All About Harddisk Thread V4
the_forsaken
Dec 28 2013, 11:17 AM

hi guys. i want to know what is your recommendation on 4/3 tb hdd? wd or seagate. right now im using 1 tb samsung 2 tb seagate. this two hdd still works fine with me. no problem. so i really need to know your experience from using wd or seagate ^^ thanks guys.
the_forsaken
Dec 30 2013, 04:14 AM

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Dec 28 2013, 11:37 AM) Let me share my experience with WD, i had 2 Black 320GB, 1 500 GB, the trio was very durable but noisy, lasted me for 5 year i eventually sold them off while there was no single bad sectors or SMART error. The nightmare started afteri bought WD Green 1 TB, Black 2TB and AV-GP 3TB, i have 5 of them all went RMA just over 12 months of usage, all have bad sectors. the Latest one is AV-GP 3TB, just rma-ed a few weeks ago. Now using Toshiba 3TB RAID0  thanks for the story  maybe i will stick with seagete for now
the_forsaken
Dec 31 2013, 12:45 AM

QUOTE(pot @ Dec 30 2013, 12:50 PM) WD Black 1TB user here, use it for BT for 5 years non stop. still running strong.  owh thanks guys. BTW im using old mobo. how i can know my motherboard can support 3 tb or more for data not for BOOT?
the_forsaken
Jan 1 2014, 01:38 AM

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Dec 31 2013, 01:40 AM) 1. If mobo support AHCI, UEFI is optional 2. OS is Vista, or newer 3. 64bit OS, optional, but 64bit + EFI is require for support booting from GPT. IF mobo too old, like from 2008 or older, you may have trouble using the 3TB drive, you can always email the mobo maker, before buying the 3TB hard disk. for reference http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GUID_Partition_Tablehttp://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/218619enhttp://www.pcworld.com/article/235088/ever...ard_drives.htmlQUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Dec 31 2013, 08:48 AM) As long as you don't use it for boot drive (install Windows, Linux, etc.), it's fine to use 3TB as a whole volume/partitions on any systems (legacy or new). If you insist on use it for boot drive then you need to do some reading on 1024kbps posted links. is UEFI and EFI is the same thing? im using asus p5q3 btw. Thanks sifus
the_forsaken
Jan 10 2014, 09:46 AM

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jan 1 2014, 02:12 PM) Yeah, Originally was called EFI but no ppl using this name anymore  , newer version now is called UEFI http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unified_Exten...mware_Interfacethanks