4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V4

sI Taufu
post Mar 12 2012, 02:42 PM

getting higher and higher
1,597 posts

it is best to avoid WD 1tb green, 2 of my friend kena so far with that model 1 year ago.
their hdd got issue after about half year of usage, like very slow reading time and sometimes cannot start up at all when the hdd is attached to mobo.
The hdd price is still higher than last year before flood, maybe need to wait more than a half year to stabilize the supply biggrin.gif and the price.

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: Mar 12 2012, 02:50 PM
sI Taufu
post Mar 19 2012, 05:53 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Mar 19 2012, 02:14 PM)
here is my situation, hope anyone knows can help.

i got a 2.5' hdd, WD scorpio blue, broken down a few weeks ago.
it is a hdd for my laptop, i replaced it with new 2.5' WD hdd also.

i do not sure whether it still got warranty or not, i lost the laptop receipt.
i do not intend to send for RMA, all i want is to retrieve back all the data and infomation in that broken hdd.
after i have done googling and reading, i found out that, it may be caused by faulty hdd board.
this is because it gives "click...click" sound when i connect to a external hdd case.

BIOS cant detect the broken hdd, so i can assume that it is NOT software or broken sector problem.

and i have searched in google where to buy hdd board, and its nowhere to buy it.

so guys, experts, need advice.
if i'm wrong, correct me and guide me.
thanks!
Some company in Lowyat Plaza did offer file recovery services, but minimum fee is rm100 sad.gif
maximum can go up to rm10K.
Sometimes when the hdd doesn't get enough power supply it will also got click-click sound, try to change the USB cable or external casing and connect again.

sI Taufu
post Mar 19 2012, 09:16 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Mar 19 2012, 08:41 PM)
actually, when the broken hdd was still inside my laptop ady has the click, click sound.
i did found one company in imbi plaza, recover data for more than 320GB is RM500....
quite a butthurt there...but i'm thinking for the sake of the data in it, i'm willing to pay it...
but now, i try to get the hdd board instead of sending to company for data recovery..
i make the data recovery myself....buy a hdd board is way much cheaper than paying for data recovery services...
My best advice is DO NOT DO IT, the chances to recover your data through this method is very low, since open the board itself will indirectly expose the disk to surrounding air.
and the disk is VERY SENSITIVE to any particle in the air..
sI Taufu
post Mar 20 2012, 09:55 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Mar 20 2012, 09:19 AM)
damn...then i have no choice but to send to those data recovery company if i want to restore my data in that broken hdd...

Added on March 20, 2012, 9:22 am

i do not sure what you guys' hdd sound make if dun have enough power supply.
if mine, it will go as beep beep sound.
when my hdd broken, it will has click click sound. like the reader arm making noise..
a big difference there.
It happened to me once....
I can said is click-click sound because i can felt the click-click (reader arm hit something) when my palm press gently on the hdd surface.
After that i plug out the usb cable, plug in again and no more click-click.
Maybe my hdd is older than yours, so no beep-beep instead of click-click.
sI Taufu
post Mar 20 2012, 10:20 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(dkk @ Mar 20 2012, 09:57 AM)
usually no. just removing the board would not break the airtight seal. i've done a few myself. it's only worked twice.

1) it only works if it's the board that is damaged. Not the internal mechanism. Usually it isn't the board that's faulty. That only happens in some special instances, eg power surge, or technician's error accidentally shorting it out while connecting the hard disk without shutting down the power supply.

2) the board must be identical. This means it's not enough to just match the hard disk model number, as each model typically goes through a few revisions. It's practically impossible in a home environment. Where are you going to find another identical hard disk. It's sometimes possible in an office environment, where there are many computers lying around. Especially if you usually buy a number of hard disks at the same time. They will probably have the same board.
Maybe you can help arthur88 to change the HDD PCB as well tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: Mar 20 2012, 10:23 AM
sI Taufu
post Mar 20 2012, 11:28 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Mar 20 2012, 11:18 AM)
yaya! tongue.gif
icon_question.gif can?can? icon_question.gif

Added on March 20, 2012, 11:19 am
ya me too...i also put my palm on the hdd and felt it...but mine still giving beep beep sound...
maybe if you got one faulty hdd, then you'll know...hehehe
I got once before, that's my sister's hdd and she dropped it to the floor before she gave me tongue.gif
It give the click of the death everytime i connect it to my laptop, after that i open the internal casing and try to manually move the reader arm but my laptop still cant recognize the spoiled HDD.

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: Mar 20 2012, 11:28 AM
sI Taufu
post Mar 21 2012, 07:55 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Mar 21 2012, 08:56 AM)
Hi, got a question here..
my ladtop 2.5 HDD (Hitachi travelstar 40GB about 10 yrs old) can't load windows due to damage file.
but i dont want to re-install the windows

I want to retrieve the file inside the 2.5 HDD.. can i use my desktop IDE cable to connect to my ladtop 2.5 HDD to access files inside?
if cannot.. what other way can i use?

Any PATA hdd casing will do, just plugin the IDE to USB module and you are good to go.
sI Taufu
post Apr 2 2012, 12:36 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(krel89 @ Apr 2 2012, 11:20 AM)
after heard ur advise.. i want to buy new HD
any advise.. im an extreme person, so i afraid if i slip my HD, it become unusable again.. any advice which is prefer brand??
WD black;
NEVER go for WD green if afraid its reliability sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: Apr 2 2012, 12:42 PM
sI Taufu
post Apr 9 2012, 09:53 PM

1,597 posts

HDTune
sI Taufu
post Apr 18 2012, 02:29 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mesol_er @ Apr 17 2012, 09:41 PM)
since thailand got flooded early this year, no sign of hdd going cheaper. anybody know when can we expect price drop? i bought 500gb hitachi n buffalo 2.5" external for less rm190last year..
I bought 1TB WD black X2 for rm 248 each last year icon_rolleyes.gif
sI Taufu
post Apr 25 2012, 06:07 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Apr 23 2012, 08:01 PM)
better add additional rm10 to get wd green (2yr warranty?), seagate shorten warranty to 1yr if not mistaken hmm.gif
I feel something fishy there......
There were once a period when the HDD failure rate hike up and few companies reduce the warranty period, around 2003 if no mistaken.
sI Taufu
post Apr 26 2012, 02:43 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(kona|kona @ Apr 25 2012, 11:27 PM)
bigger size run faster ?

then shud buy 4tb  laugh.gif
More sensitive to vibration and shock i must said.
As common sense, the more sensitive a machinery, the more fragile they are. laugh.gif
sI Taufu
post May 1 2012, 08:52 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(kimleong @ May 1 2012, 08:26 PM)
rclxub.gif Waiting the price at Sibu to drop. Just ask the shop 1TB WD10EARX Sata II still cost RM330 shocking.gif Better i buy from Viewnet and ask them to do poslaju.
I wonder how Pos Laju will handle the HDD with care. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: May 1 2012, 08:52 PM
sI Taufu
post May 5 2012, 09:43 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ May 5 2012, 04:15 PM)
my WD caviar blue just dead, pc suddenly hang
then after restart, took a very long time to boot window,
then error scandisk appear, and a lot data unreadable
can't even use hdtune to scan it
mind to tell how long you bought the WD blue?
sI Taufu
post May 5 2012, 10:48 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Hornet @ May 5 2012, 10:27 PM)
Its true about the temperature, I had many hard disk died on me in the past due to overheat, no fan at the front, temp always rise to 50c

However, even with a HAF 932 casing, right now I'm finding it really hard to maintain at 40c or lower. Most of the time its average at 43c-45c on a hot evening even with fan blowing.
HAF 912 Advanced user reporting in;

My hdd also maintain at those temperature, abut 42~45C, both hdd is WD black.

Added on May 5, 2012, 10:52 pm
QUOTE(unequalteck @ May 5 2012, 10:46 PM)
i bought used one, but around 7-8 months only
Used hdd.......
Although captain obvious, i also want to advice that: better dun buy used hdd, one will never know what had done on it by previous user.

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: May 5 2012, 10:52 PM
sI Taufu
post May 5 2012, 11:06 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ May 5 2012, 10:58 PM)
Take a look at whats the maximum temperature for WD black. 45C is dangerous , you are stressing the hard disk too much
This is strange......

My OS hdd hit about 42 C, while my backup hdd hit 45C hmm.gif

WD specification sheet said it operate from 0C to 60C btw.

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: May 5 2012, 11:13 PM
sI Taufu
post May 8 2012, 11:03 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mohdazuan @ May 8 2012, 02:07 PM)
if you ask about the performance, it get write increase from 120++ MB/s to 180++ MB/s
if you ask about reliability, i can say, i am trust with seagate. i own seagate 500GB (the 1st ATTO screenshot was my 500GB) and bought since sept 2009, spinning & running for 2 years 7 months and several days.
to answer your question, yes, it is reliable.  thumbup.gif
I got 1 seagate 60GB in my Aspire 5500z laptop, run for 5 years++ with average temperature 49C.
still ok till now.
sI Taufu
post May 9 2012, 01:48 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 9 2012, 01:34 AM)
My WD Blue 320GB died after serving me for 3 years and 2 months. sob sob. my last activity was muxing ~30GB mkv video and transferring lots of stuff to-from my external hdd.

@ mohdazuan
can you provide more info on your hdd so that it's easier for us to hunt for this hdd in the market? i'll be going to LYP and see if i can find a good one.

you mention that your seagate runs for 2 years+ and you call that reliable. my WD runs for 3 years+ and died...i don't think 3 years is called reliable enough. i expect longer...perhaps 5 years and above. i have a 40GB WD hdd that's >7 years old and it's still running fine. thumbup.gif
for unknown reason older HDD tend to last longer than recent HDD hmm.gif
sI Taufu
post May 12 2012, 11:37 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ May 12 2012, 07:21 PM)
i noticed 500gb drives are trickling down in this couple of months

from 250ish.. to 215 currently i believe
still waiting the WD black 2TB to drop the price to rm550.
sI Taufu
post Jul 7 2012, 11:22 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Jul 4 2012, 10:37 AM)
Hi guys just run the SMART test on my WD C.Blue 500gb hdd this morning and the results show raw read error rate = Failed...

here's the screenshot of the test (run via HD tune and WD Data Lifeguard Diagnostic)

[attachmentid=2928562]

judging from the results, my only choice is to RMA the HDD right?

*when i shutdown the PC, i can heard some grinding noise from the hdd.... sweat.gif
Mine, i think is far worse than urs tongue.gif

but the health status still OK.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0548sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:55 AM