All About Harddisk Thread V4

mohdazuan
post Apr 25 2012, 09:42 PM

140 posts

better upgrade your seagate 500GB to seagate 1TB. make sure it is single platter. major improvement on read/write speed since size increase with sector become small on the same platter size

mohdazuan
post Apr 26 2012, 07:26 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(kona|kona @ Apr 25 2012, 11:27 PM)
bigger size run faster ?

then shud buy 4tb  laugh.gif
it is not because of "bigger size". it is because of the sector on a platter become more smaller. access time will become short. thats why it has improvement in r/w speed, i think.

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Apr 26 2012, 07:12 AM)
is this the samsung technology used in the HD103SJ?
i think so. when they acquire maxtor, we can see they make their drive less heat biggrin.gif
mohdazuan
post Apr 29 2012, 04:32 PM

140 posts

i use seagate ST3500418AS (single platter drive) and running 2 years 7 months and several days. when i says running, it spinning with that amount of time. never fail me at all. with proper handling, screw it properly inside casing and proper air flow (maintain temperature around 33-38c)

now i am using ST1000DM003, single platter but double size from previous drive

bottom line, people having bad luck does not mean that you will fall in the same situation too wink.gif
mohdazuan
post May 3 2012, 09:53 PM

140 posts

tick2 sound happen when hdd lost power while its needle accessing the disk either read/write. or you simply reset the pc while hdd is busy. better get a ups if your pc are 24/7.
mohdazuan
post May 7 2012, 02:38 PM

140 posts

already test booting ws08r2 using this hard disk and get 6-7 seconds faster than 500GB version. of course, still cannot challenge SSD, even with the old 250MB/s model biggrin.gif
mohdazuan
post May 8 2012, 01:54 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(dk999 @ May 8 2012, 08:43 AM)
Where you bought this  rclxms.gif
at some person in some forum. i do not want to tell who because i am not proud of him/her. rude and do not know how to say THANK YOU after sell something. pathetic.

but this kind of model ST1000DM003 already available in the market and most shops already has stock. you need to see the model number, and it is thin because using 1 platter.

This post has been edited by mohdazuan: May 8 2012, 01:56 PM
mohdazuan
post May 8 2012, 02:07 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(noname_lah86 @ May 8 2012, 02:01 PM)
How is the reliability ? Can't really find much information on it. All of them are 7200.12
if you ask about the performance, it get write increase from 120++ MB/s to 180++ MB/s
if you ask about reliability, i can say, i am trust with seagate. i own seagate 500GB (the 1st ATTO screenshot was my 500GB) and bought since sept 2009, spinning & running for 2 years 7 months and several days.
to answer your question, yes, it is reliable. thumbup.gif
mohdazuan
post May 9 2012, 08:45 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(cybersans @ May 9 2012, 08:09 AM)
i think when he says his hdd running for 2 years & several months, he means the total time of spinning. you can get that duration by checking the S.M.A.R.T. option. many hdd tools can read S.M.A.R.T. for example hddlife. you will get the exact working duration of your disk.
right, i do monitor my s.m.a.r.t value using a software. thats how i get the duration. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(dk999 @ May 8 2012, 08:25 PM)
I just checked digital mall, got 32mb and 64mb cache 1tb under the same model number..

Now I'm confused
you can see by its thickness. if it is about half inch, it is single platter. if it is almost 1 inch, then it is an old 1TB version which has 2 platter of 500GB. but if it is thin like half inch, then get the 64MB because of large cache it has.

QUOTE(sI Taufu @ May 8 2012, 11:03 PM)
I got 1 seagate 60GB in my Aspire 5500z laptop, run for 5 years++ with average temperature 49C.
still ok till now.
when you say "running", is it total time of spinning? you may want to check your s.m.a.r.t data smile.gif

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 9 2012, 01:34 AM)
@ mohdazuan
can you provide more info on your hdd so that it's easier for us to hunt for this hdd in the market? i'll be going to LYP and see if i can find a good one.

you mention that your seagate runs for 2 years+ and you call that reliable. my WD runs for 3 years+ and died...i don't think 3 years is called reliable enough. i expect longer...perhaps 5 years and above. i have a 40GB WD hdd that's >7 years old and it's still running fine. thumbup.gif
...and again, is your hdd running almost 3 years or just spinning less than a year in 3 years duration? i bought my hdd @ 2008 and it is 4 years old, but spinning time just 2 years and 7 months and several days biggrin.gif

QUOTE(sI Taufu @ May 9 2012, 01:48 AM)
for unknown reason older HDD tend to last longer than recent HDD hmm.gif
i maybe agree with you. i has seagate bigfoot which is suit by its name, because it is large laugh.gif
and still operating tongue.gif
mohdazuan
post May 10 2012, 09:06 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 10 2012, 07:14 AM)
Yesterday I went to LYPlaza, several shop are now selling 3TB at RM499!
it is because (maybe) they want to clear old stock. 3TB model that you saw maybe based on 750GB per platter technology, means the hard drive has 4 platter. right now they already has 3TB using 3 platter where 1 platter = 1GB.
check the serial number to know which model it is.
mohdazuan
post May 10 2012, 11:14 AM

140 posts

http://hothardware.com/Reviews/Seagate-Barracuda-3TB-Review/

that is seagate 3TB with 3 platter of 1TB and the serial number ST3000DM001
mohdazuan
post May 10 2012, 02:14 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 10 2012, 01:07 PM)
Very hard to find in LYP. All sales person very blur blur!! sad.gif
i know that. i prefer n00b rather than blur laugh.gif last time i taught them how to read the serial. for example ST3500418AS, 500 is size, 1 is a number of platter. laugh.gif

conclusion, you need to look at the number by yourself. by looking at the thickness of the case, we can know whether it has 1,2,3 or 4 platter. for example, single platter drive only about 1/2 inch of its thickness. 2 platter, almost 1 inch, 3 platter ngam2 1 inch and so on.
mohdazuan
post May 16 2012, 01:14 PM

140 posts

did you mean "external" or "portable"?

if external, you can see this: http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/914...rnal_hard_drive

review said it is the fastest. features that need to be looking at such as spinning speed, how many platter it has and its size, which port they use

for example, 7200rpm is fast compare to 5200rpm. USB 3.0 is fast compare to USB 2.0
if you can get E-SATA external/portable hdd, it is better than USB because you will get the exact speed of normal internal drive, but it will need seperate power supply. unless you have hdd dock like -> THIS which can be place at your cd/dvdrom bay.

mohdazuan
post May 17 2012, 11:42 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(bboyspirit @ May 17 2012, 09:42 AM)
but seem like within my budget only can get 2.5" 2tb, so now considering which brand more reliable..
you want USB portable drive or E-SATA portable drive?
mohdazuan
post May 17 2012, 03:25 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(bboyspirit @ May 17 2012, 02:21 PM)
usb portable drive. Edited is 3.5“ 2TB tat within rm400++
http://wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=440

download http://wdc.com/wdproducts/library/?id=247&type=49 untuk keterangan lanjut.
price around < rm 300++ in local price, i think.
mohdazuan
post May 22 2012, 11:48 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(kamechi @ May 22 2012, 10:34 PM)
...and i found a'warning' on the health...my hdd is WD caviar black.
sometime SATA controller, bad sata cable can caused that "warning". sometime it is not because of SATA cable connected to hard drive, but a SATA cable connected to your cd/dvd drive. this caused SATA controller become like this -> rclxub.gif and SMART logged the error as UDMA CRC.

check your cable and other device connected to the SATA. pull out your cd/dvd drive, just leave hard disk, run the text again. if same "warning" appear, change the SATA cable.
mohdazuan
post Jun 2 2012, 12:47 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Jun 2 2012, 03:25 AM)
guys wat, is d hitachi 3TB single platter hdd available in malaysia? whats d model number if it does? hitachi offer 3yrs warranty rite?
they just break 1TB barrier for single platter. maybe in 10 years they will be able to cramp 3TB sector into a single platter icon_rolleyes.gif
last time they made 3TB hdd with 4 platter which every plates sized about 750GB. since 1TB per platter available in the market, 3TB with 3 platters should be available too.
mohdazuan
post Jun 5 2012, 05:51 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(craziechild @ Jun 5 2012, 09:50 AM)
Question now,
1. it there any 1TB HDD that is suitable to be installed into my laptop? please recommend.
2. if i were to go to a computer shop to buy one, is there any info on the spec sheet that i should be aware of to make the correct purchase?
3. if there is no 1TB drives for my size, what is the largest capacity that i could have?
sellers here, please dont hesitate to give me a price quote, provived that you are 100% sure its the right thing for my laptop.
a thin one is using 1 platter while a thick one maybe using 2 or 3. right now there is only 1TB 3.5" using single platter, which means is for desktop. for 2.5" single platter is only 500GB at the moment. your notebook hdd bay only can fit a single platter 2.5" hdd.
mohdazuan
post Jul 15 2012, 10:29 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Jul 15 2012, 01:27 AM)
guys, does Seagate ST1000DM001 available in our market? hw much price if its available? this 1 is single platter model rite? i wanna raid0.
or izit ST3000DM001 only single platter hmm.gif
it is ST1000DM003 and not 001. available since april 2012. last time i bought around 300++. it should be 200 something right now. it is single platter 1TB. ST3000DM001 is 1TB per platter x3. so it has 3 platter with size of 3TB.

0.1981sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:36 AM