soulfly
post Mar 12 2012, 04:16 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 10 2012, 02:19 AM)
Just avoid WD Green, then you'll be okay.
QUOTE(sI Taufu @ Mar 12 2012, 02:42 PM)
it is best to avoid WD 1tb green, 2 of my friend kena so far with that model 1 year ago.
their hdd got issue after about half year of usage, like very slow reading time and sometimes cannot start up at all when the hdd is attached to mobo.
The hdd price is still higher than last year before flood, maybe need to wait more than a half year to stabilize the supply biggrin.gif and the price.

WD Green is safe for external storage use.

I also had problem with the drive before. It caused system hangs, slow transfer etc.... and after some Googling I found out that it had something to do with the head parking. But if we use it for external storage (with HDD enclosure), there wont be any such problem. I'm now using it with Vantec HDD enclosure without any issue for more than a year already. So, before anybody thinking of throwing the drive away you guys might reconsider my method biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by soulfly: Mar 12 2012, 04:17 PM
soulfly
post Mar 13 2012, 10:58 AM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Mar 13 2012, 01:32 AM)
Which model is it and how much is it?
I'm using Vantec NexStar CX. Price is around RM70-ish.... USB 2.0 (that time USB 3.0 hasn't come out yet).
soulfly
post Oct 4 2013, 03:08 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Amy09 @ Oct 4 2013, 02:11 PM)
hi want to ask all pros here

for western digital is it using cavier black to run OS better than using WD green run OS?
performance wise? stability?
use Black please
Green performance is only suitable for normal storage, and it's also quite unreliable in some cases

I have a WD green that causes system hangups occasionally when used as internal drive. Works fine in an external hdd case. I have a few friends with similar issues too.
soulfly
post Oct 4 2013, 10:48 PM

15,903 posts

QUOTE(Amy09 @ Oct 4 2013, 03:23 PM)
ok thanks...coz i also using green alot issue  sad.gif
you could try getting an external case for the green, should be quite usable like that.

0.0372sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:46 PM