126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V22, The Galaxy S which started it all..

MYstombox
post Mar 2 2012, 12:07 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Mar 2 2012, 12:02 PM)
Should go with CM7 then.

Any ROMs based on Sammy's stock ROM are pretty useless. It will lag after 2 months of usage. The ext conversion just... not complete.

CM7 is the best lagfix for GB and ICS is overall fix with improved performance on everything. At least for this phone.
CM7 for some reason gives bad battery life, MIUI is better.
Lacus
post Mar 2 2012, 12:15 PM

Lacus Sama No Tameni!
5,250 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 2 2012, 11:49 AM)
No flashing back to stock unless something dramatic occurs.

Just flash, wipe data, clear scripts then flash again.
Meh, only having super user issue sad.gif...

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Mar 2 2012, 11:57 AM)
nope, straight away jump ship~ laugh.gif

beforehand i was on Galnet MIUI GB build... got bored due to the poor battery life.

then the SGS XXJVU value pack comes out... gatal and shift over... user for less than 1 month now on MIUI Mintberry... very satisfied so far.
yeap...
Hmm for some reason just not so keen on MIUI built.

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Mar 2 2012, 12:02 PM)
Should go with CM7 then.

Any ROMs based on Sammy's stock ROM are pretty useless. It will lag after 2 months of usage. The ext conversion just... not complete.

CM7 is the best lagfix for GB and ICS is overall fix with improved performance on everything. At least for this phone.
Yeah, flashed like few months back. weekend gave me issue. been flashing the whole week. CM7 is just lacking something i need and some how it looks iphone-ish. still prefer something close to stock rom sweat.gif
RoxyMunky
post Mar 2 2012, 12:29 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Mar 2 2012, 12:15 PM)
Meh, only having super user issue sad.gif...
Hmm for some reason just not so keen on MIUI built.
Yeah, flashed like few months back. weekend gave me issue. been flashing the whole week. CM7 is just lacking something i need and some how it looks iphone-ish. still prefer something close to stock rom sweat.gif
your not keen on MIUI build is just because it looks very iphonish?? laugh.gif

there's tonnes of themes you can play around with MIUI... im currently on Ice Cream MIUI themes which does looks awesome.. smile.gif.

it looks something similar to this:

but i change the icon pack la/

Added on March 2, 2012, 1:24 pmwonder how to disable the help notice whenever you make/hang up a call.

i found the dialogue popUp annoying.

thanks!

This post has been edited by RoxyMunky: Mar 2 2012, 01:24 PM
MYstombox
post Mar 2 2012, 01:38 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Using golauncher with miui.
Don't like the stock launcher use others lor.
RoxyMunky
post Mar 2 2012, 01:51 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 2 2012, 01:38 PM)
Using golauncher with miui.
Don't like the stock launcher use others lor.
i wonder how the Apps menu works for GoLauncher in MIUI which doesn't have this option.. laugh.gif
MYstombox
post Mar 2 2012, 01:53 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Once golauncher is used, MIUI homescreen and app drawer won't be available, obviously. So whatever menus won't be in there.

And what 'apps menu'?

RoxyMunky
post Mar 2 2012, 02:16 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 2 2012, 01:53 PM)
Once golauncher is used, MIUI homescreen and app drawer won't be available, obviously. So whatever menus won't be in there.

And what 'apps menu'?
of course i understand that the whole Home screen will be replaced. What i mean is the application list. You know, default MIUI does not comes with App menu button that access all installed apps.
MYstombox
post Mar 2 2012, 02:23 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

you mean the app drawer? The thing that lists all your apps.
That one is of course available, its built into the launcher.
MIUI launcher has disabled/removed it, but its not system controlled so any other replacement launcher will have it.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Mar 2 2012, 02:25 PM
RoxyMunky
post Mar 2 2012, 02:39 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 2 2012, 02:23 PM)
you mean the app drawer? The thing that lists all your apps.
That one is of course available, its built into the launcher.
MIUI launcher has disabled/removed it, but its not system controlled so any other replacement launcher will have it.
oic...

now i understand.

thanks for the info!
disasternero
post Mar 2 2012, 02:39 PM

Gonna Hit 1000 Soon!
908 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 2 2012, 11:06 AM)
not yet 2 days la.. hehe.. but so far so good.. the performance still same i guess.. same smooth as before since the update is only little fix here n there.. but better than 0.9.0..

0.9.0 < 0.8.1 < 0.9.1
Owh really will flash it rite now hehe..
Harddisk
post Mar 2 2012, 04:33 PM

2,963 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 2 2012, 12:07 PM)
CM7 for some reason gives bad battery life, MIUI is better.
I thought it was the other way round?

MIUI is based on CM7 as well, right?

Added on March 2, 2012, 4:34 pm
QUOTE(Lacus @ Mar 2 2012, 12:15 PM)
something i need and some how it looks iphone-ish. still prefer something close to stock rom sweat.gif
OMG! You want TouchWizzed!!?!?!?

This post has been edited by Harddisk: Mar 2 2012, 04:34 PM
MYstombox
post Mar 2 2012, 04:41 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Not sure if its based on CM7, but somehow, the battery life is much better on MIUI.
Maybe its better system management. I have no idea.

But its not like 10% or 20% difference, the difference is around 70% to 80% extra battery life.

I was on CM7 for a long time, but the battery life can drop 50-60% in a few hours. It then became better until it drops 4-5% an hour.
MIUI can easily last a whole day of moderate usage.

Added on March 2, 2012, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(Harddisk @ Mar 2 2012, 04:33 PM)
I thought it was the other way round?

MIUI is based on CM7 as well, right?

Added on March 2, 2012, 4:34 pm
OMG! You want TouchWizzed!!?!?!?
I like touchwiz on my SGS2, not the launcher, but the framework.

This post has been edited by MYstombox: Mar 2 2012, 04:42 PM
Harddisk
post Mar 2 2012, 06:30 PM

2,963 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 2 2012, 04:41 PM)
Not sure if its based on CM7, but somehow, the battery life is much better on MIUI.
Maybe its better system management. I have no idea.

But its not like 10% or 20% difference, the difference is around 70% to 80% extra battery life.

I was on CM7 for a long time, but the battery life can drop 50-60% in a few hours. It then became better until it drops 4-5% an hour.
MIUI can easily last a whole day of moderate usage.

Added on March 2, 2012, 4:42 pm
I like touchwiz on my SGS2, not the launcher, but the framework.
Interesting. I never ventured into MIUI. Last I checked, my CM7 can't last even 4 hours on full 3G. lol

TW is ok, with 3G video call, HD video recording/playback, toggle control on notification bars. Just launcher sucks and Accuweather with backdoor.
jenwai
post Mar 2 2012, 11:17 PM

704 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Mar 1 2012, 03:45 AM)
Tested!!
Really cool...

I was using ADW launcher, but after I install TSF Shell,
do I need to uninstall ADW launcher?
Coz, I can switch them with just one click.
Are they going to hang or crash? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by jenwai: Mar 3 2012, 08:30 AM
gajahwhite
post Mar 2 2012, 11:43 PM

Android Monster
1,852 posts

smart phone... then smart tv.. and now.. smart camera.. woah!
+ running android.. super woah!

This post has been edited by gajahwhite: Mar 2 2012, 11:44 PM
RoxyMunky
post Mar 3 2012, 11:44 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(jenwai @ Mar 2 2012, 11:17 PM)
Tested!!
Really cool...

I was using ADW launcher, but after I install TSF Shell,
do I need to uninstall ADW launcher?
Coz, I can switch them with just one click.
Are they going to hang or crash? sweat.gif
U can keep both... Do remembeer to have this HomeSwitcher installed. With this, u can switch over to another launcher anytime. Of course, u need to set the default launcher upon pressing the home button la.
MYstombox
post Mar 3 2012, 02:39 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

Running 2 launchers at a time will keep them in memory.
Uninstall ADW using titanium, and set the other as default.
annas473
post Mar 3 2012, 03:24 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Mar 3 2012, 02:39 PM)
Running 2 launchers at a time will keep them in memory.
Uninstall ADW using titanium, and set the other as default.
True but is it ok to uninstall the already include by default in the roms?

gajahwhite
post Mar 3 2012, 04:03 PM

Android Monster
1,852 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Mar 3 2012, 03:24 PM)
True but is it ok to uninstall the already include by default in the roms?
yup fine.. but make sure u got another launcher la.. if both u uninstall.. mati la.. err dunno la what happen.. never try that yet.. haha..

but for me, let say if stock rom.. im usually use Titanium Backup to freeze the stock launcher instead of uninstall it.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by gajahwhite: Mar 3 2012, 04:05 PM
MYstombox
post Mar 3 2012, 05:56 PM

Wired!
2,240 posts

if launcher missing, you can salvage it by going into recovery mode and flash over the rom again.

as long as non-wipe, a launcher will be installed and u can be up and running again.

126 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:09 AM