Papago™ M8/M9 for Android, supports galaxy note 1280x800

SUSUpCar
post Apr 6 2012, 02:39 PM

1,612 posts

if buy laptop come with windows 7, that license also only valid for that laptop alone. where got transferable ?

if papago allow multiple devices or installation on diff devices then chap lap liao lor like that.

SUSUpCar
post Apr 6 2012, 04:30 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Apr 6 2012, 04:11 PM)
other gps apps like sygic also practise the same???
i dont use sygic but on my old symbian, the garmin mxt was not transferable.

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Apr 6 2012, 04:17 PM)
thats different. like all other android apps, most of it transferable.

IINM, papago M8 for iphone also transferable.
i dunno bout that. but i do know my 3GS sucks big time. i wont even bother buying apps or jailbreaking because its just not worth it. At least with android, i'm willing to spend some money buying mojo's for little empire game.
heck i've even paid for quite a number of apps and donated mostly to xda people for the great effort they put into their rom dev.

SUSUpCar
post Apr 27 2012, 11:53 AM

1,612 posts

i was on rocket rom 17 when i experienced FC's on my note.
i swapped to rocket 23 now and all is good. didnt even FC once.
but then i tweaked so much in rocket 23 until i forgot which kernel i struck in and what i did with angry gps.
either way, m9 is working for me on my galaxy note without FC's and that's all that matters to me. So much better than when i was on rocket rom 17. FC non stop every few hundred meters. made me miss quite a lot of turnings.
SUSUpCar
post Apr 27 2012, 03:02 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 27 2012, 12:27 PM)
I thought Papago M9 won't work if install in MicroSD?
Last time when I'm using Galaxy S2, I was not able to run Papago X5 from MicroSD. Papago X5 will only run if I install from internal memory.

Haven't tried with M9 though.You got a point there. Until now, M9 is still avaialble in M3Asia's website.
With all this problem, M3Asia should've taken out M9 from their website until the problem has been fixed.
With the problem still being around, more people is going to be frustated with the FC problem.That defeats the purpose of paying RM99 for a software that has to run on custom ROM to work properly. doh.gif
tai lou ah, the gnote i buy is RM2299 la. use custom rom better than stock rom also defeated my purpose of buying the note right ? how cna say until liddis. happy can liao la. like some ppl happy with stock rom, but i happier with custom rom ma.

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 27 2012, 02:53 PM)
Following upcar's advise, I rooted my G Note and now downloading Rocket V22 & V23.
Will test & update here if what upcar said about G Note on Rocket v23 doesn't have any FC for Papago M9 is true or false.

Will be flashing my G Note once the battery is full. Downloading the ROM is going to take some time anyway.
I'm on UNiFi VIP 10, but still it take some time to complete the download for both ROMs. sweat.gif

By the way upcar, you install M9 in internal memory or in MicroSD? hmm.gif
i use rocket 23 but abyss kernel or fm kernel. i forgot which 1. but its not the stock 1 that came with rocket 23.
m9 i put inside internel memory. now left back about 100+mb in internel memory. i dun have microsd kad coz is quite expensive. i saving up for a class 10 64gb for my d90.
SUSUpCar
post Apr 27 2012, 05:00 PM

1,612 posts

can. i reach home about 9pm later. now battery dead and no charger. my whole office ppl here is iphone4 and iphone 4s ppl.
only me and another girl is use samsung and nokia but she gone home early today and lock her desk.

i confirm not using stock rocket 23 kernel because i face many issue with it last time. especially during when use set cpu. so i swap the kernel to either abyss or fm.

SUSUpCar
post May 9 2012, 12:18 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(dvpro @ May 9 2012, 08:50 AM)
Hi, does any one know how to register the product (M9) in M3GPS support website? I have already registered but was not able to add the product at the product registration page. Apparently the authorization/registration code is not the serial number.
you should pm sunn to get things moving faster for you.
SUSUpCar
post May 9 2012, 03:18 PM

1,612 posts

u paid rm 99 ?
SUSUpCar
post Nov 22 2012, 04:58 PM

1,612 posts

waze is still a long way from being complete
SUSUpCar
post Jan 28 2013, 11:45 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(komputer @ Jan 28 2013, 11:26 AM)
Does Papago give you live traffic info and advises on reroutes based on traffic conditions? tongue.gif
MFM was supposed to launch TMC with Papago. The project faced too many variables. Controlling and broadcasting traffic was a major setback. First there is a need to address the information. where the traffic jam is, and to what extent that it requires rerouting. then there's the question of when. Traffic jam on that road, starts when ? ends when ? who's gonna update that information. Then there's also the question of which rerouting should it bring you to ?
Also the question arises, which road should we take care of . Nobody can take care of every single road in Msia. So if you just concentrate on major roads such as highways and expressways, what can be done to ensure that the re-routing is more efficient ? nobody is looking at smaller roads hence traffic is unknown.

i highly doubt Waze can provide you an efficient TMC. MFM has more followers and data flowing in than users of Waze. IF MFM can hit and surpass that glitch, i believe Waze will have a chance. But as of now, MFM and papago has hit that wall, and i bet you Waze cannot even answer the questions above nor do they know of the indication.

As report, even hitz.fm traffic report only reports the major roads. Does not even give you a bypass route.

Waze users rely on each other. Who updates the live traffic nobody knows. And how reliable also nobody knows. Wrong or right info also nobody knows. Bypass routes also nobody knows. whether the bypass routes are as jammed up also nobody knows.

I dont think its wise to use such tech when its not implemented properly.

And TMC is an old tech. It's so old, nobody really bothers about it. Papago and MFM should be in the midst of a breakthrough project currently. i think should be halfway done by now. The project should serve ppl much better in ways i cannot reveal.
SUSUpCar
post Jan 29 2013, 12:34 PM

1,612 posts

i dont work for papago. i am attached with MFM, the makers of malaysian maps which take for free and give back for free. we serve as a community for the community. not a single cent was ever paid, and not a single cent was ever received.

google maps is good. i like google maps. very innovative. however routing from them isn't excellent as our country is just to small for them to pay attention on.

Waze still has a long way to go. i'm not saying they aren't good but they are just not there yet. Waze contacted MFM offering to buy the route and data plans that we own. We do not sell therefore they have to start from scratch like how we started from scratch.

standalone units will never be irrelavant. It will always serve its purpose. battery life on your mobile device will not last long. sure you can argue that you have powerbanks and car chargers. however, there are situations that require you to roam freely without them. And furthermore, those apps require data. lets see you roam the whole of malaysia without having a signal loss on cell and data.

if you do not believe i am attached with MFM, please feel free to pm this user and ask him instead.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=6065

SUSUpCar
post Feb 5 2013, 10:50 AM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 4 2013, 09:57 AM)
You missed my point.

MFM claims it's a community effort and providing free map.

But MFM only works with non-commercial GPS vendors and feeding them with the free map.

There are other free GPS software around, but none of them are not able to use the MFM free maps.

What's the meaning ?
the meaning is simple. Nobody uses those free softwares.

We at MFM provide free maps and try to cater to malaysians. Majority of malaysians use Garmin and Papago. Tourists that come in uses igo, tomtom and others.

With the little manpower that we have, since everyone works for free, maintaning and making maps for each and every brand out there is ridiculous. too time consuming.

You don't get to complain what you get for free. You dont even contribute nor do u spend the time to help out the community. If you really want to make maps for the community for another navigation software, i am more than happy to help you out. I will teach you how to map, so u maintain it, and distribute it for free. But it is very time consuming. There are other stuff u will need to fulfill as well but then again, if you're willing to start, then i'm willing to teach. Just make sure u keep your pet project alive and completely give it out for free.

Otherwise, stop complaining and don't tell me what MFM should do or should not do. You want to start a project for a navi software, go on by all means. We at MFM might help you out. Just make sure u dont give up and quite halfway through. And dont charge a single cent nor do u get to pocket any profits as there will be none.

SUSUpCar
post Feb 5 2013, 02:54 PM

1,612 posts

to map the whole of malaysia was very time consuming, labour intensive and costs quite a fair bit.

stimix and i had a tough time but we enjoyed and delivered.

i dont know about stimix but my contribution towards MFM has reached its milestone. Nowdays i'm not very active anymore but i still hand in a few notes and pointers and poi's. i think stimix's contribution also has declined very much. we both peaked out a long time ago. but we never left and we still contribute the data and pointers every now and then.

stimix dei u still got contribute in there ka ?
SUSUpCar
post Feb 5 2013, 03:57 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Feb 5 2013, 03:33 PM)
Oh really ? People don't use it, it is because they are not using free software, or it is because the maps are not available ?
Oh really ? Is that how Linus Torvalds handles feedback :- "Hey guys accept it, don't complain of Linux bugs or bad quality or whatever, you don't even contribute to it! And you did not even pay for it ! "

I like this attitude so much. smile.gif

Others are snipped anyway. Good luck !
cakap banyak takde guna.

i already offered. u wanna start mapping, i teach. just make sure u know what you're getting into and hand your stuff out for free. if u dont even wanna initiate, u just talk only what's the point ?

SUSUpCar
post Feb 6 2013, 01:55 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 5 2013, 07:57 PM)
Semi-retire liao.. Damn.. Unker Sunn has yet to update my Dec tracklogs surrounding Brinchang & Tanah Rata  cry.gif
cameron not for human go 1.

0.0269sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:54 AM