you are playing the chicken vs egg argument. if someone start porting the maps, then maybe more users would jump in. so why don't you team up with some people and get started?

I personally have started using Waze since M9 is not compatible with my Nexus 4. it seems good so far. might go back to using MFM when M11 is stable enough. MFM is still better for kampung roads etc.

This post has been edited by azrash: Feb 5 2013, 03:54 PM
SUSUpCar
post Feb 5 2013, 03:57 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 5 2013, 03:33 PM)

cakap banyak takde guna.

i already offered. u wanna start mapping, i teach. just make sure u know what you're getting into and hand your stuff out for free. if u dont even wanna initiate, u just talk only what's the point ?

stimix
post Feb 5 2013, 07:57 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(UpCar @ Feb 5 2013, 02:54 PM)
to map the whole of malaysia was very time consuming, labour intensive and costs quite a fair bit.

stimix and i had a tough time but we enjoyed and delivered.

i dont know about stimix but my contribution towards MFM has reached its milestone. Nowdays i'm not very active anymore but i still hand in a few notes and pointers and poi's. i think stimix's contribution also has declined very much. we both peaked out a long time ago. but we never left and we still contribute the data and pointers every now and then.

stimix dei u still got contribute in there ka ?
Semi-retire liao.. Damn.. Unker Sunn has yet to update my Dec tracklogs surrounding Brinchang & Tanah Rata cry.gif
SUSUpCar
post Feb 6 2013, 01:55 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 5 2013, 07:57 PM)
Semi-retire liao.. Damn.. Unker Sunn has yet to update my Dec tracklogs surrounding Brinchang & Tanah Rata  cry.gif
cameron not for human go 1.
puchongite
post Feb 6 2013, 08:24 PM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Jan 30 2013, 01:51 PM)

I am not sure if this has been mentioned by any posters but I found that it is possible to use google map in a browser, and obtain the GPS coordinates.

When using google map in a mobile phone browser such as Chrome, then the same functionality of obtaining GPS coordianates in PC can be used in mobile. Just visit maps.google.com and one could search, zoom, and so on, and finally press and hold until the "where's here" appear on the screen. The GPS coordinates will then appear in the textbox n in the browser.

Now the Google side of the issues are all solved, the limitation is actually Papago.

There is no way to cut and paste the coordinates into Papago. One has to enter the coordinates using Papago provided keypad. Another example of why I said Papago's GUI is VERY primitive.

fisherman10
post Feb 6 2013, 08:52 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 6 2013, 08:24 PM)
I am not sure if this has been mentioned by any posters but I found that it is possible to use google map in a browser, and obtain the GPS coordinates.

When using google map in a mobile phone browser such as Chrome, then the same functionality of obtaining GPS coordianates in PC can be used in mobile. Just visit maps.google.com and one could search, zoom, and so on, and finally press and hold until the "where's here" appear on the screen. The GPS coordinates will then appear in the textbox n in the browser.

Now the Google side of the issues are all solved, the limitation is actually Papago.

There is no way to cut and paste the coordinates into Papago. One has to enter the coordinates using Papago provided keypad. Another example of why I said Papago's GUI is VERY primitive.
well, use another app which allows copy and paste then.
puchongite
post Feb 6 2013, 09:56 PM

33,655 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Feb 6 2013, 08:52 PM)
well, use another app which allows copy and paste then.
Yeah Sygic seems to support cut-and-paste. But that's offtopic to this thread.

fisherman10
post Feb 6 2013, 11:33 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 6 2013, 09:56 PM)
Yeah Sygic seems to support cut-and-paste. But that's offtopic to this thread.

here, http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2341461/all
evil_cutie
post Oct 22 2013, 01:31 PM

322 posts

Is there any Thailand map available? I can't find it in MFM, they only have Garmin map. sad.gif

0.1585sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:03 PM