QUOTE(darkskies @ Nov 2 2012, 01:49 PM)
Good for u.. shud have bought more hdd before the flood... Now every new hdd out there runs with most 3yrs max. Price go up but warranty period goes down. How unfair.
All About Harddisk Thread V4
Nov 2 2012, 02:41 PM
19,321 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Nov 3 2012, 04:39 PM
Nov 8 2012, 04:03 PM
Nov 9 2012, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Nov 9 2012, 08:02 AM) I don't think that's reliability that everyone is recommending, it's the warranty, 5-year is great if you want to keep it for longer time. just a normal 8cm fan is enough to blow the wd black, black got less failure rate compare with wd green actually.But WD Black is quite hot compared to other series and good cooling is required to properly cool it off, otherwise WD Black is good for its performance as well. Added on November 9, 2012, 8:05 am Um, no one replying? For laptop, I would recommend SSD for much reliability (check SSD thread). For HDD, there's no "reliable" in them, just take the most value and 7200rpm if you want some good response speed. |
Nov 15 2012, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(Jajay Chong Hon Keat @ Nov 14 2012, 11:11 PM) Hello all, I am planning to change my hdd of laptops but i also wish my laptop will exactly same as the original with recovery system, os, datas and every settings. Isn't possible to do that? Can any sifus teach me? norton ghost or acronis backup & restore can help u with that |
Nov 16 2012, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Nov 15 2012, 01:25 PM) Just for sharing , now WD provides RMA pick-up service for FREE , anyone of you want to claim your warranty be fast . got limited time period offer nia? QUOTE(squall_12 @ Nov 16 2012, 11:28 AM) Hi guy, my fren just bought one few month ago, and the windows boot time is more than 2 min according to him. Must be due to red wd slow random access time cons. are the new WD RED HDD reliability good? How it compare to WD Blue, Green and Black model? Thanks |
Nov 19 2012, 01:27 AM
QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 17 2012, 12:32 AM) Seagate has a software that breaks the 2TB barrier even on older systems. they onsite collect from ur house ar? Read more here: http://www.seagate.com/support/downloads/beyond-2tb/ Added on November 17, 2012, 12:37 am yup it was already free when I RMA my disk early last month. Added on November 17, 2012, 8:46 pmToshiba 3TB is now RM 399 a viewnet. |
Nov 22 2012, 01:48 PM
Nov 28 2012, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(ariesto @ Nov 26 2012, 10:21 AM) Hi sifus, I'm planning to buy a 1tb/2tb/3tb 2.5" external HDD for backup purpose. u can consider adata or lacie. I would like to know what brand and model is the highest recommended one? There's too many choices nowadays, really no idea which to choose and what shall consider nowadays in buying a HDD. Any attention to the above would be much appreciated. |
Jan 18 2013, 09:16 AM
anyone use seagate ES constellation before?
Mar 3 2013, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(KHOdin @ Mar 2 2013, 02:37 AM) guys any recommended software to check HDD's health statue ? is kinda hard to detect my HDD recently need to re plug the sata cable a few times getting kinda serious... have try change the sata cable before? or change swap with other optional sata port in ur mainboard? for hdd diagnostic tool, u can try www.hddscan.com |
Mar 26 2013, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(arms4 @ Mar 25 2013, 10:20 AM) Hello, i am planning to buy an external harddisk but this is my first time buying it so have any recommendation? I'm buying 1Tb. Recently went out to scout and saw most of the pc shops sell toshiba, seagate and buffalo. buffalo the military shock proof hdd is reliable, recommended byfew of my fren. so which brand is good? Any precaution need to take note while buying external harddisk? Thank you =D QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 25 2013, 11:16 PM) hmm noticed the sata 3 version of 1tb black compared to my sata 2 4year old 1tb black is much warmer by 4c yup, using wd sata2 black raid edition power on 24/7 , dun feel any different compare with wd green when torrent. btw has anybody seeded these new revisions on torrents for a 24/7 computer?? |
Mar 26 2013, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 26 2013, 09:39 AM) yeah the sata 2 one is very reliable. its the sata 3 version is making me worried lol. cause check on feedback in newegg etc says the sata 3 wd has reduced a lot of features that the previous one had etc. dun buy red line loh, i have being cursed by my fren family for many months since i intro him red line, no choice mar, intro him re4, he said no budget, then mar intro him red line last yr loh.so wonder how much cost cutting they did to create a R4 and Red line. |
Mar 26 2013, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 26 2013, 09:56 AM) nah mine all black no problem lah, ssd price is nice now, as normal hdd and ram are increasing price now.2x1tb black, 1x2tb black and 1x4tb black. 1tb for encoding, 1tb for seeding, 2tb for itunes media and 4tb for the hse cloud backup. btw i download abt 50gb a day and upload about 70gb a day. so wondering whether than sata 3 version can take it. the sata 2 did for 4 years so change the drive for seeding to sata 3. let sata 2 1tb have rest lol . 2days load after changing to sata 3 1tb. 200gb up and 180gb down. can it handle this?? cause hmm seems to be noisier a bit more than my older 1tb sata 2. hmm actually considering since ssd prices down should i get a cheap 2x480gb for this. |
Apr 25 2013, 06:15 PM
Jun 2 2013, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(sI Taufu @ Jun 1 2013, 09:50 PM) Few years ago we got Samsung and WD Black 1TB which are very reliable, the former one is cheap and reliable, the later one is durability. mind sharing ur wd black 1tb story with us? But currently i dare not to say much for "most reliable HDD Drive" as my WD Black 1TB managed to fail me within 2 years But most of us will agree on that "most reliable SSD brand" usually the wd black i face just minor issue which consist of only 1 bad sector, and those black wd drive still able to let me backup data to another hdd. so far only 2 out of 5 got such case happened on me and my fren. |
Jun 2 2013, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(sI Taufu @ Jun 2 2013, 11:47 PM) IINM in March, I shocked when my PC run HDDcheck during bootup, like deleting files and recover files. oh, ur wd is normal black performance or black RE Enterprise model? Feeling it must be something to do with my HDD, i went on to run HD Tune and get the following results of my C Drive : https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=3414761 Initial it got 12 current pending sectors, upon googling i realize it is another meaning of bad sectors, so i do backup ASAP. After 3 weeks, my PC hang when surfing internet, knowing that the HDD had reach its date, i force shutdown my PC and restart......I cannot see anything on my monitor, not even BIOS Splash screen! https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2784581&hl= One good thing of WD Black is we may have ample time to do backup before it finally gave up coz all 5 unit i bought are wd black re4 enterprise, consider better than black wd performance, but mahal another rm50 only, worth to buy after all. |
Jun 3 2013, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(k!nex @ Jun 3 2013, 02:34 AM) I'm using both WD RE3 and WD Black also. No you're wrong, RE still use SATA interface which is compatible with consumer motherboards. why u need HDDr to fix ur hdd, just send it for rma lar, since it got 5yr wrty. Lower cost servers do use WD RE series too. It is because their SAS interface is compatible with SATA harddisk as well. SAS HDD is just too expensive sometimes. However you cant plug a SAS HDD into a SATA port. I do agree tht RE3 is more reliable than the normal WD Black. I had very few bad sectors with my 1TB WD Black within 3 years, but I manage to fix it via HDD Regenerator software. My old RE3 250GB has no bad sectors after so many years. |
Jul 9 2013, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(perfect10 @ Jul 3 2013, 12:04 PM) i just had my computer booted and it says unmounted boot error. i had to gothru fixboot to fix it a few times only work. www.hddscan.com freewareafter a chkdsk and seems to find some error on the disk, not sure if its bad sector error? is there any software for windows XP to check for toshiba hdd bad sector? QUOTE(Gwiyomiz @ Jul 9 2013, 04:12 PM) 2.5 or 3.5? |
Jul 12 2013, 10:23 AM
| Change to: | 0.0620sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:05 PM |