sI Taufu
post Dec 4 2012, 05:38 PM

getting higher and higher
1,597 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Dec 4 2012, 04:12 PM)
WD BLACK 4TB @ RM959 (viewnet)
Anyone wanna be an early adopter? tongue.gif

I'd rather get 3TB x 2 with that price... of course, there's no 5 years warranty and all..  biggrin.gif
the black 4TB still got 5 years warranty or not?
sI Taufu
post Dec 10 2012, 09:23 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 10 2012, 01:52 PM)
When a harddisk has problems after warranty period what can I do?
Disintegrate it.
The magnet inside the HDD can be use to "stick" tiny screws when you are about to fix something.
And the "disk" can become mirror too.

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: Dec 10 2012, 09:23 PM
sI Taufu
post Dec 10 2012, 09:28 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Dec 10 2012, 09:25 PM)
What can I do as in, where can I go to get the problem fixed? LOL
opps ....HDD cannot be fixed by normal means if it suffer physical damage (IE: shock, dropped to floor etc).
You will need a clean room for TRYING to fix that.

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: Dec 10 2012, 09:31 PM
sI Taufu
post Dec 20 2012, 06:26 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(nikridhwan @ Dec 20 2012, 12:55 PM)
guys. what are the difference between the harddisk like below. the price ranges from rm200-rm300 but they are 1tb harddisk

1TB SEAGATE 32M 7200 RPM   RM220
1TB W.D. BLUE 32M 7200 RPM SATA 6.0   RM210
1TB W.D. CCTV GREEN 64M 7200 RPM   RM235
1TB W.D. RED 64M 7200 RPM  RM300
1TB W.D. BLACK 64M 7200 RPM SATA 6.0   RM270
1TB W.D. RAID EDITION 4 32M 7200 RPM    RM325
price, warranty, building architecture.
WD Black and RAID edition got extra metal block between each "disk" to enhance HDD head servo mechanism (Less disturbance air flow)
And you sure WD RED is more expensive than WD Black? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: Dec 20 2012, 06:37 PM
sI Taufu
post Feb 8 2013, 05:37 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Feb 7 2013, 06:45 PM)
Here is the photo bro.

Due to computer just formatted, currently no internet connection for it at the moment.
I bet your windows XP never apply service pack 1.
You need to install SP 1 in order to support HDD that is LARGER THAN 137GB.
Do install SP1 first.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/303013

Windows XP SP1 includes 48-bit LBA support for ATAPI disk drives. With this support, you can use hard disks that are larger than the current 137 GB limit.

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: Feb 8 2013, 05:42 PM
sI Taufu
post Feb 8 2013, 05:49 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Feb 8 2013, 05:45 PM)
Wow. That is old. But why not install XP's SP3?
need to install SP 1, then only can install SP2 and then SP3.
My old laptop got 60GB HDD only doh.gif, never update after applied SP 3 though using OEM windows XP due to *VERY LIMITED* HDD space.

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: Feb 8 2013, 05:50 PM
sI Taufu
post Feb 8 2013, 08:07 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Feb 8 2013, 08:04 PM)
Ok. Tonite will try format & re-install SP3. smile.gif
no need format de.
you will need to install SP1 before you proceed to SP3 as stated in my previous post........or had you install SP1 oledi?
sI Taufu
post Feb 9 2013, 12:34 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Feb 8 2013, 11:50 PM)
Bro, after install the SP1a. Manage to get back ard 290GB storage size. Is tat the max amount can get?

Or i need to update to SP3?
yup, max volume edi.

sI Taufu
post Feb 9 2013, 04:13 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Feb 9 2013, 04:03 PM)

I learned tat Window OS also play a trick for the hard ware.

Glad to hear that rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
BTW Happy new year in advance rclxms.gif
sI Taufu
post Mar 24 2013, 11:29 AM

1,597 posts

sweetmother
14 pending sector count on my WD black doh.gif
gonna RMA it soon.

Update: 3 bad sectors detected sad.gif
Oh great, 16 Pending sectors. doh.gif

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: Mar 24 2013, 09:43 PM
sI Taufu
post Mar 24 2013, 11:46 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Nagashiro @ Mar 24 2013, 11:36 PM)
Pack it nicely and time to go RMA it hoping you get 2TB when return..xD  brows.gif
sigh......dun know lah.
maybe buy another 2TB hmm.gif
kinda sceptical on WD blue and Seagate reliability.
sI Taufu
post Apr 23 2013, 05:30 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Apr 21 2013, 10:29 AM)
Hi, I need some help from sifu-sifu here. My bro mini laptop spoil due to lighting or other unknown reason.it unable to display.

Last time I built my PC at Viewnet. The people there help my bro take out his 2.5" HDD from his mini laptop.My Bro bought a 2.5" protector casing to protect the HDD n act as external hard disk.

However, it can't be access. It looks like a new HDD after we format PC. it don't have volume bar n shown "NTFS"

That HDD contains very important info n precious photo. Can teach me how to recover them out? Is that HDD spoil?

Thank you in advance!
try to access it using Recuva FREE Version
DO NOT format it if want to keep to data.

On the side note, my WD Black die today.
apparently BAD HDD will also cause a LONG beep and NO display on monitor.
sI Taufu
post Apr 25 2013, 12:41 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Apr 25 2013, 12:36 AM)
Will try it soon. For his HDD, is used as external HDD that connect through USB. I didnt heard any beep sound except the normal BIOS beep. I tried to boot from it but get a blue screen (very fast disappear, less than 1 second, didn't manage to read the code) then restart PC itself.

The recuva is used to recover the data right?
system file corrupted.
dun boot from it anymore as it is futile. I tried to boot it via safe mode when my laptop had attacked by virus fw years ago but also got the similar BSOD as yours. end up i savage usable data from the laptop HDD to another laptop.

Connect it as external HDD and hopefully your PC still recognize it. After that use the recuva to access it.
sI Taufu
post Apr 26 2013, 11:40 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Apr 25 2013, 06:15 PM)
my colleague blue wd 500gb just found to be got a few bad sector after 2yr plus of usage.
my WD Black 1TB, not yet 2 years got 3 bad sectors oledi doh.gif
last for 3 weeks before it finally die.
sI Taufu
post Apr 28 2013, 09:03 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 28 2013, 08:55 AM)
hi , i juz bought 1TB WD element ....tried to safely eject , but unable to do so..googling around and seem no solution... anyone face the same problems?
sometime it is due to rundll32.exe process that locked the HDD for unknown reason.
Just plug it out if you are very certain that NO FILE TRANSFER/USAGE in between the external HDD and your PC.
or wait for few minutes then try again.
sI Taufu
post Apr 28 2013, 10:28 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 28 2013, 10:13 AM)
there is no rundll.exe in the background...sigh... going to format it soon....the pc
why need to format PC?
The rundll32.exe is normal process for windows.

This post has been edited by sI Taufu: Apr 28 2013, 10:28 AM
sI Taufu
post Apr 28 2013, 10:43 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Apr 28 2013, 10:38 AM)
any solution for that other than format ? becoz i didnt encounter the problems using other pc....
http://www.filehippo.com/download_unlocker/changelog/7917/

Click the GREEN button on the right side to download it.

After install it........
Everytime you had to "safely remove" and failed, just right click on the pendrive/external hard disk and select "unlocker, then you may unlock **almost** any process that had prevent the pendrive/external hard disk to be removed.
sI Taufu
post May 6 2013, 05:07 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ May 4 2013, 09:38 PM)
Just experienced warranty void from Hitachi. I have no idea that this crap would void it. Didn't even notice it when I install this disk.

[attachmentid=3424473]

I suggest to avoid this brand. They will reject crap like this when that shit is already there after opening the package. This is the first time I get a warranty void of all the RMAs.
errrr they rejected it due to extra sicker?
sI Taufu
post May 13 2013, 02:21 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ May 12 2013, 03:57 PM)
Any hardisk sifu can hv a quick glance at my current hardisk status?
hardisk 1 is my laptop ones which runs abt 5years+- d..would like to noe is it stable and still able to use for a period of time or it started to show some sign of dying soon?

hardisk 2 is my external 500gb WD hardisk which i bought abt 1-2years back i guess.. the current pending sector thingy i googled around they say should be able to solve it with a format?

Thanks a lot..

[attachmentid=3434524][attachmentid=3434525]
IMO 1st HDD still ok.........older HDD tend to last longer. icon_idea.gif
But 2nd HDD........the current pending sector MUST always be ZERO on WD. Better back up data inside it ASAP as it might die in any time.
sI Taufu
post May 13 2013, 10:25 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ May 13 2013, 07:45 PM)
but the 2nd hdd quite new..hmm.. this kind of problem can send bac claim warranty or rma or wadsoever?  icon_question.gif
enough to claim warranty edi, since it is well within 3 years after you bought it.

QUOTE(G_KeN @ May 13 2013, 08:21 PM)
any idea when WD's gonna be releasing 4TB internal HDD?
As of now, they are only selling the external version.
**cough** WD Black 4TB **cough**

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0443sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:02 PM