SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V25, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

TSbenny888
post Jan 29 2012, 11:24 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Jan 29 2012, 11:21 AM)
Hey, I want to flash siyah kernel..
But I went to a website, and it says that the latest version is siyah v2.6.11...
Is it the latest??
Sorry if you think it is annoying, but I am serious here..

Thanks alot..
I would think his website should give you the answer already.
TSbenny888
post Jan 29 2012, 04:38 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Shizuru @ Jan 29 2012, 04:32 PM)
might get it for my bf since gnex got unattractive.
hoping s3 wont be crazy big sweat.gif
Wow lucky bf
World has change. Normally bf buy for gf.
TSbenny888
post Jan 29 2012, 04:40 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jan 29 2012, 04:27 PM)
Yup, believe or not? When S3 out, still many will buy S2.
Spec wise it still quite advance.
You can consider me as first buyer of the S3 if there is such a model. Will sell off my g nexus for it
TSbenny888
post Jan 29 2012, 05:50 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Jan 29 2012, 05:40 PM)
I was wondering can I buy USB OTG original from Samsung Dealers??

I went to their website but to no avail...
I think we have to purchased with from other places?

Thanks..
Easy buy from garage sales lowyat or ebay
TSbenny888
post Jan 29 2012, 07:24 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 29 2012, 07:16 PM)
Welcome to the selling club.
Wonder if you want to start SGS3 discussion thread Uncle Benny.? I remember last time S2 thread start nearly four months before its launched..
Last time there was at least some concrete evidence such a SGS II exists with specs and photos
SGS III ( or 3 ) is still rumour with so many fake shots floating around on the web

Added on January 29, 2012, 7:27 pm
QUOTE(ellimist @ Jan 29 2012, 06:42 PM)
Have to see features lo.

If quad core I'll skip it, rather wait for something with Cortex A15.
Display wise, I'm cool with the low res on S2, so doubt that would be a factor for me to change.

Can't really imagine a feature that would persuade me to get it. Unless it's super hack smooth zero stutter apps load before I click tongue.gif mega desktop gaming, etc etc. laugh.gif

Or maybe let ppl cook up stuff for it in a month or two then only get it
I would think quad core phones is overkill - nice to have the power on hand but it will be underutilized unless there are apps matching it. Possibly will help in multitasking. Just as dual core , not many apps except some games required such dual core processing. I would say most apps run fine even on single core

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 29 2012, 07:27 PM
TSbenny888
post Jan 29 2012, 07:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(SA6YEuro @ Jan 29 2012, 07:29 PM)
Juz happened all of a sudden. Prior to this, i got this issue where i can hear ppl clearly but they keep on telling me tt the line is constantly breaking up. So i went back the Samsung shop in MV n the technician rolled back the OS version but i still see its the 2.3.6 n kernel version 2.6.35.7

I m not sure whether its the latest or not?

Currently toying around with the dolphin hd. So far so good. In fact, i feel its faster than the stock browser.
Another 2 good browsers you can try : BOAT, equally good as Dolphin except lacking gesture features and XScope ( fastest browser but greater drain on battery) . MY favorite is now Boat, follow by XScope, and lastly Dolphin. Has never like stock browser

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 29 2012, 07:36 PM
TSbenny888
post Jan 29 2012, 07:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Jan 29 2012, 07:39 PM)
how is xscope so fast, anways? yawn.gif
Try it and experienced the difference
Doesn't drain like water -lah > an over exaggeration, just slightly more say about 2-3 % more an hour
TSbenny888
post Jan 29 2012, 07:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(alex_siong @ Jan 29 2012, 07:52 PM)
any1 here can pls teach me how to root G version?
step by step?
any1?
Please refer page 1 post # 10 for links - is already step by step
TSbenny888
post Jan 29 2012, 08:41 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jan 29 2012, 08:29 PM)
A 2500mAh batt like GNote is always welcome. I heard S3 will have a 3D HD screen though true or not, I don't know.
A 3D HD screen will knock fruity phone dead
~~LOL~~
3D - has so far failed to impressed me having seen the HTC Evo, LG Optimus 3D , It is more of a gimmick - just barely few minutes viewing screen, eyes sudah blur blur
TSbenny888
post Jan 29 2012, 08:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(alex_siong @ Jan 29 2012, 08:14 PM)
still a little bit confuse with it....
Nothing is straight and easy. Spend some time reading the tutorial written by creezalird - it is simple step by step . If you cannot even follow his guide, than forget about rooting. I don't think anyone can write simpler than that
You need put in some effort - you will not get fed right to the mouth but his guide is as good as putting the spoon close to your mouth already
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2068824
TSbenny888
post Jan 30 2012, 01:00 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Jan 30 2012, 12:50 AM)
Busy day today. no time to visit the thread.

I noticed something today. I have a car charger and it works great (with USB) on my S2. However, the car charger can't seem to charge my tab or other phone. Weird? Any suggestion on this guys?

Also, just noticed there is a new update for HyperDroid. Anyone flashed it yet? Seems like a full wipe? Oh my..
To charge Tab, car charger at least 2 A output . Normal car charger 0.5 to 1A only. Get those with USB port that can charge ipad

This post has been edited by benny888: Jan 30 2012, 01:00 AM
TSbenny888
post Jan 30 2012, 12:02 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Page 1 post # 8 ( Accessories ) updated with my guide on using external battery chargers:
http://leemn.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/port...es-and-tablets/
TSbenny888
post Jan 30 2012, 12:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Jan 30 2012, 12:53 PM)
its a good rom i must admit but i think my phone aint liking it for some reason
That is the most funny comment I have ever heard
TSbenny888
post Jan 31 2012, 12:56 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Jan 31 2012, 12:46 AM)
Anyone helps ? It hang on start up screen. I try to press power button and the screen goes black and just to start up screen again. It won't turn off.

Added on January 31, 2012, 12:47 am
Done. So how to I perform a hard reset ?
refer page 1 post #10 for solution. Next time read page 1 first before you do any stuffs on your phone.
TSbenny888
post Jan 31 2012, 12:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Jan 31 2012, 12:07 PM)
Aiya, the author is entitled to his opinion.
If he doesn't like SP or cases, then leave him be.

If he drops his phone and the screen cracks and the back cover pop out and battery disappears, its his problem.
I think the guy is just writing something up to fulfill his writing obligations !!!
TSbenny888
post Jan 31 2012, 06:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Jan 31 2012, 06:32 PM)
How to know if you lost your efs on your phone, anyways?
You will see IMEI listed as unknown in settings/about phone/phone
You cannot make call or access internet as there is no signal at all
TSbenny888
post Feb 1 2012, 08:22 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Feb 1 2012, 08:13 AM)
Go get the Gnex rather than SGS2 G. A lot less issues and ICS.
Gnex doesnt have external storage if that is important to you
SGS II performance is slight better but it its operating temperatures slight higher 2-3 degree C, so battery drain is higher
SGS II will have ICS too by March
Both have its pro n cons
I feel only compelling reason to get gnex is to be those early birds to taste each development of ICS faster than others
TSbenny888
post Feb 1 2012, 01:34 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Feb 1 2012, 12:24 PM)
It will shorten the life span of the car batt. I'd rather spend the money replacing car batt for power bank/ ext batt... Hehe
Nonsense lah. Battery drain is negligible charging phone. Any when you drive battery always being recharged
TSbenny888
post Feb 2 2012, 11:43 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Positron @ Feb 2 2012, 11:38 PM)
Hey, I was just wondering how long can S2 last?

hmm.gif  hmm.gif
You mean the phone - if you take good care, 10 years ?? By than it would be so completely out of date and the Amoled display would have degenerated by than. With the fast paced of technology, Samsung or any other smartphone maker will envisaged users not to keep their smartphone more than 2-3 years ; they will hope users change their smartphones every year to keep themselves up with newer designs, technology
TSbenny888
post Feb 3 2012, 07:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Feb 3 2012, 06:32 AM)
No need to kill apps, just press back when exiting apps.
The SGS II has a large memory. It is more than good enough to allow the phone android system to manage it. However there are still many users probably so used to windows think the os works like windows. No matter how google themselves say taskkiller is unnecessary users still cannot accept. No harm continue use task killers at expense of battery usage

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0488sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:46 AM